Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

New Chevrolet Aveo launched in US

us_aveo_1.jpg

The new Chevrolet Aveo sedan based on the Daewoo Gentra was recently launched in the US through a special virtual car launch through a web cast. Specifications are pretty much the same, a 1.6 liter E-TEC II DOHC engine making 103hp. There’s no lower 1.4 liter engine option for the US market. The US version has a variable rate rack and pinion steering, which should ease parking at low speeds and offer more precise steering at highway speeds.

The previous Chevrolet Aveo sold 68,085 units in 2005, and the previous version will continue to be sold as a hatchback Aveo5 in the US. The new sedan is due on our local shores very soon, perhaps next month. More photos after the jump.

Chevrolet Aveo Thai CBU
Chevrolet Aveo sedan in September
DRB-HICOM aggresive CKD plans

us_aveo_5.jpg

us_aveo_2.jpg

us_aveo_3.jpg

us_aveo_4.jpg

18 Comments »

1. sewell said,

August 20, 2006 @ 1:26 pm

this seems like chevolate is like our proton. edit and place their name. haha…..

2. Bbingbong said,

August 20, 2006 @ 2:02 pm

sewell not proton lar but naza and perodua..

3. maxtek said,

August 20, 2006 @ 2:22 pm

If there is one thing I hate, that is stupidly ugly interiors of Korean Cars. (That means you too Proton, even though you’re Malaysian).

What the Korean manufacturers also need to focus on is the engine performance.

4. KingKong said,

August 20, 2006 @ 2:48 pm

This Chevrolet Aveo will compete head-to-head with Kia Rio here..

5. claxxion said,

August 20, 2006 @ 3:56 pm

It looks much better than the Rio though.. I think it will be more suitable to compete against the gen2, city and vios..

6. topgunthang said,

August 20, 2006 @ 10:01 pm

its ugly alrite but smoehow looks more expensive than the neo or gen2.

7. aesthari said,

August 20, 2006 @ 11:11 pm

The car looks ugly. The side profile reminds me of a Honda City, which I thinks is ugly too :P

8. SoMeOnE said,

August 21, 2006 @ 1:50 am

im hopin and prayin it be in da 60 to 70 price range like the spectra…ogsh….if it was i will ask my sis to cnsider it nstead of goin for a gen2….i dun think it be anyway near 80 coz even and idsi city sells for 76 after discountcs and all…if hicom can price it within 70 it be surely a hit!

9. Xoomie said,

August 21, 2006 @ 9:22 am

Not a bad looking car.
    Looked very nippy & stylish. Interior is OK & simple.
    Dash looked modern & fresh. Rounded a/c vents is nice too. I like the steering wheel & its of buttons too.

I guess it will be priced in between Waja & Vios.

10. motberg said,

August 21, 2006 @ 9:57 am

ooohhh… looks nice. may not be everybody’s cup of tea but at least it looks miles ahead of the City! In fact any car looks better than the ’sampan’ looking City! the problem with this Aveo Sedan will ultimately be the pricing… sigh. Wonder how much the Govt gonna tax it and price it waaaay beyond most people’s budgets?

11. Akazamabamaboo said,

August 21, 2006 @ 10:16 am

What will the Americans say about this car? I thought Americans are all about big-block V8 engines…you know…4.6-litre V8 is “standard” or “small” for them…

12. Whopper said,

August 21, 2006 @ 6:31 pm

Hmmm….I like the dashboard design….simply and looks practical. But I kinda don’t fancy the steering design. Maybe a 3 spoke steering will do instead of a four spoke steering wheel. As for the exterior design, I don’t really mind about the overall shape of it as majority of the time you would spend inside the car rather than outside of the car.

13. szw said,

August 21, 2006 @ 9:15 pm

americans use small car ?
    weird…

14. intermilan said,

August 22, 2006 @ 9:22 am

i believe that this car is mundane rather than ugly.

but by being mundane .. leads to ‘tasteless’, void of excitement.

why spend rm70k-80k + interest (another rm20k++) for this kind of thing?

another piece of crap korean engineering/designing.

15. pirate said,

August 24, 2006 @ 1:11 pm

A Vios-City hybrid?
    Best of both worlds minus a Jap engine! :)

16. owaief1 said,

September 9, 2006 @ 11:45 pm

interior looks nice…better than vios…

17. GM and DRB-HICOM sign stake transfer MoU said,

September 20, 2006 @ 11:44 pm

[...] The current Chevrolet line-up will also be refreshed, with the new model range to consist of the Chevrolet Aveo Sedan, Chevrolet Epica luxury sedan, and the absolutely stunning Chevrolet Captiva SUV! [...]

18. kevyeoh said,

August 28, 2007 @ 11:08 pm

haha..the aircond vent like copy from proton..or maybe proton copy from another car… but for me..first time see the rount aircond vent from proton cars… :P

previous post: E92 BMW M3 Possible Specifications
next post: Hyundai dispels Jaguar acquisition rumours

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!