Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

CKD Kia Sportage now available for booking

The first of the few Naza models previous mentioned that are to be unveiled this year is now known. A visit to a Naza Kia showroom has revealed that dealers now have the price lists for a locally assembled Kia Sportage, and it remains badged as a Kia, not a Naza. Here are specs, which I think are very decent:

• Gasoline 2.0 liter inline-4 DOHC CVVT (Continuously Variable Valve Timing)
  • 136hp @ 6,000rpm, 184Nm @ 4,000rpm
  • Selectable part-time 4WD with auto locking hubs
  • 4-speed Auto with Shiftronic
  • 16 inch wheels
  • MP3/CD/Tuner 2-DIN Head Unit with USB and AUX Input
  • 6-speaker sound system
  • Reverse Sensors
  • Fuel Computer
  • Saturn Black Interior with Metal Grain Trim (Limited Beige Interior with Wood Trim)
  • Real Aluminium Trim Assist Grip
  • Chrome Inner Door Handles
  • Dual SRS Airbags
  • Anti-lock Brakes
  • Traction Control

Prices have dropped from the fully imported Sportage’s RM159,500 for private registration down to RM112,000 for the locally assembled version, a massive drop! The Sportage’s price now makes much more sense, positioned cheaper than it’s rivals like the Honda CR-V. It has also gained commendable crash test results - 5 stars for all seating positions in the U.S. Department of Transportations National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) crash test.

Naza Kia dealers are taking bookings already, so if you’re interested you can head on to the showroom to check it out. The Sportage is not too bad looking, though seems to be inspired from the Swedish as it looks like a smaller Volvo XC90.

32 Comments »

1. Xoomie said,

April 13, 2007 @ 4:08 pm

RM112,000 is a good bargain

2. mitlanevo said,

April 13, 2007 @ 4:21 pm

Price drop so much?? FU-YOHHHH !!!!!!

Anyway, I don’t like Sportage…..

3. kei9 said,

April 13, 2007 @ 4:22 pm

cheap! nice idea! now theres a huge demand for this kia cos…it’s freakin cheaper!

4. aesthari said,

April 13, 2007 @ 4:25 pm

Good bargainly, for this price, it’ll probably affect sales of the Sorento too.

5. hameed koyakuti said,

April 13, 2007 @ 4:30 pm

Hmmmmm, impressive. Imagine the 1st Sportage crap look………How Kia had evolved tremendously……??? P1, WAKE UPPPPPP………..!!!!

6. proton GL said,

April 13, 2007 @ 4:35 pm

looks for ladies

7. Infinitt said,

April 13, 2007 @ 4:44 pm

Cheap sale..should drop more..but its Kia..hmm..thinking twice.

8. ilmondo said,

April 13, 2007 @ 5:05 pm

wait 4 diesel version or a decent used 1?

9. sarawakguy said,

April 13, 2007 @ 5:06 pm

hmm…still a bit high…If Tucson can go for RM99K+++ one…why not Sportage…?

10. hondadriver said,

April 13, 2007 @ 5:15 pm

unfortunately, the perception on korean models in the market today is far from positive. They are perceived to have extremely bad 2nd hand value, expensive spare parts, and poor fuel consumption (for petrol vehicles).

11. najibest said,

April 13, 2007 @ 6:13 pm

i guess the Tucson can be as low as RM99K because that’s the 2WD version. the 4WD version cost around RM130K if i was not mistaken….so i guess Sportage at RM112K is good enough

12. japankiller said,

April 13, 2007 @ 6:32 pm

From what i have observed, never buy any Kia when the model is newly launch, especially those CBU type, will eventually lose its 2nd value if this car come under CKD

What?!!! 2.0 liter engine with CVVT only have 136hp????? you guess may be…how is the engine can perform or long last and maintainance cost,

13. KucingKelabu said,

April 13, 2007 @ 6:33 pm

Oh my… that is a very good price for this kind of car. I find it robustly cute, somewhat!

14. ab said,

April 13, 2007 @ 7:59 pm

yeah, how did they get such a low hp and torque from such a high tech engine?

15. mystvearn said,

April 13, 2007 @ 8:52 pm

Well, Cheap to buy, but word on the 2nd hand car dealers say all Kia Cars are like rock, buy once, price drop massively. No way to get back half what you invested. Even though it looks quite attractive for the mp3 user.

BTW, what does a Fuel Computer do? Some fancy name to some ordinary thing?

16. BrakeFader said,

April 13, 2007 @ 9:00 pm

Smart move for using KIA badge instead of NAZA. RM112k is quite a good price for a 2.0L 4WD SUV. The hyundai twin, Tucson for under 100k is only a 2wd ver. and if not mistaken all year 2005 stock.

Nah, it won’t affect the sorento. They are worlds apart as Sorento is like Pajero sized (I hear it is even Pajero based.)

17. Paul Tan said,

April 14, 2007 @ 4:26 am

mystvearn: a fuel computer calculates current fuel consumption, average fuel consumption, distance in km remaining until empty tank, etc etc etc.

18. maibatsu_thunder said,

April 14, 2007 @ 7:05 am

The Sportage was launched at RM121,000, but went up recently after the govt. uplifted the gazetted prices for CBU imports.

19. mits27 said,

April 14, 2007 @ 12:28 pm

2.0L 136hp is not really enough for this heavy suv…
    But RM112k is good deal..

20. acwa238 said,

April 14, 2007 @ 1:14 pm

I owned a 2.0L Petrol Sportage before, the older version. And because of the lack of power, the fuel economy is really bad. Better think twice if you wanna buy this. My 2 cents, always go for diesel if you’re buying a 4 wheel drive.

Does anyone know how much is a Kia Sorento Diesel now?

21. gogo2 said,

April 14, 2007 @ 4:29 pm

anyone remember last year Merdeka promotion? the sportage is just rm99k!!!
    How can u all say 112k is cheap. i think the price should be 89k instead!!!

22. nmh said,

April 14, 2007 @ 5:21 pm

its freakin cheap, its freakin ugly too

23. J said,

April 14, 2007 @ 6:31 pm

Normally I am banning myself from considering Kia or Hyundai :)

24. transformer said,

April 14, 2007 @ 7:55 pm

at Rm122K its too expensive!

should priced around Rm90+ or lesser… but does Rm90+ can attract buyers?
    Still NO!

bcos its a Kia! but if a CKD Hyundai Tucson… i might buy one at Rm90K+!

IMHO, Tucson(CBU around Rm130K+) are more well equipped than it Sportage siblings…. but for Rm130K+, i would get X-Trail instead!

25. maibatsu_thunder said,

April 15, 2007 @ 12:46 am

What specs in the Tucson are better than Sportage?? 2WD only what, and no fuel computer, MP3/CD/USB audio, etc. If you read carefully it’s 112,000 OTR lah!

26. shama said,

April 15, 2007 @ 12:24 pm

quite an interesting development in Naza Stable with an additional CKD model with competitive pricing in the Small SUV class. It will sure give the new Honda CRV a run for their money!! Just hope in built quality is at least at par with the Honda’s if not better….

27. shama said,

April 15, 2007 @ 3:12 pm

quite a good deal. Another option for SUV. With that price, i think it will definitely give the new CRV a run for their money. Just hope the CKD built quality is at least at par with honda’s if not better.

28. hondadriver said,

April 16, 2007 @ 9:24 am

i think it would not give the CRV a run for anything.

A person looking to buy a CRV, i think you wouldn’t even give this car a look. at RM150,000 for a CRV, the person buying one is in a totally different league.

This Kia is only for someone, who aspires to own something like a CRV, but can’t afford it just yet. I dont think anyone who can afford a CRV, will end up buying a KIA to “save money”, and in the long run, you’ll probably end up losing a whole lot more.

29. viduka said,

April 29, 2007 @ 5:57 pm

Did sarawakguy said that TUCSON sold for only RM99,+++?? Is that true?? I am very much interested in getting an SUV, and if TUCSON are selling at that price i think its worth buying…coz its fully imported one..right?

30. viduka said,

April 29, 2007 @ 6:09 pm

did sarawakguy said that Hyundai Tucson only sold at RM99+++?? Wow, thats very much worth of money…is that true?? Can u provide me with the dealer contacts?

31. New locally assembled Kia Sportage launched said,

July 4, 2007 @ 1:50 am

[...] previously reported, Naza has unveiled a locally assembled version of the Kia Sportage. One suprise that might come to [...]

32. samT said,

November 12, 2007 @ 11:31 pm

Dear Hondadriver,

Just to prove you wrong. I could afford a CRV anytime. I testdrove the CRV, XTrail and the New Sportage. Now with cost aside, I believe the handling and power of the Sportage wins handdown over CRV! May be on par with XTrail which loses out in interior design compared to Sportage. My other rich car-players are of the same opinion. There you go!

Unless you are after branded stuffs or a die-hard fan of Honda, go try out the New Sportage. The new engine has marked a new generation of Kia’s vehicles.

For those concerned with fuel consumption, my Sportage has an average consumption of 19to20cent/km. My advice, it’s a really good buy.

regards,
    Proud owner of New Sportage.

previous post: Volvo S40 and V50 facelifted
next post: Next generation Honda City/Fit Aria

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!