Suzuki Swift CKD in 2007

suzuki_swift_500.jpg

[ UPDATE: Click here to read a test drive report of the new locally assembled Suzuki Swift! ]

[ UPDATE: The locally assembled Suzuki Swift CKD has been launched in Malaysia and goes for RM71,943.50 for the normal version and RM78,099.50 for the Swift Premier. Click here for more details. ]

The popular hot hatch by Suzuki, the Suzuki Swift will appear on Malaysian shores in CKD form by Q1 2007. The Suzuki Swift has been in Malaysia in CBU (fully-imported) form since May 2005, and has enjoyed monthly sales of about 300 units before Suzuki encountered hiccups with the AP system, causing imported Suzuki Swift cars to be stuck at the port.

Suzuki and DRB-HICOM’s subsidiary Suzuki Malaysia Automobile Sdn Bhd who will be assembling the cars signed an agreement on the 17th of March 2006, allowing DRB-HICOM’s SMA to non-exclusively assemble CKD kits for the Suzuki Swift for 4 years for the ASEAN market.

There are many many people I know who really like the Suzuki Swift, however are put off by it’s high price as it’s a fully imported CBU car. The CKD version will most definitely be cheaper, and it’s 1.5 litre DOHC engine’s frugal fuel consumption will probably be a favourite in these times of high petrol prices. Coupled with it’s hot MINI-like looks, relatively large interior space in it’s class, easy parking and a cheaper CKD price, I think we’ve got ourselves a winner. The Hyundai Getz and the Chevrolet Aveo has some serious new competition in 2007.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 5:17 am

Yahoooooooo, more choices.

• tankk2000 (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 5:24 am

cheap cheap, make bolehland car regional center…

and stripe the proton priveleges for

RAKYAT

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 5:42 am

still wont be cheaper than a proton. even a lousy hyundai accent are priced at Waja's level, what makes all of us thinks that we'd get a swift any cheaper? bah!

• izudeen (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 6:29 am

A friend of mine just got this car a month ago…

Very comfy and spacious …. and has the looks too…

Do you know how much the CKD will be priced at? on average?

The current CBU price starts from RM84k

• triplesaber (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 7:11 am

Hope this will come true! I think it will be priced at around RM60k+ as a direct competitor to Getz..gosh, how i almost book a new 3 door Getz today. But as usual, some things need to be sacrificed la in order for it to b sold cheaper.. as long as look kills n a performance to match..

• laser_ampang (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 7:58 am

yeeeesssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

my future first car!!!!!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 8:10 am

Very good strategy from Suzuki. BTW, een though CKD, its not like the prices are same as in Australia, where it would be a direct competitor with the Myvi

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 9:03 am

Sounds good to me…just thinking about replacing my kancil!

• PetrolHead (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 1:41 pm

I heard a "sports" or GTI version is due for release this year too

• super33 (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 2:07 pm

sound good too…but i still dono what the prices/…keke

• shaif (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 4:37 pm

The price should be in the range of Aveo and Rio-Rm70k. So it should not be a threat to Myvi.

• rexis (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 4:55 pm

What is CKD?

• Tracks (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 4:56 pm

The Swift is indeed a good looking car especially the bodykitted version. But CKD version may be cheaper only by RM8k to RM12k than the current CBU version which I still consider it to be affordable. Hyundai Getz is also a pretty good car and it would be localised by mid of this year and cheaper by RM8k to RM10k. These figures are merely estimates only by me. As for the current Chervolet Aveo, that is a pieces of over-priced junk with a lousy 1.5L engine. Ofcourse Chevy knew that already and is offering the Aveo with a new 1.4L engine that is more powerful yet providing better fuel economy compared to the current 1.5L engine.

One more thing, even if DRB-Hicom wanted to price the CKD Swift at RM60k++ the government would not have allowed it as it would compete against Waja and Gen2 as well.

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 5:32 pm

Wooo if cheap then will be great. Anywhere i asking my sister to get this car soon.

If next year CKD is cheap hmm then also can start save money for it haha.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 5:33 pm

Horeyy.. ve waited for this news… but 2007?.. by that time i am sure many few model will come out from auto makers… for instance i heard produa want to produce YRV… may be they will anounce this year… & mitsu models from proton?… but i still love my kancil so much.. it still low FC car (after hybrid cars). My kancil and I are environment friendly.. just sent it to workshop to restore, now good as new, after 5 years…

• pycazu (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 5:40 pm

ohh… good! Seriously we need much more competitors for P1 and even P2, to bring down the price and upgrade the quality.

But, the rumours of NAP contents just like pulling the leg, WTF fueling billions dollar from our rakyat to those craps… even then national cars are cheaper and maybe higher "quality" (i doubt it!), it's at the expense of us – poor rakyat m'sia…

• damion (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 5:57 pm

if the price is right by then, perhaps we can play ice hockey wif that suzuki swift…

ala Top Gear Winder Olympics style…

if u wana refresh ur memory, u might wanna view the video Paul posted earlier.. :P

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/03/07/top-gear-w…

• narrowband (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 6:51 pm

If the estimates are right, and that the CKD Swift will be priced around rm70K (or higher!), that'd put it in the same league as Vios and probably City. Despite it being a hot hatch (unlike Vios and City), for most younger buyers, I'm sure these are the cars often come into consideration.

The Swift has pretty good engine performance, no?

• outspoken (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 9:16 pm

stylish car.. but even at 60k, people will put off by the price. i heard that gen2 R3 will be priced at around 70 k.. so it might be better off buying the r3. any comments?

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 9:42 pm

u like n can afford, go n buy those CKDs next year lo!

• boljoke (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 10:38 pm

Hi All, before that take a look on the Swift Sport 1st !!!

http://www.suzuki.co.jp/swiftsport/

Cheers !

Boljoke

• acbc (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 10:55 pm

Gen2? No way man… turn off by it's POOR build quality… R3 or not.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 11:17 pm

swift is nice to drive and well built. but its not exactly a powerhouse. engine just lacks power.

what i think the market really lacks right now for enthusiasts, is a car(saloon, coupe or hatch) making at least 140-170hp plus, brand-new, at the RM70-100k bracket. Cars that used to be in that bracket brand-new were, wira 1.8dohc, ford tx3, putra, satria gti, and of course the satria R3 but all these cars today are no longer in production. everything else is today, costing more than RM100k i think.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 22, 2006 at 11:44 pm

Sure price reduction, but shall not below RM 60K as it will be direct competition to MyVi. Same as Toyota Vitz which is plan for launching in April or May 06, the price shall be more than RM 60K as well. No hope of low price for imported makes eventhough Toyota Camry 2.4 L selling price start from USD 18K (RM 68K) in US market!

What a torturing for Malaysian consumers!

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 12:19 am

I agree with you honda_driver. We don't get that kind of cars with that amount of money anymore. All CBU sport hatch is over RM100k.

Anyway, the Swift (suppose to) sells well over here. Got a friend who own the distributorship in the east coast. There is a problem with the AP. And it cost him a few costumer. A few of them cancel the bookings because of this so called hiccups. Who can tolerate after being delayed for so long?

CBU or CKD, this NAP thing or whatever lies the government is telling won't do us any favour at all. The prices are just ridiculous!

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 12:24 am

Not torture.. they want to cut our throat!…. now the msian people r get used to our super expensive car.. they say avanza r cheap… MERC & BMW oso can buy, our mind ve been programed.. yeah!.. good to our gov… can get lotta money from excise duty.. can protect proton some more.. they say our petrol still cheap, but look at our excise duty…

NAP = National Automotive Protection

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 12:52 am

NAP = National Automotive Protection

Hehe….nice one motorhead!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 1:14 am

NAP = "Nonesense Automotive Protection" lah, yeah I improve it!

He, he, he …….. much more nicer, see anymore "improvement"

• edgeff (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 1:19 am

yup…our excise duty is TOO MUCH!!! waaaaa poor malaysians…

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 1:26 am

Let me say something about this car, since driven once at high speed. >:) , overall this car is definitely a good city car & for travelling far (outstation)… its as smooth as a saloon car (japanese). Handling, umm… 120km corner and went understeer…. should upgrade the spring or something. Last time driven a MYVI with Eibach Springs and it was terrific! (same road, at 130km)

Performance wise, way better than Getz, Aveo. (performance can match with Fabia).

Economy wise, heard of Skoda Fabia? Drove 100km++ for RM10++ fuel! but the price of Fabia is RM100k (last time i checked).

There was once a version of SWIFT special edition or something… PEARL WHITE with sport rims and many extras… anyone got the pics? BTW, i am not a pro. driver… just someone who enjoy drivin on winding road.

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 2:14 am

cratzelogy, have you ever driven in Bukit Putus (the Seremban – Kuala Pilah road). Though, I don't recommend for a enthusiastic drive now as the road condition are horrible and might damage your suspension and under carriage. But it was a fantastic stretch when they re-surfaced it last year. I almost be a 'Takumi' there. LOL!

• mango1881 (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 2:22 am

it's great.

will Toyota Yaris do the same story?

• triplesaber (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 3:13 am

Poor us malaysians..hehe. My sister & her hubby in the US just bought a Dodge Magnum for USD22k, they r not kaya, but still can own a car which if brought to Malaysia, i dunno how much its gonna cost.

Im not demanding much, but we need value for our money. It would still cost me a fortune to afford a Porsche, but at least, we want those cheap quality cars to be sold at their cheap price here in Malaysia, w/o sacrificing quality.

Take Atos for example, a CKD relabelled by Inokom (my wife booked one today, she loves it for years..well..) sold at RM45k for Manual..2 door power windows only, no airbag, no ABS, rear design still used the old design (take a look at European version of Atos Prima, and u'll probably love the rear design).

The Swift is surely on my wish list. Lets wish n see what's the shape of good things to come..

• intermilan (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 4:40 am

eh,

nobody want to compared it with Naza@Peugeot 206 ka? Nice looking car too..

• dimension (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 5:24 am

CKD and CBU – what's the difference?

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 7:16 am

I don't know if my understanding is correct. CBU is a 100% sure lawa teknik. Heheh…no no no…. CBU is fully imported model which is brought to Malaysia 100% from their origin plant. As for CKD, it is brought to this country as parts and it is re-assembled with some locally made part.

CBU = Complete Built Up

CKD = Complete Knocked Down

I'm no smart ass. If this is utterly wrong, please correct me. Please be gentle. Hehehe…

• cyborgx (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 7:42 am

I strongly believe that CKD Swift will be priced above RM70k.No less than RM70k because everyone will choose Swift over any scrap Proton's cars.

• super33 (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 1:34 pm

suzuki swift it was so nice but i see toyota ractis also not bad. well, toyota ractis dono have launched in malaysia anot!!!

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 23, 2006 at 5:02 pm

a word or 2, cause i deal a little on CKD. If a car where to assembled locally (CKD)… many parts will be localize i.e. windows, bumpers, some plastic interior. Then they assembled locally, but thru localize-activity… does the company really done any test on the local parts comparing to the ones original authorize by japanese Suzuki R&D? that will be another story…. therefore CKD is cheap… but will CKD quality be up to the standard of CBU?

Ofcoz CKD parts will be cheaper compares to this CBU parts, ie SWIFT FR original bumper cost RM1k++. So swift owners, drive carefully.

Why Honda Malaysia still handles by Japanese? Why Perodua Management are mostly Japanese? I think by now u all have a brief idea.

• OvaBoost (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 2:41 am

Yahoo…. can't wait for 2007.. gonna make ma wife happy!!

• Sharon on May 13, 2009 at 2:37 am

Any complaint for CKD compared with CBU Swift?