Teaser images of the Acura Crossover Concept leaked ahead of the New York Auto Show

Yet again, thanks to the beauty of the Internet, we have some leaked teaser images to show you, this time, the casualty being a new crossover concept by Acura. The potential rival to the BMW X6 (if it goes into production) will make its first official appearance at the upcoming New York Auto Show.

With a coupe-ish roof line, just like Munich’s X6, the concept is expected to feature bold styling with a wide and aggressive stance and with hidden rear door handles. Reports also indicate that the concept will carry Acura’s new grille design language.

Power for forward and rear motion is expected to be supplied by a 3.7 litre V6 power plant that is able to churn out 300HP and 372Nm of torque. The Acura Crossover Concept is also expected to feature Acura’s Super Handling All-Wheel Drive System, also known as SH-AWD. Please continue reading to view more leaked teasers.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=185]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• gattaca on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:26 pm

i dont what is the passion about this..but i'm FIRST!!..

btw, its look promising.. its Acura maa..(malaysian mentality)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:32 pm

i still dont really get the idea of crossovers in the 1st place.. but since people are willing and wanting to buy them, carmakers will definitely come up with more.

• cool… wonder y nobody bring acura here? or it only suitable for U.S market ?

• Redwings on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:40 pm

This big brother will give a kick to X6…

Any chance to bring acura to Msia..?

• Really getting tired of all these "crossover" type. What is the point of making a car with high ground clearance but has no true offroad capability. As a road car, it's dynamic is not very good either due to their heights and high center of gravity. With their oversized wheels and heavy bodies, they can't be very efficient either. Looks wise, personally, I think they are ugly as a genre. But I guess there are people who are willing to part with cash for these type of things.

• the stik on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:05 pm

crossover ok what?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:06 pm

[quote comment="221567"]This big brother will give a kick to X6…

Any chance to bring acura to Msia..?[/quote]

the acura makes 300HP and 372Nm of torque, whereas the top spec X6 makes 406hp and 600nm of torque and the lowest spec X6 makes 306hp and 400nm of torque. torque is available from 1,300rpm and above.

and the most interesting thing is, unlike what bolo said about most of these vehicles, the X6 handles better than most road cars despite its height. Which is no surprise, as even the X5 SUV is a well known handler on the road.

• pulge on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:08 pm

I believe these are merely show-off cars for those with heavy pockets. Also, I don't think modern SUV such as the X5 is off-road capable. I mean, they can tackle coarse and uneven surface pretty well given its higher ground clearance, but in challenging terrains like rocky surfaces, crossing rivers and the like is something SUV may not be suitable for. Not all of them are 4WD by the way.

• DjVanilLa on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:16 pm

[quote comment="221572"]Really getting tired of all these "crossover" type. What is the point of making a car with high ground clearance but has no true offroad capability. As a road car, it's dynamic is not very good either due to their heights and high center of gravity. With their oversized wheels and heavy bodies, they can't be very efficient either. Looks wise, personally, I think they are ugly as a genre. But I guess there are people who are willing to part with cash for these type of things.[/quote]

might be this car built for "orang suka buang duit" ;)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:20 pm

[quote comment="221586"]I believe these are merely show-off cars for those with heavy pockets. Also, I don't think modern SUV such as the X5 is off-road capable. I mean, they can tackle coarse and uneven surface pretty well given its higher ground clearance, but in challenging terrains like rocky surfaces, crossing rivers and the like is something SUV may not be suitable for. Not all of them are 4WD by the way.[/quote]

agreed. which is why the X5 handles like a sports sedan on the road. people like the high seating position, which is why vehicles like these sell so well.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:45 pm

But it looks awesome.

And that's a fact.

• the stik on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:37 pm

in our bolehland we also can find d.i.y crossover: wira, satria, waja, kenari, kancil, modified suspension tinggi2 with tayar tebal gedabak.. crossover laa tu….

• bobdbilder on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:56 pm

Acura is Honda America. BMW did the pointless X6 for the Americans. See where we're heading here? Honda, Toyota, BMW are suffering because their focus was the American market due to its size and favours fluff more than anything else.

Whereas VW went to China.

• bobdbilder on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:58 pm

How many AIG execs are they planning to sell these to?

• nabill on Mar 17, 2009 at 9:01 pm

[quote comment="221585"][quote comment="221567"]This big brother will give a kick to X6…

the acura makes 300HP and 372Nm of torque, whereas the top spec X6 makes 406hp and 600nm of torque and the lowest spec X6 makes 306hp and 400nm of torque. torque is available from 1,300rpm and above.

and the most interesting thing is, unlike what bolo said about most of these vehicles, the X6 handles better than most road cars despite its height. Which is no surprise, as even the X5 SUV is a well known handler on the road.[/quote]

that x5 is freaking good handler btw , im nt even talking abt latest gen , its the 2004 model , its stays so flat during cornering its rediculous !

• bobdbilder on Mar 17, 2009 at 9:23 pm

[quote comment="221664"][quote comment="221585"][quote comment="221567"]This big brother will give a kick to X6…

and the most interesting thing is, unlike what bolo said about most of these vehicles, the X6 handles better than most road cars despite its height. Which is no surprise, as even the X5 SUV is a well known handler on the road.[/quote]

that x5 is freaking good handler btw , im nt even talking abt latest gen , its the 2004 model , its stays so flat during cornering its rediculous ![/quote]

You don't need a gas guzzling, sour gas emitting SUV to stay flat in a corner do you? Come to think of it, what is a semi-offroader for anyways? Last Saturday, came back from a picnic in Ulu Langat. Raining. Up after Cheras toll, near the Police Academy going to Connought, half of the road was full of water. A lonely silver E46 sits half in water. Every car on the road kept to the right. This Kembara and Tucson joined the mob by keeping right, tyres barely touching water line. Drove my Trajet through the 2 in of water and survived, splashing water across the SUVs, advanced 50m into the traffic jam. I shook my head, wtf? Why oh why do people buy SUVs?

• Caddilac Wong on Mar 17, 2009 at 10:03 pm

A very failure luxury brand… How much can they earn when they just deend on US market??? Wake up please Honda…

And this is another BMW X6 copy thing… They just keep copying BMW…

• Bodow on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:44 pm

Honda A Kura2 … nice name ….awat tak juai kat Mesia nie … takut org tak beli ka …mak cik nie dah lama tunggu keta nie …duit simpanan makcik dah berbillion Zimbabwe dollar nie ..minggu lepas Mugabe buat telegrapik transper kat makcik masuk ASB hik hik

• pulge on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:57 pm

Nevertheless, it's still in concept form. Not sure if it will come into production.

In Malaysia, these cars will remain as a show-off items for the rich people. Practicality wise, not that practical. Better get a real 4WD if you desire a true offroader.

• ago87 on Mar 18, 2009 at 8:30 am

Another Gen 2 design..

But this one nicer than 'P' and 'B' design..