2010 BMW Z8 Artist Impression

autobild_z8_1.jpg

AutoBild has news on BMW’s upcoming BMW Z8 successor, as well as artist impressions of what the car could look like, as well as some other impressions on future BMW cars. More after the jump.

autobild_z8_2.jpg

The BMW Z8 is supposed to be poised against the Mercedes Benz SL-class, and it’s target weight for development would be 1500kg or less. Production and sales targets will be 15,000 annually for 7 years, from 2010’s launch onwards. Engine options include a 3.0 litre twin turbo inline-6 gasoline making 306hp, a 4.4 litre V8 turbo with 408hp, BMW’s award winning Formula 1-inspired 5.0 litre V10 with 507hp and even a 6.3 litre V12 turbo making in excess of 600 horses. There will also be a BMW Z8 M, which would likely use either the V10 or the V12 turbo.

While the BMW M6 convertible was designed as a grand tourer, the BMW Z8 will be a designed as a performance sports car, larger than the BMW Z4, with typical roadster style long hood, short rear and minimal overhangs.

Now for more artist impressions…

autobild_z4_facelift.jpg

Above is Autobild’s impression of the next generation BMW Z4. It looks somewhat tamer and has less of Bangle DNA than the current BMW Z4.

autobild_3_convertible.jpg

This is what the BMW 3-series convertible could look like. Basically the BMW 3-series Coupe with the roof chopped off. It’s expected to be a hard top convertible like the Peugeot 206 CC instead of a soft top convertible.

autobild_7.jpg

This is an artist’s impression of the next BMW 7-series. The rear looks alot better, with design cues taken from the BMW 3-series Coupe. The front also looks more prominent, with larger kidney grills.

autobild_x7.jpg

Autobild says this is an impression of the BMW X6, a larger SUV than the BMW X5 which is set to compete against the Mercedes Benz GL-class, but the BMW X6 is supposed to be a crossover coupe-SUV type of vehicle. So, I think it’s more likely a larger SUV than the BMW X5 would be called the BMW X7 instead of the BMW X6.

Please also check out the BMW Z10 Supercar which is supposedly in the works to go against the likes of the Lamborghini Gallardo, it’s brother the Audi R8, and other supercars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 9:33 pm

The brother of the R8 would be the Gallardo. If the Z8M uses a V10/12 then it'd probably be able to compete with them too albeit being front engined.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 9:36 pm

Really ultimate driving machine………..

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 9:43 pm

The new Z8 looks much more better than the previous one… and the Z4 also… hehe.. I didnt really like the design of current Z4… the lights looks strange to me… anyway… its still a BMW.. The Ultimate Driving Machine…

• Zabimaru794 (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 9:54 pm

:D~~~~~~

Anyway,this autobild guys,keje dia buat impression jer ker?Apasal dia tak buat je terus..lol..

• pycazu (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 10:01 pm

Fall in love for all impressions here, these look so perfect!

• Zabimaru794 (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 10:27 pm

sorry arr..out of topic jap..

Paul,did you get my mail about the spyshot pic? you penah tengok kaa? I need feedback la paul..don't "gantung me tak bertali ok"..hahahaha..

Ok..can continue now..:)

• mrbigbr0 (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 11:10 pm

I'm drooling!

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 11:35 pm

ultimate driving machine…. will always remain as a dream for me. The models shown are really impressive.. solid look and unique…

• silverfish (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 11:39 pm

Ugh…fugly…as are most new Beemers.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 12:01 am

all the car look great!!!!!!!!!!!

BMW the best!!!!!!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 12:12 am

Wowwwwwwwwww, these models for Beemer must stand for: –

1. BMW – "Big Mouth Woman"

2. BMW – "Burn Men's Wallet"

3. BMW – "Big Money Wending-machine"

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 1:15 am

oh.. I noticed the M series rims on the 1st and 2nd pics. Niceee.

• stephenstreets (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 3:53 am

OMG , the Z8 is so beautiful ,so smooth, i really hope it goes into production. It really puts porsche,benz, and other roadsters to shame

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:03 am

Everyting looks ugly…

• szw (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:55 am

dis is da future of bmw .

• 4wheeler (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:06 am

waaa! the 7 series looks nice better than the current one, i hope it comes out like this.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:16 pm

the new 7's rear looks beautiful… but the rest of the car's…well… acceptable :) looks like BMW's improving on their mistakes

• Paul Tan on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:35 pm

raptorclans: these are autobild's impressions, not bmw's!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:37 am

heheheheheek…i dun like this impresssion…look really uglyla…nowadays most of the beemer looks really ugly…

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 3:33 am

the designs are fantastic! i like the 5 series design ! the best.. learning to accept the 3 design.. i like the 330i .. look awesome!

new 7.. still trying to accept.. well taking about own design.. notice the new S class… direct copy from 7 interior.. so look like merc is going down the drain!

ciplak!

• solahuddin on Jun 03, 2010 at 5:38 pm

I want to buy BMW X7, but when I checked at the BMW site, BMW X7 does not exists in that website…and some other website also said that BMW X7 does not exists anymore….I’m really-really confused right now…I like BMW X7 design…It is beautiful….so, those who have any information about BMW X7, just send an e-mail to me…my e-mail : [email protected]