Toyota RAV4 gets new 2.5 liter Dual VVT-i engine

Toyota RAV4

Toyota has quietly put a mysterious 2.5 litre inline-4 Dual VVT-i engine into its updated 2009 Toyota RAV4 for the US market. The new 2.5 litre engine replaces the old 2.4 litre inline-4 VVT-i and has variable valve timing on both the intake and exhaust.

The new engine is more powerful, producing 179hp at 6,000rpm and 233Nm of torque at 4,000rpm versus the 2.4 litre’s 166hp and 224Nm figures. Toyota says the 4-speed transmission mated to this engine is a new unit that is more compact, lightweight and efficient compared to the outgoing model.

No matter what, it’s still a 4-speed unit Toyota! Even compact budget Volkswagens are now available with 6-speed or 7-speed DSG boxes. Even Honda is putting at least a 5-speed in all of their cars now, except for the compact JDM K-cars. Anyway, expect this new 2.5 litre Dual VVT-i inline-4 to replace the 2.4 litre 2AZ-FE in some if not all markets.

The higher end 3.5 litre V6 unit remains unchanged, putting out 269hp at 6,200rpm and 333Nm of torque at 4,700rpm. The rest of the changes with the 2009 model RAV4 include different styling on the front and rear and various other different bits and pieces.

Look after the jump for a hi-res gallery.

PHOTO GALLERY: US market Toyota RAV4 Facelift
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:52]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mct (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 12:33 am

wow
    new 2.5 litre engine
    is this engine belong to zr series ??
    output is not strong , 5 speed auto should put inside that car
    hope the next facelift camry could have this new 2.5 litre engine and a new 2.0 engine also (which is 3zr-fae/3zr-fe )

• abtm (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 7:56 am

given how low tech all toyota models are, at least it’s got a new engine

• 2.2 diesel engine ?? …. malaysia need 2.2 diesel …DIESEL …….

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 8:14 am

Hi… I’m Mr TOYOTA.. I like MONEY… I don’t like spending my money for something unnecessary like a 5 or 6 speed gearbox for my mid range models like the RAV4.. I don’t even think of hooking a 5 or 6 speed gearbox on the low end models like the VIOS… This is because I like MONEY… and I am Mr TOYOTA… And also, to all my beloved toyota owners, please come oftenly to the service centres so that I can take more of your MONEY for the genuine spare parts that costs a fortune to buy… THANK YOU…

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 2:05 pm

Hmm the rav4 looks ‘bouncy’

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 5:31 pm

the one thing you are guaranteed to get from Toyoto is reliability and that is worth an awful lot

• torque (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 6:14 pm

Uhhh…I drive a Toyota but I have to say this, “What’s there to shout about?” Doesn’t the Toyota Altezza (RS200) which also had the Dual VVT-I (correct me if I’m wrong) with it’s 2000cc produce more than this…like 210 bhp? Plus, what da’ heck? 4 speed auto? Aiyo…come on la Toyota, stop throw everything cool and latest tech just on your Lexus badge only la…sigh! :-(

• PROTON SUCKS (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 6:47 pm

a cr-v, santa fe, freelander 2, qashqai is a much better car

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 8:39 pm

Honda is comparable to toyota when we talk about reliability… but they aren’t so greedy… i own both vios and city.. all i can see is the price of toyota spare parts are at least a third higher than that of honda… it’s not going to be a problem for the first 2/3 years when you were given the toyota’s service voucher for the vios and honda’s 2 years free service, inclusive of labour and parts for the city… but after 2/3 years? I prefer the honda… no offence but toyota is overcharging us….

• wrong-turn (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 2:18 am

RAV can never match the success of the CRV and alike! The RAV with bigger engine? or RAV simply just too late….

• Altezzar (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 10:15 am

4 speed auto is not exceptable from Toyota. This is blantant cut cost measure. If you are looking for SUV go for CRV.

Dont get me wrong I am not a Toyota Basher. hey I own a toyota( see my nic) but one cant keep quite when they say “Toyota says the 4-speed transmission mated to this engine is a new unit that is more compact, lightweight and efficient compared to the outgoing model”. Yes I agree but 5 speed with an extra ratio will be even better. It sound more like “we are cutting cost so take it or leave it” . To make matter worse…… 4 speed mated to 2.5 cc engine is un heard of in this generation.!!!!!!!. Wake you Toyota!!!!!!.

• PROTON SUCKS (Member) on Aug 14, 2008 at 2:19 pm

toyota rav4 got gearbox problem

• AM2 (Member) on Aug 19, 2008 at 3:50 pm

The new 2.5 liter Dual VVT-i inline-4 engine is called “2AR-FE”

• albert (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 3:00 pm

When will this be available locally?

• elius on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:35 pm

does all 2005 rav 4 CV comes with vvti technolog?

• You all are nothing but Toyota haters. Most of you are wanna be and nothing else.

BTW This engine and the low tech old technology 4 gear box gives better gas mileage and more power than the latest and greatest from the CRV, VW and the Subaru.

So technically Toyota old tech is far superior to the latest from Honda, VW and Subaru… so go back and sulk and bitch about how Toyota is more expersive to maintain than the others.

• i goin get it next month i like the RAv4 interior Design so stylish and elegents the Cr-V! i almost end up with cr-V but yesterdays i went to toyota branch i saw that "bagga" RAv4 so cute. i will not changing my mind for those complaning about it got money just buy what u wan no money buy kancil

• MKS50 on Apr 25, 2009 at 4:20 am

[quote comment="175923"]toyota rav4 got gearbox problem[/quote]

I am one of those unfortunate owners. This is my last Toyota vehicle.

• MKS50 on Apr 25, 2009 at 4:25 am

[quote comment="229189"]

BTW This engine and the low tech old technology 4 gear box gives better gas mileage [/quote]

For me, actual mileage never come anywhere close to the advertised mileage.

• carsfeed on Nov 25, 2011 at 9:28 am

What’s up, of course this piece of writing is genuinely pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging. thanks.