2007 Audi R8 Spyshots

r8spy_small.jpgHere are some real spyshots of the Audi R8 supercar being test driven on the road.

The Audi R8 is based on the Lamborghini Gallardo platform and is rumoured to feature a 4.2 litre V8 FSI and a 5.2 litre V10 FSI. There is also news that a turbodiesel variant might be offered.

r8spy1.jpg

r8spy2.jpg

r8spy3.jpg

2007 Audi R8 Technical Specifications
Audi R8 Supercar Spyshots
2007 Audi R8
Audi R9 Supercar

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 12:02 am

Why is the audi like one dalmation dog? is it me or is the rear a streched version of a porche? The front looks like the car audi made for i-robot.

• Jason (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 12:11 am

From the side, doesn’t have the design for a super car.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 8:30 am

I like the front, it's all sleek n flat, looks really aerodynamic and agressive. Sideways and from the rear, the Gallardo looks better.

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 8:32 am

nice nice……vry aero……..i like it, aha aha………

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:38 am

i dont like it… its a pointless car. another Hypercar wannabe ? too sophisticated styling…. anyway ,…. vorsprung durch technik right? its not about style, flare, heritage and classic contours right? its all about technology right? hence i think this car will not only feature the most advance engines ever, it should also be very advance in every aspect, space age materials for brakes, cutting edge ventilation systems, intergrated alternators in discbrakes, fully made of titanium, using michelin tweel? hhhmmm why is there an exhaust? this car's not suppose to have it right? it should be of 0 emission. oh, the coefficient drag should be reduced to 0.01. If it achieves this so called Vorsprung Durch Technik hype …. then i like it. :)

• preetz (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:41 am

i think it looks great… it typical Audi understated style.. Jason, i think there's a reason why Audi is making it slighty more of a road care than Gallardo.. so since they effectively own Lambo, they wouldnt want this car to go against one of their own.. i think this car will be targetted for those who like supercar, but not willing to sacrifice the comfort and luxury of a conventional super-tourer.. kinda like a higher-end porsche?

• Jason (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:43 am

Hmm, could be also. It does look abit like Audi TT from the back.

• preetz (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:45 am

ingolstadt.. the car industry needs people with vision just like you.. why not join Audi and revolutionise the car industry? malaysia boleh, rite?

• preetz (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:46 am

oh yea… the new Audi TT is being launced on the 6th of April… do check it out on d Audi site on tht date… shld be great!.. though as far as coupe beauty goes.. i think d new Alfa Romeo looks d most wicked!!

• preetz (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:50 am

Alfa Romeo Brera tht is… not the GT.. though thts quite a looker too : P

• tbcheese (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 1:11 pm

I wonder if there's a diesel version.

I read some arguments about it maybe being a 4-door 2+2 seater, though that opinions seems to have been quite effectively shot down. Who knows, it could still happen as Audi has always designed their cars with some practicality considerations in mind.

• preetz (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 6:05 pm

4-door? unlikely ler.. but i suspect it just might be a 2+2.. but d onli ones tht can sit at d back will be hobbits.. tht also i think it will be a tight fit for samwise.. haha..

but there shld be diesel… its mentioned above in d article…

• chuamike (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 8:02 pm

Lovely :)

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:37 pm

Front look ve lost AUDI style.. like mazda RX… only rear ve AUDI look.. they should maintain AUDI classic look.. i guess thats the main reason some people love AUDIs..

ps: Love oso but, no money, no point….

• lonedrifter (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:46 pm

damn definitely a i-robot version front end n very questionable bout AUDI's designers…they tend to copy wat was done before…especially da rear…its very Lamborghini to me…onli thing is they don put da exhausts in da middle like most Lambos do

• tbcheese (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 12:48 am

ah yes preetz thanks. I missed the part about the diesel engine. I do hope that they put a frame around the grill to give it the Audi snout look

• drM (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 3:24 am

this is superb.audi has always been the master in the darkness just like the villain in that Star Wars series..dun remember his name either..they successfully come up with the legendary Quadtropper(is that spelling is correct?) that blown everyting else apart. I always like Audi and this car is no execption.

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 3:43 am

OMG… one word: chun

• Isamu (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 5:04 am

Mother nature's best effort in Cd Factor is a "massive" 0.04. Buy a bottle of Eyemo or Optrex and try to get a drip straight down. That drop is 0.04……………..

The car (production or non-production) with the best Cd I have ever heard of was Aptera. Even that's 0.06.

My opinion is that you can't beat mother nature. The best human can achieve is just to equal her.

On ZEV, I think we need to look at the bigger picture. Some ZEV cars like GM's EV1 is basically an electric car. Therefore, GM says that it has no emission. I strongly disagree..!! This EV1 can be a Very High Emission Vehicle if you use it in China. Why? You need to plug a charger into the car to charge up the battery pack and China's power grid is substantially powered by coal power. Think of the polution at the power station..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 7:26 pm

Are those Gallardo rims I see with my eyes? I think the production model will closely resemble the concept.

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 7:10 pm

Is this the Audi Le Mans Quattro featured in the Autocar magazines quite a few issues back?? I remebered the other hving a nicer back portion.

• mike (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 7:37 am

Hey Lonedrifter the car from I Robot (RSQ) was modeled after the Le Mans Quattro concept, which was given the green light for production as the Audi R8. Saying that designers shouldn't repeat themselves and do something new makes you sound foolish. And the reason that its very Lambo to you is becuase it is the same platform, and same company as Lambo with the same engine. DUH.