2007 BMW 3-Series Convertible unveiled (E93)

3convertible1.jpg

Yes, the convertible that brings you women has just been updated to the latest E9x series, to be introduced worldwide in Spring 2007. The E93 2007 BMW 3-Series Convertible will debut first in 325i and 335i guises, but will closely be followed by smaller petrol models, as well as turbodiesel models – I know Europeans would love a 335d Convertible. More details on the 2007 BMW 3-Series Convertible after the jump.

BMW 335i Convertible Test Drive Report

3convertible2.jpg

While the BMW 6-Series Convertible and the Z4 Roadster feature triple-layered fabric roofs, the new BMW 3-series will come with BMW’s first three-piece electronically-operated retractable hard-top, matching such features available in competing models such as the Volvo C70 convertible coupe. The roof goes down or up in approximately 22 seconds, and will provide better security as well as greater visibility (up 38%!) and feeling of space and light for occupants, thanks to larger rear glass windscreen and side windows. You could say it’s alot less gloomy inside the new 3 Convertible with the top up.

The roof folds in a unique way, which maximises available boot space – 350 litres with the roof up and 210 litres with the roof down. If you require more boot space, the rear seats can be folded down just like a hatchback’s, allowing longer and bulkier items to be carried – this can even be used when the roof is lowered.

In concerns of a bright overhead sun heating up the car seats and burning your butt, the leather seats of the new 2007 3-Series Convertible can be specified to be coated with a Sun-Reflective Technology coating which involves special pigments embedded in the leather helping reflect infra-red radiation – this allows treated areas exposed to sunlight to remain up to 20 degrees cooler compared to normal leather.

The 335i features BMW’s award winning 3.0 twin turbo, which doesn’t need an introduction anymore, but let’s just repeat performance figures for the heck of it – 306hp and 400Nm of torque from as low at 1,300rpm, constant to 5,000rpm. The relatively slower 325i gives you 218hp and 270Nm of torque to play with, thanks to it’s magnesium alloy block with High-Precision Direct Injection and Bi-VANOS varaible valve technology. Both engines can be had with either a 6-speed manual or a newly designed fast shifting 6-speed auto which debuted in the 335i Coupe. Diesel options will include a 330d which will go from 0-100km/h in 7.1 seconds, thanks to it’s massive 500Nm peak torque and 231 horsepower. The other two petrol options to be introduced are the 320i Convertible and the 330i Convertible.

The new BMW 3-Series Convertible will debut at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit on 7 January, 2007 and will go on sale in March 2007.

BMW 335i Coupe Driving Experience

3convertible3.jpg

3convertible4.jpg

3convertible5.jpg

e9xseries.jpg
The rest of the E9x Series cars, from left to right: E91 Touring, E90 Sedan, E92 Coupe.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• holy_cow (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 3:31 pm

Aik…no pics of the thing with the top up ah, Paul? I'm really curious to see if they managed to maintain the sweet swooping roofline.

Oh yeah, almost forgot: 1st post yeah yeah rah rah woot l33t i pwn ur momma 4x a day.

• engtaokia (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 9:06 pm

hah…me second in the raw..

is it practical to drive in Msia here? we got tons of lori hantu on the road and they smoke your expensive leather seat with their failed-puspakom exhaust pipe :(

• engtaokia (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 9:07 pm

btw, this car is sweet and nice. anyway i still prefer my M6..hehehe…

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 24, 2006 at 11:31 pm

not much to comment, just wonder why this new 3 series have the waist line that curves down at the back, as if makes its rear end looks like sagging, rather than the previous model having the waist line pointing straight in almost a slanting upward manner,

same happened its sedan 3,

prefer the old line.

overall ok, way batter than merc(busy straight lines and chromes, side moulding..)

• xXx (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 1:30 am

hmm…nice looking car

looks like chris bangle was locked up in a cupboard whlist BMW was designing that car…

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 2:38 am

Nice and elegant, but lacks the macho appeal of it's hardtop brother. The whole car looks a lot less intimidating than the hardtop version, and I think intimidating is good :)

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 5:20 am

little comment ,

rear light is a bit feminin , the sedan rear light luster is more MANly in character. just imagine its in M3 form ,,it dont need this feminin stuff.

by the way

bmw is really well sculptured today.need no embellishmet of lines and chromes.

• prometheus (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 5:24 am

Mmmmmm Nice… like the volvo c70..

• transformer (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 5:48 am

Prefer the roof to be down, opentop looks nicer but does not favour M'sia climate. The tail light also a NO NO. And most important of all is whether it will be sold at a "reasonable" price in Bolehland.

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 8:08 am

This is sweet. The 3-series convertible is an important car for BMW, and good thing they've hopped on to the bandwagon and thrown in a retractable hard-top rather than a folding canvas.

The seat-cooling pigments on the leather sounds innovative. But prolonged exposure under Malaysian sunlight may well shorten the lifespan (functionality) of these pigments by multiple-fold.

In Malaysia, convertibles are best flaunted at night or during a neighbourhood cruise in the late-evening. Can forget about having the roof down during hazy days.

By the way, amazing how that man (model) could pose completely still throughout the 22-seconds (in seven of the photos above) during roof-retracting.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 9:41 am

just wonder people pay so much money to own this unsafe car.

what do you think if the car overturn. the moment when the strength of a normal roof structure needed,

its cost ur life, or the insurance costs you.

• ian (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 7:02 pm

protonGL,

It's BMW. You'd think they'd have thought about that and made very stringent tests with its windsheild structure, because luxury cars don't want to get sued for the stupidity of their buyers, and BMW have every interest to protect their buyers, and also their own reputation.

Love the E93's color.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 7:31 pm

ian you right,

agree that bmw or other top marque concern safeguarding their reputation,

just thinking of incaes the car(covertable or retractable roof) overturn .regardless what car or brand.

imagine 4 wheels on the top? scarry innit

at least the normal roof have batter chance,

well any car could be dangerous in a wrong hand.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 25, 2006 at 11:03 pm

automatic pop up roll bar at least, (like on the mercedes).

• MyBoy (Member) on Oct 26, 2006 at 2:14 am

Nice car but out of my reach. Even if i can afford one, i will go for 335d Saloon instead. ;)

• szw (Member) on Oct 26, 2006 at 5:22 am

hard top ?

cool !

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Oct 26, 2006 at 5:32 pm

Impressive…….. sure the ladies will hoop in if you have one.. Bring More Women..

• MKCX (Member) on Oct 26, 2006 at 5:59 pm

That guy stand for 22 second and never move? Just see that top opening.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Oct 26, 2006 at 10:31 pm

22 seconds – if you ever sit in a convertible – is a bloody long time for a top to close. By that time, you clothes and seats would already be soaking wet from raindrops.

But the E93 really looked good top up or down (better than the coupe's roofline) and best of all, it features a special leather that is able to withstand extreme wearing from prolonged direct sunlight exposure (have the BMW men ever experience Malaysia's scorching sun?)

Even the turbo'd 335i is offered, which would make the car the fastest BMW cabbie yet. Those with stick-on toupes need not apply…

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 26, 2006 at 11:23 pm

MKCX said,

October 26, 2006 @ 9:59 am

That guy stand for 22 second and never move? Just see that top opening.

————————————————————

you know!, GUYS wont turn away looking the top down until completely TOPLESS.

• drebar (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 4:14 am

i think the current 3-series convertible looks better and more ganas than this new design…

in fact, the new 3-series design makes the car calmer… lack the ganas-ness of the previous design… it just looks tame… and very much rounded…

• u5 (Member) on Oct 27, 2006 at 4:48 am

paul, thx for the coverage. however, there is a common mistake in your articles. the word "it's" is wrongly used and should be "its" without the apostrophe. it's = it is .. while its refers to the thing itself .. possesive noun…

just to let u know …

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 30, 2006 at 6:21 am

there again…another orang tua car look frm beemer…

• ariss5 (Member) on Nov 01, 2006 at 11:34 am

paul, great article, and as always, thanks for the covertage. I had a quick question, does anybody know if they will make an all-wheel drive version (like the old 330xi)?

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 10:09 am

Where's the shark fin antenna……….???

• a wright on Mar 01, 2009 at 9:29 am

could anybody tell me the 3 series new convertible is available with the the 335 bi-turbo diesel engine in the uk