Amazing Tempo Sdn Bhd Statement

Amazing Tempo Sdn Bhd issued this media statement in relation to MITI’s decision to stop issuing APs for the Wald brand.

We have yet to receive any official letter of notification from MITI on their decision to stop issuing APs for the importation of WALD Tuned vehicles, as a result of our alleged non-compliance with their importation regulations as stated by a MITI official in various recent news reports. Regardless of the fact that this information has not been officially conveyed to us prior to its release to the general media, we will make every effort to abide by the Ministrys decision.

This will undoubtedly result in us having to wind up Amazing Tempos WALD business, and this in turn will affect 106 dealers nationwide, with approximately 1000 workers losing gainful employment.

Today, we will face the reality of the governments decision and will be meeting our business partners and employees to notify them officially of our decision to abide by the governments decision. We strongly believe in the governments good judgement and intentions, and continue to hold the view that this move to stop further issuance of APs to WALD is for the greater good of our national automotive industry.

This decision would undoubtedly have not been an easy one to come to as it involves several key factors that would affect the government themselves:

Government-Linked Corporation Investment Related To WALD

USF- Hicom – as they are our partners in the distribution of WALD vehicles nationwide and hold 50% of our vehicle allocation, this is an investment of about RM200 million that has been made by USF-Hicom. USF-Hicom is a government-linked corporation because it is a wholly-owned subsidiary of DRB- Hicom, which in turn is 37% owned by Khazanah Nasional

Future Projects

Amazing Tempo had great plans and vision for their partnership with USF Hicom and in fact plans were made to leverage on the success that was sure to follow on from the WALD venture platform. Unfortunately, these projects will be shelved indefinitely.

Revenue from WALD

Annually, Amazing Tempo would have contributed something to the tune of RM300 million worth of customs excise and import duties that the government is now forgoing.

While we find this a bitter pill to swallow, especially since we are only 10 months old, Amazing Tempo prides itself on conducting its business with the highest levels of ethics. We continuously strive to adhere to all relevant rules and regulations governing the automotive trade, and we will continue to do so. Thank you in anticipation of your continued support and understanding.

I really wonder what is the ‘non-compliance’. Will MITI shed some light on this?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wingz on Sep 01, 2005 at 11:12 am

eh now that u mentioned it, what happened to the AP king ar ?

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 01, 2005 at 3:35 pm

Stop Amazing tempo AP and give more to AP kings loh!! That's the SOLUTION or reason!

• AlexC on Sep 01, 2005 at 4:16 pm

I see no problem for the cars imported by Wald as their price tags are totally out of proton's range… if this is affecting the people in thousands, there but be something concrete; black and white to prove their claims… i see a market segment being pulled off shelf due to its success in such a short period… this is an agressive but progressive marketing, not like proton which impose this and that to survive at all… if their ap is stopped from being issued because of political or some asshole's benefit, i really wish to see those people whose livelihood is affected as well as those who are not happy with all these ap issues to come out and stage a rally to put an end to this corrupt practice… i'd say, plant a few opposition members in every cabinet ministry to monitor for malpractice…

• cameljoe on Sep 01, 2005 at 4:23 pm

Here comes the pain!

Wow, RM300 mill just from a small car importer, imagine how much the others is paying out? Ppl like C&C, Auto Bavaria……those are much bigger payout to customs! The gov't is rolling in clover.

The statement looks like it's saying "We lose, you lose too". September should be an interesting month. Is like musical chairs, when the music stops, who is left standing?

Is this the begining of the end of AP abuse? Is the PM putting his foot down? Is this just sandiwara? Is Tempo just a scapegoat? Questions, questions…..

• no one said wald is losing their AP's due to "competition" to proton. I think its naive to even speculate in that direction.

Btw, isn't Amazing tempo one of the "AP kings" in the first place? I'm amazed that people actually feel sorry and pity for them.

I'm sure the govt has a very good reason. I'm not about to speculate what it is.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 01, 2005 at 6:26 pm

The Govt.? Rather trust my own hunch rather than trusting the G.

People like Raf**ah will always manipulate things , such is the way things will reveal itself after someone have been given too much power for too long a period , Replacement anyone?

WALD have good cars and I'm abit sad , I rather see KIA's out anytime as opposed to WALD , especially the WISH , which I like very much.

• gary: One of the underlying, and in my opinion most key, issues to AP issuance is its disruption to the original balance/ split for the malaysian car industry i.e. 90% malaysian, 10% foreign. The APs were also meant as a regulatory, as far as numbers go, to achieving this balance.

Of course, that is not the case as it is today. Because the balance would protect our local P&P carmakers, then yes the loss incurred by an entity like Wald is in direct relation to proton's yearning for 'protection'.

However illogical that is.

I agree with most of you, and the rest there is to come as far as comments go i m sure. Some companies are in it for the right reasons – using APs to bring in a single make and providing adequate sales service, parts and more importantly options/ excitement to the local consumers. Wald strikes me as one of those guys whose brought in VW after a long hiatus. I mean a car like the Golf GTi should not be deprived from us… And judging by what i ve been seein, the cars are moving off the shelves at good rates.

So now what? Wald shuts. VW car buyers who took the leap of faith, now will suffer if no one picks up the ball where Wald leaves off. No 3S type after sales. No one ever buys a VW again.

Oh well. Kudos the authorities who s handled this whole freakin AP show with aplomb.

The letter was a stab at everything wrong wtih the industry, and of course a bit of self glorification to their own efforts/ investments.

Mourn y'all. As we can only stand to lose in this (mis)handling of the AP…

• "…. as a result of our alleged non-compliance with their importation regulations as stated by a MITI official in various recent news reports."

the government should shed some light to the "non-compliance" allegation. what is the THING that is not compliant??

• sinleong on Sep 01, 2005 at 7:33 pm

I recomend that MITI should go to management training.

• cameljoe on Sep 01, 2005 at 7:39 pm

Yep, Yes, That's right on the pie hole. This is clearly a move to protect Proton. Since VW is in the talks, this AP banned on Tempo shows that the Proton-VW thing could happen?!

Just look at it, isn't it as clear as daylight? Non-compliance, yeah, competition conflict I'll say. The gov't did not disclose the reason is because of Proton-VW. Maybe there will be announcement soon on this angle.

You've read it here first. Just my 2 cents.

• MachangUnited.com on Sep 01, 2005 at 7:42 pm

Do we realise that RM 300M came from? Consumer pocket.

• Johnny Boy on Sep 01, 2005 at 7:59 pm

Well consumers, who ask you to pay for that RM 300m???

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 01, 2005 at 8:42 pm

the GRAND question is :

WHAT THE HELL WALD IS?

huh! crap! not even see one of it on the road!

• cameljoe on Sep 01, 2005 at 8:51 pm

WALD is like Impul lor, a rebadge tuner. They tune up the engine and spice up the car with extra kit and accessory. Make them more bling la.

Of course cannot see much diff because they look like Hondas and Toyotas anyways, need to look more closely to see the WALD badge. There are only a few cause it is also very expensive lor. Ok or not?

• armandd on Sep 01, 2005 at 9:18 pm

yep, WALD is a tuner comp, like brabus, klemann, etc.

• yesterday i saw one Proton Waja WALD…..hahahah!

The owner replaced the WAJA emblem with the WALD emblem.

• Biothing on Sep 01, 2005 at 10:05 pm

Proton WALD! ha ha!! that'll be the day. I hope WALD will one day accept Proton makes into its list of cars to be TUNE UP. Check www.wald-japan.co.jp for those wanting to know WALD cars. Big name in Japan (and some segments of US market)

Perhaps when VW help Proton the WALD can tune up Proton lahh!!

• stupid rafidah on Sep 01, 2005 at 10:13 pm

hmmm…maybe they just threw out one of the more semi-luxorious importers,

they couldn't drop the big guns like bavaria cause that would be a great lost of revenue

and the small guys are like ant no need to worry

they just had to sacrifice someone to show that the government is working

damn why do we pay those government official to just sit at the office and do nothing

i think all malaysian should stop production for a few days hehe and make the government deficit

hahahahhaha jk :p

• AlexC on Sep 01, 2005 at 10:44 pm

So, since everyone is saying the government is not handling this right, and taking in accounts all other issues that you might think of, at the end of the day, WHO DO YOU VOTE FOR??? you're the one that chooses the government…

• ahakz. yeah. give a chance for the opposition party to rule malaysia. see what's the dif

• Another 'soap opera' type of series? We have had too much of this…nothing new and well…not funny at all

Yawnzzz ~

• AlexC said,

September 1, 2005 @ 2:44 pm

So, since everyone is saying the government is not handling this right, and taking in accounts all other issues that you might think of, at the end of the day, WHO DO YOU VOTE FOR??? you’re the one that chooses the government…

—-> Mate…a lot of these hanky panky..funny policies are created just to ensure they ARE VOTED FOR!!!! Simply not how they government wanna rule the country. They juz scare to lose the power…thats it. Bet lotsa them know what is not right….well i never doubt few dickhead who dunno it.

• aR said,

September 1, 2005 @ 3:20 pm

ahakz. yeah. give a chance for the opposition party to rule malaysia. see what’s the dif

—-> Better dont…if you let PAS (coz they are majority) rulez this country…that will be a lot of funny thing happened!! not oni khazanah berhad will take over a bicycle company to make natioal "Beca"…you are I oso will not be allowed to go karaoke bring our gf…nor wearing a sleeveless singlet to show off our trisep :D…wahliao…i dunwan my gf to be "bungkus" up juz like a mummy ~~~~

• wald is not a serious tuner at all. their cars are geared up more for the looks, rather than performance.

The VW gti is brought in as is, with just a wald sticker afixed. The car is not modified in anyway whatsoever.

whatever the case, they are not, and never have been in competition with proton. just one look at the price of their cars and you'll know they're in the very exclusive luxury car market.

• Aris Tee on Sep 02, 2005 at 1:12 am

Walds are everywhere la bro… I've seen them, Wish, Stream, FR-V, Golf GTi, Beetle Cabrio… on the road :)

• Marmitecrab on Sep 02, 2005 at 1:24 am

It's obvious Proton cannot have any competition when they tie-up with VW, no matter in what guise. So they ask their good friend Ab…. Bad….. to kill off Wald. So very obvious and so very blatant. Just heard another bird sing this song – "The Tun" returned the V-dubs because he's had a falling out with his protege. Seems his protege wanted 20 bil (not mil, ah) from a certain national petroleum company (of which "The Tun" is also an advisor of) for his family to expand their business empire. Now this is of course not acceptable and knowing how close Protong is to his protege, he returned the cars as a sign he is not standing up for this nonsense. The plot thickens….

• hfrshah on Sep 02, 2005 at 1:25 am

yup, most of Wald's tuning only involves cosmetic changes(mainly the Japanese cars). the VW Polo, Golf and Touareg are all stock standard

• Non-compliance … WALD/Competitive Supreme said that they re-tuned the car but actually they only change the fittings ( sporty seats ), sport rims and add side skirts/front lips – and add WALD bagde and sell at premium price. So the G is aware and make a caution statement 2 months ago but CS just ignore it … so today kena la.

IMPUL, Kleemen and Brabus really provide tuned car.

• akari on Sep 02, 2005 at 3:00 am

poor wald, a victim under "non-compliance", as we are victim under something else…

i like the golf gti very much, through i will never purchase it with the bloody price, i would like to see it on the road…. sob hope there no bye bye for wald, maybe after sometimes i win from TOTO or somewhere else then i will be ur customer LOLz

• Wald aka Amazing Tempo was claimed under declared the tax and abuse the AP……..

Question – Is Amazing Tempo the only one in the country should be charged for such "non-compliance"? What above other gray improter and franchise holder with other branding?

• Biothing on Sep 02, 2005 at 4:48 am

Hi ya all. I have seen WALD Grosser (based on mercedes S series) in Singapore, it is just as good as any Mercedes tuner!

I think they tie up with Blitz and produced Kompressor engine, thats many BHPs extra.

The GTi MkV with GSD gearbox definitely have extra power, have anyone tried testing one? My friend did a test drive last week, but now he is uncertain to buy or not. What does it mean, WALD AP stopped. How about services etc promised?

My voew is that government should try to look at customers welfare when they start to make decision like this, stopping license etc. How to take care of customers? Who sufers in the end, we, yes we, car buyers…. What a policy!

• hfrshah on Sep 02, 2005 at 5:00 am

the DSG(Direct Shift Gearbox) certainly does not increase a certain engine's power. but the power is transferred to the wheels more smoothly via a twin clutch system. it makes the gearchange faster, giving the impression of extra power

• ferarri on Sep 02, 2005 at 4:09 pm

First Wald's customers suffer by not having after sales service if Wald closes. Then The Govt raised prices on most other cars, Naza Ria (RM!2K), Honda Odd (20-30K), Jazz 10K. Next the alado customers better watch out as the govt may try to eliminate the Chery A160 as it competes with Waja 1.6 Then, those who bought the first batch of A160 would have no parts and the resale value would be like Tiara. The QQ will compete with Savvy, definetly got problems with JPJ/Govt/Potong. If Potong is using cc as a base for comparison, almost all cars/mpvs imported in malaysia would compete with potong. I went to car dealer on 1 sept and they are all pulling long faces as the showrooms were suddenly empty.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 02, 2005 at 5:44 pm

Wald close or not? Nothing related to me cause I don't think l will buy these car. Firstly, too expensive and secondly not value for money! With the same amount of money you better buy Brand new original not used with tuning. The Second hand value should be higher than Third or Fourth hand later. KENA TOTO or Empat EKOR also will not consider.

• So, where do current WALD owners service their cars from now on?

• Pentan Sakua... on Sep 04, 2005 at 6:30 am

Actually all cars are cheap. it is only EXPENSIVE in Malaysia, casue all the taxes added plus the AP Kopi Money, it is more then the car actual price.

Curse gomen….curse Potong….

• Initial D on Sep 05, 2005 at 7:43 am

yaya……

• chen,

does wald actually have any service centres in the 1st place to service customer cars? as far as i know, they are just importers. bring a car in, sell it, byebye. next customer…

• Biothing on Sep 06, 2005 at 12:29 am

WALD service centre in Jalan Chan Sow Lin. I ask them, there are also in Penang and JB. 2 years warranty on all cars. The GTi tune up as it comes in looks no different, but if you opt for package Level 2 (extra 15K), you will be in for a boost!

And my WALD WISH doing great, definitely different from Toyota version. I have been trying to budget its fuel saving strategy. If it works, another bonus.

The trouble now is, where do I service them from NOW ON!!! (If the company closes!) They have to answer this.

The website (www.wald-m.com) however directs me to Volkswagon? Now, who is dealing with Volkswagon, isn't it Proton? Confusing ehh!!

• rosley on Sep 06, 2005 at 4:54 pm

What will happen to my wald wish which I registered last 2 months? Will customs officer go after my car too?

• devilbillyee (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 10:03 pm

hey guy, read what found.

Jan 28, 2006

Industry News

VW and Proton's collaboration scrapped

After a year of discussion, Volkswagen gave up the intention to build a joint venture with Proton in Malaysia. It is believed that the breakup was due to the Malaysian's refusal to let Volkswagen taking control of the venture. This could be a big blow to Proton, whose survival is no longer guaranteed by the government. Proton's market share in Malaysia has dropped to only 40%. It is currently operating at a loss.