Fords records US$2.1 billion profit in the first quarter of 2010

This is definitely a very good year for Ford. Locally Ford is now offering more than just pickup trucks and SUVs. Potential buyers now have another option in the D-Segment with the Mondeo and the Focus now has diesel power with its TDCi engine. Worldwide Ford has just recorded a US$2.1 billion profit in the first quarter of the 2010. This figure compares to a US$1.4 billion loss a year ago.

Analysts expected the Blue Oval to hit the US$1 billion mark in profits but the company surpassed that expectation with a profit figure that is about double. The bump in profits is mainly due to a 37% rise in US sales.

In Europe Ford recorded a pre-tax operating profit of US$107 million compared to a US$585 million loss a year ago. “Our plan is working, and the basic engine that drives our business results – products, market share, revenue, and cost structure – is performing stronger each quarter, even as the economy and vehicle demand remain relatively soft,” CEO Alan Mulally revealed.

The company aims to sell between 11.5 million and 12.5 million units this year in the US while sales in Europe is expected to hover over the 15 million-unit figure. The net income figure above excludes the losses of Volvo since the company is being sold to Geely.

Henry Ford’s grandson and the company’s executive chairman Bill Ford said that he has “seen this movie before” and indicated that the company cannot risk being complacent and arrogant with its financial achievements. “I know how quickly self-satisfaction can turn into self-destruction,” he added.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Tiadaid on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:38 am

Ford’s the only one who wasn’t bailed out by the American government and they’re the least arrogant of the former Big Three carmakers. That’s why they’re making a profit. Instead of making cars for the American public and forcing other people to buy them, they designed their cars to be universally accepted.

• azrai on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:09 pm

They do make profit by discarding Volvo to the Chinese (Geely) and Jaguar to the Indian (Tata).

• azrai on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:10 pm

Meanwhile, their new man behind all this actually coming from the ‘air’. Ex-Boeing top staff.

• Tiadaid on Apr 28, 2010 at 8:53 pm

The guy was the project manager for the Boeing 777, probably the most beautiful aircraft ever produced.

But in my opinion, carmakers should not have too many brands under their umbrella. Ford & GM made that mistake in the go-go eras, too many products fighting for the same market, surely problematic.

• omanjedi on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:36 am

Boeing 777, the model which was created from the feedback from the Industry. Listen to your customer and it shall reward you.

• Ford and GM buy brands and trashed them. They didn’t manage them well. On the other hand, look at VW. Some of the marques under them are highly successful.

• azrai on Apr 29, 2010 at 5:07 pm

His name is Alan Mulally, find morehttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Mulally

• littlebeetle on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:49 am

good to hear this news. Apparently, the few models that turn around their situation is Focus. Then they intro new Mondeo…and now they want to fight on B segment with the Fiesta…right strategy…make the industry more interesting. We being a customer would have more varieties.

Happy being a ford owner :)

• I might try to own the new fiesta… how’s ford’s service? will it depreciate crazy like the old korean cars.

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:47 am

“… depreciate crazy like the old korean cars.”

True enough. To get rid of one is a pain in the as*.

• Tiadaid on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:52 pm

Do you buy a car to be used or to resell? Why the obsession with resale value? Are you planning to use the car for only a year before selling it back? Yeah good resale value can be beneficial, but if you’re changing a car after 7 years use, with the loan fully paid for, it don’t matter. What you should have is a good quality car that’s priced reasonably, and I think Ford and the Fiesta is much more value for money compared to its Japanese competitions (including the Mazda 2 that shares the same platform as the Fiesta!).

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 28, 2010 at 7:42 pm

For Hyundai the problem is that you can’t even “tolak” one to buy a new car (difficult in small town as the used car dealers don’t want to buy). For me more resale value means more money for your down payment. As we get older we won’t expect more and more loan though we tend to upgrade to a better and better car. So to compensate for that it’s better to have more money when you sell your car after years of use. More down payment, less financing. Just my 2 cents.

• But ford provide solid european ride than rubbish korean, will love it until habis payment

• tokmoh on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:00 am

I smell lots of creative accounting deployed there.

• They did very well in europe with the Focus and Fiesta. Having at least 1 small car really helped them a lot… (GM didn’t have any, that’s y they mampus)

Creative accounting or not, we all know they are doing well now and in the future as well. (Maybe not in msia, dpend on how they service us)

• eisyam on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:06 am

“I know how quickly self-satisfaction can turn into self-destruction”

we have see that in our own proton before……..all the syok sendiri product just a way making more losses than revenue

• rally_fan on Apr 28, 2010 at 11:44 am

luckily proton also finally woke up. at least they are making money again, selling cars, and have finally shown a concept at geneva.

• Just hope they realize the concept la (the drive train concept not the whole car).. if not, then oso syok sendiri only.

• abang_butuh_panjang on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:37 pm

I couldn’t agree more. We must learn from ppl who have succeeded (e.g Ford) not blaming other ppl for our own incompetence (like Mahathir blaming Naza’s and the AP’s for proton’s failure)

• MyCarMyLife on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:12 am

Ford is given a second chance in MY , hope they do not screw it up by the new dealer by greed and complacency and customer neglect.
    Go forward and give the Nips a run for their money.
    M Pease ( now Ford’s boss in Vietnam ) is doing great after leaving MY ,proof a thing??

• klguy on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:34 am

“I know how quickly self-satisfaction can turn into self-destruction,” he added – tats the quote of the day

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:42 am

Hopefully Ford would do well in Malaysia again. Good cars, but Malaysians are too obsessed with T & H. I personally won’t buy one right now, but if the resale value is better in the future I would consider buying one (sorry Malaysian mentality here, but despite that I’d say no to T & H). I’d stick with cars (again, other than T&H) which I can ‘dump’ after 5 years.

• abang kote panjang on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:42 am

Viva Ford. Ironically Ford is not selling well in their homeland except for F150 trucks but they do well overseas esp europe

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 28, 2010 at 7:45 pm

what the he** with your ID by the way? Can’t you think of something more polite for an ID?

• rambo ramsey on Apr 29, 2010 at 10:22 am

Trying to be funny is one thing, but to look (or sound) like a pervert is another. Please try to be more decent, unless you are trolling over at gutter ********

• Jalan KeNajiban, Subang Jaya on May 07, 2010 at 10:45 am

relax bro…it is just a name. (albeit a little impolite). I dun think he mean to insult anyone. Try to be a little bit open pls. This is a already the 21st century not a Ford model-T age :P

• kopi-man on Apr 28, 2010 at 11:00 am

those people welcome competition will improve for surviving purposes.

with EV and Hybrid coming out so fast, we will see old petrol/diesel car in museum sooner than we expected.

In the short future, the world will be divided to EV countries and non-EV countries.

• kanabalize on Apr 28, 2010 at 11:54 am

“Henry Ford’s grandson and the company’s executive chairman Bill Ford said that he has “seen this movie before” and indicated that the company cannot risk being complacent and arrogant with its financial achievements. “I know how quickly self-satisfaction can turn into self-destruction,” he added.”

Wise man he is….

• mitlanevo on Apr 28, 2010 at 1:32 pm

GO FORD :-)

• Jumbsuck on Apr 28, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Hello Proton hear that? Being ‘Syok Sendiri’ is bad! Btw, Exora also suffer the leaking power steering hose problems like waja gen2 persona lah.

• shaif on Apr 28, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Hopefully Proton can come out with its own dieel engine and gearbox…or easily buy from Peugeot…walauweiii

• abang_butuh_panjang on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Proton would rather spend money on hypes and advertisement like F1 than to produce more innovative vehicle. Lets face it. It is just like an irresponsible father spending his money on gambling and prostitution than his kid’s welfare.

• Buy easier la.. all developed urself, syok sendiri saja… oh yea.. proton seriously need a 6 speed auto tranny. Buy from Getrag better… or ZF oso can. Dun really need to go peugeot 1.

• Locals more ‘kedekut’ compare the Japon. That’s why P1 n P2 cars are so and so ‘law ya’. Built quality hampeh… nak duit jer… P1, oklah coz masih tak pandai lagi buat kereta yang bagus.. tapi P2.. ada dna Japon pun masih hampeh… apa da…

Jangan marah.

• I use working with American/European and Japanese companies. Sorry can’t mention the companies name. What i realize is Japanese are more kedekut compare Mat Salleh. Talk about bonuses, leaves, salary and other benefit, the Mat Salleh company is better. Even giving tip money for hotel workers… Mat Salleh good campare Japanese (taik hidung masin). Base on my experiences.

Sorry off topic guys…

• 1kereta on Apr 28, 2010 at 7:50 pm

i getting to like ford to toyota, plan to sell my camry for mondeo… (what is the model in the picture?)

• omanjedi on Apr 29, 2010 at 9:37 am

I like FORD because my father’s car is FORD

• bukapintubayartol on Apr 29, 2010 at 11:17 am

Ford also leapfroged VW to become the largest automaker in Europe Q1 2010