Porsche to build small SUV

porsche-cayenne-facelift-rear-450.jpg

Porsche is planning a smaller SUV that will join the existing market filled up with the BMW X3 and the future Audi Q5, Infiniti EX35 and Volkswagen Tiguan, according to German magazine AutoZeitung. The new smaller Porsche SUV would likely share the same platform as the Q5/Tiguan, and carry over the Cayenne’s V6 and V8 engines. Let’s hope Porsche’s styling department can execute a small SUV styling better than it’s done with a large SUV. The Cayenne isn’t really the best looking SUV around.

It’s strange how we’ve come to accept that more and more sports car manufacturers are going all out to develop SUVs. I wonder why Land Rover, Hummer or Jeep hasn’t decided to build a high performance sports car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nmh (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 9:24 pm

Just stop it…its just getting ridiculous (as ridiculous as maybach which decide to built SUV..LOL). Just concentrate built ur fabulous sportscar so it feel more exclusive…even more exclusive than ferrari because Porsche is Porsche and not own by any automotive giant. Just concentrate on the sportscar DESIGN…else, keep the price low, i think this is another Porsche exclusive feature…..hihi

• outspoken (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 9:27 pm

the trend now is people wants "people carrier" and no more "just a car to go fom A to B". The bigger they are, the better.. no wonder Naza is laughing out loud with it sales of Citra, Perodua wih MyVi (consider big to my eyes).. What's next…? a PUV (People Utility Vehicle)?

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:35 pm

No, it shud be ECF or Everyone-Can-Fit… lol

But i'm looking forward to see how Porsche pulls this off

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:37 pm

not interested…….

• superman (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:08 am

Porsche fortunes has increased steadily since producing the Cayenne. If not for the profits from excellent sales figure of the Cayenne in the US and EU, Porsche wouldn't have been able to develope so many variants of the 997 so quickly.

eg, Since launching the 997 Carrera in 04 they's steadily intro to the market the Carrera 4, C4S, C2 & C4 Cabriolet, Targa, GT3,Turbo, GT3RS. Compare that to the 996 Carrera which took a few extra years before that many variants came out. Not to mention the Cayman & Cayman S.

So knock Porsche all you want for having the SUV but they know a cash cow when they see one.

• superman (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:11 am

Paul,

Porsches are dynamically better cars in general so with their Technical & Dynamic Know how, they can engineer a Good SUV. Doubt Land Rover or much less the Americans can make an able sports car.

• Paul Tan on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:14 am

superman: i was just being sarcastic lah :P

• superman (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:17 am

haha ok..

i seriously doubt the market would be interested in a Jeep Sportscar anyway

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 4:47 am

But then you buy Land Rovers to go offroad. Want to go quick in SUV well this is one option, or the Range Rover Sport which looks better than this. Then if you want looks, I think Mazda has a CUV? SUV thing on sale now which looks as good as murano