Audi and KTM working on lightweight baby TT

audi_ktm_roadster.jpg

German marque Audi and Austrian motorcycle manufacturer KTM are working on a yet to be named Lotus Elise fighter, similiar to Volkswagen’s EcoRacer concept. The photoshopped artist’s impression above is based on the Pontiac Solstice.

Rumours are that a 2.0 litre turbo FSI from the Volkswagen/Audi stables will be powering the sub-750kg lightweight car. The light weight would likely mean a carbon fibre chassis, and that together with the 2.0 TFSI’s 200 horses and above of power will give the Audi KTM roadster a 0-100km/h sprint of less than six seconds, while maintaining good fuel economy.

Despite the 2.0 litre TFSI engine rumours, I personally think Volkswagen’s 1.4 litre twincharged engine is also suitable for this car, especially if it focuses on lightweight and fuel economy. A 1.4 litre engine would definitely be lighter than a 2.0 litre, allowing for easier engineering of weight balance. The current 170hp is more than sufficient for a sub-750kg car, and if that is not enough, 200hp versions of the 1.4 are on the way.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tbcheese (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 3:18 pm

I'm betting on an aluminum chassis rather than carbon fiber. The cost might be too high for people to pay for an Audi.

• Ricc (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 5:32 pm

But this car is superb.. It earned my respect..

• Mayonaise (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 5:56 pm

OH… MY… GOD… It looks absolutely STUNNING! I really hope the actual model will look like this.

• I my (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 6:15 pm

sweet & power!!! I want 1 too…

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 6:39 pm

look like transformers…

• december (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 8:46 pm

OMG for a moment i thought it was Keretapi Tanah Melayu, and i went like wtf! for a bit. Silly me.

Audi, as usual, beautiful.

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 9:26 pm

for a moment i thought audi was gonna make a train for keretapi tanah melayu called tt. lol….. I WANT ONE TOO!! but with a hard top

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 10:45 pm

haha… keretapi tanah melayu… hahaha! audi don even know anything bout the train company… they don even know wat it is…

• engtaokia (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 1:00 am

no hell!!! its KUDA TOTO MAGNUM ….hahaha!

• Jake (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 1:24 am

what's audi's doinn with a mcycle co? did ktm know anything 'bout car?

heheheh..dont follow proton footsteps sudahlah…

aikk..ooo foreign companies, jadi bagus bagus lah…

• superman (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 1:38 am

Damn .. I WANT one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• szw (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 5:54 am

dis car looks like a smart roadster .

but dis car is beautiful .

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 08, 2006 at 8:19 am

this seems alot more desireble than an elise. those air intakes can suck a dog in.

the 2 litre TFSI is being used in alot of thier model lineup. problably cheaper to produce.

• qebalt (Member) on Feb 14, 2007 at 5:46 am

damm nice, although it is photoshoped. carbon fibre chasis? if it is too fast on the highway without a spoiler, it might be fly away, hehehe.

• BAHAA A.K on Jul 24, 2009 at 1:55 am

this car is fantastic without htese new stuff on it so how would it be with them ?:P

i really wont to see if it will really look like the photo i am interested in buying 4 what the hek it deserves being bought with whatever it's price