Mazda 6 2.0 and 2.3 Test Drive Review

The new 2007 Mazda6 Facelift was launched late last year by Cycle and Carriage Bintang Berhad at its 3S showroom at Lot 9 today, beside the Federal Highway. This facelifted Mazda6 features 785 engineering changes that accompanies the expected exterior and interior cosmetic changes, making this more than a refreshing exercise to keep the car looking up to date since its launch in 2003. In fact, some have said that despite interior similarities, the pre-facelift and post-facelift model are two completely different animals when it comes to the driving experience.

Read my test drive report after the jump.

The Mazda6 is one of the very few cars of which its chassis was designed specifically for it. In Mazdas dictionary it is called the GG/GY Chassis, but it has since been adapted by Ford as the CD3 chassis for use as the base for cars like the Ford Fusion and the Lincoln MKZ. A chassis injected with Mazdas “Zoom-Zoom” DNA from the very beginning is perhaps what made the Mazda6 what it is, and the reason it gained favor with motoring journalists worldwide, picking up 126 awards globally in 37 countries since its introduction, making it one of the most successful new-cars in Mazda’s 82-year history.

I tested both the Mazda6 2.0 and the Mazda6 2.3 Sedan. The Mazda6 2.0 is pretty well equipped, though the absence of automatic climate control makes it lose out to the other cars in its class which all have the dual zone auto feature. You get the following equipment with the Mazda 6 2.0 litre Sedan:

• 2.0L (1,999cc) in-line 4-cylinder, DOHC 16-valve, EFI & S-VT variable valve timing – 149PS at 6,500rpm and 187Nm of Torque at 4,000rpm
  • 5 Speed Auto Transmission (ACTIVEMATIC) with manual shifting
  • 205/55/R16 Bridgestone Turanza Tyres
  • 5pcs 16″ Alloy Rims
  • 4W-ABS+EBD
  • Head Light Levelling Control
  • Double Exhaust Tailpipe
  • Jack Knife Key with Remote Keyless Entry
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Windows
  • Central Locking & Window Locks
  • Leather Wrap Steering Wheel c/w Audio & Auto Cruise Controller
  • Leather Wrap Gear Knob
  • Audio c/w MP3 & 6 in-dash CD Changer
  • Tilt & Telescopic Adjustable Steering Column
  • Instrument Panel Light Control
  • Dual Front Airbags
  • ISOFIX Child Seat Fittings
  • Floor Console with Double-Bottom Front-Armrest Box
  • Alarm System
  • Reverse Sensors
  • Safety Kits
  • Stainless Steel Scuff Plates
  • No Plate Base
  • Carpet Mats

As for the Mazda6 2.3 Sedan, you get a more sportier package, complete with bodykit and sunroof. Detailed specs:

• 2.3L (2,261cc) in-line 4-cylinder, DOHC 16-valve, EFI & S-VT variable valve timing – 169PS at 6,500rpm and 211Nm of Torque at 4,000rpm
  • 5 Speed Auto/Manual – Transmission (ACTIVEMATIC)
  • 215/45/R17 Bridgestone Potenza RE050 Tyres
  • 5 pcs 17″ Alloy Rims
  • 4W-ABS+EBD
  • Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) & Traction Control Systems
  • HID with Grey Bezel Headlamp
  • Head Light Levelling Control
  • Fog Lamp
  • Double Chrome Tailpipe
  • Aerostyle Bumper
  • Side Skirt & Rear Spoiler
  • Auto Climate Control
  • Jack Knife Key with Remote Keyless Entry
  • Immobilizer
  • Super Lock System
  • Central Locking & Window Locks
  • Power Windows
  • Electric Sunroof
  • Leather Wrap Steering Wheel c/w Audio & Auto Cruise Controller
  • Leather Wrap Gear Knob
  • Audio c/w MP3 & 6 in-dash CD Changer
  • Tilt & Telescopic Adjustable Steering Column
  • Multi Info Display
  • Black Out Meter Cluster
  • Instrument Panel Light Control
  • Dual Front Airbags
  • Leather Seats
  • Power Adjustable Driver Seat with 3 Memories
  • ISOFIX Child Seat Fittings
  • Floor Console with Double-Bottom Front-Armrest Box
  • Sunvisors with Lamp, Vanity Mirror & Ticket Holder (Driver & Passenger)
  • Alarm System
  • Reverse Sensors
  • Safety Kits
  • Stainless Steel Scuff Plates
  • No Plate Base
  • Carpet Mats

Both engines are based on a similar block, with identical bores but the 2.3 litre has a longer stroke to increase its displacement. You get S-VT Sequential Valve Timing to smoothen out the torque curve and help with fuel consumption, as well as VIS (Variable Intake System) to match air flow path length, hence affecting its velocity according to engine speed. The 2.3 litre engine is now EURO3 compliant.

A 5-speed auto gearbox is available on both the 2.0 and 2.3 litre models. Mazda did something different with the 5 ratios of this gearbox, instead of having 3 normal cogs and 2 overdrive cogs like its competitors in similar vehicle class; it offers a 4 normal and 1 overdrive cog setup. This provides for better acceleration – leaving one overdrive gear for highway cruising. You lose out on ridiculously low RPM during high speed cruising like the Accords 3,000-odd RPM at 150km/h, but the better take-off acceleration more than makes up for it.

Gear ratios for the 5-speed automatic gearbox for both the 2.0 and 2.3 litre cars are:

• Gear Ratios (1st) – 3.620
  • Gear Ratios (2nd) – 1.925
  • Gear Ratios (3rd) – 1.285
  • Gear Ratios (4th) – 0.933
  • Gear Ratios (5th) – 0.692
  • Gear Ratios (Reverse) – 2.648

Like the Mazda3, the Mazda6 seating position was slightly higher than what you would expect from a car with such a sporty exterior outlook. The Mazda6 employs a more classic gauge layout rather than the three-pod layout of the Mazda3. You get a conventional meter panel with the 2.0 litre sedan, while the Mazda6 2.3 litre Sedan gets self-illuminating meters. The 2.0 litre sedans fabric seats are nice and supportive, and feature manual adjustment control, while the 2.3 litre sedan is wrapped with dark leather and the drivers seat features 8-way fully electric control with memory. The interior color scheme is very well coordinated; with the main color scheme being gray, with bits of aluminum and cubic print featuring either black wood grain or dark grey.

The 2.0 litre engine of the Mazda6 2.0 is the same one as the unit in the Mazda3 2.0, but the engine sounds so much quieter in the Mazda6. This is due to the superior soundproofing of the Mazda6. Control panels in the floor of the Mazda6 contain circular depressions that vibrate out of phase to cancel vibrations and keep the cabin quiet. Sound insulation in 18 major locations and a new engine mounting system helps to keep noise out of the passenger compartment.

The Mazda6 is a nice drive, you get a nice D-segment sedan, albeit a small-D, but this is likely the most driver-oriented D-segment car in its class. The car is not floaty at fast highway speeds, feels very well-grounded, and despite quite an amount of body roll (I dont think this suspension is tuned for all-out sportiness), you just have to trust the car not to give up and you and it doesnt disappoint. It handles much like what a well balanced FF car should, if pushed too hard it slowly begins to under steer, but lift off the accelerator pedal and the nose should correct itself provided you exercise good steering wheel control. While some have said the previous Mazda6 pre-facelift version is a lot more aggressive and raw, this one appears very well behaved to me, which might be a turn-off for some people who loved the pre-facelift, but to me lets leave the unrefined aggression to the Mazda3, the Mazda6 has to go Zoom-Zoom in a more refined and classy way.

The front suspension is a high-mounted double wishbone design while the rear is of an E-type multi-link design with low-profile springs and angled dampers that minimizes intrusion into the cars interior. The body is an evolved version of the Mazda Advanced Impact Distribution and Absorption System body (MAIDAS). It is a high-safety design includes front and rear crushable zones to absorb impact energy and a rigid “triple H” structure that forms a safety cage around the passenger compartment. In a front or side collision, impact energy is absorbed and channeled throughout the entire body, away from the passenger cage. At the rear, a straight, large-section rear frame soaks up energy from a collision to keep passengers protected and safe.

Brakes are grippy indeed thanks to ventilated discs at the front and discs at the rear coupled with a powerful vacuum booster and high-rigidity zero-loss brake hoses. Its a very good thing the Mazda6 comes with this set of brake equipment as with the way youll want to drive this car, youll need them. It just inspires hard driving thatll leave your tyres and brakepads stinky at the end of the drive.

Honestly, engine power is somewhat lacking, but none of the D-segment cars in this class in Malaysia can be described as powerful. The Accord 2.4 is only satisfactory, and I havent tested the Camry 2.4 yet, but with similar power to weight ratios it should be about the same. Id say a good balance of power for the Mazda6 would be the 3.0 V6 version unavailable in our markets, as the Mazda6 MPSs direct injection turbocharged 2.3 litre might just be too wild for some people. I took the 2.3 litre up Genting and the experience was far from effortless. Its expected though, with 169hp on a 1,430kg car and a normally aspirated engine torque curve. It feels like the 2.3 offers not much over the 2.0 litre.

Safety features include ABS, EBD, and twin airbags. The 2.3 litre has DSC traction control, but to be honest the car is so well sorted out that youll rarely activate it unless you have bad surfaces with less than desirable grip – for example a sandy road.

Other accessories include a sunroof for the 2.3 litre model, which includes controls for both tilt and opening size. Driving up Genting with the sunroof open proved to be a fun experience, but other than occasionally opening it when our local weather permits, most of the time youll just feel happy that your car is well equipped enough to have a sunroof yet not have much chance to use it. The ICE system interface is done up in a lovely piano black, with large and friendly buttons, and features a 6-CD in-dash changer. The sound system has really good bass, but sound starts to distort a little at higher volumes. Climate control is a single zone auto unit for the 2.3 litre, while the 2.0 litre has a single zone manual unit. The Mazda6 loses out here; its competitors have dual zone climate control. There is a fuel computer integrated into the ICE system and climate control display, you can get readings such as remaining mileage in km, average litre per 100 km fuel consumption, average speed, and current fuel consumption in real time. Neat!

Its hard to make a case for the Mazda6 if you want the large “boss car” look like what the Toyota Camry provides, and the Mazda6s interior is smaller compared to other D-segment cars, but if you want to move up from the C-segment but still want a sportier drive that focuses on driver enjoyment and not feel like youre wafting around without feeling very connected to the road, the Mazda6 is an excellent choice.

Interior feel is superior to its competitors; however it is not yet up to the level of European manufacturers, but build quality is so much better than any of its locally assembled competitors. Armrests are made of a thicker, laminated material for a softer feel, and vertical grip handles are incorporated into both front and rear armrests. Gaps between panels are flushed nicely. An example of this is the 1.5mm gap which separates the headlamp unit from the front bumper, and another similar gap where the rear bumper meets the rear fender – this level of precision according to Mazda, is normally found only in luxury cars.

The Mazda6 2.0 is priced at RM141,937 (on-the-road without insurance) while the 2.3 version is priced at RM162,318 (on-the-road without insurance). Both are fully imported CBU units from Japan.

[ GALLERY: High resolution images of the new Mazda 6 2.0 and 2.3 facelift. View the high resolution gallery to see more detail. ]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 12:53 pm

jus to put tings into prespective paul , how does it compare to ur own perdana in terms of power and handling??

• familyman (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 2:01 pm

there’s 5door version of mazda 6. you can check it out at mazdausa site.

Paul, if you have 140k to spare.. would it be mazda 6 2.0 or mazda 3 2.0 ?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 2:16 pm

Mazdaspeed version would be damn nice to have!!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 3:17 pm

Wow so many pics. Is this Paul Tan's Car Of The Year?

• òmnícp (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 3:21 pm

wait a minute, i am confused by mayo. is there a mazda 8 in the market? or mayo is referring to RX-8?

• dawgHause (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 3:42 pm

can C&C bring in manual for the mazda 6.
    its so irritating that we aren’t offered a simple manual transmission for cars like these.
    what good is handling if you don’t have a manual?

• Hikaru (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 5:18 pm

This might be seen as an unfair comparison but at the 2.0 price is within in the price range of a 2002/3 BMW 318 or if more sporty perhaps a 2001 BMW 325 with the later giving a bigger kick. Reason for saying this is because i think the Mazda is still short of what the BMW can do in terms of technology and dynamically. May the both can't be compared because when bought new the BM cost nearly twice as more but then when it is 2nd hand, it is a worthy consideration, not to mention the better depreciation and sellability of BM over Mazda and maintanance.

Maybe Paul has a comment on the twice cars?

• karheng (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 5:32 pm

There is an activematic transmission which is pretty much manual without a clutch.

I think there will not be much of a difference in the 2.4 Camry facelifted version compared to the told one because I read somewhere that it was merely facelifted while the core of the car was retained.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 5:50 pm

I would say Mazda 6 is placed at the same level as Camry. If the Camry is for current old geezer/serious executives, then the Mazda 6 is for new generation old geezer/serious executives who knows how to have fun. :)

• tishaban (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 6:24 pm

Any more fun Mazda cars to come officially from C&C? The CX-7 and CX-9 look awesome.

• KY (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 6:41 pm

macam encyclopedia entry

• Mayonaise (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 8:10 pm

C&C will be bringing in the CX-7 and MX-5 this year. No news on whether they'll bring in the Mazda 8 (it's way too expensive to bring it in here from Japan).

I've test drove Mazda 6 2.3 just 2 weeks ago, and from my point of view, it is quite different from the pre-facelift version.

It's just too bad that C&C decided not to bring in the hatchback version, I love that one.

• kington (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 8:11 pm

I had a spin in the 2.0 litre version when it was launched a few years ago, but it came with 45 series Potenza 050 tyres, unlike what Paul has specified here. I've yet to try to 2.3 litre version though.

I quite like the way it handles, though the interior was a bit off thanks to its all red light illumination, something that would certainly stir my soul within the 1st few weeks of ownership. Accelration was good in the old 2.0litre unit, and crusing on the highway was pleasant enough though the previos Camry was more comfortable.

• Jiun 88 (Member) on Jan 30, 2007 at 9:44 pm

Wait a sec. Is the Mazda6 considered 4-doors or 5-doors?? Can someone plz clarify??

Thx…

=P

• Paul Tan on Jan 31, 2007 at 1:36 am

activematic is just a normal torque converter auto with manual shifting

the ford group of companies does not have a clutchless manual yet, apparently the first one will be in a volvo.

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 2:02 am

still using the "zoom zoom" theme??? looks like this car really zoom zoom!!!

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 2:06 am

not enough quirk to make it exciting, ..simply in normal diciplined manner,

…..yeah its mazda,,, not lancer or nor alfa,

• J (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 4:41 am

I heard that Mazda is the most "European" feel among the Japanese makes.. Anyone agree ? :)

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 6:03 am

nice post paul, great pictures.

• tishaban (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 7:51 am

Mayonnaise, what is the Mazda 8? Is that the JDM model for the US CX-9?

The CX-9 is priced similarly to the Toyota Harrier/Lexus LX300 and Nissan Murano, except that it's a 7-seater. Definitely a plus for those families out there who have enough cash to spare. I really do hope they bring it in. Not that I'll buy one, my money is on the RX-8…

• umarss (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 9:22 am

J said :

I heard that Mazda is the most “European” feel among the Japanese makes.. Anyone agree ?

> i cant say i agree 100% bcos i think NISSAN has more of it. After all, NISSAN is owned by RENAULT and they share a lot of their chassis together. Take a look at NISSAN Tiida. Very 'european' for me .

> as for MAZDA, correct me if im wrong, the let FORD uses some of their chassis. so can we say MAZDA has the 'american' feel ??

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Jan 31, 2007 at 9:55 pm

Nice indeed…

Em, Ford-Mazda chassis in Mazda's model is Japanese size, not American size.

For many reason, i rather choose his brother, Mazda 3 with 2.0 powerplant.

• hhyap (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 4:38 am

basically mazda is owned by ford, so does volvo

so a mazda 3 shares the same chassis as a volvo s40 and a ford focus

mazda 3 shares same engine as normal focus

a focus xr5 share the same engine as a s40T5

mazda 6.. dunno share chassis with what other cars though. the only other car of the same size as a 6 i nthe ford stable is the mondeo

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 6:35 am

To omnicp & tishaban:

The Mazda 8 is actually the new name for the new Mazda MPV. It's named the "8" in all countries except Japan. Check out Mazda USA or Japan Websites, you'll be able to see the all-new Mazda 8 there… It's gorgeous…

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 6:38 am

To umarrs:

> as for MAZDA, correct me if im wrong, the let FORD uses some of their chassis. so can we say MAZDA has the ‘american’ feel ??

No, Mazda may share chassis with Ford and Volvo, but the suspension setup is completely done in-house by Mazda. And Ford and Volvo will do their own setup. That's why the feel is very different between them. And No, Mazda DOES NOT have the American feel. I've driven American cars before, I know exactly how it feels driving them.

• reiva8991 (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 7:49 am

In Australia, Mazda 3 & 6 MPS are powered by 2.3 Turbocharged & intercooled with more than 250hp. Mazda 6 MPS is all wheel drive.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Feb 02, 2007 at 8:14 am

Paul, spot on!!!

To me, the Mazda6 comes out top in design, specs, price, etc except for the size comparing to camry, accord, teena. Altough passat is top of my list, i wont hesitate to put my money in this wonderful car if not for its relatively smaller size. I am just a typical middle age man with a family, so my expectation should not be very far off from the thinking of this group of people. I drool when i saw one on the road. I imagine if its size is comparable to accord……ZOOM ZOOM the maximum….

last but not least, this car looks good no matter from which angle u look at it….it's so flawless, perfect…

• lembagatanah (Member) on Feb 02, 2007 at 6:24 pm

hhyap said:

'…mazda 6.. dunno share chassis with what other cars though. the only other car of the same size as a 6 i nthe ford stable is the mondeo…'

This article said '…In Mazda’s dictionary it is called the GG/GY Chassis, but it has since been adapted by Ford as the CD3 chassis for use as the base for cars like the Ford Fusion and the Lincoln MKZ…

• chrisbangle (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:28 am

This Paul Tan la, needs to brush up his photo taking skill. Picture composition is as creative as 6-year old kid. Ask the other motoring journos to teach you since you are new. Just ask politely, and dont be too lansi.

I notice your review on cars are good, EXCEPT the driving part. I think you are not exposed to many cars yet. You have to, because if not, you will be like a guy who can set up a nice website but knows arse about the content.

• sudha (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 5:30 am

hello mr chrisbungle,

noted your comments with interest. i'm not taking any sides but as a motoring blogger who may be quite new in the motoring journalism scene, I believe Paul Tan should be commended for his efforts and if at all there are short comings, he should be given some words of encouragement.

Although your tried to be subtle, dont la hantam people like that..

I like your line "you will be like a guy who can set up a nice website but knows arse about the content"..

In journalism, I personally believe, someone has to start somewhere. Unless you're a genius, you'll need a mentor and i dont think Paul has the luxury of having a mentor so he has to learn on his own. So lets give him some credit.

I too follow quite a number of motoring magazines locally and I can say there are some good motoring journos out there some young, some seasoned. Those seasoned journalist can lay claim to having a vast knowledge on motoring. In essence, let just let Paul season up while he brings us some interesting reads, shall we?

p/s bungle error was intentional and btw, you sound like a seasoned journo, someone i know?..I think so…

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 5:18 am

look nice at front and rear lamp…5 speed with manual shifting that's what i want in a car..plus 2.3 with 169ps! could be faster than new toyota camry 2.4…mazda…zoom zoom zoom…

• DEFIANT (Member) on Nov 05, 2007 at 2:44 pm

what is the fuel consumption on this beauty?