Perodua Myvi Launch

Can we see the latest compact running around on roads tomorrow? Rumours are saying that the Perodua MyVI is going to launch on 25/05/2005. That’s next Wednesday people. I personally think tomorrow which is 20/05/2005 is a bit nicer. After all it’s 20052005. Hehe :P

I have friends who have already booked the car. Can’t wait to check it out! I’m not this excited with Proton cars new launches coz I know they only churn out one disaster after another. Perodua is different. They have Toyota blood in them. That makes their cars worth waiting for :P

MyVI Logo

Other related Perodua Myvi posts:
Perodua Myvi
Perodua Myvi TRD Bodykit
Perodua Myvi Logo and Test Drive
Perodua Myvi Launch
Perodua Myvi Colours – The Myvi Rainbow
Perodua Myvi Specifications and Price
Perodua Myvi Interior
Perodua Myvi Engine Bay
Perodua Myvi Technical Datasheet
Perodua Myvi Photos From The Showroom
Perodua Myvi Forum
Converting your Perodua Myvi to a turbo?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Calvin on May 19, 2005 at 11:43 pm

MYVI…Stylish and affordable

Fuel consumption: saver, 40 litre full tank

Manual: RM57.00 full tank for 684km

Auto: RM57.00 full tank for 542km

1.3l engine ( with DVVT, possibly same engine as the Kembara and Avanza ) with automatic transmission plus dual air bags and ABS!

Just placed a booking for the MYVI by depositing RM1,000 with the car dealer….will get this new car in 6 months time.

• Hi Tan,

Thanks for all the information on Myvi. You are doing a great job!!

• m i dreaming….myvi in trd bodykitz. oh god!

• Jimmy on May 20, 2005 at 9:48 am

Hei thanks man for the info, before that i still haven deside which one to buy picando novus or MYVI, now i think myvi better : )

• Jimmy: Kia spareparts are expensive, you'd be better off with the Myvi. Can use Toyota parts and etc :P

• wieda on May 20, 2005 at 9:23 pm

what i heard otr for 1.3 is about rm45,500. same range wt picanto lor… actually im waiting for proton trm for so long dy, but my vi come out first. looks good! so aerodynamic! but i a bit confuse also whether to buy picanto or myvi, somemore myvi still brand new, 1st batch. scared got problems or what…

• EDMUND on May 21, 2005 at 8:22 pm

WHICH COLOUR IS SOLID AND METALIC?

• saiful on May 24, 2005 at 3:03 am

Dear fellas,

Let's get out and buy this stuff..

• Alice Mah on May 25, 2005 at 12:05 am

Dear sir,

May I know the actual date of launching ?

Hope to receive yr. reply soonest .

Thank you.

Regards,

Alice Mah

24/05/05-4.07 pm

• is quite nice about ur web, but can u find some sports car photo,bodykit photo or some else…

it will be more fun…

• no comment…

• buntu

• baguslah dengan pelancaran perodua myvi

• apa ni cakap bahasa inggeris tak paham la

• Rexyu on May 26, 2005 at 6:29 pm

hey Paul , thx ur info, and i just saw the new car at cheras here, quite nice really Daihatsu Boon. its sounds good for Malaysian and lucky that i didnt bought Kenari hehe

• MOHAMED KAMIL BIN OT on May 26, 2005 at 7:02 pm

Wow… hebatlah myvi. tahniah dan syabas kepada Produa kerana sentiasa berusaha memuaskan pelanggan. Boleh tak kurangkan lagi harganya.

Terima kasih dan selamat maju jaya.

• cANTIK DAN MENAWAN….TAPI JGN LUPA TENTANG ASPEK KESELAMATAN,MENGAPA PERLU BAYAR LEBIH UTK ITEM SPT BAG UDARA ,ABS….DLL,X BOLEHKAH ITEM INI DISELARASKAN DLM HARGA JUALAN? kalau setakat cantik tp ciri2 keselamatan x diambil kira…..???

• Enrique on May 26, 2005 at 11:57 pm

Well, first of all congratulation to Perodua because they Successfully extended the space and changing the view of Perodua. The designed can be classified as okay and not bad but the material of the design still looks same and doesn't make any differences.TQ

• nurul on May 27, 2005 at 12:11 am

i love the myvi style..standard..

• ezaruddin bin mohama on May 27, 2005 at 1:53 am

best sampai tak terkata… bila boleh test drive?

• Hi Paul,

I love your review on Myvi. Your website here is soooo much more reliable than perodua's. It's so damn (forgive the language) slow la. I was hoping to catch a glimpse of myvi. I saw it on tv. It was AWESOME!!! If not for the fact that there's already a long queue i would have put my booking on myvi and make mine the olive green. Mmmm… reminds me of mini volks. cute enough to eat. Hehehe…. Anyway, I was one of the few people who bought kenari when it was launched. I have been a very very satisfied customer of perodua. No defects whatsoever (compared to the scary story from my friends owning a proton car). Anyway, kenari was the pioneer into DOHC engine and i think i would like to say KUDOS to the perodua team who came up with such great designs, great technology at such affordable prices. They deserve extra bonus this year. Hehehe…. To the lady who is thinking of getting the Picanto. Think again… the price of spare parts is absolutely horrendos and KIA's distributor is NAZA which means be ready to fork out extra for spare parts. Paul, once again, thanks for your wonderful review on myvi. Your website was like quenching my thirst for info on myvi. Despite all the talk about sassy from Proton, i'd bet all my money on myvi and perodua.

• What so Big Deal????

• sassy the don on May 27, 2005 at 6:36 am

just back from P2 shoruum earlier today. keeewl! Myvi is just spacious compare to kancil/kelisa/kembara. got glovebox somemore not like "jendul"…i mean Gen2!

dashboard is just as simple as perodua.

"Buy Malaysian" however myvi is not the one. its toyota + daihatsu = assembled in malaysie with minor cosmetic changes

• coffee on May 27, 2005 at 5:15 pm

one week ago,I booking inokom atos prima but yesterday I went to peroduo branch and I decided to book for myvi coz both car have the same price but myvi engine much more better than atos and provided new techinology compare to atos with sohc engine after so much year.Should I wait for atos or myvi?

• This time the Perodua team really have outdone themselves… Or was it everytime??

Looked a lot like Boon, but ain't other cars looks like OTHER cars as well? Pleaselahh… If the design is really nice, then there's no harm in renovating it to be a locale. That was what the Japanese did when they first ventured in automotive manufacturing. And one more thing is that, to be critical we shouldn't be damaging, but giving ideas to improve. *blink blink*

Went over to Anjung to see Myvi, and I fell in love with it immediately!! Still love my Kelisa, but in long term, I think this car is the best choice for a family car…

Syabas Perodua!

• ah ming on May 27, 2005 at 6:03 pm

thanks man ..i appriciate u to do this web..let me know malaysia's car is suk compare to dashasu original car

• Some do talk their brains and not just heads (that we all have)!!!

• rafae on May 27, 2005 at 6:48 pm

terrible…i just bought gen2 2004 model…. proton never doing their r&d properly!!! gen 2 quality totally different from myvi…

• hazizi on May 27, 2005 at 9:59 pm

myvi is the best

• sky chew on May 28, 2005 at 1:28 am

wah…. this is best car from produa!!

u wun belive it if u din't try to drive …

it feel more powerfull than bmw!!

buy it!!!!

• it`s so sporty.love to have this car la! well done perodua!

• Alamak … cantiknya … this car … CUTE ! say it loud … 'I feel in love with her a second i meet her'

I feel proud to sit at the driver side in this national car. It has the space, It has the look, and It really looks smart, solid … Honey, Besok i want to MINANG this girl boleh ke … and you, apa tunggu-tunggu lagi ?

• Cakap banyak pun tak guna…letih mulut aje…the real thing is already in the showroom close to u…pegi tengok, duduk dan drive…kemudian baru cakap ape yang tak betul…suka—beli, tak suka—simpan lu punya duit…lu tak rugi…biar orang lain beli…fair?

• zek zek on May 29, 2005 at 12:45 am

believe or not … perodua cars are better quality than proton…

• Hi Friends,

I knew the car is beauty, but wait first. All the first batch car got problems. Thus, let see and buy after almost a year. The first batch car always a Pre-production car, sure got issues one.

If u all notice the front lamp is slightly different compare to Toyota Passo, which is not so sporty compare with Toyota Passo. Toyota Passo lamp almost like Honda Jazz. If not, Myvi even look marvellous.

• goss600 on May 30, 2005 at 10:38 pm

is still the same old perodua..!!! always a copy cat…!!! boring boring..!!!

• Chinly on Jun 08, 2005 at 3:53 am

That car is very nice!

• michchei on Jun 10, 2005 at 2:47 am

i think the myvi is more better than proton savvy i love myvi

• jgn cakap saja follow mcm aku book myvi warna silver, tp moccha silver lagi lawa la beb. Myvi memang ada klass, tahun lepas aku pernah dapat email pasal keta design sebiji mcm ni lass2 dapat juga aku merasa, ni lah keta pertama aku. harap2 boleh pakai sampai tua.

• ToyotaForLife on Jun 16, 2005 at 7:48 am

To quote: Comment by EL — 30/5/2005 @ 2:11 pm …

Fren,

I used to work in the ad agency for Perodua. I know how things work in there. First batch cars are not known as Pre-Production Cars, they are known as PP1 or Pilot Production 1. Pre-Production Cars are unfinished cars (still in the conveyor line). One good news, DON'T WAIT! All first batch of Myvi's will be inspected by DMC (Daihatsu Motor Corp) themselves because this is a major project by TMC, DMC and P2. Did you know that P2 played a role in the development of Passo/Boon/Myvi back in 2002 in Japan? Want to know one more thing? The DMC people were more impressed with the Myvi compared to their own Boon due to the bumpers, skirting and the lines on the bonnet of the Myvi.

• queeny on Jun 22, 2005 at 10:31 pm

good, interligent, beautiful

• "INGINKAN PERUB on Jul 08, 2005 at 4:34 am

erm harap-harap kereta keluaran malaysia kali ni ok,harap sangat.kdg2 tu bukan apa,bengangpun ada.body cantik kualiti takda,body hodoh..kualiti bagus.ADUSSSSSS…..!!!!!!!tension giler ngan kereta malaysia.baru tadi tgk gen2 baru (tak bukak plastik kusyen lagi)terbehenti tgh jln.mengamuk owner kereta tuh……..pelikla,takkan lah blh diluluskan kereta yg tak berkualiti,ingat org malaysia nih tak ada test ker,tgk mcm juwara.haih,hodoh giler………harapkan perubahanla

• kokss on Jul 12, 2005 at 2:51 am

wat the real fuel consumption for myvi 1.3 auto and myvi? pls tell me who already bouth the car!

• kokss: you can ask some fellow Myvi owners at the Perodua Myvi forums (http://www.peroduamyvi.com/)

• Olynn on Jul 12, 2005 at 7:01 pm

Aku suke aa… tengok kete nie…Cantik, cute and Lawa…

Aku dah booked satu, tak sabar rasenye nak dapat kete tuh… Minggu nie maybe aku dapat Warna Silver!! Fuh!! Ngancam… Beli.. jangan tak beli..

Tahniah !! Produa…

• Allen on Jul 13, 2005 at 4:47 am

Myvi…..Myvi…..Myvi….. What gorgeous car…. So many times better than Proton savvy or sawi… Cheers to Perodua for their beautiful invention….. The best Perodua have offered….Just go out and get yourself one for those who are planning to buy a new vehicle or changing the existing one….

• cantikla keta ni….

• SabahGirl on Jul 27, 2005 at 5:43 pm

Aku dah dapat kete nih… Fuyyo… best woo…bila drive!! Masa aku drive sume orang tengok, ngancam habis…!!!

I like very2 much my myvi!!

• kokss on Jul 28, 2005 at 10:35 pm

thanks paul

• shaharjuna on Aug 24, 2005 at 9:53 am

yo sabahgirl..howdie..so how s the car..bestos ker..kaler ape amik.1.0 or 1.3..mesti auto kan..waa nanti bley ler saing skali..lambat sket dpt but b4 raya la..insya Allah.

• elaine on Sep 09, 2005 at 5:31 am

yeah MyVi is marvellous!!! now i'm considering what colour should i take…silver or green nice? green look cute n silver look cool as well as black n red too ^^

n i heard that auto myvi need takes longer waiting time…i've just ask my fren which also the car dealer, that the most horrible case like toyota avanza…long waiting list…n just remind u guys here, he said the longest waiting list of Myvi is the 1.3L Premium, Metallic (A) which the price about rm 52k rite? dats da longest waiting list now…might took >1year to get ur car…i'm considering 1.3L Std, Metallic (A) or (M)…which is better actually..i'm interested to get an auto, n just concern on the maintenance part..cz once gearbox got prob..everything also gotta repair..agrhhhh hate dat..

• yusmady on Sep 23, 2005 at 10:16 pm

so everybody got one? so how? or indah khabar dari rupa?

• yazid (Member) on Jan 05, 2008 at 11:02 pm

recently i had booked myvi, it’s 2008 edition, but still i am waiting for the car, white in color, SE edition. from the review i had read, more people are pleased to this perodua edition but i had a little fear as from UK review this car had problem to its radiator fan but they (the user) claimed it’s like ok. em, what so ever the problems, i still want this car as i had crush on this car, other wise for me this car is the best compare to proton.

• yazid (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 12:44 am

em, i already got my car, this my vi se, but, too poor for me as i only managed to get silver in color because white in color will cause me to wait for some times. futher more, i dont want to miss the chance of free service for two years, quite a very long term for me to service for free…heheheee

still that car doesnt build any trouble except as i got my car for the fisrt time, the alignment is not balance. huk2, by the way, so far, still ok. audio ok, except cant use mp3 (how much would cost me if i want to change to mp3 rather than audio cd-too many cd for audio).

i just realise this car doesnt have any buzzer for locking, and without any signal indicator if door were not shut properly unless if u want to lock it, then the car will horn for u so show the door maybe still opened. the horn sound i really dont like. it’s like very childish..huar2

• fuyoo (Member) on Jun 03, 2008 at 6:53 pm

ERM Advice me please…
    nk mik myvi SE ke Yg Full Spec.
    loan lepas 44k jer downpayment 2.5k…
    please email me
    [email protected]

• mangkok on Jun 05, 2009 at 2:35 am

mane nk cari awek myvi