New Volkswagen low-cost car spied!

These are spyshots of an unknown Volkswagen sedan being tested in a snowy environment. It looks pretty much like a Jetta with a slightly different shape, sharing much of the Jetta’s front and rear design cues. This is supposed to be one of two Volkswagen’s new low-cost cars for emerging markets like Brazil, India and South East Asia. Both cars are targetted at an entry price point of 7,000 Euros. To put things into perspective, the Proton Savvy in the UK is priced at £5,995, or 8,804 Euros – so when Volkswagen says low-cost, it really means low-cost!

This car might end up having some of it’s production here in Malaysia built in Proton’s plant if everything goes through well, however the latest story is that there has been no new deadline set for Proton-VW talks to be concluded.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 3:50 pm

Too much cover, only found have Jetta shadow..

Is good new that this the low cost car purposely for South East Asia..

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 4:25 pm

Hope it will come here soon

Or "I am waiting for the president/CEO/whatever to come and see me"?

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 4:52 pm

Yes, to much cover. make it look like gen2.

• bmpower (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 5:02 pm

i think, from the front side. There's influence of Golf GTI shape.

paul, it's unfair to judge.. until the real price given after the car on sale lah.

Where this car been build? China? india? i tot, everything from europe never come cheap.

and… not everyone wanna buy the cheap one. ;)

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 5:02 pm

hmm.. interesting. it must be so cold that they can cover up all the Air vents without the car being in danger of overheating?

but paul, it looks like a really big car. I would have thought if VW were to make a new low cost car for asia, it would be a "compact"??

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 5:04 pm

it looks more like waja.

• wuichi (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 6:14 pm

i wonder how much would it cost in M'sia hehe

• superman (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 6:45 pm

I would think VW would know that Asian have a preference for Saloons, and if they can produce a mid/full size saloon for the price of a compact, all the better .

well here's hoping

• nikanasz (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 7:21 pm

7k euros huh? i bet if this low cost vw ever comes to malaysia, it will be priced below rm 60k, no? if it's within that range, will sure give myvis a stiff competition. after all, we can expect better quality since it's a vw.

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 8:40 pm

this is a full sized sedan, with a boot.. myvi is a hatchback. most likely, it will compete with the vios, and city.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 9:19 pm

Thanks to INDIA, we will get this CHeaper Version VW soon. We BOLEHLAND PPL are the only Nation in the world WHO can afford to buy LOW CHEAP VERSION imported cars with HIGH PRICE. LOW CLASS Car for HIGH Class ppl only happened in BOLEH LAND. ONce again BOLEH!

Maybe in Future FULLY Imported CARs from India …. under RM60K! What do you think?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 9:23 pm

JUst kidding, the photos or Car that you saw above maybe is the REAL Condition. There are no MASKING at all. What you see is What you will get! CHEAP right, no VW logo, no Heap lamps, Rear lamps………All will be listed as OPTIONS!

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:33 pm

too much damn sheets covering it. but i think i'll look good.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:33 pm

The car is freezing, hence the jacket :p I see squarish rear lamps, a dated design cue I think. I'd like to see more hehe.

• nmh (Member) on Apr 16, 2007 at 11:48 pm

hope it uses 1.4 tfsi engine

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 12:05 am

quite a size

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:37 am

hopefully its a Waja RM

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 5:43 am

dream on cos if proton is aint collabrating with vw, it aint gonna happen……

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 7:08 am

renault logan too (for peoples car)

this is a market segmet where the most cash earned by the maker,

benefit the consumer, cheap and spacious not bad looking as well,

not sure the, ever to compete with 'cheap' economical and reliable with jarring ride built in japanese.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 3:48 pm

Renault LONGGAN is really made for Cheap ppl, Please look carefully I saw the WIPERS are actually wrongly installed on LH side (Driver on Right side), it has the same side as LHD vehicles. Check it out! What a shame!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 5:36 pm

This? A budget car by VW? Its a proper sedan and yet cheaper than Savvy! It looks like another Jetta. When you say budget, I expect something like VW Polo/Fox.

• transformer (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 5:49 am

low-cost car would become a mid-cost car after taxed by our silly G policies…

we still had P1 here… bolehland!