BMW 335i Driving Experience

bmw_335i_test_1.jpg

BMW’s latest 3-series coupe, the E92 was chosen as a platform for BMW to introduce to us their latest engine, the award-winning twin-turbocharged N54 3.0 litre straight-six. Although I have not test driven the car yet, Jeremy Mahadevan shares with us his experience driving the new BMW 335i Coupe in Austria. I will be writing this post based on his experiences.

bmw_335i_test_2.jpg

The 3-series pretty much handles like the sedan – precise, fluent and fun, without being threatening. The dominant trait with all safety systems on is understeer under pressure, but you can sense that it’s a very pliant car that can be bent to your will easily if you possess the skills and the desire. The lower seating position helps with connectedness, somewhat like you’re snug in a fighter jet cockpit and the cab-rearward stance and long bonnet give it more of a classic sports car feel.

bmw_335i_engine_small.jpgThe N54 3.0 litre turbocharged straight-six has not much of a torque curve, it’s more of a torque plateau! Peak torque is pretty much flat at around 400Nm from as low as 1,300rpm up to 5,000rpm which gives the car a diesel-like driving experience, though a red-line of 7,000rpm tells you it’s not a diesel. In fact at idle the engine sounds much like a diesel, clattery and unrefined. Jeremy Clarkson had the same thing to say about the BMW M5’s engine, so perhaps this is a common trend with BMW performance engines. The car is car is amazingly easy to drive, and thanks to it’s power overtaking is never a problem and really you could just stick it in sixth and cruise nearly everywhere. However even though it’s a twin turbocharged powerplant there’s no exhillarating sound of the turbines spinning up, instead the engine sounds very much like a normally aspirated straight-six BMW engine. I guess it’s up there with BMW’s noise and vibration suppression standards. Maximum power output for this baby is 302 horses (306ps).

The gear ratios are very well thought out, though it can’t be that hard to get it right with the engine providing such a nice torque curve to toy around with. While the manual transmission is what you’d expect from a stick shift, the autobox has soem pretty nifty electronics. It blips, shifts down two, three, sometimes even 4 gears, and uses various factors such as the angle of the steering, the braking level, the gradient of the road and so forth to keep the car at the optimum gear, and it shifts 50% faster than its predecessor.

bmw_335i_test_3.jpg

A thoughtful feature that BMW included with the car is the seatbelt server. 2-door cars generally have wider doors than normal to facilitate easy entry into the back seats. This pushes the B-pillar way too far behind for a driver to comfortably reach for his seat belt. BMW’s seatbelt server is an extendible arm that comes out of a slot to the side of the rear passenger. It actuallly extends from behind the seat belt, hooks the belt along the way and carries it further, presenting it to you just behind your left shoulder. Should you lift the front seat back to provide rear access, it quickly slides back in, because if not it would block access to the rear.

bmw_335i_test_4.jpg

Like Mercedes Benz’s new coupes like the CLS and CL, the BMW 3-series Coupe is a 4-seater because there is a center console running through the middle of the rear seats. Accessing the rear can be annoying because there is no single button which both moves the front seats forwards and tilts them. However once you’re in there you’ll find that there’s ample room, even a person of around six feet will not get uncomfortable over short distances.

bmw_335i_test_12.jpg

Lucky guy, got to go all the way to Austria to test drive this awesome car.

As for now, more photos!

bmw_335i_test_6.jpg

bmw_335i_test_5.jpg

bmw_335i_test_7.jpg

bmw_335i_test_8.jpg

bmw_335i_test_9.jpg

bmw_335i_test_10.jpg

bmw_335i_test_11.jpg

bmw_335i_test_13.jpg

bmw_335i_test_14.jpg

BMW 3-series Coupe – BMW 335i
BMW N54 Bi-Turbo Engine
2006 International Engine of the Year Awards Results
BMW 335i to get twin-turbocharged inline-6
BMW 335i – All the car youll ever need

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• harsher (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 9:13 pm

average malaysians like me where got money to own that beauty?

• Paul Tan on Jul 19, 2006 at 9:15 pm

guys, i'm hoping to hear constructive comments for this post, kind of tired of the same old "cannot afford" comments.

• pirate (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 9:17 pm

Any chance of paultan.org doing a test-drive courtesy of BMW Malaysia, eh Paul?

Say, maybe within a year or so, IF it gets launched locally…

The twin-turbo and precise fuel injection system are simply SMART!

• edwin2 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 9:31 pm

Dear harsher & Paul

I do agree with Paul.

We are all born equal, and the best part is, if you think you can afford or cannot afford, you are right.

As for me, I love this blog, and I plan to buy one BMW 3 series. I went out for a test drive on a BMW 523i recently, and I just love BMW.

I would say, I will work hard to earn this car, and my life is full of energy.

As for harsher, change your mindset is all the matter.

Well, at the end of the day, if you did not buy a BMW, you will probably driving a better car, example a Honda Civic, to you existing SLK (Small Little Kancil). :)

• edwin2 (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 9:34 pm

ALSO, I already book for a test drive of the CKD BMW 3 series come this monday (skip weekend, probably a croud coming)

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 9:55 pm

This 325i's tail lights looks better than other 3 series… ah… my dream car… BMW…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:10 pm

haiya…

I also not rich guy but study hard get a descent job be smart and ask my company to buy me a car.

I like this one as there wont be any hesitation from my wife as the 4 doors siblings "she said" rear end like Vios..oouuuch..

Mr Paul,

Is this will be the same platform for new M3 series?are they going to put M3 with turbo also?but I like to upgrade to dual tailpipes(not satria gti ok…) or quad tailpipes.

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:17 pm

Wow, I just love the interior of this car; it's all white and classy, maintaining it's cleanliness must be a pain though.

• pirate (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:29 pm

Hmmm, if only the sedan sibling looks like this from the onset – with smoother profiles of its headlights, front bumper, side metal sheets and also the more refined butt plus tail-lights.

Diesel clatter for a petrol pwerplant eh? Could it be like VAG's TFSI engine direct injection tech?

I have noticed that the GOLF GTI and A4 TFSI have those too! Any idea Paul?

BMW didn't say anything about a GDI-equivalent fuel-feed system for this N54 bi-turbo engine…

• terenceg (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:35 pm

i have frens died in M3 supercharged !!!! Turbocharged is seriously seriously scary !

ugh but i don't mind testing it….u want to sit next to me paul ?

• Chapree Da Grande (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:38 pm

It looked pretty long from side view. I wonder if the future M3 will look like this.

• pirate (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 10:48 pm

Yes! The next M3 would definitely look something like this – plus the pair of obligatory side-vents-plus-badge on the lateral of front fenders, lowered sports suspension, M slip-differential trickery, massive alloys and brake rotors and most importantly, a newer bad-ass powerful V8 under the bonnet!

The pertinent question is: will it still be normally aspirated?

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 11:15 pm

One thing is for sure….they make beautiful cars! Enough to make one drool…

• tanasi (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 11:34 pm

I wonder how is the driving dynamics of this car…..bar setting as always?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 11:53 pm

I reckon this car looks superb apart from the slightly stodgy tail-lights.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 11:58 pm

Can't wait for the new M3 to come out! :D

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 12:15 am

from whats been said in the media, the new M3 would most likely be N/a, but a much larger N/A, more than 4 litres, and probably pushing out between 400-500bhp. But we will just have to wait and see. The heavily camouflaged m3 has already been seen testing in nurburgring. nice car, but its only got *2 doors ;)

• KY (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 12:51 am

terenceg: because you're a noob in turbo-ed car doesn't mean everyone else is too. :P

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 1:50 am

harsher said,

July 19, 2006 @ 1:13 pm

average malaysians like me where got money to own that beauty?

There are people who were born to drive BMW 318s, there are people who were born to drive M3s, there are people who were born to drive a Corolla, there are people who were born to drive a Kancil or Kelisa. There are people who were born to just have a motorcycle kapcai, there are people who were born to starve, get sick and die. So my message for the get sick and die baby, "Sorry, provided some miracle happens, if not, get sick and die" same message to the one who cant afford a BMW 3 Series Coupe. Just be the average Joe.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 5:31 am

jz set ur mind u can afford it…dun b negative…for me…cars is my inspiration for me to success…when i success a bit…automatically i can afford the car i dream of…now…i gt a car i dream of for this stage…but still…gt a car i want to own and to pursue….

here some news abt upcoming m3..

http://tinyurl.com/k5354

actually gt a lot of news for the upcoming m3…but this is the latest one frm this site…

• szw (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 5:37 am

imagine how da m would look like

• malayman (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 6:42 am

whoa…i like….

but if look from the side back i would mistaken it for an audi. think i need glasses perhaps?

but personally i still think the E21 is the all time best three!!

• daffy (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 7:49 am

nice colour but the interior, white is nice but cannot stand dirt.

Especially during the raining seasons wet shoes and the carpet becomes black

The nice white leather seats will also get dirty. Very good looking but not pratical in malaysia. Grey or black can hide dirt.

• daffy (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 7:51 am

some more the back is cramp but of course this is not for 4 people

but more of a weekend car for 2

• blazerSST (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 9:01 am

Before i die, i must at least own one of these machines…..hahhaa….. ultimate driving machine, who's gonna argue with that.

• king (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 10:53 am

Looks better than the sedan but still dun really like the tail lights….too conservative looking like the 7er. Love the tail lights of the E60 5 series.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 12:47 pm

The 335i is actually BMW's answer to Merc's supercharged engines, i.e the Kompressor range, which have always been the luxury car maker's path to forced induction.

But BMW's turbos aren't like ones you imagine inside a WRX or a Supra. It's a simple device to feed more energy into each set of three cylinders.

You don't get a turbo timer, wastegate or even a whoosh noise. When you drive it, it feels exactly like an NA car. It provides more wide power band and torque range, not a torrent of power on a short and narrow power band.

You people should see the optional M bodykit for the 335i, its gorgeous

• alan2006 (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 4:51 pm

Definitely better looking than a CLK or SLK. Looks like Mercedes has a lot of catching up to do. BTW, looks like twin exhaust is the order of the day. I see that in the new Civic. Not to mention the Vios and Kancils that have been modified at the chop-shop. Probably increase the power by 5 ps.

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 5:45 pm

I don't know bout everyone else but, there's just something "not right" when I look at this generation on 3er from the front. It has this "crouched" (not the footballer) look about it compared to the E46 that looks kinda "lazy".

As for the engine I'm quite excited of about the N54 as it's simmilar to Nissan's RB26DETT which is also an inline-6 w/ parallel twin turbo. The Nissan's stock 2.6L 280bhp can easily be tuned to 600BHP to even 1,000bhp!!!

Wah so immagine the 335 with 1,000bhp!!!

• karheng (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 6:09 pm

first of all, no one tunes the 3 series coupe to an astounding 1000 bhp. if it were good for the car, it would have been done that way. All tha horses would mean for nothing if put on the track with the stock standard. most of you enthusiasts would probably know what i mean.

Optimum performance is the idea of BMW's mechanics and the twin turbos are done in such a way to take away the lag, as stated in the article here. Cars fitted with turbos are not done to impress anyone. They're there to make use of what we have, to optimize the power which is within reach as the engineers have come to realise the scarcity of resources. Like it or not, the turbo concept is one of the best ways to squeeze the maximum amount of power out of a limited capacity and BMW, normally RAW power purists have caught onto this technology as well..

Loud BOVs, wastegates are not the coolest aftermarket parts to have on a car, it becomes irritating after a while, however some love it because it gives the driver knowledge of where the power is without looking at any meter. Even evos, imprezas and GTRs are not fitted with loud wastegates to begin with.

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 6:50 pm

Firstly, I kindly ask that Karheng take the following remarks light heartedly :)

"first of all, no one tunes the 3 series coupe to an astounding 1000 bhp"

– I'm sure enough some bagger will say "i beg to differ" (Datuk K Jr. perhaps :P)

"if it were good for the car, it would have been done that way"

– Agreed but in the case of RD26DETT, it can hold horsepower values approaching 1360bhp. With regular maintenance, it can be driven way past the 100,000 mile mark. Tho, I agree that overdoing things will cause some amount of knocking, but c'mon ppl who do this to their cars know what the risks are.

FYI stock cars are also not "optimised" to that level to comply with emission regulations (which get stricter every year) and also ideal consumption restraints, honestly who'd buy a car that drinks 1liter p/5km.

"Cars fitted with turbos are not done to impress anyone."

– Duh…

"Loud BOVs, wastegates are not the coolest aftermarket parts to have on a car"

– Agree with u there, I call it the "Ah Beng" sneeze

• karheng (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 7:26 pm

Cheers!

• BOYRACER (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 7:28 pm

The coupe looks better than the saloon.In fact the touring version also looks better than the saloon.I think it got something to do with the saloon's taillights,which doesnt blend well with the overall shape of the car.especially the rear end where the bootlid and the quarter panel meets.BMW always make good looking 3-series coupe except the e21 which dont have any 4 door version.

• malayman (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 8:00 pm

just a quick question. is the 2002 the first three or the e21?

some ppl say the 2002 is the first. yes ar?

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 8:55 pm

Dear Paul. A car with such massive torque should be matted with a CVT system. 4 speed autobox is not enough. I think. Sorry I am not the technical type. Correct me if I am wrong.

• Paul Tan on Jul 20, 2006 at 11:25 pm

pirate: The N54 twin turbo has direct injection, which explains the clatter i guess. they call it "High precision injection".

Jeffrey1977: the 335i has a 6-speed auto, not 4-speed.

• karheng (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 12:24 am

the 2002ti was the first 3 series produced. The e21 was it's successor which was followed by the e30, 36, 46 and then the 90.

duno when these eees are gonna end..maybe f after this?

the m engines are already out…now it's n already…soon gonna be p kua…

i guess all this shows how active their engineers are…

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:25 am

Who is this jeremy? from which magazine?

i read Chris Wee's report in CBt last sunday. It was cool. I think CBT should be made thicker la. They really tell you if they hate a car, unlike other publications who are a bit shy to tell us the weaknesses of a car.

• Paul Tan on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:29 am

Jeremy Mahadevan, from NST Life & Times.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:41 am

Oooh….dont read NST except on Sundays. I thought Jeremy Clarkson.

"A car with such massive torque should be matted with a CVT"

What? CVT?? Urgh….do you know what you are talking about mate?

Direct injection system does give a slight clattering noise, but nothing close to the diesel clatter.

• soporific (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:46 am

if only chris bangle could read, paultan wouldn't need to reply.

i agree chris, CBT always really tell you how they feel about a car.

like the CLS, they loved it so much, they took it twice to test drive it and made it their car of the year. the second story was about cars they really loved. wow, what a great angle for a story. i wish if i really loved a car, i could just ask to drive it anytime. that way, i can drive M cars, lambos, ferraris, anytime i want!

guess it must be nice to drive around an 800k car which doesn't drive better than cars half it price and yet only seats four.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 3:58 am

dude, i was referring to some comments by one of the guys there la, not by Paul. Whaaat laaaa.

Do you know the real problem of direct injection system here in Malaysia? Who knows? The one with the correct answer will get free paultan posters. :)

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 4:03 pm

our diesel quality is still lacking somewhat.

• BOYRACER (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 6:30 pm

The 2002ti was not the first 3-series built.The first is still the e21.But you could say that the 2002 or the '02 as the BMW fans calls it, inspired the 3-series.the '02 comes as 1502,1602,2002ti and 2002 turbo.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 3:16 am

ingolstadt.. u have a very shallow metally… very discouraging view!

• claxxion (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 7:16 am

The more i look at the car, the more i love it.. Only wish in the future i'll have the money to own it.. Haha.

The front looks like the 5-series and the rear remids me of the 7-series.. But the design of the whole car is definitely nicer than the latest 3-series saloon car.. The saloon is just way too ugly. Where got car smaller at the back compared to the front?

The metallic blue looks awesome. Chunted car there!

• driving anxiety on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:27 pm

While we’re discussing the matter of BMW 335i Driving Experience, Be aware that commercial sellers often park cars in driveways of homeowners who receive a “space” fee. They will place classified ads hoping that, when you arrive, you have the preconceived notion that the seller is the owner.