2007 Suzuki Swift Facelift

Suzuki Swift Facelift

Suzuki has given it’s Suzuki Swift a mid-life facelift, and has added a new variant called the Suzuki Swift Style, giving it some minor changes such as a new grille with dual chrome bars across, as well as a slightly different foglamp insert design. One major technical difference is the base model gets a new 1.2 litre K12B engine option that’s mated to a CVT transmission. The new 1.2 litre K12B makes 90PS at 6,000rpm and 118Nm of torque a 4,400rpm, pretty respectable for a tiny 1.2 litre engine.

Other than that, everything else about the Swift seems pretty much the same. Since the design is pretty pleasant to look at in the first place, perhaps Suzuki is adopting the “if it ain’t broken, don’t fix it” methodology here.

The updated Suzuki Swift Sport gets an altered gear ratio, a new electronic stability control feature, plus it’s redline is increased from 6,800rpm to 7,200rpm.

More photos after the jump.

Suzuki Swift Facelift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• J (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 2:47 am

Now the look is fresher :)

But when is the 1.6 Manual coming to Bolehland ? RM106K ??

• Junting1803 (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 2:52 am

must be a high-revving supermini….

• albagmane (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 2:52 am

haha… i heard got CKD version, still selling high huh?

• MyBoy (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 3:39 am

Got CKD meh?

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 4:06 am

Not as sharp looking as before

Like turning a macho man to softy…

• tokmoh (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 4:16 am

Looks refreshed indeed…..nice new colour too. Sadly, in boleh-land, it's considered a sin to own such a 'luxury', and you'll hv to be taxed heavily to show your patriotism to your beloved country led by the honourable YAB Pak Lah.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 4:24 am

Swift 1.2 CVT got CKD meh? Never heard loh.

• jehutyz (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 4:25 am

Used to be nice. Now is even better.

Got new engine also.

1.2 then will it be cheaper?

• transformer (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 4:32 am

rear lamp are sucks… reminds me of Chevy Optra

both Suzuki nd Chevy are under GM

• ab (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 4:39 am

my current best looking hatchback

• mmcwei (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 5:11 am

1.2L engine with 90PS…quite impressive…even better than myvi and savvy…

• MyBoy (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 5:28 am

mmcwei said,

1.2L engine with 90PS…quite impressive…even better than myvi and savvy…

I reserved my comment on that matter till i see the power-torque graph.

• mits27 (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 6:41 am

wooo…1.2L for 90ps on 6000 rpm, 118Nm torque at 4400rpm…

• mystvearn (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 7:10 am

nice car, nice design.

• avanza (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 7:23 am

I think the previous model with the honeycomb radiator grill looked more sporty.

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 10:35 am

i tink the swift needs an interior upgrade,the rear space is so terribly small….u sit there n ur knees will be hitting everyting….not good….

• w_lighter (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 11:45 am

Errr… it looks exactly the same~ swt

• neurra (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 11:59 am

the wheels look very much smaller.

• lowprofile (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 5:50 pm

is this for malaysian market? i thought we only have the 1.5vvt here. even the 1.6 sport which has been long launched in singapore is not officially here yet. now there's a 1.2? hmmm, wonder wht is happening to the ckd plans for the swift.

Paul, can you dig a little for us when the ckd thing is happening and is the 1.2 really coming and will it be ckd and the 1million dollar question is, how much cheaper can they make it? the body seems kinda big n heavy for a 1.2 even with its 90bhp motor.

• I my (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 6:03 pm

Will be a good car to run in town, ie KL jam….

• normaluser (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 6:46 pm

Hicom (Suzuki Malaysia) should have released the CKD by now. Too long already since 2005, and the Swift is ageing and soon will be replaced.

• andre128 (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 6:47 pm

will this model sell in malaysia?

• tec96248 (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 7:08 pm

transformer said,

May 29, 2007 @ 8:32 pm

rear lamp are sucks… reminds me of Chevy Optra

both Suzuki nd Chevy are under GM

==hahaha, u remind me of my friend that don't know how to appreciate arts or cars. hmm………why?

• zombie07 (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 8:42 pm

Is the Swift Sport really coming? It's like waiting till the cows come home.

• floyd (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 9:04 pm

".. 90PS at 6,000rpm and 118Nm of torque a 4,400rpm, pretty respectable for a tiny 1.2 liter engine.."

And you want to rev your poor little car to 6000rpm? You must be crazy, poor swift will die in no time LOL.

In reality you'd drive at 2000-3500rpm most of the time.

• proton12vauto (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 9:59 pm

1.2 with CVT? whoaa..Savvy can get killed….Savvy..u are Doom!

• aesthari (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 10:00 pm

Still looks boring. Don't really notice much change apart from the rear lamp, and the stylo STYLE badge.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 10:28 pm

proton12vauto = swift sells for over RM80,000. savvy sells for RM45,000 below.. please do the maths.

• demio121 (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 7:50 am

looks good and this K12B can do 20.5km/l. not that is impressive.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 12:02 am

the swift sport is here oredi in malaysia. i know as my office is near their hq and i hv seen the car running around. but, for some reason or other, they are not launching it yet. maybe it's too expensive after taxes.

• arjun1991 (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 12:14 am

looks more sophisticated than the previous swift,

althught the face-lift is'nt "all that" but it looks younger and the suits the name… swift, the tail light looks better.

how i wish they'd do something dynamic to the interior,

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 12:44 am

have yall seen the sx4?….seen a brunei num plate in miri…kinda good looking, saw 2 of em! in one day! a lot of bruneians go to miri……..the carpark is full with brunei cars!

• proton12vauto (Member) on Jun 03, 2007 at 6:50 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said proton12vauto = swift sells for over RM80,000. savvy sells for RM45,000 below.. please do the maths.

By the way..rm80k for 1.5cc then with extra2 thing…so the competitor for Savvy is 1.2cc with CVT then somwhow, malaysian got more money maa..nowdays..willing to pay more… if not why still people pay for vios (1.5) Accent (1.5) etc…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 6:05 am

proton12vauto…yalah…agree with u also..

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 11:07 pm

demio121 said,

May 30, 2007 @ 11:50 pm

looks good and this K12B can do 20.5km/l. not that is impressive.

R u sure this engine can make it 20.5km/L ?? where u get this information ?? this more save fuel then 660 viva ? even the P2 cars ?? but the price not tat cheep eh i think …

• danielk (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 2:28 pm

3 years ago when I saw the tail lights on the swift I thought they were just begging for led's. If anything the rounded style taillight on the swift sport would have looked better and they could have tinted the sports to differentiate them like they did with the Astra. The indicators on the mirrors are a nice touch though. The thing that annoys me about the swift that hasn’t changed is the arm rests on the doors. They look like an afterthought that was clipped onto the door jutting outwards with no attempt to integrate them. They're hard, too small and uncomfortable. Overall the car is great and sells like hotcakes in Australia. Problem is that if I bought one I’d probably spend $2000 on accessories like cruise control, premium sound etc. With all the other kit available like automatic air conditioning and upgraded trims and highlights we miss out on they really should consider a 3rd grade to sit above the Swift S. A 6-stack in-dash CD player with MP3 playback and chunkier black buttons would also be nice. The silver and blue buttons look out of place which is odd since I swear I’ve seen interior shots with an all black head unit before!