Nissan Q2 sales drop 18%

small_logo_nissan.jpgNissan distributor Edaran Tan Chong Motor Sdn Bhd experienced an 18% drop in sales figures for Q2 2006, selling only 5,496 units compared to 6,705 units in Q2 2005. Tan Chong attributed this drop to used car price instability, stringent car loan requirements, and escalating cost of car ownership. Sales also dropped in Q2 2006 as compared to Q1 2006 figures, which showed 6,183 cars sold.

Nissan is still leading the non-national 1.6 litre market with the Sentra 1.6 and the 4X4 non-national SUV market with the Nissan X-Trail, but for the rest of the market perhaps it’s time for some new models? We have one coming up in Q1 2007, based on the Nissan Sports Concept. More details here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 10:17 am

well…all i can say is tan chong deservex wat they are gettin i mean common!…how can a sentra model thats face lifted like god knows how many times still be on da market when there is already a new sentra and honda and ford have already new models!..the cefiro is so so dated wit hardly and changes at all….there are a lot of new nissan models out there but we still get dated material….even the x trail for all its glory is only new in this parts of the world..it was know as the x terra in previous life and it was on usa roads back in late 90's and beginnin of the millenium..just a few changes here and there….gosh….tan chong is reli pathetic….they have to resort to even extreme ways to get buyers..and u guys dun want me to elobrate on that…its just had somethin to do wit a saleswoman actually…its time nissan get a better distriubutor here or start one themselves..i love the brand..but tan chong is slowly but surely killin it…. at least here…

• damion (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 11:57 am

the only nissans i adore are the skyline, silvia & fairlady… out of which only tan chong brings in the fairlady… at a very ridiculous price..

the other models seem like crap to me.. especially like someone said, when the models are facelifted again and again…

our local enforcement officers however, are now running x-trails in their fleet, the 2.5 full spec with HIDs… o.O

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 5:15 pm

Local X-trails are not a new model already. I saw new X-trail with new faces in TV, looks better than current version from Tan Chong. Now the X-Trail comes with bodykits… looks uglier after attaching it… yucks… I wonder how X-Trail can get awards for that kinda design… Sentra with facelift, but rear not change… not match the front.. looks strange, but after NISMO bodykit, i think it's still acceptable, but new models of Sentra are encouraged. as for Cefiro.. pathetic… my town here got few new models of Cefiro… but not from Tan Chong… Tan Chong only offers old model… wat are they doing?? sleeping? Vannete? oh…. damn old model already still on sale. Serena looks so small… and I think Frontier should come out with Auto transmission version to catch more attention on market as auto version of Hilux and Ranger sells well… Time to change Tan Chong… or else will tutup soon…

• kitman (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 5:21 pm

tan chong is destroying the nissan brand in malaysia. the 120y/130y/sunny/sentra used to be market leader but due to tcm taking a nap, nissan have been losing it's presence in malaysia over the yrs. the current nissan line up in malaysia is very sad …… how many times have they "facelift" the sentra? it's having more plastic sugery than MJ :P . the cefiro is so old that nobody notice you've got a new car if you buy the cefiro (they probably think it's second hand). The x-trail/serena all waiting to be phase out (reminds me of the terano). oh the vanette van is it as old as the wira?

i think if this cont tcm could go the way kah motors …… nissan might get a new dealer.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 5:51 pm

I am bored with nissan sentra looks.. look very feminine.. expensive oso… thx to NAP.. nissan must introduce economical models such as city or vios to maintain sales.. now suma org takut keta besar2… minyak suda manyak mahal woo..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 7:31 pm

thy r becoming like proton..thy simply lack new models..keep facelifting cars til their cars got no face!..btw heard tanchong SC are quite bad?any comment on this?

• zaen (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 8:40 pm

Proton Saga – Malaysia 1985 facelifted so many times until now..

Vannete – Malaysia 1988 Facelifted 1 Time Only – They're worst than Proton..

Kitman FYI- Vannete is born before Proton Wira

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 9:16 pm

Yeah, rite.. bored with same old models, old design oso.. malas nak buat barukah??.. saya pun malas mau beli…

• ck (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 9:48 pm

Come on guys… even if they (and other brands.. I love mitsuibishi) to bring in cars… NAP just kill its. How many of us would be able to buy it?

• szw (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 10:07 pm

still hav to wait ?

nissan wanna grow but dey nvr offer new car in dis country .

how to grow ?

btw nissan cars r nice coz dey hav da european touch .

;)

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 10:36 pm

i seriusly think that tan chong need a new CEO.. it had some prblems before with the family owned tan chong! the guys on the top must be revamped! all greedy for a stake in the company but nobody can make a change!

firstly. as u guys know, the cefiro is bloody outdated and the current cefiro is actually a facelifted model! when the world is already having so many new models like Tiida,here were are still selling the old sentra! why is tan chong not promoting the compact segment? i blame the slow sales of nissan car to plp like tan chong! bad distributers! might as well sell kiuh by the road side!

• alan2006 (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 11:16 pm

The new Sentra was supposed ot be launched at the middle of this year but Nissan has decided to delay it to fix a few parts. According to them, it is more economical to fix it now than to recall later. Obviously, such a decision had repercussion on Nissan's sales and profits worldwide.

You can view the new model at their website but I was not impressed.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 11:17 pm

mereka tido la.. still dreaming.. sales drop 18%.. that is huge ya know.. hope that can wake them up.. or else may end up like Boon Siew.. i know doin bisness in NAPLAND is not easy.. but with correct strategy, still can make some money.. like toyota & honda… or if suma x bleh tahan, suma bole lingkup together with our NAP…

• SamGan (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 4:26 am

And TCM brought in the 1.4L Nissan March at the ridiculous price of RM115,000. Only ever seen one on the road once! If can't price it properly why bother to bring it in and sell less than Porsche?

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 6:24 am

Our Bolehland is a place for Nissan to clear old stock!

• pirate (Member) on Aug 16, 2006 at 4:18 am

Nissan X-Trail still leads the non-national SUV segment eh?

Thought that da super-value-4-money rebadged-and-licensed Sorento already took that lead in Bolehland…