Naza NX-02 open for booking

photoshopped_naza_bestari.jpg

Pictured above is my extremely newbie attempt at photoshopping how the Naza NX-02 could look like. Forgive my noob-ness. At least I tried! :P Advertisements for the new Naza NX-02 have appeared in the newspapers, meaning the car should be launched really soon.

naza_206_advertisement_smal.jpgThe advertisement (click the image on the left for a bigger version of the advertisement clip) says the car is open for booking now, and the price is given as RM6X,XXX, which should put it in the RM60,000 to RM70,000 range, just as mentioned before. Other specifications mentioned are 1.4 litre MPFI engines, 4-speed Automatic with Porsche Tiptronic System, a well-tuned agile chassis, 5-door versality (hatchback), central digital display, dual airbags, anti-lock braking system, and a 3 year / 100,000 km warranty. The advertisement states that ABS is standard on AT models, which seems to indicate that a manual transmission model will be available. It also means anti-lock brakes will not be available on all models, but dual airbags will likely be standard following the trend set by the Naza Sutera.

Since we don’t have the official specs of the Naza NX-02 yet, I’ll just list the specifications of the Peugeot 206 1.4 Tiptronic that it is based on here. The 1.4 litre engine is a 1,360cc 8-valve single-cam engine that makes 74 horsepower at 5,500rpm and 120Nm of torque at a low 2,800rpm. This should make the new Naza hatchback really nice to drive around the city, as the engine will not be out of breath at lower RPMs. An 8-valve configuration promotes better airflow velocity at low RPMs, hence the excellent low-end torque. Other examples of modern engines using 8-valve configurations are like Honda’s 1.5 litre i-DSI engine which uses 8-valves. Top speed is rated at 161km/h and 0-100km/h acceleration is rated at 15.2 seconds.

206_dash_small.jpgThis is the original Peugeot 206 dashboard, so I expect the Naza NX-02 version will look like this with slight variations. They did mention a central digital display as one of the features, so I expect it is that small LCD at the top of the center dashboard area. Or they could also mean they’ve moved the dashboard meters to that area, like the Naza Sutera‘s and are displaying data like speed and RPM in digital form like Honda S2000, though this is more of wishful hoping from a gadget-cum-car enthusiast than reality, likely not to happen.

Naza 206 Bestari In-depth
Naza 206 Bestari Sport Concept

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 4:16 pm

The "reality" of CarTaxLand for this kind of "new car but old model" shall be selling at around RM 50K as it is same class with Gen-2!

• Driven2020 (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 4:57 pm

Err Paul the L15A VTEC has 16 valves in it.

It does have the valve control from 12 to 16 for FC.

• motorhead (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 5:14 pm

Good la.. This car got pick up la… can save fuel roaming in city… Now we have more choices for domestic cars, wish to have more… cant wait to see it… anyone want to order oredi?

ps:Is this another national car?? get the status or not? or just another CKD?

• mr.nice guy (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 5:50 pm

i wonder if they (naza) got a smaller cc car dat were below 1000cc?

• mr.nice guy (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 5:52 pm

hope naza"s car will outnumber proton's cat in our country..he,,he,,he..

• purity (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 5:52 pm

ahah! here comes my alternative to a 2nd hand toyota vios!!

• assimo (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 5:53 pm

Hmm..really out of date car….thats why we still "ketinggalan" 10 years cars technology and design…but no choice lah…better than nothing..huhu.So this Bestari will compete with SRM?..And SRM still play hide and seek with us..hahaha…tut..cak..tut..cak…!

p/s- You right Mr Paul…mamak stall name..but at Penang..its a Nasi Kandar name……

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 6:30 pm

Reality? Sigh…Do not know what to say…

• scudracer (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 6:35 pm

Cool! Tiptronic 4AT will be a class leader. 206 is still in production worldwide, contrary to some rumours that it is 'replaced' by 207. According to Peugeot, the 206 is a worldwide model, and they have developed 1. 5DR, 2. 3DR, 3. CC (Cabriot Coupe), 4. SW (Station Wagon) and most recently 5. 4DR Sedan! The 1.4 should be fun to drive around town. My sources say it will be badged "206" as the French consider Naza production to be an outreach of their own. I seriously think the negative comments flying around saying its 'old', 'outdated', etc. are desperate attempts by those who have models in the 60k range to put down the Naza 206.

As for the price, yes wishful thinking that it should be 50k+ range but remember the CKD parts are coming from outside ASEAN. Inside ASEAN you have CEPT which means 0~5% import duty on parts. Outside ASEAN CKD is higher. Therefore I think to achieve 6X,XXXOTR is quite an effort. What remains to be seen is what the Xs represent. IMHO it will be high. 69k at least in order for Gen2 to survive.

I went to PJ Automall Naza in order to have a close look at the Peugeot version. The cockpit is very snug fit, and simple, with typically European black interior. Very chic. Simple as it may seem, the car is 'intelligent'. When you do emergency braking, the hazard lights come on. Also, when it's raining and you engage reverse gear with your front wipers on, the rear wipers will switch on automatically. Wiring is multiplex so don't send it to some roadside accessory shop or it will get messed up really bad! The meter shows gear display. Tiptronic is damn cool, saw it on CC and it has plus-minus shifting, and even the normal auto range is GATESHIFT, and there are two buttons, one of which has a snow symbol (here for kampung roads with mud?). There's also a spanner symbol which shows you how many km (countdown) until your next service! Wonderful!

My cousin just placed a booking with the sales guy. I predict long waiting periods ala Myvi. He wanted Myvi 1.3 Auto, to convert to TRD Passo but doesn't mind spending the extra dosh on the 206. According to people in the know, there are French Peugeot engineers brought in to Gurun plant (BTW Sutera is assembled at AMM, a DRB-HICOM company in Pekan, Pahang) who previously worked on Iran 206 project to help control production quality, suppliers, etc. He found a site called Peugeot Sport or something and plans to add some mild tweaks (original Peugeot parts) to have a subtle yet cool urban driving car.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 6:41 pm

206 is not a bad model though from Peugeot.. but if it was launched many (5?) years ago.. now Peugeot already lauched 207 recently.. i think Malaysia like a dump yard from the car manufacturers from overseas.. However, i believe this so call Naza Bestari (206) can create a big wave here coz it's attractive and better than all Potong cars. Wonder will NAZA rebadge BMW cars one day… hehe..

• ariz8 (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 6:45 pm

Dear assimo,

Hmm, how can you say this car out of date – It was only in 1999 this car was introduce to the market. The engine that will be used in that Naza Peugeot 1.4 still been available in most of the small hatchback under Peugeot / Citroen at the moment.

But of course the 1.6 and the Gti version will be a better choice. The suspension system (torsion bar) at the rear used by Peugeot / Citroen that consider to be old technology still gives optimum handling. Even Myvi and Savvy also adopt this suspension system.

The Peugeot 206 only been phase out recently due to introduction of Peugeot 207 in european market.

That why am wondering when u mention we still lacking 10 years in car technology and design ? Our national car companys also already gear up to improve their design as well as quality. I'll bet the SRM also will have its own strength to attract buyers.

Btw, I had 'tapau' a Gen2 at Kerinchi link corner in my old 306 a couple years ago.

• nuggyn (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 6:57 pm

eventhough the price tag for this french babe is tempting….but i would think twice before owning another french car (ZX). Spare parts is not cheap.

• PGlang (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 6:57 pm

Hooray! More choices for Rakyats. I hope the car will price below 65k becoz Ringgit has appreciate in value. If I ever buy this car, I will rebadge it. I don't like the name Bestari, why Malaysian car makers are not creative enough in giving nice names to cars??? All boleh land made or assembled cars have weird names like sutera, wira, satria, citra, kembara, saga, kelisa, ria, kenari, next time may be celaka!!! hahahaha……

• ariz8 (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 7:00 pm

Just name it Naza 206

• scudracer (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 7:17 pm

I foresee a lot of potong shops bringing in 206 GTi 180PS 2.0 litre engines. I found out in Europe they have a JBL sound system for 206. From what I was told I think it's pretty easy to change to Peugeot badging – a) Front/rear badges, b) Wheel centre caps, c) Steering wheel centre pad, d) Engine logo. Hehehe I wonder if my market value will increase with Peugeot badging. I hope they have the 'Blue Serif' or Aegean Blue which is the commonly seen GTi colour. Not new model or not, it's better than an automatic Wira and IMHO even Gen2. I test drove Gen2 and hate the dashboard, the aircon controls, the rubbish clock, the instrument cluster (lighting really bad at night), the square section steering wheel, the 'pedang lanun' handbrake, useless cup holder metal ring and NO dashboard! How lah? Pay just a bit more and get a Euro hatch with Tiptronic … no contest. Oh yeah and the glovebox in 206 has some nice cup holder. Maybe its for drive in movies. I wouldn't bother with manual unless its 2.0 GTi but with rising fuel prices and urban traffic, 1.4AT Tiptronic makes sense. Can't wait for test drive!

• drM (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 7:33 pm

hahahahaha..naza Bestari? come on paul…u can do better than that! hahhaah….top bloke. one cheers for naza! hoyeii…

• Paul Tan on May 13, 2006 at 7:59 pm

drM: the name is not my "creation". i dislike the name as well. i've rethought about it… removed all references to the rumour in my post. better just wait for the official announcement.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 8:07 pm

It is outdated. The 207 is bigger, wider, better looking, though Peugeot seems to be obsessed with those wide mouth cars :D

• Hilmax (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 8:18 pm

I want 1.5 or 1.6 or better 2.0 GTi come up to market. Also need the manual transmission. BTW the name is suck. Should named it naza speed. Also their tech are not as old as proton. Just fall behind about 6 year right?…….

just imaging with bodykit,nice tint,sport rims and turbos……….

very yummy…..just DON'T PUT CENTRE SPEEDO METER. ITS VERY UGLY and destroy my wish to own one(could losing your life)

• swarty (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 8:23 pm

okey… this looks great. Bad site about this car lots of comment can be found online, one that very catchy is after sales support. Advice before order go to your local after sale support dealer and ask question. Seek how much they willing to help and how much they know about Peugeot 206.

i hope spare part and local quality isn't bad, else we will be crying out aloud. Cheap car and expensive spare part doesn't make senses.

• torch_love_evo (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 8:29 pm

its cheaper from peugot 206 right??

• jcws_87 (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 9:26 pm

hi paul, every member of paultan.org & the public…i'm new to this webpage…anyway i was dropping in to say tat the Proton SRM was spotted by me in the junction to Sitiawan,Teluk Batik & Lumut,Perak together with Proton Savvy Left-handed…i am sry tat I didn't have the photos of those car which i didn't have any cameras or camera hp by my side(which i didn't have 1 anyway)

• cratzelogy (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 10:11 pm

206 replica, umm… wonder if they localize some parts to make the car cheaper or quality cheaper? got to wait and see, but i bet u can see this car on NAZA booth @ KLIMS.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 10:14 pm

ariz8 said,

May 13, 2006 @ 10:45 am

Dear assimo,

Hmm, how can you say this car out of date – It was only in 1999 this car was introduce to the market. The engine that will be used in that Naza Peugeot 1.4 still been available in most of the small hatchback under Peugeot / Citroen at the moment.

Joe Ooi – out of date – depend on which sector of industry we refer to. For mass production car, the "shelf lifespan" for Japanese maker like Toyota is normally around 4 to 5 years only. As far as Naza take other manufacturer old model, and in this case it is 7 years, fairly to say is out of date (at least refer to model if not certain component) in relation to newest product. If you compare to P1's 20 years ++ "Milo Tin On The Wheel" – Iswara, then relatively it is "newer". Objective comparison for tech product shall be in relation to the latest, not the past. For Perodua MyVi, they adopt latest model from Daihatsu.

Of course some of the car component is still adopted same products due to "tried and tested" rather than technological advancement. For hammer and nails in consutruction sector, it was use for few century and will remain so for another few centuries to come in building even the most modern and tallest twin tower in the world, KLCC. Even latest Toyota Hilux model still use same diesel engine 2.5 L use in its previous Hilux model.

If we refer to computer sector, Then P1 still selling "286 generation" 5 MB hardisk pc computer at RM 3.5 K – 6K in Bolehland with basic Wordstar and Spreadsheet (similar to excel) software compare to today perhaps Pentium 4, with 160 MB hardisk at RM 2 K – 3.5K with Window XP (going to launch latest Vista version). In this sector, what today latest can be absolute in a matter of month(s). To ensure P1's "286" with "talk only and bullsheet" software still can sale, our G impose NAP to make other Pentium 4 selling price at "RM 6 K to 10 K" then suddenly ZAZA bring in Pentium 1 with 20 MB "BushTony" version, we cannot say it is "new" compare to P1's 286 model (with same range of artificial price)! We have to compare to latest Pentium 4 eventhough artifical price is RM 6K – 10K eventhough we know international open market selling from RM 2K – 3.5K. Of course if ask P1 why still selling 286, then most likely they will say we get the mould to make computer for free from Japs (no R & D cost), and we have to be proud of national product – patriotic contribution.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 10:24 pm

NAP is really "MORAL HAZARD" to our Bolehland auto industry, apart from high tax. Its also encourage dumping of old product in our market. Technology wise – its encourage not copy cat but "cloning"!

• mits27 (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 10:39 pm

1.4L for 74 hp, how come myvi 1.3L 84hp, is that means the 206 engine is not efficient like japen car?

• pendek (Member) on May 14, 2006 at 1:32 am

wow 60K – 70K range peugeout 206,

well i still can remember when 206 dominating top 5 place in the WRC. the legacy is there, but this ones is a clones…

hehe

• happymeal (Member) on May 14, 2006 at 1:42 am

0-100km/h in 15secs. is that slower than a kelisa? but when in a 206, straight roads are enemies, only the twisties can be friends for life. :) Bestari "Sports" (sym. with R3) anybody ? :)

anyone saw the 5gear review of the 207? reviewer already said that new car feels old, and guess what, that massive car is still using the old 1.4, hence rather below average performance on that highway.. but on the twisties… its a new dimension.

the new age pugs have rather large "mouths" is due to the increase awareness in making minimal injury to pedestrian accidents. pesky pedestrian…..

some comments on the AT tiptronic sounds as though they think its a Robotised manual box..aka savvy AMT. i think its still a standard slushbox automatic with manual override. how many cogs?

• blazerSST (Member) on May 14, 2006 at 2:41 am

Cheap to buy but cheap to maintain or not? skali one ori oil filter Rm80 something, water hoses, belts all special size, vomit electricity.

• Paul Tan on May 14, 2006 at 2:50 am

This is irrelevant but… vomit electricity in cantonese sounds like Audi :P

• intermilan (Member) on May 14, 2006 at 9:56 am

this is interesting..

with more information of the car are made available…

as expected…look like people are starting to bash the latest naza offering…

be it engine, age, 0-100km, bhp.., parts price, after sales services.. etc

let the ball rolling… ha ha ha..

this car could create 'big wave'. and thats mean more people gonna open up their mouth and share their thoughts..

btw, latest rumour.. potong will launch srm (wif campro engine) very near to naza bestari, just for the fun of it.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 14, 2006 at 10:32 am

REDDEVIL said – "Wonder will NAZA rebadge BMW cars one day… hehe"

In the event of it ever happen on rebadge of luxury cars, I bet Mercs old model because this precedent is done by Korean (SyangYong) on S-Class market under Chairman (around RM 200K ++). Chancellor (RM 138K ++), huh is nothing compare to Chairman.

Back to square, NAZA shall rebadge latest model like Clio apart from Hafei Lobo (which is very "remote" to be happen) to fight with MyVi and Savvy. Look like our auto sector trend are the dumping of (rebadge) old model car from other manufacturers and never ending kereta potong issue.

• mydurian (Member) on May 15, 2006 at 4:35 pm

heard from the sales person…most probably launching on 18 May. Something new worth looking forward.

• Steve (Member) on May 15, 2006 at 6:17 pm

Hi all,

I've ask the Naza sales person about this car price and he mentioned it will be around 65k to 69k. He gave me a spec list which have to diff spec, one high and low spec. Expect it will be 65k++ for low spec and 69k++ for high spec.

My concern to the car is on the size of the cabin. If it is too small then still it is not worth. Another thing is whether there is anyone have any info on the fuel consumptions. If 1.4cc with 74hp, would it be like honda city IDSI with lower hp but very efficient fuel consumption?

Sure it will not be selling like hot cakes. It still stands at mid range of the market segment which is smaller compared to Myvi market segment for example.

Good point is now we can have a locally assembled peugeot car with lower price. It's like putting 'Potong' cars head onto a gillotin, waiting to be chopped off! Hahahahahhaa.

• kevyeoh (Member) on May 15, 2006 at 10:56 pm

drop by at one of the showroom today at Penang…was told that the launch date will be 18 May… :)

so probably it's confirm by now….

• biggie (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 12:08 am

it depends but for someone who like european cars then age does not matter.

Unlike Japanese model its get stale very fast. Like Jeremy use to say the car is souless.

• motorpro (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 12:48 am

Well i guest most of u may think that NAZA product is good. Put it this way NAZA Ria is a failure, now Naza Sutera is going to become another failure cos engine wise made in CHINA. Now later version of P206 or NX-01 also using CHINA engine 1.4. Think wisely the P 206 originally came with 1.6. So think wisely how could continental car range between RM 65K?

Unlike Proton, yes they may have qulaity problem before but now it is proven that they are now being reconize by Readers Digest one of the TRUSTED product by Malaysian…So cut the crap about cut and paste car OK…

Be rationale not emosionale..I bet you guys that once the SUTERA and P206 on the road more complaint you will expect than PROTON….I saw the test driver SRM, not bad, fast, smart look and bigger than nornalk satria…hope this product will be as good as SAVVY…

• motorpro (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 12:51 am

NAZA product is just like pirated product but made legally by someone…

• Paul Tan on May 16, 2006 at 12:58 am

motorpro: the peugeot 206 originally came with 1.1, 1.4, 1.6, 1.9 diesel and 2.0 engine options.

• nkhhenry (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 1:23 am

TQ to NAZA for bring in European model like 206… for us in M'sia hard to get opportunity to drive Euro car cos too costly…n now we really can own it…better than stupid low quality PROTON car. See how wonder PROTON would surffer later on…lost of market share in 1.5 sedan car… come on NAZA & Tan Sri u can do it man…keep it up!!!!

• intermilan (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:17 am

motorpro: the peugeot 206 originally came with 1.1, 1.4, 1.6, 1.9 diesel and 2.0 engine options.

thank paul for correcting motorpro on that.

Lets keep the facts right and comprehensive whichever side you are on.

btw, to make it clearer, 1.1, 1.4 & 1.6 & 2.0 are NA petrol engine, diesel only 1.9.

No turbo-turbo for petrol engine. Beside, since the engine/gear management is filled with electronics, tweaking the engine is something that is very very not recommended with this car. This is not a mod-friendly car like some Jap car we seen been mod to the max by 'creative' m'sian.

Exterior mod maybe can la, but might spoiled the car original looks which can be considered as good even with standard accessories (after seing many spyshots from various sources).

Now, there are only a few places selling after market accessories (from Europe) for Pug206. Pricewise, Europe price lah.

MHO, 1.4L car not worth it to mod too much. standard is 74bhp saje, mod-mod pun how much higher can go? in the end, sure kena tapau jugak.

But all in all this might well be one of the best clone car model malaysian car manufacturer even offered to the public. hope this is only the beginning.

• scudracer (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 5:22 am

Since when did the 206 engine come from China? Motorpro I think ur facts aren't right. Check pls. Evidence?

• intermilan (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 6:25 am

Regarding the engine from China, the rumour might be due to the fact that 206 was also manufactured in China (for China market by Chinese assembler).

NAZA might be already cooking the plan to source the NAZA206 engine from the 206 Chinese assembler IF the Chinese manufactured their 206 engine there.

Clearly to save cost but the Chinese are approved assembler (just like NAZA). Of course quality issue come to centre stage if its true they use China-made components (engine some more!).

Who know what else NAZA might be sourcing out from the Chinese huh? the AL4 gearbox? please not the gearbox…

BTW, Iran also manufactured Peugeot 206 car locally.

Motorpro, it would be nice if you could substantiate you claim a bit since it is a claims with big impact.

• motorpro (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 4:55 pm

Guys, let me try to disclose some facts that u guys shld knw. The engine used in SUTERA is toally not a Japanese engine, infact it is a clone or rather say pattern engine which we not even knw wht wil happen later on…

Now P206..whalaway….

• motorpro (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 7:41 pm

Guys, I hv no intention to spoil yr trust in that particular product or company. But except the fact that you guys are being Malaysian and by right we shld support our pure product not clone product. Yes the true fact is that there are defects and hick-up every where but over 20 years being in the market and furthermore being a market leader why now after few rival than u guys cook them like nobody biz?

Yes, you may hv yr reason this and that, but bare in mind that being a car manufacturer not assemblying company is not easy. They spend billions of dollars to deliver gd design and product to Malaysian suddently came along this pirates of clonning and distroy the market by producing such car and with propaganda they managed to squeez yr mentality and perception towards other manufacturers bcos they knew this is the right time to hit cos people started to hate the product.

Having award on the most trusted product by Readers Digest may not be a big deal to some negative people but as for me being a Malaysian, I am proud to say that the sampling came from Malaysian and if they really hate the product of PROTON why must they vote for that product? Answer is there are 1.5 millions proud owners of PROTON still in the market and they feel like the car is still relaible and affordable.

Now you guys talk about clonning cars, why not clone BMW, Merz why must it be H.LOBO @ Sutera, PUG206 god knows wht else? Study the HISTORY guys not the PRICE or names of company?

Last time when talk about PUG206 and othr models people are scared and condamned bcos of the reselling values…Imagine PUG306 buying at RM 80+K yr made 97 now cost only RM 11K. Stil no buyers. Reason high maintanance. Now suddently PUG206 everyone say good, excellent, perfect..WHY? Is tht bcos you want to KILL your national CAR PROTON? Sorry guys that the fact I can see frm most of us…we act based on emotional not the fact! If my statement is wrong about China engine used by them, meaning that the same reason as for continental will continue..Dont give me reasons that the price of the parts is now cheap bcos of NAZA…

Give the new Proton MD a chance to proof his word and as a GLC Company they support our national economy right until our child scolarship and now you guys intend to KILL the product just becos u feel like u deserve better?

• motorpro (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 8:03 pm

Trust me guys, I did my study on market and found thta after NAP, the whole automotive industry facing critical situation. Price WAR everywhere, but yet nobody seems to benefit frm that even customers. Interest rates shoot up, loan processing r now prudent. Tell me with your so call supurb comments about all National cars will eventually help to boost the biz not by condeming them! Wht will u get from all this negative..asked yr self do you drive 1? If that is so fantabulous to you? If not cut the crap and move on for better tgs! Just imagine the product yet to be born in the market you guys started to HANTAM the product up to the maximum.

Like SAVVY people condemnd 100% but suddently silent WHY? Bcos it is proved to be a excellent car and best part is that the bit MYV on the track. 6 units of full modified MY-V cannot bit 1 single unit of original spec SAVVY..Not the speed but the ride-n-handling guys…It is a evolution so trust me while we are commenting they r reading and improving but let us give them a chance, not only them but to everyone of our local national Car. Be proud of our cars..Dont talk about Malaysia Boleh if we cannot!

Think a while and understand my words than u will knw the truth!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:13 pm

motopro – "Give the new Proton MD a chance to proof his word and as a GLC Company they support our national economy right until our child scolarship and now you guys intend to KILL the product just becos u feel like u deserve better?"

Joe Ooi –

Give the new Proton MD a chance, who deny him a chance? which consumers can stop him to perform for P1. If you ask me, given a chance, I can confidently say MD SZ will SUCCESSFULLY LEAD Toyota in world market, but Proton will FAIL SZ MISERY in Bolehland domestic market! "Just like Jose Maurinho can lead Chelsea successfully in EPL, but ATM will fail him misery in Malaysian Super League!"

In what way P1 as GLC Company they support our national economy? If that is the case, then NAP shall be expunge from our auto market equation and let P1 compete in level playing field. Why ask consumers to make "patriotic contribution" under CarTaxLand? I had done economic analysis, conclusion is P1 is liability to Bolehland, P1 together with NAP is a culprit and become "Moral Hazard" to our nation. The economic cost (additionl tax: 300% – 5%)to consumers in 2004 alone is more than RM 8 Billion, in 20 years existence perhaps more than RM 100 Billion, how much tax P1 pay to G, definitely less than RM 5 Billion for the last 20 years!

"right until our child scolarship" – where is evidence and record show P1 extend scholarship to public at large! Show the evidence! Otherwise retract back your baseless statement!

You said that "now you guys intend to KILL the product just becos u feel like u deserve better?" Do you know how many got kill on the road because of P1 unsafe car, which if G take preventive action, can be avoided? Of course, this is because both of P1 and NAP, we deny the chance to buy better car at lowest price given the CarTaxLand prices. Why ask consumers to pay highest/exorbitant just because of P1! The issue here is not and consumers never fail to support P1, but P1 fail everybody, G, even NAP misery, outright disappoinment!

motopro – "Trust me guys, I did my study on market and found thta after NAP, the whole automotive industry facing critical situation."

Joe Ooi – I challenge you post your market study here" Let what kind of findings oyu have! or you talking bullshit!

You talk about Savvy, you even can say Savvy can beat Ferrari in F1, say what you ant to say without justification. Just ask you one simple question – What is the purpose of Savvy and MyVi in our market? SALE – the no.1 KPI! So sales for Savvy is how many unit say up to Dec 05, or just in March 06. MyVi delivered more than 7,000 units in March 06, how many units Savvy achieve, please post here! But my friend happen to be component supplier to Savvy told me that their initial monthly projection for that component (use 1 unit in 1 car)is 1,500 but later reduced to 750. If this is an indication, Savvy sales is approximately 10% of MyVi, what big ash talk you want to boost here?

motopro – "Think a while and understand my words than u will knw the truth!"

Many of us think and discuss until have "no mood" to talk already as P1 always NATO – Talk Only No Action. The sad truth is P1 is liability to our nation from using tax payers money to set up more than 20 years ago until today consumers still have to support P1 in the form of "patriotic contribution, aka CarTaxLand" P1 never creating wealth to nation but always suck consumers blood!

• honda_driver (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:34 pm

i may not 100% support malaysian products, but i'm not about to support NAZA like so many people here who seem very naive to the inner workings of NAZA. I rather support perodua anyday.

and btw joe ooi, what motopro is saying has not come true yet, whether it fails or not. So the very fact that you criticise him, you are not entirely right. Same goes for what you are saying as well. Half of what you say has not come to past either, so you are not entirely right as well. Its perfectly ok to put forward your arguments, but you are doing it in a way that you are already 100% correct when you are not.

I think you should join proton joe, since seem to have a sound strategy, maybe with your contribution, they can actually succeed as an automobile manufacturer. better than just NATO.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 12:08 am

honda_driver – As I mentioned, P1 will fail MD SZ misery. If I joint and they give me chance to joint P1, In order to "protect my pride" and take care of consumer interest, first thing to do is give P1 chance to TALK ONLY, later I will TAKE ACTION to close shop. So I will fail P1 misery! and let consumers have the chance and widest choice of car at lowest price with good quality! That is the greatest success for consumers in our auto market! He, He, …….."joking with our local joker – P1… no offence".

• motorpro (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 1:17 am

Hello Joe, u talk as like u know everthg abt P1. I agree wz Honda-driver. It is OK if MYV wanted to deliver 7K but go and do yr research la bro, now everywhere at PRODUA dealers or branches hvg ready stocks, meaning tht the demand is already slow! That is why u kind of jump into conclusion and so damn emotional comparing SAVVY and Ferrari. Hello that was proven at Batu Kawan track! so cut the crap if u say u know all, cos I was there witnesing the event!

It shows that you r really emotional and true facts that u probably from either PEODUA staff or NAZA cos u reaction is so obvious. U actually no nuts! and just know how to critics P1.

Name me fatal accident as wht u claim due to P1 car quality? Evidence please. Pls refer to Hafei Lobo @ Sutera crash test at 40 KM and see what happen…the whole chasis crash up to the middle part and no used having AIR BAG if that will only protect yr handsome/pretty face where the rest of yr body parts is already smash into peaces.

Think wisely not simply jumping to conclusion,..that is only think i hv to say about you Joe..If yr intention is to KILL P1..u r wasting yr time cos u dont really know them well..I hv full confidance and I m driving P1 car and so far I m happy not like you! So u like others than BE IT..dont spoil the market OK…let Malaysian decide not you decide for them!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 2:38 am

At least I know everything about P1 for Iswara and Waja cars. Iswara – huh, "Milo Tin On The Wheel", very dangerous if drive for more than 100KmP at highway, I own it for 7 years. Later on change to Waja lol, thought irritating problems like power window failure, absorber "kong", etc, etc will be over, but unfortunately still "this sick syndrome carry over from Iswara to Waja". No doubt Waja is better than Iswara but bad quality is still there, luckily handling, disc brake and aircond better. However, power window fail within one year and absorber 1 years ++. My mechanic recommend me Honda Accord recond absorber which is around 3 – 4 years. Fix to my damn Waja, use it for almost 2 years still very comfortable, that means Honda absorber lifespan easily exceed 5 years lol. What comfort do P1 car give to customer in relation to more headache? At least I can demonstrate that I am "patriotic" to P1 but P1 always let me down to the drain. WTF.

So don't blame consumer like me giving P1 more than 10 years chance. FYI, I promise ot myself won't make "3rd mistakes" by owning another P1 car. Better buy second hand Toyota or Honda. I check wit Perodua showroom, Their waiting period for MyVi is "slightly" reduce from 8 or 9 months to 6 months, not due to slow sales as claim by you but due to they ramp up their production to meet the demand. Savvy, huh, can get car upon loan approval (as short as 48 hours – not bcause of big production capacity but under demand from market).

Ask for clarification first before you jump into nasty conclusion about where I come from. I am here to solemnly declare that I am not coming from Perodua, Proton or Naza but just a "frustrated" x 100% Proton car owner! Name the fatal accident, there is post in Paul Tan previous blog about this! You go and find out your self. This post is less than a month old! You talk about Sutera, I frankly speaking I cannot and not in the position to talk like about Iswara and Waja. So let us see how Sutera fair in the market.

You are the one who have to think wisely given that you claim P1 support our national economy? Think wisely, how much tax payer moeny invest in P1 set up yet 20 years later still have to support P1 in the form of NAP CarTaxLand, or support all the crocs pocket. You mentioned that oyu do market study, where is the findings and result, just post here to prove your point! ha, ha, ha, … if cannot post then retract back your statement?

I respect honda_driver rights of opinion but not necessary have to agree with him just like about his argument that VW RM 42 million investment is a "mistake". But for me, NAP and P1 screw up VW investment! See previous Paul Tan blog and you will find not the revelation of Europe Holyland Da Vinci code, but the verdict of Bolehland P1 code developed by Motorhead and NeedGoodCar!

I WOULD LIKE TO MAKE DECLARATION AND TO STRONGLY STATED THAT THE BURDEN OF PROOF IS ON YOU IN RESPECT OF THE FOLLOWING STATEMENT BY YOU: –

"If yr intention is to KILL P1..u r wasting yr time cos u dont really know them well..I hv full confidance and I m driving P1 car and so far I m happy not like you! So u like others than BE IT..dont spoil the market OK…let Malaysian decide not you decide for them!"

How do you proof this statement is reflected me given the above explanantion on my Iswara and Waja car? In my life owning car, currently I own P1 car only, still no other brand eventhough I clarify that I won't own 3rd P1 car due to my valid reasons. How and in what way I am as an individual can spoil P1 market? When I say that I decide and when I said not let Malaysian in general to decide! Self imagination conclusion, baseless without just cause and excuse. Luckily I a am not LKY, if so will sue you for defamation and claim for general and examplary damages, later make you bankrap! Ha, ha, ha, …. I stop here, wastig my time to elaborate and argue with a person tainted by P1 DNA. Good luck to you for you confidence and happy about P1 car>

• nivla (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 3:43 am

i think the percentage is higher that "motorpro" is from potong..

btw..u say that myv sales is dropping..and have ready stock..y i search so many branch and dealer but cant find 1 with ready stock?motopro..can u let me know where i can find a ready stock myv? wanna book 1..

im a potong owner too…but cant find any proud owning 1…

• intermilan (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 3:57 am

ok some lighter materials to ponder.

Who know that Savvy AIR FILTER cost RM800!!!!?

Ha ha ha.. I don't know how to react when been told about this by the Proton Authorised Service Centre ppl.

Damn la.. why did i asked about it in the first place. i tot savvy is ok… but see.. AIR FILTER RM800!!

Anybody know how much Ferrari air filer cost tak?

when ask why this crazy price, they said it from Renault…. whatever the stupid reason is, this is a pure crazy price for an air filter of a RM43K car.

The air filter cost 1.8% of total car cost.

Maybe coz the air filter come together with the container sekali.. but still..

i'm sure any savvy owner will masam muka once they realise about this. Perhaps potong will locally assemble it later to reduce the price. Good Luck SAVOC members!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 9:07 am

Talk and ask motorpro, with this kind of price for Savvy air filter cost RM 800 per unit, is it Proton suck consumer blood or contribute to our nation economy? WTF

He suppose can give you answer as look at the way he posted comments here like to jump into "emotional conclusions" before ask for clarification. He can come out with all kind of detritous of nasty comments as he have a lot of knowledge since he may "related to P1". His comment can be sum up as "judgemental – lack of knowledge yet full of hatred". Remembered motorpro, I still respect your right of opinion even though I may not agree with what you say. I am just a layman to learn and in search of truth, not to argue who is right who is wrong!

• scudracer (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 5:35 pm

Ahh, the plot thickens! Not a Japanese based engine as earlier claimed? Think again.

The 1.1L engine is from HDMC, which is a joint venture between Harbin Dongan Auto Engine Co., Ltd, Harbin Dongan Engine Manufacturing Co., and Harbin Aircraft manufacturing Corp from China, Mitsubishi Motors Corporation and Mitsubishi Corporation from Japan, and MCIC Holdings Sdn. Bhd. from Malaysia.

Sorry but I think statements to the contrary are wrong.

Source:

a) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Naza_Sutera
    b) http://www.hdmc-engine.com.cn/gsjj-e.htm

• rootmy (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 10:16 pm

haiyoo, cut/copy and paste technology. very wired and licensed by GNU (like open source).

• rootmy (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 10:35 pm

Old technology for Malaysian People. Good job.

-National

-Artwork (Design)

-Zero

-Attitude

• superman (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 10:51 pm

Joe Ooi said

In my life owning car, currently I own P1 car only, still no other brand eventhough I clarify that I won’t own 3rd P1 car due to my valid reasons.

Ever heard the saying "Grass isn't always greener on the other side"

Not all cars are great ok. Yeah Proton sucks, quality wise (in some cases) but personally having owned and used more than my fair share of National, Japanese, Korean and Euro Car, I must say these lopsided view you have that only Proton car suxx is rather naive, as by your own admission the Proton MArque is the only brand you have used… Try using a Korean Kia for a week. Or use a E46 3 Series that starts to give problems after 2 yrs of ownership (despite paying RM200k+) …get around more. used more cars then maybe you would understand what I mean.

BAck to topic.

The NX02-rebadge 206, big deal.What make you think the spares won't be as expensive to the Savvy's as Peugeot also originates from France so who's to say the air filter won't cost as much.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 11:01 pm

Superman – My prefer choice is Toyota, because I heard the engine is most reliable and less maintenance. I don't mean all non-Proton car is good, just to further clarify.

• mtay (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 11:18 pm

Guys,

Can we please have a discussion on the pros and cons of the 206 WITHOUT mentioning P1, P2, P 133, NAP, etc.? Please?

I drive a 206, so I’d like to share a little first-hand experience with everyone. But first, I wanna clear up a bit of miscommunication posted earlier.

#1. Pug 206 was first launched in 1996, but only launched in M'sia in 2000. So yes, it is actually a 10-year old model.

#2. Many people say continental cars are high maintenance, unreliable etc. My car is 6 yrs old, no mechanical problems.

#3. Yes, it only does 74 bHP. But there’s more to performance than just horsepower.

Here’s what I like about the car:

– Cost of ownership: My road tax is now only RM96 per year. I spend an average of RM1K to RM2K per year on maintenance and repairs. And that's at C&C, which is crazy on labour charges.

– Fuel consumption. I average 10km per litre. My driving style is very (very, very) aggressive. When my gf was driving the car for awhile she averaged about 13km per litre.

– The engine turns first time every morning, and best of all there’s no irritating “squeek squeek” belt sound that I suffered from my previous cars (a 1996 proton, and a 2002 Nissan Sentra).

– Body strength. My rear bumper has been “kissed” four times. Twice, the guys who banged me had to have major work done on their bonnets. Up until the last one, there wasn’t even a scratch. Now the bumper has started to peel slightly, but that’s it. When this happened to my Nissan & Proton last time, the bumper dropped after a couple days. So, exterior build strength is actually pretty good.

– Handling. I’m on stock suspension. Car handles corners so much better than Wira, Sentra, Civic, and Accord which I also regularly drive (my past cars and family’s cars la… not mine, k?). It didn't twitch going thru the bends on the Karak highway; in the Civic, I almost died.

– “POWERRRRR” (sound familiar?). The powerplant’s output is indeed rather low @ approx. 74 bHP, but there’s no shortage of pickup, especially at lower revs. I forget how they do it exactly, it’s something to do with the car having a heavier than normal flywheel.

It goes pretty fast on the highway too… but of course I don't go above 110 (:P)

Cons?

The crappy air-con. It’s 10% air-con and 90% heater (mine is built for British weather). Let’s hope NAZA puts a Denso or at least a properly climatised unit in there.

There are also some minor (and quite common) niggles with the indicator stalk. I’ve had to change mine twice in the past 6 years. No problem getting the part, though.

Rims with the right offset (PCD 108) are not easy to find.

When I first heard Naza was doing the 206, my first reaction was “time to change car”. But now, I’ve reconsidered, I’ve keeping the car and hoping this will mean ppl will start bringing in more affordable performance parts and kits.

I think if Naza does their job properly, you've got a pretty good car coming.

Cheers.

• mtay (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 11:20 pm

One more thing. The lion logo at the front is not removable.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 11:38 pm

I just "curious" a little bit on "unremovable" front logo. If Naza want to put in their logo, then either cut-out lion logo and paste-in Naza logo from front grill. Or Naza make front grill together complete with its logo and fix whole front grill piece?

• goingberserk (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 12:04 am

joe & motorpro.. cool it man.. either way all CarTaxland auto manufacturers sucks. ALL OF THEM. P1 kah, ZAZA kah, P2 kah.. all sucks. i agreed with joe on some aspect of his comments. so with motorpro as well.but the main issue is NAP IS FOR P1 protection. If P1 improves on quality and realiability as well as ZAZA too, then stupid G shd take out NAP and let them compete in a OPEN market.Then it wud be more fairer competition,consumers will be able to choose wider range of models and make the best decision. Prices will be further reduced. Sales of automotive will sky rocketed so as will the spare parts. Local automative industry will go leaps and bounds, more work opportunities as well as new business. More technological advanced car will be made available to cartaxland market with lower price tag. Probably stupid G can increase road tax to compensate the loss of taxes from sales of cars. Then it would be more equitable to all. sorry out of topic…. anyway back to NX02. too early to tell whether it is a good car or not.

mtay,

if u refer to my comments on NX02 spyshot… I did mentioned that Peugeot 206 is a good car. I have no doubt abt that . but what left to be seen is the QUALITY OF its cloned.. NX02. !

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 12:36 am

goinberserk – I agree with all your comments except this one (not disagree but just want to add more….) "Probably stupid G can increase road tax to compensate the loss of taxes from sales of cars."

Actually loss of taxes may recoup from higher sales volumn as more consumers can affort new and higher range car. If Autralia is use as an indication with similar population, our passenger cars annual sales might jump 2 time or 800,000 units instead of around 400,000 units, by those upgrade or new buyer (including average frequency of change). That my add comments. So roadtax incremeent keep to minimum.

• mtay (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 12:58 am

Joe Ooi said:

"I just “curious” a little bit on “unremovable” front logo. If Naza want to put in their logo, then either cut-out lion logo and paste-in Naza logo from front grill. Or Naza make front grill together complete with its logo and fix whole front grill piece? "

I guess if Naza is assembling the car, the body will come without the peugeot logo. I'm sure ppl will find a way to change it anyway :)

I'm more afraid of having my rear logos stolen… dunno how many times i've see hondas around with their logos missing.

• swarty (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 5:34 am

– Fuel consumption. I average 10km per litre. My driving style is very (very, very) aggressive. When my gf was driving the car for awhile she averaged about 13km per litre.

?? sure or not… sound crazy!!

• hanvy_mah (Member) on May 19, 2006 at 9:05 pm

very nice car………. hope the next model is 206cc..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 12:33 am

aiseh..I saw the 206 pic…but the comments goes everywhere….

P/S can anybody tell me reason(s) to support Proton and and what you get as a feedback?

one comment E46 also not good after 2 years, yes agree it cant be a car will in tip top all the time. it depends on driver,driving style,maintenance etc thats why we have percentage studies.

anytime on the road when I see Msian in Proton at junctions, traffic lights, parkings I know they are not happy.yes they can say my P1 is good to drive from A to B but is it really worth to pay..how about and extra visit to repair broken power window(oh my god this is a very old story), fast broken dampers,etc etc…

btw Joe…hope you get your Toyota ASAP. please get back your smile.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 20, 2006 at 6:38 am

mycar_stolen – tomolo can change to Toyota if strike no ekor RM 20 first prize. If not, nevermine waite another 3 or 4 year to get at least 2nd hand Toyota car. I can put up "big smile" lol, 1st 2 week sleeping close eye also can smile lol,……

• jtshin (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:14 pm

hmmm… strange… a word i can describe… a naza logo on a 206… n named bestari… haha… but naza rebadge cars are at least better than any proton cars….

• ichiban (Member) on Jun 01, 2006 at 10:18 pm

Of course better than potong… coming down from Port Klang only put badge. Lazy job… this easy job also made Sutera terrible.

• dellantre (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 12:42 pm

i think naza will follow proton as a “anak bapak” for a big manufacture.
    good boy..