GM India launches Chevrolet Aveo CNG – 200 km per tank

The current Chevrolet Aveo is very long in the tooth by now, and I’d be surprised to see in in the new Malaysian Chevy lineup under Naza – didn’t cut it then, no chance it’ll do so now. A new model will come soon, but GM has found some ways to clear stock – sell it as a compressed natural gas (CNG) car in India.

Actually, the Aveo is not a big seller in India, but it may stand some chance in this form. The Aveo CNG is a bi-fuel vehicle (with a full sized petrol tank) billed as one of the most eco friendly cars available there. The factory fitted computer-controlled CNG injection system from Italy includes the injectors, selector switch and modified wiring.

Sequential injection is the most advanced level of CNG tech. An ECU calculates the opening times of the injectors for each cylinder and acts separately on each gas injector with high precision. The Aveo’s 1.4-litre VGIS petrol engine is CNG compatible thanks to hardened valve seats and anodized pistons. In addition, the B-segment car’s suspension has been reinforced to support the additional mass of the CNG cylinder in the boot.

Priced at 6.26 lakh rupees (ex-showroom Delhi, about US$13,600), the Aveo CNG is claimed to have running costs that are 54% percent lower than the petrol version and 25% lower than a diesel. Under “normal driving conditions” the Aveo CNG has a range of 180 to 200 km on a full tank of gas.

When fuel prices spiked in 2008, there were lots of talk on fitting cars with NGV kits. Naturally, the enthusiasm has subsided along with the fuel prices. Any NGV user here to share your experience and consumption?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azrai on May 20, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Good idea to clear stock actually. Thumb up for the marketing person.

• myvios on May 20, 2010 at 1:10 pm

I’m one of those who fitted the NGV kit in 2008, initially on a myvi and then txfr to a vios. OKlah, RM1 gives me about 25km. I drive about 40000km a year, and the savings is equivalent to the monthly installment of the toyota….

• Squawk on May 20, 2010 at 1:20 pm

I see fewer private cars queuing at Petronas for CNG now.

• lance on May 20, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Been a NGV user since 2007…

A very happy user w/o any complication on my engine…

So far so good…

Definitely will continue use CNG til more diesel engine introduce in m’sia

• rajan.bachhao on May 20, 2010 at 3:35 pm

chevrolet optra is very bad car. it is break down in running condition.because if it is breakdown than it goes in to india general manger house ,sudhir malhotra ,neeli mongia house why?
    please ask me than i will answer you.it is very romantic &sexy stories about chevrolet optra .

• pororo on May 20, 2010 at 4:20 pm

why is it that I don’t seem to understand what you’re saying?

• enthusiast on May 26, 2010 at 3:06 pm

he’s an indian from India…indians say like that…only indians can understand what an indian is saying……no one can understand their language….

• Squawk on May 20, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Ok, so why does it go into india general manger house?

• kienchan on May 20, 2010 at 5:10 pm

I have installed NGV in Wira 1.5 for the last 2 years. Initial teething problems such as not able to start when hot, spark plug frequent changing due to wrong type used. All these problems are all gone now thanks to a good NGV technician in Jinjang. You must go to the right installer not any workshop that employs cheap technician sucha as Bangla with little experience and knowledge about NGV and also with Wira.
    I always laugh when I refill the NGV tank ..it costs less than RM10 for 230-260km. It would be 50-60 if petrol for Wira. I have completely recovered my investment of 3k for a mixer type NGV and now is laughing to the bank for the savings of about 200 per month. In my next car I’ll transfer the NGV installation into the new one ..the other day i saw a new Saga 1.3 auto with NGV refilling at the station. Lady said she also transferred the NGV installation to new one and okay lah running on this since. Costs 1k for this changeover.

You will have to put up with the taxi queue during NGV refill and the sluggishness due to loss of power. A slight use to it also applies e.g to switch to petrol in the morning otherwise you will have problems when you want to use petrol only.

Other than that I wish you guys do not know about this and make the queue longer.

• staff on May 20, 2010 at 6:34 pm

CNG i dont know, but from my experience talked with Taxi driver about NGV,

if you want to get 200km++ with RM8 fill, you try to find station with NGV pressure about 200~250 MPa or Psi (if i forgot the unit)

• think on May 20, 2010 at 9:55 pm

may be the ngv is good for savings if you travel a lot in a day..through my educational knowledge in automotive engineering converting a petrol powered engine to a gas is so easy..the savings on the fuel is really impressive..but at another side,,the savings made should be allocated for the engine damages to the parts such as injectors,piston and valves..cng is hotter compared to petrols..their chemial properties will cause damages to the engine..if a car is originally made for ngv ,then the manufacturer will design the parts according to the fuel used..by converting without having knowledge on the properties will cause many problems just in a year..taxi drivers,install ngv’s for their savings in fuel..they can gain a lot from the hire of passangers in a day with very less fuel(ngv) being used..so the income made can cover the damages to the engines easily..the repair costs could be just 5% from their salary..

• kienchan on May 21, 2010 at 11:36 am

True you must be paying about 200-300 per month on petrol to make the changeover worthwhile and to recover the investment.
      Think about the enivornment and savings in terms of carbon footprint this savings are intangible to mankind.
      There is no car manufacturer out there that says the car is made for NGV (don’t remember seeing one). The NGV is a after (thought to push sales) addon for petrol cars just like the one above. Talk to the taxi drivers to get some feedback and they will tell whether there are any issues like you mentioned. All textbook will tell that NGV is hotter than petrol fired one but NGV also burns better.
      You are fearing your own shadow my friend. Good luck.

• arturo on May 21, 2010 at 11:18 am

CNG/NGV = good

availability of CNG/NGV stations to refil = BAD

typical case of good thing but no support.

My fren converted to NGV in the hopes of saving some money cos he travels a lot. He lives in Gelang Patah, Johor and the closest NGV refilling station is at the Senai airport. about 30-40mins drive(hiway speeds) he threw out the NGV tank after realising by the time he gets home after refilling…he already lost 1/5 of tank capacity which leaves him with only about 3/5 effective tank capacity.

Wikipedia says Malaysia has no demand for NGVs but its more of a case of no supply of readily available CNG refilling stations thats y ppl are put off from usings NGVs in malaysia. chicken n egg situation…but when the chicked demands…no eggs show up.