Cheapest Cars In The World

new_aveo_450.jpg

BusinessWeek has a list of the cheapest cars in the world, in markets that are open without artificially jacked up pricing of course.

1. Chevrolet Spark – GBP6,245 or RM42,704
2. Chevrolet Aveo – USD10,560 or RM36,120
3. Hyundai Atos – USD6,350 or RM21,620
4. Hyundai Getz – USD9,400 or RM32,152
5. Suzuki-Maruti M800 – USD4,400 or RM15,050
6. Suzuki-Maruti Swift – USD8,800 or RM30,100
7. Tata Indica – 4.18 lakh rupees or RM35,080

8. Chery QQ3 – rip-off of Spark – USD3,900 or RM13,339
9. Chery Flagcloud – USD7,300 or RM24,969
10. Geely S-RV mini SUV – USD4,400 or RM15,050
11. Geely Merrie Star – USD4,200 or RM14,366
12. Fiat Palio – USD5,000 or RM17,100
13. Dacia Logan Sedan – USD6,600 or RM22,575
14. Dacia Logan MPV – USD10,900 or RM37,283

Note the prices that are originally in GBP are cars not available in the US market, and in general UK market cars are alot more expensive than US cars, which is why the Spark can end up more expensive than the Aveo in this comparison. Suzuki-Maruti is Suzuki’s joint venture with local company Maruti in the Indian market.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 5:20 pm

If only we have this price..If only..

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 5:21 pm

aiyoyo…very funny but where is our P2 cars ahh?

I thot Kancil or Kelisa was selling like 5K pounds in UK ? Must have some mistake made by the magazine editor…Malaysia always BOLEH what ! Surely entering this HALL OF FAME is a sap sap soi what. How come eh ? Paul can clarify ka.

• Paul Tan on Apr 28, 2007 at 5:21 pm

I think businessweek is a US magazine and they dont really know of the existance of perodua and proton

• AmiR (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 5:56 pm

exactly r8 paul…..ask them to see the price of kancil and saga….

• volvolover (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 6:22 pm

xsaraloeb: if you clicked on paultan's link, it says the cheap cars were of good quality, proton cars overseas is no where near cheap and it's not good quality.

• ckengyo (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 6:41 pm

all the car price above add another 25k which is the price of the AP. u get the price roughly about what we r paying now.

• ckengyo (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 6:43 pm

plus excise duty & import tax 5% as well.

• faizulamin (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 7:12 pm

if i'm not mistaken.. savvy is selling 8000pound in uk right

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 7:41 pm

ckengyo said,

April 28, 2007 @ 10:41 am

all the car price above add another 25k which is the price of the AP. u get the price roughly about what we r paying now

—————-

So, our passenger car sales annually around 400K unit x RM 25K = RM 10 Billion.

Suck big money from the rakyat, yet P1 still fails anything and everything misely!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 7:43 pm

With this kind of dog-eat-dog price in the open market, given P1 another 10, 100, or 1,000 year also cannot compete and survive in open market, unless taken over by foreigner!

That is the real reason why P1 can't export it car in significant number (1 million or above).

• kevyeoh (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 8:10 pm

wow… how i wish the price is real in malaysia…

• cyborgx (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 8:56 pm

See this list:

2. Chevrolet Aveo – USD10,560 or RM36,120

3. Hyundai Atos – USD6,350 or RM21,620

4. Hyundai Getz – USD9,400 or RM32,152

6. Suzuki-Maruti Swift – USD8,800 or RM30,100

Notice how much we need to pay to own these cars. How much the govt/cronies/dealer sucked our blood. We almost pay double (triple for Suzuki Swift).

http://www.suzuki.net.my/swift.html (RM89K/RM94K)

Imagine getting one Swift yourself and BUY ANOTHER TWO FOR GOVT/CRONIES/DEALER. Ahaha. What people out there dont know is the original price of the car. Please boikot buying new/used car to stop this madness.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 9:57 pm

Whatever cars we get here are imposed a 135% tax if i remember correctly. A lot of people knows the actual price of the cars, moreso when our neighbours upnorth gets same model cars as us, with better specs, and way cheaper price of course, but what to do? Here, even post NAP prices are sucking our wallets slim. Wanna get a nice cheap car? Lets mass-immigrate to TomYamland!! Yea!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 3:31 am

Perodua Kancil and Kelisa ain't cheap. Even if we were to produce them, send them to US, it still wouldn't beat those cars, simply because we do not have the economies of scale.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 4:35 am

Only way to force Gov to change AP is everyone don't buy cars anymore. Just buy second hand and don't buy for 1 month. Lets see if the gov cuak or not

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 6:44 am

STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING!

Hidup patriotic consumers, and Cepat Mati crap P1/NAP.

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 8:36 am

Wooo, we paid too much for car, it is ridiculous, we paid 2 or 3 times for the same cars in other countries…while some politicians driving Brabus, we driving crappy proton…

• eifs (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 8:53 am

Both Hyundai Getz and Aveo here in brunei cost B$/S$17k.. and the Swift is around B$/S$19-20k (RM40k)..No wonder Sarawakians tend to buy cars from us…. Lexus IS350 and Merc C-class cost B$55k (RM110k++) here.. I've read car magazines from Malaysia and i'm quite sorry that my counterparts in Malaysia have to pay more because of imposed tax..but anyhow I love how your country handles its motorsports such as F1, drifting, etc..

• TomBoiNY (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 12:59 pm

Well, we don't get many of the cars on that list here in the US. Smallest and cheapest Hyundai we get is the Accent. The Getz and Atoz aren't sold here. In the future, who knows. The trend here in the US is oddly for many to go to smaller cars. Look how well the Mini and Scions, and Honda Fits sell here. It's really unreal how cheap cars and other things are here in the US compared to other parts of the world. Cars from Maylasia are cheap in the UK, even after you factor in the shipping, taxes and such, thanks to the lower labour rates and such. You poor chaps just get taxed way beyond belief. I can kind of understand why, to protect local industry, but they don't offer even price incentives to get you to buy local Protons and Peroduas. Even more sad for you guys is that Singapore gets same stuff more or less, better spec and even cheaper price still. Makes no sense, other then the government misspending.

• alpha0201 (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 4:28 pm

To TomBoiNY,

Getz & Atoz ARE sold here. It was Hyundai Getz & Atoz before they changed it to

Inokom Getz & Atoz.

• u_arrogant_i_hate (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 6:30 pm

how come in UK the QQ are sold at RM14K only? whilst we need to pay RM40K for it here?

• TomBoiNY (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 6:40 am

Yes, they may be sold in Malaysia, but not in the US which is what I said.

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 8:09 am

Another popular small car in US is yaris sedan, can see more and more on the road.

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 8:15 am

Small cars are getting popular for its FC…

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 11:17 am

If these cars price are getting cheaper here in Malaysia then I think the P1 & P2 will be closed

• antaras (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 5:58 pm

hey… Proton Saga also not bad ma. It's priced around the same as the Swift. It SHOULD be quite the same rite? MUAHAHAHA… what a loser man…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 6:43 pm

antaras, how to compare stone age milo tin on the wheel with Swift with latest tech Swift? MUAHAHAHAHA … what a loser even in Bolehland …..

• ynnad (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 7:15 pm

well some may also argue that we pay heck of alot less income taxes than some of those countries listed in the survey..

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:16 am

proton first known in the us by lotus wit the gen2 EVE hybrid car…………but still just that area…….haih

• t. wang on Aug 29, 2009 at 1:42 am

Its sad… Many ppl here in Malaysia can't buy good cars because of the huge amount of tax. The government really needs to consider this

• What about the tata nano?? Its priced at about USD2500!!!!!!!