CKD Kia Sportage now available for booking

The first of the few Naza models previous mentioned that are to be unveiled this year is now known. A visit to a Naza Kia showroom has revealed that dealers now have the price lists for a locally assembled Kia Sportage, and it remains badged as a Kia, not a Naza. Here are specs, which I think are very decent:

• Gasoline 2.0 litre inline-4 DOHC CVVT (Continuously Variable Valve Timing)
  • 136hp @ 6,000rpm, 184Nm @ 4,000rpm
  • Selectable part-time 4WD with auto locking hubs
  • 4-speed Auto with Shiftronic
  • 16 inch wheels
  • MP3/CD/Tuner 2-DIN Head Unit with USB and AUX Input
  • 6-speaker sound system
  • Reverse Sensors
  • Fuel Computer
  • Saturn Black Interior with Metal Grain Trim (Limited Beige Interior with Wood Trim)
  • Real Aluminium Trim Assist Grip
  • Chrome Inner Door Handles
  • Dual SRS Airbags
  • Anti-lock Brakes
  • Traction Control

Prices have dropped from the fully imported Sportage’s RM159,500 for private registration down to RM112,000 for the locally assembled version, a massive drop! The Sportage’s price now makes much more sense, positioned cheaper than it’s rivals like the Honda CR-V. It has also gained commendable crash test results – 5 stars for all seating positions in the U.S. Department of Transportations National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) crash test.

Naza Kia dealers are taking bookings already, so if you’re interested you can head on to the showroom to check it out. The Sportage is not too bad looking, though seems to be inspired from the Swedish as it looks like a smaller Volvo XC90.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xoomie (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:08 am

RM112,000 is a good bargain

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:21 am

Price drop so much?? FU-YOHHHH !!!!!!

Anyway, I don't like Sportage…..

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:22 am

cheap! nice idea! now theres a huge demand for this kia cos…it's freakin cheaper!

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:25 am

Good bargainly, for this price, it'll probably affect sales of the Sorento too.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:30 am

Hmmmmm, impressive. Imagine the 1st Sportage crap look………How Kia had evolved tremendously……??? P1, WAKE UPPPPPP………..!!!!

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:35 am

looks for ladies

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:44 am

Cheap sale..should drop more..but its Kia..hmm..thinking twice.

• ilmondo (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 1:05 am

wait 4 diesel version or a decent used 1?

• sarawakguy (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 1:06 am

hmm…still a bit high…If Tucson can go for RM99K+++ one…why not Sportage…?

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 1:15 am

unfortunately, the perception on korean models in the market today is far from positive. They are perceived to have extremely bad 2nd hand value, expensive spare parts, and poor fuel consumption (for petrol vehicles).

• najibest (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 2:13 am

i guess the Tucson can be as low as RM99K because that's the 2WD version. the 4WD version cost around RM130K if i was not mistaken….so i guess Sportage at RM112K is good enough

• japankiller (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 2:32 am

From what i have observed, never buy any Kia when the model is newly launch, especially those CBU type, will eventually lose its 2nd value if this car come under CKD

What?!!! 2.0 liter engine with CVVT only have 136hp????? you guess may be…how is the engine can perform or long last and maintainance cost,

• KucingKelabu (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 2:33 am

Oh my… that is a very good price for this kind of car. I find it robustly cute, somewhat!

• ab (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 3:59 am

yeah, how did they get such a low hp and torque from such a high tech engine?

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 4:52 am

Well, Cheap to buy, but word on the 2nd hand car dealers say all Kia Cars are like rock, buy once, price drop massively. No way to get back half what you invested. Even though it looks quite attractive for the mp3 user.

BTW, what does a Fuel Computer do? Some fancy name to some ordinary thing?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 5:00 am

Smart move for using KIA badge instead of NAZA. RM112k is quite a good price for a 2.0L 4WD SUV. The hyundai twin, Tucson for under 100k is only a 2wd ver. and if not mistaken all year 2005 stock.

Nah, it won't affect the sorento. They are worlds apart as Sorento is like Pajero sized (I hear it is even Pajero based.)

• Paul Tan on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:26 pm

mystvearn: a fuel computer calculates current fuel consumption, average fuel consumption, distance in km remaining until empty tank, etc etc etc.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 3:05 pm

The Sportage was launched at RM121,000, but went up recently after the govt. uplifted the gazetted prices for CBU imports.

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 8:28 pm

2.0L 136hp is not really enough for this heavy suv…

But RM112k is good deal..

• acwa238 (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 9:14 pm

I owned a 2.0L Petrol Sportage before, the older version. And because of the lack of power, the fuel economy is really bad. Better think twice if you wanna buy this. My 2 cents, always go for diesel if you're buying a 4 wheel drive.

Does anyone know how much is a Kia Sorento Diesel now?

• gogo2 (Member) on Apr 15, 2007 at 12:29 am

anyone remember last year Merdeka promotion? the sportage is just rm99k!!!

How can u all say 112k is cheap. i think the price should be 89k instead!!!

• nmh (Member) on Apr 15, 2007 at 1:21 am

its freakin cheap, its freakin ugly too

• J (Member) on Apr 15, 2007 at 2:31 am

Normally I am banning myself from considering Kia or Hyundai :)

• transformer (Member) on Apr 15, 2007 at 3:55 am

at Rm122K its too expensive!

should priced around Rm90+ or lesser… but does Rm90+ can attract buyers?

Still NO!

bcos its a Kia! but if a CKD Hyundai Tucson… i might buy one at Rm90K+!

IMHO, Tucson(CBU around Rm130K+) are more well equipped than it Sportage siblings…. but for Rm130K+, i would get X-Trail instead!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Apr 15, 2007 at 8:46 am

What specs in the Tucson are better than Sportage?? 2WD only what, and no fuel computer, MP3/CD/USB audio, etc. If you read carefully it's 112,000 OTR lah!

• shama (Member) on Apr 15, 2007 at 8:24 pm

quite an interesting development in Naza Stable with an additional CKD model with competitive pricing in the Small SUV class. It will sure give the new Honda CRV a run for their money!! Just hope in built quality is at least at par with the Honda's if not better….

• shama (Member) on Apr 15, 2007 at 11:12 pm

quite a good deal. Another option for SUV. With that price, i think it will definitely give the new CRV a run for their money. Just hope the CKD built quality is at least at par with honda's if not better.

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 5:24 pm

i think it would not give the CRV a run for anything.

A person looking to buy a CRV, i think you wouldn't even give this car a look. at RM150,000 for a CRV, the person buying one is in a totally different league.

This Kia is only for someone, who aspires to own something like a CRV, but can't afford it just yet. I dont think anyone who can afford a CRV, will end up buying a KIA to "save money", and in the long run, you'll probably end up losing a whole lot more.

• viduka (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 1:57 am

Did sarawakguy said that TUCSON sold for only RM99,+++?? Is that true?? I am very much interested in getting an SUV, and if TUCSON are selling at that price i think its worth buying…coz its fully imported one..right?

• viduka (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 2:09 am

did sarawakguy said that Hyundai Tucson only sold at RM99+++?? Wow, thats very much worth of money…is that true?? Can u provide me with the dealer contacts?

• samT (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 11:31 pm

Dear Hondadriver,

Just to prove you wrong. I could afford a CRV anytime. I testdrove the CRV, XTrail and the New Sportage. Now with cost aside, I believe the handling and power of the Sportage wins handdown over CRV! May be on par with XTrail which loses out in interior design compared to Sportage. My other rich car-players are of the same opinion. There you go!

Unless you are after branded stuffs or a die-hard fan of Honda, go try out the New Sportage. The new engine has marked a new generation of Kia’s vehicles.

For those concerned with fuel consumption, my Sportage has an average consumption of 19to20cent/km. My advice, it’s a really good buy.

regards,
    Proud owner of New Sportage.

• malayabird on Jun 24, 2009 at 7:54 am

i buying now kia sportage!!! 88k++

• roozydaud on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:35 pm

Yes, you are so right samT.

I was a honda stream owner before, sold it off with the intention of getting anew CRV. After test drived the Xtrail, CRV & Sportage.. Ended up with Sportage and love it.. In fact, my kids fancy it too..

The interior is quite plushy too… If you really do your cost and benefit analysis.. you'll get a better picture of this as well.

It's a sure value for money.

Hmm.. To my surprise, test drived the Rondo as well… felt that the handling is much better than my stream..

I guess, some people are just die hard for the branded names.

Cheers to you….

Another proud owner of New Sportage…….

• Threephase on Sep 07, 2009 at 7:27 pm

roozydaud… hmm… the name so familiar one

how about maintenance costs?

not so much the regular, but the major ones.

btw, to nmh, i like "ugly" car because it makes me more handsome haha

• l am now using a kia sportage 2009, nice drive. spare parts price almost the same or lpwer than toyota wish. l am compare with toyota wish because my wife drive it. The resale value of kia vehicle drop because of malaysia people attitude, japan cars are always good value. For me the the technology of KIA is better than PROTON. leading the PROTON far away………………….

• William on Oct 26, 2009 at 9:21 pm

Dear All,

I nearly bought a Kia Sportage but held back to wait for news on the new Hyundai ix (Tucson). Since the pics of the new 2010 model have appeared, it looks like a major changeover for this model…much nicer than CRV, X-Trail, or Sportage.

I'd like to know any comment from current owners of Hyundai Tucson.

Any new news about this new Tucson ix is also much welcomed.

FYI, I'm much a fan of Sportage and Tucson. Test drived Sportage and CRV…nothing to shout about the CRV. I honestly think it is overpriced.

• Malgen Wong on Jan 08, 2010 at 1:49 am

Price should be below 100k !