UMW Toyota facelifts the Hilux, Innova and Fortuner

Toyota Fortuner

The facelifted versions of UMW Toyota Motor’s trio of IMV vehicles have been available in showrooms since last Friday. We’ve already had a preview of the three cars, namely the Hilux, the Fortuner and the Innova, but here is the final list of confirmed changes with the facelifed models:

Toyota Hilux

• Cosmetic changes such as the new front grille
  • New basic 2.5L Double Cab Standard variant with manual transmission
  • Hilux Double Cab 2.5G now has dual SRS airbags instead of just one

Toyota Fortuner

• Cosmetic changes such as the new front grille and headlamp shape
  • 2.5G turbodiesel model now has a 4-speed auto rather than a manual.
  • Two rows of vents on the ceiling for better airflow to the third row.
  • Four fan speeds for the air cond blower instead of the previous three.
  • Projector lense headlamps.
  • 2.7V comes with 6-way electrically adjustable driver’s seat
  • The option for the Sportivo bodykit (shown above).

Toyota Innova

• New front grille, front bumpers, rear bumpers.
  • 2-tone brown and beige-grey interior for the feeling of a spacious cabin

Thankfully the Sportivo kit for our local Fortuner looks subtle and decent and is not as over the top as the Thai version. Look after the jump for a shot of the facelifted models.

Toyota hilux

Toyota Innova

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mac_labuan (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 2:57 pm

1st ..nice facelift on fortuner

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:14 pm

Very minor, might appeal to die hard fans only

• Bebelon (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 3:58 pm

Sorry to Fortuner, i will opt for Santa Fe or Chevy Captiva which are more friendly priced and value for money!!!

• mytouch (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:45 pm

Very "sincere" move by UMW…if they keep playing these kind of boring "faceligting" game,1 day they will "eat them self"…

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:51 pm

innova looks so much like avanza. omg. lazy ass toyota ppl.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 4:56 pm

Sorry for Innova as well, the petrol under power 2.0cc engine is killing me for the FC monthly…..The new face lift make it look more a like with Avanza…

• salao on Mar 27, 2012 at 9:33 am

Agreed! The Innova without turbo diesel engine will be a fuel guzzler…

• kaka811 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:00 pm

not much different.

• ignas (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:12 pm

er…

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:33 pm

This kind of facelift is like Proton and Perodua …. child's play, not worth to mention ! Anyway Paul, what about the price ? same price, lower price or higher price than before ??

• dzat46 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:55 pm

Bebelon said,

October 14, 2008 @ 7:58 am

Sorry to Fortuner, i will opt for Santa Fe or Chevy Captiva which are more friendly priced and value for money!!!

—————————————————————-

Agreed wt u, one of my co. project vehicle is the Fortuner 2.7 petrol, so damn guzzler & not comfortable at all (very hard suspension giving back pain during long distance travel) & nobody want to drive it unless the other car are taken up…compare the other project car (ie Sorento, Rexton & Santa Fe) is more comfortable & its Turbo diesel engine is more powerful & frugal….

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:49 pm

The facelifted Fortuner looks less appealing (uglier in fact!) than the pre-facelift model – the bonnet lid garnish matches neither the grill nor the odd-looking headlights. Why don't they focus on improving the ride by tuning the suspension, especially the rear suspension which is too bouncy, softly sprung and very prone to sagging – an off-roader should have long suspension travel for better wheel articulation and a more comfortable ride. And I reckon the thirsty yet underpowered 2.7-litre petrol engine should be scrapped and replaced with the torquey 3.0-litre D-4D (which is available in the Bruneian market). And we don't need the TRD Sportivo kit as shown in the 1st photo – why would anyone want to reduce the approach angle of their off-roader? And the quality of the interior material could do with some improvement too – how about a softer touch on the dashboard plastics for example?

Haha now I'm starting to sound like a grumpy old man… =P But surely there are some truths in what I've said…don't you agree?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:51 pm

I reckon the 2nd-generation Prado has a more comfortable ride (but the amount of body roll during cornering scares me to death!)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 6:57 pm

One more question from me – why do many cars sold in Malaysia come with those cheesy door vinyls?

• madimat (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 7:28 pm

MAJUPERAK said,

This kind of facelift is like Proton and Perodua …. child’s play, …

/////////////////////////////////

wow this proved that our people are really linked to P1 and P2. Any topics on any other brands on any issue whether good or bad, we always never failed to mention about P1 and P2. I realised this not just in paultan forum but also in some other local motoring forums as well. you people love P1 and P2 so very much right.. he hehehe

.peace !

• 9166 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 7:38 pm

Fully agree with all the above comments. From all aspect, it is a bit of bull that Toyota is doing. They will squeeze you for every bit they can. From the quality of plastic to the engine, seemed to be very archaic. Sorry, i should say it is Toyota UMW Malaysia, not Toyota per se. The Fortuner in Thailand is great. Not even an intercooler for all their models. 4 speed????

Bottomline, for the price of the car, it surely feels like a sub 100k vehicle. Thumbs down all the way.

• ntsc (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 8:09 pm

Face lifts again.. Don't know did Toyota improve it's sound proof and plastic quality of it's interior?

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 8:29 pm

even proton and perodua is stopping this rubbish but toyota is carrying on, at this rate I don't think I will buy toyota at all.

• awak (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 8:36 pm

biege color for innova/avanza inside, feel spacious??

wrong choise,

there will be , air liur basi, chocolate, muntah, footprints,

what they are thiking???

• alpha0201 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:12 pm

Malaysian consumer's expectation really that low meh?

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:19 pm

Toyotas have stucked with their own paradigm of the past 10 years thinking market is still the same here. The only few companies that I know which have "genuine" facelift goes to companies like BMW the the like. A facelift for their model will have a long list of improvement than merely adding a little more equipment and changing the way it look a little. I dont meant that Toyotas should facelift as exhaustive as the Germans marque but the way they're doing now is no better than our national brand, Proton. Maybe UMW need some new blood in tackling the changing in demand by the local market so they can offer real car with genuine specs for its Toyota's Supporters. The "Korean Crap" Hyundai is catching up and the way I looked at it now, it's the Toyotas that's the "Japanese Crap" these days, just look at the Fortuner vs Santa Fe. It looks like it's a different game play now.

Toyotas, pls revise your 2 models cycle complete changeover strategy or whatever your called it locally. Your new Altis should be the Avensis with the 1.8 & 2.0 variants offered. Why do you need so many models in same segment everywhere else in the world? This add on your overhead cost as your eco of scale cant be realised. Too many parts also make focus on its quality hard to sustain, maintain and breakthrough. Arent you recently struggled with quality issues? Now Malaysia's offering has value issue seen by your own customers. They shouldnt be paying "premium" to have good services at your showroom and services centre as they dont go there everyday but rather they spend most of their time in the products that you have created and clearly the lack of value in your products is leading them seeking alternatives elsewhere.

• DRC (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:45 am

So bodoh lah those who bought Fortuner especially; Innova is also an empty box (I regret buying it, the only good thing is sound management). Toyota is good at marketing hence their success; marketing means cheating money with a smiley face and yet the victims are still smiling. Some of the numbers on car plate became yellow in less than a year and the exhaust berkarat banyak in less than 2 years! Bumpy, old engine and transmission, rear drum brakes(for Forturner? Crazy), and RM3500 for COMBINATION leather seat!! This is dracula man!!

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:22 am

Outdated SUV and MPV are being facelifted… Both with stupid chassis while Innova with outdated cheap engine… I really wonder if Fortuner and Innova is a safe car…

• shamel (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:22 am

Toyota can still laughing all their way to bank as Malaysian equate Toyota (irrespective of their origin DNA) with Lexus quality.

I suggested Santa Fe diesel for my office though they thing Fortuner is better option. Good marketing effort by Toyota.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:53 am

Hyundai is catching up to the Japs car design now adays, and i found out Japs are tending to play with the facelift try to prolong the life of their dying car model. This is the trend which most of the youngster car owner like to add on the face lift or skirting to make their car more racy. So it is unavoidable for car manufacturer to use this trick to attract the buyer since the consumer is getting younger. But just don't over done it like the Naza Bestari Special Edition.

• shamel (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:39 am

suggested Santa Fe diesel for my office though they thing Fortuner is better option. Good marketing effort by Toyota.

SORRY…. they THINK

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 5:09 am

Facelifts are absolutely fine, as long as they actually improve the car rather than making merely cosmetic changes. And as I've said earlier on, the Fortuner could do with a lot of improvements to make it feel like a 180k car. The repositioned air-con blower for the rear seats are certainly welcome but the major flaw is the rear suspension setup – it's amazing how none of UMW Toyota's engineers have looked into this problem. Or maybe they have but just couldn't be bothered. Or maybe those at the top think it's not important enough. "Who cares if the rear end will sag in 2 years' time? Get the facelifted model on the road ASAP and let's make some more moneeeyyy!"

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 5:13 am

And of course, another big flaw is the engine. The very heart of the car. Sometimes I wonder if the VVT-i really works…or is it just a shiny chrome badge?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 5:15 am

Dammit…I really AM starting to sound like a grumpy old man…haha… =P

• jjtbh2005 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:16 am

In my opinion, the Fortuner is very very expensive. With its rear drum brakes, a 2.7L guzzler with only 160PS, 4 speed autotran, just normal ABS (without those EBD, ESP, etc….) and just 2 airbags at the price of 178k???? Just look at the Sante Fe and Chevrolet's Captiva specifications, they are only priced at round 160k. As for the Fortuner's at 168k, it is quite low on the hp at just 102PS is quite ridicules. Those 2.5L intercooler oil burner with VGT already top at 170bhp (70% more power) and consumption figures are quite similar to the Fortuner.

I think car manufacturers in M'sia are not giving us the good deals. In fact, other Asean countries ESP and curtain bags are the norm nowadays. If not for the Government's mandatory rear seat belt and encouragement for driver and front passenger airbag, we will still be getting those age old specs. Why???? Just look at Peugeot and Citroen, their cars are not really that overpriced but they all have these safety items and gone through NCAP 5-star crash test. In Thailand, some Starex are offered with ESP.

It is a really sad situation……….

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 4:54 pm

Ugly door stickers again. Never learnt.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 10:56 pm

bad facelift

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 3:47 am

the fortuner's facelift was fine……..

but i still dun get the point why tyt innova still looks out-dated…

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 1:15 am

rsrulz said,

October 14, 2008 @ 12:29 pm

even proton and perodua is stopping this rubbish but toyota is carrying on, at this rate I don’t think I will buy toyota at all.

–hmm, what rubbish that P1 and P2 stopped and toyota carried on? i guess there's no car for u to buy already. hahaha.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 4:56 am

why nobody do ckd estima, alphard, harrier, mark x, caldina…