Jeremy Clarkson destroys a Lada

jeremy-lada.jpg

This is a video for the MPs of our government, Jeremy Clarkson destroying something else other than the Perodua Kelisa. Of course, it’s not exactly a fair comparison has the Perodua Kelisa, as much of an old Daihatsu model as it is, is still much more modern than the Lada in this video.

Of course, Top Gear have done some really good things to Lada cars as well, such as this video where Top Gear sends a Lada to Lotus Engineering and lets them work their magic on it. The results are astounding.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ak03 (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 12:34 pm

paul, maybe u can add one more…

Top Gear – How to kill a Porsche 911
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DExG0qNsIM4

• Paul Tan on Apr 09, 2007 at 12:38 pm

yes, hold on. adding after this.

• jasonlow (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 2:52 pm

although it's not related to this, it's about the kelisa killing video… on season 2 of topgear, (year 2003), they made a short review of "UK's cheapest new car", which was the kelisa… james n hammond kinda like the cute little car, as james gave a pretty positive review of tat car.. i wonder if anyone sees tat video b4.. but still jeremy hates it..

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 4:56 pm

Let's see, what has Clarkson destroyed in his videos in the past?

There's an Austin, a Morris, a Yugo, a Triumph, a Nissan, a Vauxhall, a Volvo, a Porsche, a Lada, a Citroen and much more besides our own Perodua Kelisa.

And here's a friendly link; http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=jerem…

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 4:59 pm

Oh yeah, there was also a Hyundai.

And this is discounting the other cars (a lot of makes) that Top Gear and Clarkson (in his videos) destroy via other stunts like playing darts with cars, launching them off cliffs with a big pressurised canon, shooting them with guns and so on.

• myviRS (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 7:12 pm

Mr Jeremy, would like to see you destroy that Ferrari.. Pleaseeeee..!! HAHAHAHA..

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 8:17 pm

Wow, never realised he has destroyed so many cars, I only know bout the Kelisa, Lada, Ford and Porche. Even a Citroen?? Oh well at least it's an old model.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 8:36 pm

He even destroyed Toyota Prius before. Well, nt exactly him, bt he asked an American called "Billy Bob" to do so. That guy dam ganas, go n use all kinds of guns to shoot the earth-saviour car.

Trivia: during the TG season 9 ep3 America special, all the names hv been edited in a humorous way in the credit. Apparently, the hosts in that episode are Cletus Clarkson, Earl Hammond Jr., Ellie May May and Roscoe P. Stig. All the crews in the episode are all the Billy Bob family led by their grandpa Billy Bob Wilman.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 10:28 pm

Wrecked a Maserati BiTurbo, a few minivans, an S-Class …too many to name.

Top gear has always wrecked cars as part of thier show. Didn't know why some MP got so offended. I'm sure they dont watch Top Gear.

• ab (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 10:35 pm

look at how sporting those soviets are, jeremy blow up their car and they havent launch a missle to his house yet. Instead, our gov made noise on the kelisa video joke!

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 11:46 pm

havent seen he destroy aston martin.

• dawgHause (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 1:59 am

he lobed a gernade into an alfa romeo arna, and used a chaingun on a helicopter gun ship to decimate a corvette.

he does this to cars which he dislikes. and i can understand why. i would like to machine gun a Hyundai Accent RX5s or what ever its called. i would like to lob a gernade into a proton iswara.and drive a perdana facelifted V6 with its imitation alfa romeo grill into a lake.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 2:34 am

proton GL said,

April 9, 2007 @ 3:46 pm

havent seen he destroy aston martin.

——————————–

Be prepared to see one soon….my guess will be either a DB7 or a Vanquish.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 5:19 am

i dont think he will destroy a mindboggling priced ferrari, aston or lambo.but in 10 years, you might see it.if he is not retired of course.

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 6:02 am

Oh, poor to Lada Riva..

The Riva is communist product, but it's just a car.

Nonsense, i wonder if the Lada is a man, was pulled by the two workhorses.

The scene was remember me to something.

• schdmitz (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 4:11 pm

this guy is crazyyyyyyyyyyy…..Why don he try on their own jaguar or RR…or their rover????see how the result!

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 9:06 pm

schdmitz said,

April 11, 2007 @ 8:11 am

this guy is crazyyyyyyyyyyy…..Why don he try on their own jaguar or RR…or their rover????see how the result!

———————————–

So you think patritism plays its part? Go and read all his columns, and you'll see whether he's a patriot or just a plain bloke who likes/dislikes something by merit.

Puh-leez la, his most hated car is a Vauxhall Vectra, how's that for a British car (despite edi bought by the Americans)?

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 12, 2007 at 1:14 pm

Goniothalamus said,

The Riva is communist product, but it’s just a car.

Nonsense, i wonder if the Lada is a man, was pulled by the two workhorses.

——————————————————–

Hmm…..I wish he'd do that to the chairman of our one particular 'national' car maker. I said chairman, not the adviser.

• seancheaw (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 8:16 pm

i think this is simply stupid and meningless. if d old man jeremy has nothin benificial to do. u balik kampung & tanam jagung(went bak 2 ur hometown and plant corn) to test how tough the car is simply crap. if really want to test toughness, send the car to laboratory, put few dummies inside and langgar the wall @ 60/kmh. more meaningful, some more got result how severe the people might get injured. rather than this stupid, meningless, humiliating British act. with no result but a few laughter.