Facelifted BMW X3 now in Malaysia

The new facelifted BMW X3 is now available in Malaysia, in one variant – the BMW X3 2.5si. This model is powered by BMW’s updated straight-six 2.5 litre engine, now making 218hp at 6,500rpm and consuming 10% less fuel than the pre-facelift model.

Thanks to the new motor, the BMW X3 2.5si goes from 0 to 100 in 8.5 seconds, down from 8.9 seconds, and top speed is now 232km/h compared with 224km/h in the pre-facelift model.

Stocks will come from BMW’s Rayong plant in Thailand, to take advantage of the new ASEAN preferential CBU tax rates. Toyota has also recently made this switch with the Camry. It will be available in showrooms beginning tomorrow (17th March 2007) and will go for RM319,000.

More photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 4:10 am

for X this is nice, compare to vulgar X5

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 4:27 am

Every angle is good except the FRONT. The Head lamps are weird looking.

Facelift What's the different compare to previous one? Can't feel the impact at all.

• motherker (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 6:56 am

auctioncenter2u,

paul has clearly stated that the facelifted model gets a new heart (aka engine)

..performance figures are also stated right there…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 6:57 am

i read few of the reviews online ,specially those in the UK,thy all kinda say that the x3 have a brittle ride , very stiff and not a very good interior quality , i tink those for european markets are made in belgium if im not mistaken…bt looks nice and macho in a subtle way

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 17, 2007 at 5:08 pm

still like the X5 more… seen real X3s and X5s… X3 is small compared to X5 and it looks ugly if they are compared side by side. hmm…

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 18, 2007 at 1:23 am

Side profile looks good, rear is not too bad… But the worst part has to be the front… My God, it looks BUTT UGLY…

• nmh (Member) on Mar 18, 2007 at 4:33 am

funny with tiny little wheel…just like our crv

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 5:46 am

is it just me or does the car look like 1/3 of it is the front?

anyways, the rear lights look muuuuccchhh better this time, but the car still looks real weird compared to the x5

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 10:53 pm

I've always enjoyed the X3 more than the X5.

Personally, I find it more sleek and less bulky. It looks perfect for the tarmac and the wildernes.

Looks more sporty this time around. The new 2.5L engine should be a welcoming sight to us as it consumes less fuel this time around. The previous 2.5 was a petrol drinker as quited by many.

Cheers!

• transformer (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 5:32 am

personnally still prefer the X5 over the X3!

If X3 the Kancil, then X5 would be the Kijang(Indonesia's Toyota Innova)

but i would still take the X-Trail instead of the X3!

But if X5, then its a different story la….. sure X5