Schumi apologises to Barrichello over dangerous move

After receiving a ten-place grid penalty for the Belgian GP for his dangerous move on Rubens Barrichello at last weekend’s Hungarian GP, Michael Schumacher has apologised to the Brazilian. “Apologise” and “Schumi” rarely coexist in one sentence, but this was a much mocked move that did little for the seven-time champion’s “super kiasu” reputation.

“Yesterday, right after the race I was still in the heat of the action, but after I watched the incident with Rubens again, I must say that the stewards were right with their assessment: the move against him was too hard,” Schumacher wrote on his website.

“I wanted to make it hard for him to pass me. I clearly showed him that I didn’t want to let him pass but… I wasn’t seeking to endanger him with my move. If he feels I was then I’m sorry, this wasn’t my intention,” he added.

His tone wasn’t so conciliatory after the race. Former F1 driver Derek Warwick, who joined the stewards’ panel for the Hungaroring race said: “We interviewed Rubens and Michael and it was kind of disappointing how Michael handled it, and we had no option but to give him a 10-place penalty.”

He was also nearly black flagged if not for the lack of time. “Throwing a black flag would have shown a better example to our young drivers. But by the time we got the video evidence we ran out of time and we had to do it retrospectively,” Warwick told BBC.

If you missed it, the Mercedes GP driver was being tailed by a much faster Barrichello, and when Rubens dived to his right to pass, Schumi then closed the door to squeeze his ex-teammate against the pitwall on the main straight. Fortunately for the Williams driver, the wall (which was just inches from his car) ended at the right place and he made it through.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Just fine USD100,000, then F1 organization already easilly earn USD200,000 within a month, do u think passing thru is no risk? if yes, u r not a racer, Micheal is right, ruben is the rude driver in 2009 when he with brawn GP and cause a lots of accident to other drivers, dont blame danger if u r the driver out there.

• our road driver much more dangerous than shumi n we can see them everyday

• roughn3ck on Aug 04, 2010 at 10:36 am

Schumi is still the F1 ace, the only problem is, he drive a shitty car…

• BeemerFreak on Aug 04, 2010 at 11:21 am

Hi Danny, I am posting something besides this post….. I received news that VW is launching the 1.4tsi model for the Golf and Scirocco as well as the 5 seater Passat cc and the new Toureg. Is that true?? mind doing a posting on that???

• venven81 on Aug 05, 2010 at 7:14 am

The new model to be launched soon is the 1.4tfsi twin turbocharger golf that churns out 160bhp! Price is somewhere in RM150k – RM160k. :)

• Rambo on Aug 04, 2010 at 11:22 am

What a kiasu fellow,his act actually put Ruben’s life in risk…But actually nothing suprise, this fellow did it before, & will do it again…what a dissapointment from a guy that full with great reputation previously…

• Satekj on Aug 04, 2010 at 11:34 am

“Apologise” and “Schumi” rarely coexist in one sentence… ===> this is what happen when people getting OLD.

• Schumi is nobody now in F1… he just tried to make everybody pay attention to him like before…’bully-old man’ …Schumi is now losing not just races but his reputation as well…

• mitlanevo on Aug 04, 2010 at 12:23 pm

whatever, byebye F1……

• Not a surprising move from an old has-been who’s desperately trying every dirty trick in his book to prove that he still has what it takes. Go suck a banana, shoemaker, retro is out, and so are you.

• he might have watched documentary in topgear on Ayrton Senna and got too inspired by it

• The Black Stig on Aug 05, 2010 at 10:14 am

Senna forced the other driver to make mistakes and crash without intentions to cause a crash, not intentionally causing a crash.

Two entirely different scenarios

• The difference between current ace Ferrari n Schumy, who owns up his mistake. Respect for that. :)

• niamafufu on Aug 04, 2010 at 11:03 pm

mayb due to barrichello got the best lap time on topgear which beat the stig…haha

• LOL… in Topgear Season 15 Ep. 6, they showed Barrichello wearing a tshirt that says ‘I beat The Stig’. Next came Jenson Button with clad in a tshirt that says ‘I didn’t beat The Stig’….

• dudewithacar on Aug 05, 2010 at 10:02 am

yes he might be old, but atleast he did something like apologize on his WEBSITE.. i mean come on, if it wasnt for Schumi most of us wont be interested in F1 in the first place.. if he did something wrong then he deserves the punishment like any other driver on the track. but overall he was the best driver in F1 for along time, nowadays no one watches the F1 cause it lacks the excitement it used to have, well i dont mean the accident, i mean the thrill of watching a driver do his best on the track.. hahhaa… just my 2cents..