Jean Todt has been elected as the President of the FIA which is the world’s motorsport governing body. The Frenchman was contesting against Finland’s Ari Vatanen who is a former world rally champion. Todt replaces Max Mosley and won the elections by 86 votes from a total of 184. Jean Todt was the executive director for the Ferrari Formula 1 team before serving as Ferrari’s CEO until 2008.

He then remained with the company with a “special appointment” and left a year later. Todt will be joined by Nick Craw who will serve as the President of the Senate and Brian Gibbons, Deputy President Automobile Mobility & Tourism. Malaysia’s Tunku Mudzaffar bin Tunku Mustapha who is the chairman of the AAM will serve as a Senate Member.