Q&A: What is Caltex Techron?

Caltex Techron

Caltex officially launched their Premium 95 fuel with Techron late last month at the Caltex station in Sunway. RON95 is now available at Caltex stations nationwide. The new fuel will replace the Caltex Silver with Techron which is a RON92 fuel, and the Caltex Gold with Techron fuel will be renamed Premium 97 with Techron.

Some of you actually had some questions in the blog comments of the previous story on Caltex Techron, such as whether the local Techron formula is the same as the Techron fuel in the USA sold by Chevron. Here are some answers from Caltex:

1. Is there any difference between Techron in Premium 95 and in your RON97 fuel?

The Techron ingredient in 92, 95 or 97 is the same and gives the same level of performance in each grade.

2. Is the Techron formula for our market the same as the one used overseas in countries like the US, etc?

Yes, it’s the same formula and level of performance that was the first to be recognized as “Top Tier” by Honda, GM, Toyota, BMW, Audi and Volkswagen.

3. What properties does the Techron additive have?

Techron has been designed to provide fast & effective cleanup of the engine intake system (manifold, ports & valves) as well as the fuel metering system (fuel injectors or carburetor) and to keep those critical parts clean. It is able to clean up port fuel injectors in ONE tank.

4. I understand polyetheramine is one of the ingredients in Techron. What is polyetheramine?

Polyetheramine (PEA) is one of the main detergents in Techron. It’s designed to control intake valve deposits, port deposits and fuel metering deposits to maintain smooth engine operation, power & exhaust emissions. It accomplishes this without significantly contributing to combustion chamber deposits (CCD) unlike most other fuel additives. Low CCD helps minimize octane requirement increase which can reduce power in some vehicles equipped with knock sensors. PEA also eliminates any possibility of harm in the crankcase.

5. Any other tips on how to keep your engine clean? Is it true that once in a while you have to drive your car a little harder than usual to clean off those deposits?

Always use gasoline that contains a powerful detergent with high efficacy, like Techron, on a continuous basis. The second statement is a myth.

6. Since RON97 has been repositioned as a premium unsubsidised fuel by the government, is Caltex going to upgrade their RON97 fuel to something performance-based like V-Power?

There’s always this possibility and it greatly depends on customers’ requirements and demands.

Premium 95 with Techron had actually made its debut at the Caltex Bandar Utama station on the 5th of August 2009. It is now available at 40 Caltex stations nationwide.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn on Sep 07, 2009 at 7:12 pm

Very hard to find Caltex where I live. Even if there is a Caltex, people will go for Petronas or Shell. Unless the Caltex is in a very strategic location, then people will tend to avoid it.

• fazron80 on Sep 07, 2009 at 7:13 pm

Caltex techron is the best ron95 for my car so far. Just that their petrol stations are not that many available. Hope caltex will put more station in the country.

• Caltex Techron is the best fuel in town. I have being using it for years and it gives my car power and clean engine. I just tested RON95 on my new altis, and it gives me almost the same as ron97. why spend so much for some slight different? as long you can get yourself to the destination you wanted to go why spend much right?

• Littlefire on Sep 07, 2009 at 8:00 pm

I have tested Caltex it seems that it is more better than the stupid shell Ron95…

Try use it for a few time, and u will feel the difference…

• qideque on Sep 07, 2009 at 8:32 pm

I used Caltex Ron95 and my engine seems to operate smoother compared while I was using BHP Infiniti Ron95. However, the pickup become worse with Caltex compared to Infiniti.

• common sensor on Sep 07, 2009 at 8:48 pm

You guys talk about RON95 as if you have solid measurable backdata of the performance difference. Be real guys, the manufacturers are saying its OK to use RON95, so are you are implying that you know better than the manufacturers? Keh Keh Keh … pleaseeeeee

• siacw on Sep 07, 2009 at 9:03 pm

the only drawback for me is caltex does not have any loyalty program like bonuslink,real reward, smile card…

• Be cold guys… Pretrolium products are seldom have a chance for completely new product grade that introduce widely for entire country… for sure each brand will give the best try to gain the market share… u will continue see ‘I am the best’ bla bla bla… so, ya, no harm for try each, give urself & ur car feel the ‘different’.. Then, everyone will be master to talk about this after you feed ur stomach full… haha :)

• Elkannah on Sep 07, 2009 at 10:35 pm

I Agree.. Caltex Techron RON95 does help to save fuel. I have tried so many brand all down… how difficult to find one Caltex Station i will still pour TEchron. Others all bad! With Caltex u can get the mileage u want… but i do agree.. power reduced.

• lchan on Sep 07, 2009 at 10:48 pm

Good….people should take note of response to question no.1. Dont let all that marketing bullshit get into you. Also, if you are getting better milage with RON95 then RON97, technically it does not make sense!. And do not assume that RON95 have better additives then RON97 as well.

• Ferdinand on Sep 08, 2009 at 1:20 am

Techron is a great fuel, I used it all the time in California where it is market by Chevron. I just wish they have one in Kuching, Sarawak hehehe

• 4g63tdsm on Sep 08, 2009 at 1:33 am

common sensor said,

September 7, 2009 @ 12:48 pm

You guys talk about RON95 as if you have solid measurable backdata of the performance difference. Be real guys, the manufacturers are saying its OK to use RON95, so are you are implying that you know better than the manufacturers? Keh Keh Keh … pleaseeeeee

——

I really hope that was a sarcastic remark.

We do not need to know more than the manufactures. Just more than what they AND the so called government has been telling us.

Like they say, common sense, is well, not so common.

If you know anything about an Internal combustion engine and its fuel, however you look at it, 97 to 95 is a downgrade. That downgrade is good enough for a few percentage points in power or fuel economy at last for our cars.

• hiiman on Sep 08, 2009 at 2:21 am

nationwide?? there is no caltex in kuching leh…..

• S_Snail on Sep 08, 2009 at 2:27 am

I have been using Caltex Techron 97 for years on my nine years old Wira before I sold the car off last month, during all these years, I never need a second crank to ignite my car, even the battery is more than 3 years old.

• Caltex 95 is doin great in my Savvy…even better than BHP, or perhaps its just me

• caltex marketting good…from this advertisment , i start using caltex for the 1st time after 3 1/2 year using car…when i switch from shell 97 to caltex 95,no different at all…hope caltex will introduce loyalty program like bonus link, smile, mesra…

• sagablmsteven on Jul 10, 2014 at 1:39 pm

BCard and UCard from u mobile is loyalty card for Caltex now

• casey_c on Sep 08, 2009 at 5:12 am

It is difficult to tell the mileage in this fasting month. Almost every evening the jam is terrible.

• rexis on Sep 08, 2009 at 7:22 am

will give Caltex another change then if they say so…

I agree that Techron 97 is a superb fuel, feel like Vpower.

• fazron80 on Sep 08, 2009 at 9:27 am

caltex ron95 give pretty much the same mileage as using ron97. Although on shell95 and primax95 i got better mileage. I wonder why.

Still I vote for techron since the fuel drives my car almost the same as before. I need the pawar to overtake huge number of lorries on our roads! Some of those lorries are not that slow either. No wonder they don't have time to brake coz going to fast. But still being behind one is dangerous because your view ahead is block so still need to overtake them. No car pawar how can overtake.

• MiriGuy on Sep 08, 2009 at 4:18 pm

Lucky u people in semenanjung have varieties of petrol station…

here in miri sarawak…we have only two…

PETRONAS and SHELL…

no choice to fuel up the petrol at other station…

and all this station ONLY sells RON95 Petrol n Diesel..

no RON97 Pump..

so sad~

• ericfoong81exe on Sep 08, 2009 at 4:54 pm

Caltex did give me more power after the Shell V-power. Yet the engine produce more combustion noise than other brand's fuel. Provided standard mileage, slighly lesser than the Shell and Petronas.

• This article sponsored by Caltex ah?

• Don't care either Petronas or Caltex, but just a simple answer why i prefer to use petronas more than others, because petronas is our malaysian company, i will proud to support them.

Maybe, Petronas should give us better petrol next time.. I really hope that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • Motorist on Sep 08, 2009 at 10:08 pm

Question to Caltex: What % of PEA in your RON95 fuel? Or at how many parts per million (ppm)?

RedLine SI-1 Fuel System Cleaner contains 30%-50% PEA. One bottle can last 8-10 full tank & you dont need to do it everytime you tank up. Perhaps once a month is already good enough.

Source: http://www.redlineoil.com/content/files/tech/32.p…
    Info on RedLine Si-1: http://www.redlineoil.com/content/files/tech/56.p…

• arroncyl on Sep 08, 2009 at 10:20 pm

Paul,

Can you tell me what difference with Mobil Diesel and other Company???

• arroncyl on Sep 08, 2009 at 10:21 pm

Paul,

Can you tell me what difference with Mobil Diesel is better than other Petrol Company???

• I have been using Caltex Techron RON92 on my Toyota for years based on their superior additives on their RON92. It's the best fuel in town. BHP Infiniti 95 2x would give Caltex a run for their money too.

My take on Petronas is, yes it is a Malaysian company. But so is Caltex and Shell and Esso – they are all registered in Malaysia and pay tax to Malaysia.

But what is really disappointing is – Petronas practices discriminatory employment practices and as for now, does not give the Petronas station to any non-bumis.

• whystereo on Sep 09, 2009 at 4:38 am

caltex should have more pump station!!!

i want to try these techron, but theres non in my area, perak

• Automotive Jury on Sep 09, 2009 at 10:08 am

This article surely sponsor by Caltex Techron..haha

guys..relax..oil company just want to sell their product so they will say the new product are better than other competitor..we as consumer..just think.."you like, you buy"..i use V-Power for my 12years old 4G15 Wira..it give me more mileage + great performance..paul, i want to know, V-Power is RON97+additive or RON99?..tq

• benzema on Sep 10, 2009 at 4:02 am

v-power is ron97+extra additive. no ron99 in msia.

i change from shell to caltex. i can feel the difference which caltex is better in term of mileage and power a lil bit. and my judgment came before i read this entry or any other fuel feedback.

• fazron80 on Sep 11, 2009 at 6:52 am

For Perak, i can find caltex alot in ipoh.

• ladyvic on Oct 05, 2009 at 8:30 pm

waaa….josh…i think wat fizz is trying to say is that petronas is a 100% local company, dat gives back its earnings to the country, unlike the rest, where their revenue goes back to their own pockets. and my frens who work in petronas say that they do have non-bumis dealers…

• skhang on Oct 14, 2009 at 2:18 am

if only caltex will introduce some loyalty card points program, then it'll be the only petrol i use for my car.

• Zharfan on Apr 11, 2011 at 2:25 am

Yeah, Caltex petrol station is hard to find in KL or in the middle of the country except near Thailand and Singapore border such as Kangar, Alor Setar, Johor Bahru, Kota Bharu and many border region and town. Caltex are many on the border area from my observation in Alor Setar. Caltex are popular among Singaporean and Thai drivers. During my trip in Alor Setar, I always fill at Caltex. It’s easy to find Caltex in Alor Setar and even more in Bukit Kayu Hitam.

Recently I switched to Caltex due to very good performance and better mileage than other fuel brands. Esso and Shell also good. But Shell V-Power Racing RON 99 limited in JB and main highway such as Jalan Duta Shell. I need that RON 99 V-Power Racing due to my Mercedes C180 is a Japanese Spec. In Japan, they use RON 100 petrol for Premium petrol and RON 97 for Regular petrol. My BMW 528i can’t use RON 99 due to maximum octane is RON 98. I never tried BHP due to not many station available in my area, The nearest is Serendah.

The petrol station I really don’t like is Petronas because not many Petronas station sell RON 97. I nicknamed Petronas “stingy RON 97”.