More photos of Mazda 2 1.3 and 1.5

Here is a collection of more photos of the upcoming Mazda 2 (or Mazda Demio depending on market) to be revealed at the 2007 Geneva Motor Show this week. The Mazda 2 will come with three engine options to begin with, a 75hp 1.3 litre, an 84hp 1.3 litre as well as a 103hp 1.5 litre.

The stock Mazda 2 can be seen as the green car in this set of photos, but there is an optional Sports Appearance Pack which gives the car a little more sporty flair. You get new bumpers that appear more aggressive, for example the fog lamp inserts curve upwards in the Sports Appearance kit instead of downwards in the standard kit. The Sports Appearance grille is also one with a solid bar running through it, while the standard kit has a mesh grille, pretty much the same idea to differentiate trim level as most Mazda cars – in Malaysia the Mazda6 2.0 has a mesh grille while the higher spec Mazda6 2.3 has the solid bar grille.

The center console design reminds me a little of the Mazda RX8’s, with that circular design in the middle, and I can somehow see a Mickey Mouse head there with the two round airvents looking like Mickey’s ears. Weird design cues there.

More photos after the jump – green is standard, grey is sports pack!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 4:50 pm

If this car make debut in M'sia with affordable price i think it will be a hot selling car.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 5:00 pm

Another nice Mazda.

Seems to me Mazda is hitting home runs the last few years with some remarkable offerings.

Its just too bad Mazda does not have good market penetration.

With all these new players, I'm sure Honda is going to respond with a new FIT/Jazz soon, after all, it is almost a 10 year old design.

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 5:27 pm

Very nice looking car, especially the sports version, front bumper of normal version looks like the one on Lotus APX. Best touch in the cabin must be the location of the gear stick near the steering, very nice for spirited driving.

• demio121 (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 5:27 pm

C&C did say more Mazda's model will be coming our way. I am suspecting the CX-7 (we are crazy abt SUV here) and this Mazda2 to come over.

Mazda2 could be the car to re-establish Mazda among car buyer. From sales number, sub-100k car are the best seller. If Mazda2 make it here with the right price, it'll be a good seller.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 5:38 pm

Whew… What a great looking piece of automotive design… Mazda has done it again!

• waimak (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 6:00 pm

This is one hot car. Gonna sell well if it comes to Bolehland in CKD. Too bad we here dont really appreciate the batch.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 9:24 pm

Good, hot car. Alas, once they bring it here, it'll again be something close to the RM80k mark…. sienz……

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 12:09 am

what the!!!! fabulous design of the exterior n interior…powerful too!!…im diggin this!

• nmh (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 12:19 am

Much2 better version of 'Toyota' styling. Feel like Yaris or Aurion still 'Tak Siap'

• transformer (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 2:31 am

the last 2(or the current) didn't reach bolehland officially!

and now this new 2….. SIGH…..

Look way too advanced compared to the last 2(or the current)

the last 2(or the current) is already lovingly done!

this new 2 is EXCELLENTLY DONE! (APPEAL WISE)

though look put on weight a little bit!

rear leg room looks ok!

wheel looks larger!

seems like its has more steering wheel button than a PS2!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 2:37 am

Now that is what I call sex on wheels. Lovin the front headlamps. Not lovin the engine bay though, engine cover looks like an Atari console.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 2:57 am

if i given a chance between vw polo and this mazda 2,

ill choose a polo,

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 3:22 am

this mazda looks amazing… love the shape and lines…

• LiNKInPaRk108 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 4:14 am

Cool… very nice. Somehow it always reminds me of the NEO. :-)

• happymeal (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 4:20 am

a polo??????

u mean a plain jane polo or the GTi version???

the polo doesnt look special, and because of that GTi version, it makes it look like it will always be a car that say 'cant get a gti, got a polo instead'

i like the MX5 styled steering!! pity the gauges look cheap and the door panels look like nothing has been improved since the 90s …. i actually prefer the non-sport pack bumper, the green car. that fog light moulding seems overly large, and so much bare plastic shrouding.

really makes the Jazz design look outdated, even with all the bling rims n kit n led lights.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:03 am

well happymeal

im not talkin about the gti polo, justa regular polo,for the same class kinda car,

perhaps i like design with 'conventionality', for me this design is too 'pop' and

i dont really like the side view of the car, is too ambitious almost to be a low front roadster and radical lines infact its a true 4 dr car, whereas the volvo c30 (radical as well) but retain its conventional 2 box form which i would say its a hatchback type yet interesting,

well there are A class, colt, or smart, ..i have no problem with its look, but this time mazda pushing too hard, which i feel its out of propotion for the sake of maintaining the gene of its rx8

anyway i dont blame anyone for liking the car, its just me..having a different view

• 8918 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 5:40 am

The side and rear looks like Yaris,are they sharing the same platform?

• normal_user (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 6:44 am

Its jelly-ish & wobbly-ish like the yaris. Too organic can cause a car to lose its 'masculine'. A perfect car for the trendy hot chics & young moms.

Too bad the tiny 'mouth' doesnt really match with its long 'eyes'….

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 7:08 am

beautiful although the 1st photo is the best potrayal of its front from the looks of it. really shows wat angles can do to a car's appearance. haha. overall..LOVE it!

• gogo2 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 7:18 am

But Mazda service have bad reputation among Mazda owner. Some complain they forgot to put back engine cover. But the mechanic said the owner didn't bring. After checking, the mechanic actually put the cover behind the car. Talk about alzheimheier disease :P

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 8:37 am

It can sell like hot cake in bolehland if the price is right and price range with honda and toyota. Hoever, this will be imported from japan, so the price is much much higher, people will think better get honda civic or new altis if the price is too high. Too bad, mazda just made second high investment in Thailand.

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 7:07 pm

the side and rear looks a bit like the new Vaxhaull Corsa…

• dzat46 (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 12:42 am

Great car, if pricing comparable to Getz sure will be a hot seller. If pricing above 90K won't be good (most prob will be that price de to tax). See what happened to Yaris, ppl will definately chooze Honda Jazz/Fit for that price…

• narrowband (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 1:11 am

This is very nice. Unfortunately, Mazda isn't very popular in Malaysia yet but things are starting to change – we're beginning to see Mazda6 and Mazda5 (the mpv) on the road.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 12:32 am

coz our G slaps heavy tax on it!

if there are no tax, you can see more Mazda than Naza and even P1…

more Mazda2 than Bestari, Sutera, G2, Neo…

more Mazda3 than Perdana or even Waja…

then what about others makes ? Vios, City, Sentra and etc….

if taxless, then people would have more choices than before, people can afford more variety as they prefers… but FORTUNATELY….. WE ARE PROTECTED by Tax barrier!

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 4:17 am

if no tax then the market will be like australia. no proton at all. and also forget peroduo.

• williaml (Member) on Mar 18, 2007 at 8:07 pm

If a Mazda6 2.3L without sales tax and import duty, we able to sell at RM100k, so would you get other makes then?

Zoom Zoom…

• LazyKim (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 8:43 pm

William …That is a good question……

• EK-AIRTREK (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:58 pm

NICE Car

• proton12vauto (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 5:39 pm

peugot 206?

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 11:32 pm

if import tis 2 m’sia
    can kick out swift n jazz d
    i wonder y mazda hav nice car but lousy sales at here like ford

• DR. VICTOR F. DAVID on Jan 15, 2010 at 5:22 pm

How much is mazda2? Want to see it, tomorrow, Saturday 16 Jan 2012. I like its appearance. E-mail me with its price for 5 door and 2dr. Tnx much.