It’s official – Naza is new distributor for Chevrolet!

Naza’s new Chevrolet distributorship has been made official earlier this week, after it signed a Distributor Sales and Service Agreement with General Motors for the Chevrolet brand here in Malaysia. Naza is now the sole and exclusive authorized distributor, while Cergazam which was previously the temporary ‘custodian’ of the brand will continue on as a dealer.

The dealership network for Chevrolet currently stands at 8 in Malaysia, and Naza plans to increase this to 18 by the end of this year, including 5 Naza-owned dealerships. All outlets will be 3S outlets, which means when you buy your car from the dealership, they will also be able to support your servicing. Certain brands have a mix of 3S dealerships and pure ‘sales’ dealerships where you would have to go somewhere else for your servicing needs.

The existing Chevrolet line-up will remain for now, but the first new car to be launched soon will be the Chevrolet Cruze 1.8 with the 6-speed transmission. Naza and GM are also discussing the possibility of CKD operations at Naza’s Gurun plant in Kedah. Naza will also honor the existing warranties of Chevrolet cars sold in Malaysia through the previous incarnation of Chevrolet, a JV between GM and DRB-HICOM.

In other Naza related news, Naza Automall (along the Federal Highway) will be extending its hours from its previous 9am to 7pm hours to new opening hours of 9am to 10pm, an extension of 3 hours past the usual operating hours. So if you’re stuck in the Federal Parking Lot Highway late in the evening you can detour and check out some cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• good news for chevvy owner..at least they know where to go if have they have problem…….but the PARKING LOT federal highway is more entertaining…. hehe :)

• Jus Mate on Mar 06, 2010 at 4:02 am

bravo Naza!!! will be good news to chevy owners.

this evening I 'parked' my car on the federal highway for one hours from PJ to Cheras Exit!!!

• Tiadaid on Mar 06, 2010 at 4:22 am

Well people always say how parking in KL's so expensive. And here we have a free parking lot!

• wolfsburg on Mar 06, 2010 at 4:31 am

wow!! wonder how Naza will position Cruze… As it is same segment with Forte, wonder if they will put it in the same price range for competitiveness or price it up to the Japanese level… Hope it will be at the similar range as Forte and create another impact for the sub90k category!!

• lotuslover on Mar 06, 2010 at 4:54 am

bring in the corvette!!

• so… wheres my camaro ?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 06, 2010 at 5:23 am

how great the corruption

• raybrig on Mar 06, 2010 at 5:59 am

please bring camaro ss too..

• Well, I think they are doing a good job of creating a more interesting market for all here. Lets hope it comes well built, full spec with 1.4 turbo! All about 90K.

• theanswer on Mar 06, 2010 at 6:35 am

evrytime talk abt chevy some of us here want camaro or corvette..Lol. most of chevy here shared with korean daewoo. want camaro or corvette ask naza auto which sell ferrari and lambo..not chevy msia.

• The Loner on Mar 06, 2010 at 6:35 am

Please bring in Chevrolet Colorado and CKD it here. Pickup trucks need more fierce competition.

• elite on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:02 am

naza is horrible…but at least they hire fresh grads from IPTA in their sales and servicing…help to reduce unemployment

• nadzri m yusof on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:38 am

Who cares no 2……………

• Tommy on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:39 am

wolfsburg said,

March 5, 2010 @ 8:31 pm

wow!! wonder how Naza will position Cruze… As it is same segment with Forte, wonder if they will put it in the same price range for competitiveness or price it up to the Japanese level… Hope it will be at the similar range as Forte and create another impact for the sub90k category!!

—————————————————————–

They can sell any of it.. both will make 'em money…

one rival down…

N,H,T,M, Hyundai

next coming…

• Tommy on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:41 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

March 5, 2010 @ 9:23 pm

how great the corruption

————————————-

wtf?

• Tommy on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:44 am

Corvette is the american ferarri…

any1 can afford 1?

hahahaha…

i like it…

but GTR looks more tempting

• panas on Mar 06, 2010 at 8:14 am

Good on you Naza.

Now we hope for sub 80's and 90's prices.

Chevrolet re-badges is okay as long s we get better prices

and after sales service.

Hope its not another Forte. 50K / 2 year warraty

• DiscoStick on Mar 06, 2010 at 8:51 am

any insider's news about the launch date for cruze… ? :P

heard that Cruze are already in our port and main concern would be "if the cars were getting rusted after the distributorship sage?"

• Paul, I like this: Federal Parking Lot Highway!

• nabill on Mar 06, 2010 at 9:04 am

Naza really need to go on a big PR campaign to repair its image as a brand for selling and after service,and not jus sell cars,make a profit and forget everything else….

• yippi33 on Mar 06, 2010 at 9:06 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

how great the corruption

oh yeah?..and youre an angel?

• proton on Mar 06, 2010 at 12:16 pm

yippi33 said,

March 6, 2010 @ 1:06 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

how great the corruption

———————————–

exactly the reason malaysia failed.

only a saint can critic the country, so who is a saint? nobody. so no one can critic the country, and the country corrupts like nobody's business.

retarded, really, retarded. do you know how americans are good at complaining? katak. a katak.

• Danial on Mar 06, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Chevy Cruise ….

• niuhje on Mar 06, 2010 at 6:30 pm

kete nie jual kat negara singa 70k lebih duit depa…jadik kat sini tau-tau je la

• 6-speed manual ? nice

• butt fister on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:09 pm

lol at camaro and corvette

• whugnef on Mar 06, 2010 at 7:30 pm

cruze..i hope it will be priced like the kia forte..my dream car

• hope to yee better after sales service with Naza now as the principal…it should only get better not worst!

• Tiadaid on Mar 06, 2010 at 9:40 pm

proton said,

March 6, 2010 @ 4:16 am

yippi33 said,

March 6, 2010 @ 1:06 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

how great the corruption

———————————–

exactly the reason malaysia failed.

only a saint can critic the country, so who is a saint? nobody. so no one can critic the country, and the country corrupts like nobody’s business.

retarded, really, retarded. do you know how americans are good at complaining? katak. a katak.

—————————

Criticisms are ok, but it's laughable to call someone corrupt when you're are in no position to criticize because you're corrupt yourself. I mean, don't think that little "duit kopi" doesn't count. If you do that, you're just as guilty as the bigwigs.

Now, back to the story.

• Srotong on Mar 06, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Daewoo? Their washing machines give up for ghost after a coupla cycles.

GM? As much as i trust Opel, which became extinct in our parts since the early nineties.

Naza? Only if they understand customer service, spare parts and profit sharing. The last of which is "interesting", given the number of APs they possess.

• kopi-man on Mar 06, 2010 at 11:37 pm

They only want to control all the car disti, and whatever you buy, they all get it. Dont you realized we are getting less choice? As all car dealership is almost walap by GLCs? You think the car price will be any cheaper then?

think bout it. They are killing the competitive market, Chevy is done. They will just use the minister budget to load some chevy to give the result. Thats it.

• carlocaraddict on Mar 07, 2010 at 3:26 am

same here in the philippines. they have appointed a new chevrolet distributor, the covenant car company. they have launched the cruze here just last week and it looks great!!

• MoFaz on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:59 am

kopi-man said,

March 6, 2010 @ 3:37 pm

They only want to control all the car disti, and whatever you buy, they all get it. Dont you realized we are getting less choice? As all car dealership is almost walap by GLCs? You think the car price will be any cheaper then?

think bout it. They are killing the competitive market, Chevy is done. They will just use the minister budget to load some chevy to give the result. Thats it.

————————–

All car dealership is almost walloped by GLCs? As far as I know, Naza is not GLC. To be a distributor, you need to fulfil certain criteria, such as minimum sales per year and providing service centres with high-tech equipments and experienced mechanics. Let me remind you, those are not cheap! Will you open a service centre if you only servicing 3-4 Porsches per month? But if you have few more brands like Ferrari and Aston Martin, you could fully utilize your centres. Not many company managed to continue the business after few years. Yes, I do feel Naza is beginning to monopolise the market, but at least now they’re bringing more choices for us, Malaysians.

• Lotus F1 Team Fan on Mar 07, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Naza, pls bring in Bumble Bee.. Megatron will be back.. Pls be quick…

• carsut on Mar 07, 2010 at 11:16 pm

camaro..

• CHEVY CAMARO AND CORV ZR1 PRETTY PLEASE. TY.

@ ALL THE SAINTS.

If we all don't criticize, the idiots would think they're doing a good job, do you SERIOUSLY want that?

• Tiadaid on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:47 am

Wen said,

March 7, 2010 @ 5:28 pm

CHEVY CAMARO AND CORV ZR1 PRETTY PLEASE. TY.

———————————

Never gonna happen. Even in the UK, the Corvette's sold at the Cadillac dealership. Chevy's now know as a purveyor of Korean-made econoboxes.

• hikkikomori on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:48 am

…Got car…Got price…but foreman/service centre ….still poorly trained.

• kh94 said,

March 5, 2010 @ 7:35 pm

good news for chevvy owner..at least they know where to go if have they have problem…….but the PARKING LOT federal highway is more entertaining…. hehe

—————————————————————–

Gud one Paul..kekekekeke

• klaka seram on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:38 pm

Naza don't care whatever brand you bought, money all goes to its pocket through whichever hole

The only concern is their after sales service, hopefully no more monkeys were employed

• kenny_lim on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:58 pm

God bless the existing and future owner of Chevy. Another good car going to the drain because of the distributor. Kia and Peugeot on the list and now Chevy……

• cinonett on Mar 09, 2010 at 7:44 am

aku dengar diaorg nak jual 105k..come on man,i'm am certified service tech..some owner come with their stupid complaint..ignore them they said poor service..such as my chevy consumption very teruk..the true is u just dont know how to drive your car effectively..LOL

• chevy cruze will be naza cruze