New open APs and Wald APs issued

print_money_left.jpgWe thought we’d heard the last of the AP issue, and Malaysia was moving slowly towards an open market for the automotive industry. But we were wrong.

The government has just approved 3,000 new Wald APs for Amazing Tempo Sdn Bhd. These APs were approved by a special commitee headed by Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak. The Edge Daily has also reported that Open APs were issued to six companies – Naza Brabus Motor Sdn Bhd, LX Mode Sdn Bhd, G-Power (M) Sdn Bhd, Impul (M) Sdn Bhd, Vision Motorsports Sdn Bhd and Kleemans (M) Sdn Bhd.

I do not know LX Mode, G-Power and Vision Motorsports is. And I assume Kleemans deals with Kleemann products, however aren’t those APs supposed to go to Emeritus Equities Sdn Bhd, a company owned by Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz’s niece? Has the company changed names?

The question most of you will be asking is. how come of all the sudden these tune-up companies are able to get APs, as it was against the policy previously set in the NAP? Our Prime Minister says it must be a special case, and does not offer any explanation beyond that.

Wald is a brand of tuned-up cars, but there seems to be no limit to the amount of cars they have in their offering, which makes Wald APs somewhat the equivalent of an Open AP, since the Wald badge can be found on almost anything. Wald Proton Savvy anyone?

To refresh your memory on the AP fiasco, please read the following links, especially the one with the calculations on the amount of APs the franchisee for Kleemann gets.

Kleemann APs
Amazing Tempo Sdn Bhd Statement on Wald AP Freeze
No more APs for Wald
Why did MITI stop issuing APs to Walds Amazing Tempo Sdn Bhd?
Thoughts on the National Automotive Policy

Sources:
PM: There must be special reasons
Government issuing new APs?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• J (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 11:05 pm

haha…corruption never ends :)

• outspoken (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 11:05 pm

These companies must have bigger "cable".. no more just broadband, but Wifi.. What a wonderful world for them.. I envy them

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 11:19 pm

nice picture though,very meaningful . i guess it was stopped to keep ppl quite for a while,thn bring it up again , its sickening , n if u ask any of those offcials y , thy will never answer , this world if chok full of injustices

• Infinitt (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 11:27 pm

They do it again. This things will never ends. Pak Lah, Najib & Rafidah all same. WTF !! All about money for them.We are suffer, rakyat suffer, they r KENYANG with big big big mouth ..poor rakyat.

• ak03 (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 11:29 pm

Vision Motorsports Sdn Bhd ? i think this one is the company that is selling TOM's toyota in bangsar.

• digiman (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 11:42 pm

seriously.. do you guys even think that the g will actually relinquish the chance to earn a few measly thousands in the short-term in the expense of a potential billions from trade and technological transfer? seriously, they need a long term visionary on the helm… uncle lah is good, but on the short term only… we need guys with nazir razak vision (credentials: CIMB Bank)…

oh well, looks like i gotta get stuck with my gen2 for awhile… wonder when can i only see my favourite v8 in malaysia.. sob

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 11:55 pm

There goes my dreams…. Maybe the government needs the APs for "statitics collection" again!

• noAP4u (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 12:07 am

I was surprised with this piece of news, and that surprised me.

Malaysian gomen BOLEH!! while there rest of us can "Go To Hell"

But seriously: if consumers can be informed enough not to buy these nonsense then all the APs issued can still be recycled paper. It is the demand that drives the supply in the first place. Driving around in an LX Mode badged car — what IS this?

Don't buy these dubious cars, dudes, that's all.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 12:22 am

LX mode is like wald tuning Toyota cars. But LX mode are more to giving more luxury touch to the Toyota. Anywayz we all know in this boleh land.. $$$ i every thing.

And 1 more urgent news to tell those tuning fans.. After June JPJ will now allow any local cars to change engine… Sob sob.. and now the half-cut shops are rising their price on Mitsubishi and Daihatsu prices.. i ask about Mira L502 turbo manual just now from the RM3300 to RM4000, while Mirage Mivec with LSD manual from RM6500 to RM7000 all with full bodykit, front and rear disk, fuel tank, engine, wiring, gearbox and dashboard.. All lift the price after chinese new year knowing that JPJ will come out this order to stop ppl using old car to change new engine and make them to buy new cars. But i heard only apply on local cars but not foreign cars. So i still can buy sometime to change my Toyota SEG to 20v blacktop 6 manual to next year Hahaha…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 12:42 am

"Our Prime Minister says it must be a special case, and does not offer any explanation beyond that."

hmmm… so this must be a very2 special case loh… making big bucks fast can consider special case right??

• J (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 1:00 am

Hello Littlefire, I think you meant "After June JPJ will NOT allow any local cars to change engine… Sob sob." ??

• protonsucks (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 1:15 am

Yeah, our G is the world's best money sucker. They suck money for their own from many creative ways. Malaysia G BOLEHHHHH!

APs are just money machine for them (we all know who i refer to rite?). Whatever public reaction is, they will never feel ashame. We have no future….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 1:48 am

Yup. Sorry for the spelling mistake.. my English a bit louzy hehe..“After June JPJ will NOT allow any local cars to change engine… Sob sob.” ?? Thx for the correction..

• kendo (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 2:04 am

it is for rakyats!

so these TUNE-up fake" imports,

can killled off local CKD,

Tan chong / honda/ toyota are crying….,

in cheaper price!

• iceman (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 2:05 am

Kleemann use to belong to rafidah nis!

• kendo (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 2:08 am

for example,

u can get NAZA" Camry at Rm120k,

as old case. etc….

Good time are back for

AP kings/ queens,

and rakyats too,

with spoil of choices…

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 2:28 am

greed

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 3:01 am

Typical U*NO government… Malaysia = no future. Sad to be Malaysians sometimes.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 4:56 am

i always felt those malays are always supporting the wrong party.. those datuk, Tan sri use money and rubbish to win selection so that after, their campaign of makan rasuah will be more bigger. See at europe countries, the opposite are always strong at least 30-45% of the Parlimen. Except us almost 90% are UMNO that why they can do as what they like… We dont have the speaking power while their democratic is really what we call democratic. all choose by the citizens them self, we lost too much voice to them. Even Pm saw this website he already rich in his pocket. I wish to say, always the biggest shark get away while those little fish are caught to be black sheep. And whatever they say help the poors.. They take 100% of the money and give the poors 10%. Well they still earn 90% in their pocket.. We always dont look at the truth, we just look in front of us. That why they always use the back road to get more money… I hate malaysia sometime, and i wish the opposite will rise and made this country a more equal. If the market open, abolish the hak istimewa. Let all ppl enjoy, we share the same blood and you still treat us as outsider with just a permenant ic of malaysian. And not the malays are in this country first.

Is the orang asli should get the hak istimewa. Coz they live here more longer then malays reaching Malaya! And even the origin of malays is from China! Ask yourself malays, Where ur origins.. If u study ur sejarah, parameswara is a throw out prisoner. and kill a lot of ppl just to steal his power like singapore, before the thai send ppl to get back. Politics Malays = $$$ + Power + Sex. You all wake up laa! PLS! Even Onn Jaffar left umno because he know the racism in UMNO. And one thing, UMNO is not malay, inside there got mamak, chinese also got, they just convert to islam. It should be call islam parti more..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 7:43 am

The worst thing about this, is that the small 1% of elite Malays (G) got all the profit from the country, then blame it on Chinese (claiming Chinese holding majority of country's economy) and then divert the attention of the 90% poor population we had in to making them believe that it's actually their own incompetence, and Chinese's domination of the economy that rendered them having no alternatives. But the truth is that these 1% rich government folks hide at the back and quietly earning their bloody ringgits. Then in front of cameras, whipped out a Keris and act like they will fight for the other 90% Malays and hence gain support to again and again suck all Malaysian's money.

Tell me, which country with multi racial population in this world teaches their kids from the very beginning that :" You are Malay, you are Chinese and you are Indian. …. you guys must unite…" WTF, you ever saw Americans teaching their offsprings this? They purposely want us to have a common perception that we aren't the same, then created 3 parties to split out the races in our country and hence they gain support from the majority race by creating hallucination of threats from other races, hence rallying support, and domination.

Well, it seems our country's only hope now lies in the hands of the 90%poor Malays, when these NAP policies gain their goal (having shifted majority of the economy power to Malays, allowing them to move up into medium income level societies, educated and had independant thinking, then only they'll return back and save the other 2 departed races.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 7:55 am

corrupt to the very end

• El Gato (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 7:58 am

Don't we all feel sick everytime we come across this AP thing…? AP is just another by-product of NEP created to enrich those so-called BP. Feel Angry and helpless ? Nah….it's nothing compare to things like…offer of mega project to crony without tender, mandatory 30% share allocation to BP, quota in university, and tonnes of other assistance to BP that can only leave non-BP wondering when all these gonna to stop before these RETARDED-PARASITIC POLITICIANS suck up all this country resources and chase away all the foreign investors. We are practising racist politic and crony-democracy in this country.

They never bother to creat bigger economy cake but just want the bigger slice of ever shrinking economy cake.

By the way, i never have high regard of our current PM ever since he took over from MM, you know why ? Coz he still keep people like Rafidah Aziz and Sami Vellu in his cabinet line-up and we all know that these two are proven $#%&#@…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 8:03 am

Well i think before that happend, all chinese maybe leaving Malaysia.. their goal is to take everything we chinese earn and put into their pocket.. u know tax.. We chinese pay the most tax compare to all races. And the G put in their Mosque, sekolah asrama penuh, Metrikulasi, Mara and also those G control company.. Only for the benefit of Malays… The amanah saham also open more to bumiputras and houses that are built they got special discount.. WTF! We earn harder then them, they took us away like that.. While they goyang kaki, G give them money and facility to stay. Even their child can go to asrama penuh can get free cash to eat and buy things… Thay why when in University, the money they get go buy moto and modified it and turn to Mat rempit.. When u feed them too much they cannot independent. Pls throw away the tongkat. It's already too long u delay it. From 1997 until now.. What i can say too depend to G.. While other races.. Haiz.. being suck for them.. Now P1 also like that, selling those not worthy cars to us. And now want to tipu us to give more AP's to those blood suckers king and Queen…

• dawgHause (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 9:27 am

Stupid Fat Cow. AP here, AP there.

this country isn't going anywhere.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 9:40 am

STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING!

• J (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 4:57 pm

Over greed .. Sooner or later this country collapse

• kendo (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 6:21 pm

that is why

MANY have move to Australia,,

while

Indonesia / bangadeshi/ Burmess

move to this LAND……

• Nozzydive (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 7:03 pm

waaaaa it seems that everyone against the MALAYS!!!!! but it is true since the 90's when our former PM declared vision 2020 and also our Rancangan M'sia(RM) from 1-9 is to kerb poverty among those Malays. See this is what happened when too much of spoon feed to them! Government loans, MARA, Uni, up to 15% discount for buying houses, public listed company to have a BP as one of the share holder & the list goes on. Big players are messing up the KLCI index!

Increasing the petrol & toll has been a burden to the RAKYAT and yet they are finding ways to have more! Our salary does not increase right? They have been increasing the tax rate especially on tobaccos & liquors, what now? more APs for the rich ones?

This country is full of CORUPPTION & GREED! sometimes I wonder are those non bumis were 2nd level resident status? Even the head of BPR was probe in corupption…what a joke to free him for him to have ample time to cover his ass.

The rich become richer, the poor become poorer. REVAMP!!!!

• ckengyo (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 7:47 pm

i'm glad that paul tan didnt pull out this issue, as he 've pull out a few "sensitive" issues in the pass. Haha…

• kendo (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 8:19 pm

it is the "Political cronies and greed gangs"

that ruin them,

don;t blame the general kind folks please…

• Xscape (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 8:25 pm

Corruption will never end in Bolehland coz they can get away with it. Money talks bullshit walks!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 8:39 pm

3,000 APs

Commision for Signed and surat "Diluluskan" permohonan.

= Average RM 20K per no.

Total Commision = 3,000 AP x RM 20,000.00

Untung atas angin (perhap langit or even angkasa) is 3,000 AP x RM 20K

= RM 60 Million.

Ngam, Ngam, Ngam, slurp ……….. = fat crocs. This is perhap the irresistible "special reasons" for such approval !!!!!!!!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 11:06 pm

anyone dares from high above to have a national debate on this??!

• yiaomo (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 11:22 pm

If the Malay in this country still can't see what happened to Proton now as a reflection of themselve in future if globalisation can't afford the BN (barang naik) government to assist and support them anymore with….be it wooden, bronze, silver or golden tongkat. Then this so called BP race is really utterly hopeless and continuous exploitation of non-BP and limited resources in this country can only leave this country with no competitiveness edge and future.

Can't imagine how many countries have benefited from out flow of Malaysian non-BP professionals, academician, scientist who have not been treated fairly in their own country which despise meritocracy.

NEP is not New Economy Policy but No Eminent Prospective !

• El Gato (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 11:32 pm

-nabilll said,

March 10, 2007 @ 3:06 pm

anyone dares from high above to have a national debate on this??!

I sure want to debate on this subject but do you think the current BN government or that particular race has the openness, indepth civilised mind and even IQ to listen and understand what universally accepted human justice and values is all about ????

It's you and my wildest dream i guess…..

• J (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 12:21 am

OK guys, let's not discusss sensitive issues here before we get Paul into trouble with his blog.

We should try to live in this Bolehland in best possible way :)

• transformer (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 2:11 am

SAD TO SAY that they use Rakyat money to pay thier salary yet they set our rules to suck more money from the Rakyat!

dulu AP

kini NAP

selama-lamanya AP+NAP

• transformer (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 2:18 am

Brothers and Sisters!

Received this link via email, check this out :
    http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/corridors.php?…

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 12:38 pm

I don't even know what to say…suddenly said no AP, now AP, i can only shake my head… really what can we do? I can say stop buying AP, stop buying new car, the consumer power can pressure the gov.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 5:40 pm

AGREE WITH THAT!

no new car purchase! no demand! when no demand, no tax are being collected! Yeah! thats the way to go! Malaysia Boleh! YEAH!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 10:37 pm

gosh some of u guys really hate BP huh???