Audi and KTM working on lightweight baby TT

German marque Audi and Austrian motorcycle manufacturer KTM are working on a yet to be named Lotus Elise fighter, similiar to Volkswagen’s EcoRacer concept. The photoshopped artist’s impression above is based on the Pontiac Solstice.
Rumours are that a 2.0 liter turbo FSI from the Volkswagen/Audi stables will be powering the sub-750kg lightweight car. The light weight would likely mean a carbon fibre chassis, and that together with the 2.0 TFSI’s 200 horses and above of power will give the Audi KTM roadster a 0-100km/h sprint of less than six seconds, while maintaining good fuel economy.
Despite the 2.0 liter TFSI engine rumours, I personally think Volkswagen’s 1.4 liter twincharged engine is also suitable for this car, especially if it focuses on lightweight and fuel economy. A 1.4 liter engine would definitely be lighter than a 2.0 liter, allowing for easier engineering of weight balance. The current 170hp is more than sufficient for a sub-750kg car, and if that is not enough, 200hp versions of the 1.4 are on the way.

August 7, 2006 @ 7:18 am
I’m betting on an aluminum chassis rather than carbon fiber. The cost might be too high for people to pay for an Audi.
August 7, 2006 @ 9:32 am
But this car is superb.. It earned my respect..
August 7, 2006 @ 9:56 am
OH… MY… GOD… It looks absolutely STUNNING! I really hope the actual model will look like this.
August 7, 2006 @ 10:15 am
sweet & power!!! I want 1 too…
August 7, 2006 @ 10:39 am
look like transformers…
August 7, 2006 @ 12:46 pm
OMG for a moment i thought it was Keretapi Tanah Melayu, and i went like wtf! for a bit. Silly me.
Audi, as usual, beautiful.
August 7, 2006 @ 1:26 pm
for a moment i thought audi was gonna make a train for keretapi tanah melayu called tt. lol….. I WANT ONE TOO!! but with a hard top
August 7, 2006 @ 2:45 pm
haha… keretapi tanah melayu… hahaha! audi don even know anything bout the train company… they don even know wat it is…
August 7, 2006 @ 5:00 pm
no hell!!! its KUDA TOTO MAGNUM ….hahaha!
August 7, 2006 @ 5:24 pm
what’s audi’s doinn with a mcycle co? did ktm know anything ’bout car?
heheheh..dont follow proton footsteps sudahlah…
aikk..ooo foreign companies, jadi bagus bagus lah…
August 7, 2006 @ 5:38 pm
Damn .. I WANT one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
August 7, 2006 @ 9:54 pm
dis car looks like a smart roadster .
but dis car is beautiful .
August 8, 2006 @ 12:19 am
this seems alot more desireble than an elise. those air intakes can suck a dog in.
the 2 litre TFSI is being used in alot of thier model lineup. problably cheaper to produce.
August 8, 2006 @ 4:13 am
[...] Related Posts: Audi and KTM working on lightweight baby TT [...]
February 13, 2007 @ 9:46 pm
damm nice, although it is photoshoped. carbon fibre chasis? if it is too fast on the highway without a spoiler, it might be fly away, hehehe.