New Mk6 Volkswagen Golf R: 270 PS with AWD!

Volkswagen Golf R

The Golf R is something quite different in the new Mk6 range. While the Mk5’s R car was the R32 with a 3.2 litre V6 putting power through an all-wheel drive system, the new Mk6 Golf R will feature a 270 PS version of the EA113 2.0 litre TSI engine. The engine code of EA113 seems to indicate this is a high power tuned up version of the Mk5 GTI engine (which is also found in the Scirocco) and not the EA888 timing chain engine that you will find in the Mk6 GTI.

Volkswagen Golf R

Volkswagen is really shouting about how the new turbo engine is so much more frugal than the V6 – 10.7 litres per 100km versus 8.5 litres per 100km on average. CO2 emissions have also dropped from 255g/km to 199g/km. Like the outgoing R32, the Golf R will use an all-wheel drive system.

This is the latest version of the 4Motion system which means now activation of the AWD differential no longer requires a difference in speed between the front and rear axles. This is because pressure is now activated by an electric pump. A computer controls the ideal drive torque for the rear axle, up to nearly 100% of drive torque.

Volkswagen Golf R

The sprint to 100km/h takes only 5.7 seconds with the manual and 5.5 seconds with the optional DSG, down from 6.5 seconds on the R32. Torque numbers for the new car is also higher than the outgoing model – 350Nm versus 320Nm. Peak torque starts at 2,500rpm and this figure continues all the way up to 5,000rpm. This means a nice fat and meaty powerband.

Turbo boost pressure is set at 1.2 bar. To handle the higher power output, the engine has reinforced bolts which is not found on the regular TSI engines. The conrods and cylinder block are also stronger.

Volkswagen Golf R

The ESP system now has a Sport mode which allows greater ‘allowances’ for you to fool around before the system kicks in to save you. The Golf R can be ordered with an optional DCC dynamic chassis control system, which varies various systems such as power steering assist maps for three different drive settings – Sport, Normal and Comfort.

Look after the jump for some nice original high resolution photos, for your wallpaper usage pleasure :)

[zenphotopress number=99 album=494]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Abdul Qayyum on Sep 16, 2009 at 9:21 pm

Pandang banyak kali pun xpuas…lawa kereta ni…

• Azlan on Sep 16, 2009 at 9:22 pm

Nice shade of blue. New Ford Focus RS competitor? Although Ford Focus is Front Wheel Drive?

• nice, but still the scirocco R will also have same colour scheme and bumper.

fiery hot!

• hafizzul on Sep 16, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Kalau Satria NEO ubahsuai buat macam ni…comfirm ramai peminat…

Patut Proton buat dari Neo 3 door kepada Neo 5 door….Satria Neo5…amacam? Baru laku…mesti meletup ni….Proton, Terrrrrbaikkkkkkkkkk dari ladang !

• illumiricon on Sep 16, 2009 at 9:57 pm

Abdul Qayyum said,

September 16, 2009 @ 1:21 pm

Pandang banyak kali pun xpuas…lawa kereta ni…

me too… :)

• _Zephyre_ on Sep 16, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Why do some pics have 2 doors while the others have 4?

• huzaimi on Sep 16, 2009 at 10:16 pm

smart giler.. huhuhu

• PoloMint on Sep 16, 2009 at 10:21 pm

cun giler!!!

hope the current JV with VW will be fruitful.

no need 2 liter engine 1.4TSI pun jadilah!!!

• laburit on Sep 16, 2009 at 10:23 pm

price?

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC on Sep 16, 2009 at 10:27 pm

damn nice car, i really love it…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 16, 2009 at 10:28 pm

hmmmm…..

this or Scirocco? undecided…..

• laburit on Sep 16, 2009 at 10:41 pm

daripada kawin 2, baik beli kete ni….

• Clifford on Sep 16, 2009 at 10:48 pm

Would this car ever be coming(sold) to malaysia?

• Mad boy on Sep 16, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Zephyre_ said,

September 16, 2009 @ 2:03 pm

Why do some pics have 2 doors while the others have 4?

—————————————————————

Becouse in other market, the car is consider cheap and 2 door cars are sellable. In Malaysia, the car will not be cheap and the market will not buy an expensive 2 door car. Even Satria is consider a niche product in Malaysia.

• adlanb20 on Sep 16, 2009 at 11:27 pm

Really-really-really nice car!! Around RM240K ada??

• adlanb20 on Sep 16, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Nope, not RM240K, but RM210K and apparently its already here —> http://www.mudah.my/Vw-golf-gti-mk-6-3834981.htm

• lambov12 on Sep 16, 2009 at 11:34 pm

struggling to choose which is better, this or the sirocco ?

• terliur… ish sabar2 nanti batal puasa hehe…

• Chypmun on Sep 16, 2009 at 11:47 pm

its the Golf R in TSi 2.0 Engine !!! wonder what's the price since its not like its predecessor with a 3.2 engine… already the Mk6 Gti is going at about rm210k.

• Chypmun on Sep 16, 2009 at 11:47 pm

to add…Better than buying the ABT version which adds up to about RM260k…

• kaskas_pepper on Sep 16, 2009 at 11:49 pm

my dream car ever..1 day i'll put it in my garade too..

eeeeeeeee…x sabar nk sambar satu..kene keje kuat lg nih

• azrai on Sep 17, 2009 at 12:05 am

4WD. Wow..must be very stable.

• Magnum4d on Sep 17, 2009 at 1:09 am

I already bought 7400- 50big50small

if nombor naik… cantik ….1biji for me, everything same

(colour/spec & car reg number too)-Cash!!

• TanSri on Sep 17, 2009 at 1:50 am

I'll settle for 2.0 cos for 3.2lt the road tax alone is 3000

tak mampu lah unless drive nice car but eat maggi mee kosong everyday.

Or what they say, die in style/gaya mesti ada.

Azrai , AWD has superb road handling but makan minyak lah!

• wuttaheck on Sep 17, 2009 at 1:53 am

Magnum4d said,

September 16, 2009 @ 5:09 pm

I already bought 7400- 50big50small

if nombor naik… cantik ….1biji for me, everything same

(colour/spec & car reg number too)-Cash!!

———–

dream on!

• TanSri on Sep 17, 2009 at 2:16 am

LOL magnum4d

thats Honda's tag line lah

"THE POWER OF DREAMS"

• libralcl on Sep 17, 2009 at 5:32 am

Wow this one is better looking than the ABT version. I love it! If only I can afford….

• Klaka Seram on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:09 am

pehhh!! lawa nyer

Aku nak order sebijik laa.. order pintu dulu, dah cukup modal, order tingkap pulak

• Tan Tee Lim on Sep 17, 2009 at 7:59 am

looks like we have a challenger for the WRX STi & EVO here…

• I think old an new golf's design looks almost the same.

• euphoric hoodlum on Sep 17, 2009 at 9:33 am

automatic orgasm :D

• Automotive_Critics on Sep 17, 2009 at 3:00 pm

This car is really superb. This Satria Neo could be from beginning but unfortunately P1 design just design what they like not people like despite every year going to Tokyo MS, Franfurt, Geneva, bla2. wasting money all the time just for cramped Satria Neo.

Looking to this All new Golf, it has simple Instrument Panel but practical, good driving position and not to mentione its power. Character lines are not so complex guess dies and moulds cost are not that expensive. So will P1 designers take a lesson? So far only pi mai pi mai tang tu.

• I think Satria Neo is a beauty. Agree with Man. Golf design looks the same as the previous, probably scared to change.. takut orang tak nak beli.

• zaff1984 on Sep 17, 2009 at 4:57 pm

huh… must be cheaper than R32? or same price range?

About the look, I think VW want to maintain the Golf's gene, like Porsche design…

• key things now:

1. Hv better engine block, also how about the fueling system of the FSI engien?

2. AWD system it is confirm more torque to the rear? or we can control it like the DCCD in STI.

3. ESP shoud hv a total cut off option mode.. no?

4. Will the local dealer bring in the manual gear box?

Agree this new machine will sure give the STI & Evo a good run.

• xloader on Sep 17, 2009 at 10:13 pm

oh mk6 golf R marry me please. :D

• mouse on Sep 17, 2009 at 11:11 pm

nice machine and lovely led rear lamp… 270bhp is like a stage 2 remap for mk5. The chasis is the same with mk5 which is so well balance.

• edifice on Sep 18, 2009 at 1:48 am

Target at Evo & WRX …perhaps

270ps from factory, can easily up to 300bhp with exhaust,intake and ECU tweaks

Bravo

• raybrig on Sep 18, 2009 at 4:58 am

okla..at least better than base model..still nt my fav dsg..for the power..they made a right decision to put 2L engine..soo..we gonna c more of this car in malaysian road soon..road tax murah da ma..

• 270bhp at 1.2 bar….why so high the boost pressure. even my wiralution can go near 300bhp at 1 bar of boost. waiting to challenge this car at trafic light hahaha.

• Ur wira 300hp front wheel…with heavier saloon chasis compared to all-whell drive in this golf r. This golf r used small turbine and high presure turbo to minimize turbo lag, not as old fashion turbo with bigger turbo but sacrifice with turbo lag. This golf r chasis much stiffer then ur proton wira chasis…at same speed at corner ur car will experience out of control already. I suggested u to try with some waja or kancil turbo is enough.

• fiatcoupe on Sep 25, 2009 at 8:15 pm

wiralution with 300bhp?

you dont cherish your life…

even if u manage to squeeze 300bhp(at crank i assume) out of the mit's block I reckon you'll not be able to use them on your poor wira's chasis.

the regular Gti will show you a clean pair of heels if thrown in a few corners…

big brother Golf R can rest….

crazy tuner..good engine wrong chasis!

• Joe Santana on Nov 25, 2011 at 8:43 pm

If the price of this Golf R above RM280k, trust me..the sale will be like shit.. the difference between golf GTI & Golf R in US is only USD10K.. while in Singapore SGD15k which is equal to approx. RM40k.. So the right price should be around RM250 to RM260 only.. Poor Malaysian, the TAX here is so ridiculous! most of us working hard like a dog, but only can afford Inspira.. kemmon la…

• Ah Hoo on Mar 02, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Fantastic car….if I’m younger would surely buy it.

• Damn good car. A rival to Megane RS250?