Proton starts “Professorship Program” with Universiti Teknologi Malaysia to inculcate research culture

Proton and Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) today signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to explore “strategic initiatives” in engineering and technology. The MoU was signed by Proton MD Dato’ Syed Zainal Abidin and UTM Vice Chancellor Professor Dato’ Ir Dr. Zaini b. Ujang at Proton’s Centre of Excellence. It was witnessed by Proton adviser Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad.

The first initiative involves the assignment of a professor from UTM to Proton on a full time basis for two years. It’s hoped that this input will strengthen the research capabilities of Proton. The professor will also be directly involved in the development of new Proton models. Proton is allocating RM500,000 to run activities in the first year of the Proton-UTM Professorship Program.

On UTM’s side, the uni has committed to invest RM1 million to enhance its research initiatives further through collaboration with renowned universities like Cambridge, MIT and Meiji University. The target is to boost efforts in Intellectual Property (IP) development in the form of patent, copyright and industrial design. UTM targets to generate ten IPs a year.

“To be at par with other international car makers, Proton cannot merely depend on the achievements it has accomplished after 25 years. Proton must now expedite its initiative to further strengthen its human capital especially in the fields of engineering and technical expertise. This includes the knowledge advancement in new skills such as green technology, development of cars using alternative fuel and skills using local software and hardware. The link with UTM will facilitate efforts towards this end,” Proton Chairman Dato’ Sri Mohd. Nadzmi said.

“The industry-university collaboration provides many benefits to both parties. For Proton, it will inculcate the research culture within the organisation and as for UTM it will strengthen the university as the leading ‘Research University’ in Malaysia,” Dato’ Syed Zainal added.

In the recent Perodua Eco-Challenge 2010 – a fuel efficiency competition between institutions of higher learning – our local uni undergrads showed off lots of ingenuity and skill to shave off fuel consumption from their Vivas. UTM’s entry was a Viva with Myvi wheels/tyres for optimum handling stability.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:32 pm

yeay UTM…

i am your graduate..

• ex-engineer on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:49 pm

1 million research fund !!?

I was an engineer in a Japanese semiconductor firm in KL. We have a small research lab 10 years back run by 4 Malaysian junior engineers. The total invesment in our small little lab was already above RM 12 million ! Just wondering what can 1 million do in R & D.

Proton can share with us more info about your research area ?

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:38 pm

haiya..

That is TOTAL INVESTMENT you are talking about… Dont you know Exora development cost is 500mil??

this is RESEARCH FUND by UTM…

• swoosh3553 on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:40 pm

“….RM1 million to enhance its research initiatives further through collaboration with renowned universities like Cambridge, MIT and Meiji University. The target is to boost efforts in Intellectual Property (IP) development in the form of patent, copyright and industrial design. UTM targets to generate ten IPs a year…”

Bro, I think above explains it. The 1mil is to ENHANCE their current facilities…not setting up a new facility. I was too formerly a R&D senior engineer for an electronic product. It all depends on the equipments/test facilities that required by the R&D to do the R&D. For UTM, they mentioned that they are using this 1mil boost to obtain IPs. IPs are more of documentation/CAD drawings/permutations/finite analysis…and lots of thesis work. Bulk of money will be for paying the patent submission fee/etc.

• kapparo on Aug 17, 2010 at 5:30 pm

UTM already got wind tunnel, maa..this makes sense…way to go, UTM!

• mamakmudah on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Wind tunnel may only be needed if Proton want to design a 300 km/h monster roadster…..Well, the only engine they have at the moment is Campro 1600cc…..
          Unless they plan to take part in breaking the eco-car top speed record by using that little engines on the paper light eco-car frame…….lol
          That RM 1 million research project may just be a photo-op for our Dear Ex-Leader ….So we can know he’s still alive & kicking ^^
          RM 1 mil cannot even pay for his appearance fee…After minus all those lighting rental & venue rental, cartering, limo rental, VIP invitation gift…..not much left for the researcher I presume…..

• campro not 1600cc its only 1598 cc….

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:51 pm

If u do not know function of wind tunnel… you better make some reading… dont talk cock like you know about it…. it just showing your stupidity…

I feel sorry for you…

• rageaccel2 on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:14 pm

yeah…agreed with jonhdoe

• what wind tunnel just for built a 300 km/h car purpose only?? haiiya it is not that only la bro.. it oso can use on kancil ma.. it can be use for checking the shape of the car interm of fuel cosmption ma.. aiiishhh

• The wind tunnel in UTM can only test a car model half of the size of actual car. If one wants to measure drag and other forces of a travelling car at 150km/h, and to validate the data based on Reynold’s number, then 300km/h is the wind tunnel test speed. :-)

• newbie on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:57 am

haha..mamakmudah..pls do your homework

• Izhar on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:56 am

stupid!!!!

• Annoying on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:53 pm

why we need to soooo -ve in everything? its not good bro.. lets others do thier job.. lets see what will happen. don’t try to by nujum pak belalang k…

• quattro on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:58 am

Rn D UTM mmg dah besar giler….1 mil tu adalah tambahan dari yg sedia ada…..

• muhdzahari on Aug 28, 2010 at 10:32 pm

UTM wind tunnel is the low speed wind tunnel. :)
        kalau proton datang mesti tutup punya. rahsia kerajaan. lecturer pun takleh bagitau student design kereta macam mana. hehe..

• tempoyak on Aug 17, 2010 at 3:08 pm

I have to agree. To fully drive research and development, RM1 mil is not enough. But then, maybe that RM1 mil would be the initial amount. Plus, it has been stated in the post that UTM will be collaborating with other renowned universities, so I suppose that the collaboration includes facility sharing. Just wait and see.

• MoFaz on Aug 17, 2010 at 3:27 pm

true, the amount seems too small. looks like the R&D is on something small like software and fuel-efficiency only. Proton has Lotus for their R&D tech catalyst anyway.
      on another note, this step is very much welcomed. it could probably bring our automobile and universities ranking up.

• The RM 1 million is actually UTM’s investment for collaborations with foreign universities, not Proton’s.

Based on the article, this is just a pilot program for tying academics to the industry. I don’t think the lone professor will bring any major improvement to Proton’s R & D at first, but I hope the professor will go back to UTM and help setup R & D teams that can contribute research to what the industry actually needs, thus blooding new talents for Proton as well.

However, I hope UTM is up for it. R & D in automotive industry requires huge resources; financially and the availability of exceptional engineering talents. Proton needs to sustain the support and not put this into the failure heap.

Will it work? No personal disrespect to UTM; academics, students & alumnis; but I’m not confident their research would be able to push Proton to be more competitive in time, while competing with better equipped institutions globally. If you are from UTM, please take this as a challenge.

• Proton’s previous “wind tunnel” analysis reveals that the super-mini-mpv Proton Juara aka Proton Refrigerator hit 100% fuel efficiency at speed… say 0 km/hr. Hahaha!

• xtaujgnckp on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:15 am

lawak yg menampakan kebijaksanaan…
        tahniah ha…

• matjoe on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:48 am

hahahaa. so true!!

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:02 pm

why, why, why on earth would you degrade yourself with such “low class” joke?
        Are you really that desperate for attention?

• u can have million of research but without the commercial fruit, its a waste.

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:43 pm

but, that is what happen to most of our U….

because relation with industry is not so well…

• dzulx on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Think about it U is an educational institution…

The sole purpose of their research is the advancement of the science/technological field…

Commercialization is a bonus but not necessary….

• ismazri on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:12 pm

UTM forever!

Me also from UTM.

• adrian yap on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:36 pm

the lotus and F1 owning by malaysia all this while should have done enough research for local cars unless malaysia do not have good engineer.anyway there is no need a phd to produce good cars.

• MoFaz on Aug 17, 2010 at 3:36 pm

you’re the best example of 3rd world mentality. you think you can simply put F1 tech & components into mass-production cars? i won’t comment so much on your post, i’ll just share a quote:

“belajarlah kamu bermula dari dalam buaian hingga kamu memejamkan mata (mati).”

• uzair on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:43 pm

even Rasullullah S.A.W more or less said, learn even if it takes u to china…. and u still think we should do thing all by our self?

• Adrian yap, Yup agree! This RM1 Million bukan nyer aper, remember UTM’s student previous final year project using ViVa? So Protong kecik hati, UTM didn’t use Protong chasis and non-Pro engine for their project. Kira ini duit “gula-gula” untuk UTM. Ambik jer lah UTM, rezeki jgn ditolak (tapi tak semestinya guna chasis lembab Protong kan?). Your number crunching and scientific research will reveal which car has a better FC. Protong is certainly not in the list.

• autojohndoe on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:33 pm

the stupid is talking again…

• Annoying on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:05 pm

Syoh.. why are u seems to be so upset or hate Proton so much? is it because u are not qualified to be one of thier engineer during interview huh? so sick and annoying la your comments.. so bias, so base less n to much bla..bla..bla..
        whatever you said, Proton shows thier effort to help Universities n at the same time, gain benefits from this collaboration k. please respect others.

• Oh dude, you really know nothing about F1 and production car, and is humiliating the engineers.

• dzulx on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Kih Kih you clearly dont know the value and the purpose of PHD??

BTW you know what PHD stands for?

• Medusa on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Yes, RM1 million I think is a peanut! I think proton have rapid prototyping facilities in place, so, they could go forward from there. I had an experience before in ‘scanning’ David Beckham foot, put it into software, and after some modification and tweak here and there, I could create a mould for his football shoe.

I also believe proton could ‘tiru’, then ‘improvise’ and ‘improve’ via reverse engineering.

• i am from utm , but architecture. can participate ?

• Proton should do a design partnership program..what the meaning of been high tech but worst in term of looks?..

• rasputin on Aug 17, 2010 at 3:22 pm

haiya, now everybody claiming they are researcher here and there.
    i just do google and pay RM77 streamyx line a month.

• tokan on Aug 17, 2010 at 7:33 pm

so, what’s ur research/project?

• matjoe on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:50 am

haha, that one to finish degree can lorr, for the serious RND, google might not be enough

• nabill on Aug 17, 2010 at 3:30 pm

this is good in so many ways , specially if its done on a long term basis, it benifits all parties , actually many car manufacturers have some sort of tie ups with colleges and universities

• elite on Aug 17, 2010 at 3:40 pm

good PR so little cost compare to buying designs for emas, lancer and persona.

• alpha999 on Aug 17, 2010 at 3:51 pm

with that kind of amount, i guess most of us will be eagerly waiting what sort of brilliant authentic innovation he could come up with and not only make us proud but also to the rest of the world.

My guess is the Professor might gather few smart, top CGPA scorers undergrad and post grad students, who are in their final year to work on certain areas and integrate them into workable solution

• mamakmudah on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:12 pm

They will just spend the RM 1mil to do planning for how they will spend the next RM1 million & the next million & the next million & the next million & the next million………^^
      In the end …they will announce their major discovery that importing parts from China is cheaper & better value for money hahaha…..

• cool…now I can apply for a job at UTM…

• What research for a rebadge company need?? .. Go ask Mitsubishi enuf already.
    Save lah all the money and give us a decent quality affordable car lah.

• Heh. The best prominent grads are from UTM. Even Intels book them early before they’re graduating. Besides foreign uni that is.

• Hi all,

Just to share my experience as the 1st Batch of Mechanical Automotive Engineering Student of UTM and in Malaysia Local Uni back in 1999. Actually UTM Mechanical Engineering Faculty has spend hundreds of mill to set-up their facilities & Automotive Canter Labs with combination of all major automotive testing rig facilities plus our own Wind Tunnel which has been used by P1 R&D Team since then..

FYI, the development of campro engine also being tested (few testing modules) at our auto lab.. P1 test engineers drove their waja fitted with campro proto engine few times Shah Alam – JB & JB – Shah Alam and i was one of the support team for the UTM side..

Back when great TM (P1 CEO), UTM Grads was being treated as a “local grads” which has no “Persona” of English Speaking telent bcoz at that time, most of P1 staffs are Overseas Grad (American of British Speaking Accent is a must!!) but total engineering knowladge quality wise??…………………

But lately (3-4 years back) when i’m still working as a senior engineer at one of Japanese Auto Manufacturer, i can see the different type of staf especially engineers (“Local Grads”) with gud capabilities in engineering field entering P1.. This has started with the new Top Leader in P1 successing TM and it gives lots of improvement especially in their R&D Team.. When the Top Leader is actually an Engineer, so they talks in the right language..

Talking about combination of academics and professional, it will gives a new era of R&D System and Study as those academics are the expert one in “Engineering Studies” and of course they can further enhance and contribute their engineering knowladge to the real engineering field and not only paper.. And of course the academics also for sure can transfer theri valuable hands-on knowladge to their engineer-gonna-be students..

Proud to be one of UTM Alumni..

GO UTM.. GO FKM!!!

• Rulered on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:48 pm

For an old (almost retired) man, who is an enduser of whatever new technology that comes out for mass consumption, it’s not which university it comes from, it’s how many more new innovative technology at a cheaper cost can all the local universities contribute.

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:54 pm

hey… you are my senior… my course senior…

• hey bro.. gud to hear tat.. r u now working in auto field?? gud luck to u bro!!

• udasalleh on Aug 17, 2010 at 4:57 pm

This MOU is just to ‘explore’ strategic initiatives in engineering and technology research and development. With the current duration of academic research (ie 3 years minimum for each PhD researcher) Proton might be in the receiving end of obsolete technology by the time they go into production. Tell me again what R&D UTM in its 35 years, has done that is ‘succesfully used commercially’ in our country?

What Proton should do is enhance its own R&D centre and take in more researchers both in design area and its engineering technology. Proton should emulate Samsung which has over 200 PhD researchers in their own single R&D centre.

• Waiting for you to be one of the PhD researcher.Talk is soooo cheap.

• udasalleh on Aug 17, 2010 at 7:04 pm

C’mon! When you’re talking about academic research…who do you think does the research. It is the PhD candidates and also the academic staff doing Post Doctorate research. How long does it take to do a PhD? Minimum of three years if you can finish it that fast. This is not just talk. It is a fact of the academic world.

• Facebook_User on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:16 pm

Tu pun kalu lepas VIVA lah kan,…well let em talk n talk n talk some more

• Yeah, really. That’s my point. Become one, thus contributing to research development of the nation and Malaysia’s scientific level itself. One extra researcher for the nation will do more benefit than zilch. Not only Proton, other RnD also can hire you.

• 1st question, r u a local grad?? i think u r not bcoz most of overseas grads usually talk like u.. yeah, u r correct on the phd completion terms (min of 3 years) which including all of those lousy documentation and process flows tat actually making no sense for real engineering work.. for exp lets talk about automotive testing.. most of the auto testing varies interms of time start and end time but how fast and how gud the testing group will makes the total testing duration longer or shorter.. tats all.. so to make a “strong group or team”, combination of academics and professional is one of the best solution (im not saying “The Best”!!).. so with complete facilities and all of those colaboration, all of the development timing can be shorten n simplified.. tats all..

• nazri on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:37 pm

u can apply to bro

• udasalleh on Aug 17, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Jangan lah gitu bro. Bukan nak condemn. But if you sendiri apply for PhD sememangnya you akan perlu buat dalam minimum 3 tahun. At the end of the term baru hantar your research findings n thesis and buat your viva pada academic committee. That is why banyak company swasta buat R&D sendiri dan mengambil penyelidik2 sepenuh masa. This is a fact.

I’m all for collaboration between academic and industry… but at the same time weary because i know the time consuming academic process.

• Tiadaid on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:29 am

Researches don’t have to come from PhD aspirants. What about the UTM lecturers? If I’m not mistaken lecturers MUST have several completed researches under their belts to advance to Professor level.

• buat PhD kat malaysia ni memang susah… 3 tahun tu pun belum tentu siap… belum lagi P. Hasad Dengki sama academician lagi.. bantai PhD candidate pasal tak suka supervisor dia…hahahahhaaha!!!

• yaeh..waiting u

• i thought proton is gonna do it with Universiti Teknologi Petronas
    because Tun Dr. Mahathir is the chancellor of UTP.

Anyway, pray the best for PROTON hopefully they will keep improving and become global car manufacturer someday..:)

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:59 pm

maybe because UTP has no automotive engineering (i mean deep technical of auto engineering).

UTM auto engineering study structure engineering, ICE, CVT, syling…

but, i was the first batch miss the detail study in ICE and styling…

• Tiadaid on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:30 am

ICE as in In-Car Entertainment? You learn about that in an Automotive Engineering course?

• dzulx on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Why not.??? acoustical engineering is a well bloom engineering field….

You think In Car Entertainment only limited to big mohawk bass?

• autojohndoe on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:30 pm

Internal Combustion Engine la…

Haiya…

• 1st batch SMV also study la those core subjects bro.. “Torotrak CVT Project” tu group gua la yg buat.. gud old story.. missed tat old time la.. heheheh..

• elite on Aug 17, 2010 at 5:20 pm

there is no such thing as engineering and design in proton..only localization, integration, styling and pricing.

• jazzer on Aug 17, 2010 at 5:27 pm

in utp we dont have such advance automotive facilities..
    but i think utp has f1 technology..

• Joseph on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:29 pm

UTP has F1 Technology?…lol, and ITM has nuclear-physics and an operational power-plant powering the campus. LoL.

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:45 pm

another 3rd world person acting like first grade citizen.
        Petronas is in F1 motorsports for few years already, it’s not ‘weird’ if Petronas has F1 development in UTP. or do you think “Mercedes GP – Petronas” team doesn’t involve Petronas?

• Joseph on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:36 pm

hey MoFarse,

get your facts right fanboy.
          Petronas needed Mercedes for marketing, Mercedes doesn’t need Petronas for technical assistance. That debate has long ago when Petronas choose Mercedes instead of Lotus.

What a moron, another fanboy mentality typing before getting the facts right.
          UTP has nothing period.

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2010 at 6:23 pm

the argument is, why do you think Petronas doesn’t have F1 tech? and you do know that F1 is not merely about chassis, right? it could be the fuel, additives, lubricants, material and whatsoever.
            and, do you think a petrol company should only make research about petroleum? they developed a 2000cc engine some time ago, remember?

• hahahah.. u r rite bro.. but fyi, UTP also got Mechanical Engineering (Majoring in Automotive Engineering) Course.. to get those major in auto eng, those students only required to go for few auto subject which not even a real core subject in thier final sem!! daaa… UTM’s auto eng guys study those subject in our 2nd sem!!! hahahahah.. funny la.. but hey its PETRONAS la!! lol

• littlefire on Aug 17, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Hmm… If for fuel efficient technology, should have went to USM as they win the award a few months back right? Or maybe due to Perodua cars as test cars, they didnt consider it?

Anyway i tot we should have share technology with others just like Peugeot & Citroen, Renault & Nissan. Just think of it, we r just starting to do R&D compare to others which already on the run… If the cost is the reason, i maybe can consider.. But with the current market, can we still survive for another few more years with open market? Just think of it, how long we need & money to spend just to on par with others? Besides better & cheaper China made cars bonking around the door step? If the Chinese is smart, why they want so hustle to buy those foreign companies and not invest their own R&D?!? Hehe.. Just think of it! Anything happen in Bolehland is about $$$…

No offence, but when can we be on par with other competitors out there just to stand on our own feet? Just think of it…

• ahkau on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:21 pm

littlefire is a genius :)
      proton should hire littlefire as their advisor.

• autojohndoe on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:47 pm

“Just think of it! Anything happen in Bolehland is about $$$… ”

it reflects yourself… unless your not Malaysian.

• akupunya on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:23 pm

ohh…now we can see proton car with solar system.
    next proton car model… Solarmatahari..

• dabok on Aug 17, 2010 at 7:18 pm

to: udasalleh, littlefire and other who like to give bad comment..
    Everything i hear is blablabla…… utm does not have any ‘successful used commercially’ la, this thing not good la, and many more comment about bad thing, are u true malaysian? if u are true malaysian please come up with something that can bring Malaysia name throughout the world… but instead U do something like that, I believe U prefer condemn it right? it much easier for the person like U… please la less word but more action… do something about it don’t just talk… and one more thing… It is the first step so don’t start to judge.. no one can start walking before taking the first step…

• udasalleh on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:29 am

this is not fair. i was not judging anyone. i was merely giving a critical assesment based on FACTS of the current local academic practice of doing research especially to those not in the know… and even gave an alternative solution with Samsung as an example.

Seems like some just want to hear only the happy stories and the good news. :(

• Joseph on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:26 pm

sorry Uda, Proton fanboys can’t swallow hard facts, it’s all emotional drive to them.
        In Malaysia, the second someone criticize a product or service that bears the Malaysian flag, they’re considered un-nationalistic etc etc.

To fanboys, even if the product is a crap or a crock of xxxx, it’s still national worthy, sacred like a holy book, never to be criticize.

Proton and UTM both need each other, both makes/research things which hardly makes any impact to the local market, let alone the global market.

Mediocrity loves company.

• autojohndoe on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:14 pm

what do you have that give impact to society?

cheap talking….

• littlefire on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:41 pm

We can vote for change each pilihan raya and that will give impact not only society but for the whole country! Maybe u r not registered as a voter?

• Tiadaid on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Constructive criticism is welcomed. But the criticism spewed by you, and SY0H and all the other bashers are hardly constructive now is it? Bah.

• Uda, are u sure that’s the fact on the academic practice of doing research in Malaysia?
        While i’m not knowledgeable on the state of automotive research in Malaysia, i am however quite adapt in academic research in general.
        there is no way one can wait until the end of the term before submitting his/her findings. reason being is that PhD needs novelty, and in order to ensure its novelty, one has to publish his findings consistently. failure to do so might see something similar to your work being reported by someone else earlier thus diminishing the novelty and the strength of the PhD.
        therefore, IF there’s a significant finding i’m pretty sure it’s going to be published without the need to wait until the end of the term (or 3 years according to u). and since UTM is a Research University, it needs to maintain its status by cumulating sufficient number of impact factors therefore i do believe that the practice would be to publish as often and as quick as possible in journals with impact factor.
        not defending Proton or UTM or the collaboration. just hoping to give u a small, correct insight into the academic practice of doing research in Malaysia.

• Rulered on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Firstly UTM is short for Universiti Teknology Malaysia, and having such label to itself I just thought it should be doing researches (please note the plurality of the word researches) such as this, otherwise I’m not sure what the T for Technology is meant for. I fully agree RM 1 million is chicken feed for a research such as this that’s why if researches were done, then cumulatively, a lot of money will be spent. I have been writing in other blogs about getting academicians to get involved in many researches no matter how small it is for our automotive industry to go forward or else the Proferssorships will be given only base on seniority and not through merit (by doing researches), more importantly recognised by international institutions. I know getting grants and getting through redtapes and beurocracy is a headache, but hey, that’s what you guys are paid for. There are a lot of work that can be done actually, example: from biodegradable fuel, energy from fuel cells right up to exterior and interior components which are durable, safe and recyclable which other universities can participate, afterall all local universities and local grads are of good quality and hard working right? : )

• waimak on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Talk is cheap, yes that’s right. The difference between deciding and doing is obvious. Proton has taken another step forward, I think. All the best.

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Japan Auto company engage with Uni for their research….

So, why dont you malaysian support this collaboration…

it is weird that whatever Proton do will get bashing for it, even it is related to the development of engineering knowledge and local university…

• ahkau on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:22 am

eh paul.. y dont u approve my reply to littlefire?

• Joseph on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:49 pm

you said it yourself, ‘Japan Auto company engage with Uni for their research….’.
      Proton engage UTM for marketing and perhaps tax break.

Proton gets bashing because its very existence, its capex, opex etc comes from tax payers money, benefits a few, makes proud for a few and that about it.

Ask yourself this, and do get the facts right, is Proton profitable? Does it have the latest innovation? What is the market share ‘outside of Malaysia’, can it survive if the government open the floodgates cancel off import duty, Proton competes 1-on-1, man to man with other car maker?

Proton is a pussy of a car developer with it cross-dressing fanboys cheerleaders.

• Boy do Tun M picked the wrong tie today. :P

• teamsleepnine on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:03 pm

haters gonna hate.

trollers gonna roll.

• hancur on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:55 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/to-stay-is-a-high-achievement-says-dr-m-of-proton/

Tun Mahathir said:

“We no longer hear defects in Proton cars like its windows failing to close properly,” he said
    Now, everywhere we see the new Proton Saga has been well accepted by the people, he added.

Please comment……

• Yeah right… no problem. Malaysia boleh! My foot!

Sometimes, I find it difficult to believe politicians (even the retired ones).

It’s even difficult to believe someone who drives Japanese marque (Dr. M used to drive Pajero Mitsubishi if I’m not mistaken or sudah tukar lagi?) and his son prefer to own the German marque dealership, Porsche (correct me if I’m wrong).

So apa macam? Cakap tak serupa bikin lagi ker ini?

Proton is actually a legacy for that particular old man. Nothing to do with prospering Malaysia’s car industry. Someday, the 27 million rakyat will bear witness at Padang Masyar (afterlife) on what that old grunt did to the country during his reign.

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:23 pm

at least the old grunt did a lot of good thing in Malaysia, even helping Bosnia and Gaza. What about you? You mentioned about padang mahsyar, so i would assume you’re a muslim. you judge people, and can even predict the result of judgement day? who do you think you are? better than God? my advice is:

bertaubatlah dan minta ampun kepada sesiapa yang kau umpat sebelum terlambat. sesungguhnya siksaan di akhirat kelak amatlah berat.

• Joseph on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:53 pm

“We no longer hear defects in Proton cars like its windows failing to close properly,” he means himself, old age, hearing and eye-sight bad and besides he is not driving a Proton, chauffeur driven either in a Cayenne, what would he know about defects.

Well accepted by people? Let see wheter Proton is ‘well accepted’ if it was to compete with better and cheaper quality cars from abroad. Silly old fool.

Tun M is like Lee Kwan Yew, pass their prime, yet refuse to STFU. Only difference, the latter made the tiny island economy a prosper 1st class, Malaysia is back to the stone age.

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:30 pm

you’re the silly fool. did you even check the current sales figure? Saga already surpassed Myvi.
        is Malaysia really went back to stone age? then i guess you must be writing from oversea, probably from singapore which you worshipped so much… because in stone age country like Malaysia, it’s impossible to find a computer and nobody ever heard about internet.

• kiki889 on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:28 am

I think Proton is ready to compete globally after this R & D

• Joseph on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:21 pm

rofl. Understatement of the year!
      so, prior to this media hype R&D, Proton was competing nationally?

• kiki889 on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:53 pm

dont worried Joseph, I am on your side ! I have quit bashing Proton already because I am realy VERY VERY VERY TIRED. I will only praising Proton from today onwards

• Amin GmbH on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:52 am

to rasputin: do you pay to Sciencedirect to have all high-quality research paper? Don’t underestimate the level of information you have.

to jazzer: in UTP, we never own F1 technology since Petronas have sent their talents to Swiss Sauber Institute, if you are graduated from univ, you will look deep into hybrid or fuel cell. enough said.

to Q: what do you think about academic world? The most prudent lecturers work their way up by publishing their intricate researches in journal but not boasting their projects at Geneva exhibition. If you think about benefit to the revenue of the autocos, just talk to the Proton’s accountant who manage the corporate finance.

to tempoyak: it’s about money vs. time. if you expect full-utilization, we have so many facilities in univ those are underutilized

to autojohndoe: in university, we even have the same complaint, you better make your point well said to these mnc and corporate entities.

in Proton, we have a few parallel organization (foreman, blue-collars, SUPERV
    ISORS, QA/QC), I hope they won’t chastise these UTM professors who are lot smarter and well-educated.

• Mercs Bad Canstatt,Germany on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:04 am

Amin..

Saya di Germany….agree with u!!

Mercs Bad Canstatt, Germany

• “in Proton, we have a few parallel organization (foreman, blue-collars, SUPERV
      ISORS, QA/QC), I hope they won’t chastise these UTM professors who are lot smarter and well-educated.”

This is the problem face by industry in Malaysia, academician think that they already know everything. nobody can teach them if they are from lower group (SPM level). They really think they are so good, dont want to listen to others people opinions.

I pity those people in Proton who work with this professor. they will have hard time. How you want to teach a Professor when he look down on you?

• Amin GmbH on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:02 pm

saya nak beritahu di sini, pernahkah anda sekali-kali kerja di mana-mana perusahaan? Bukannya mudah untuk pakar-pakar akademik ini menepis mereka yg mempunyai sifat ingin tahu yg membuak-buak. Organisasi selari ini cuma mengetahui praktikal kerja sahaja dan amat sukar untuk pakar-pakar akademik ini merevolusi cara kerja supaya lebih lateral. Kecenderungan perusahaan-perusahaan ini untuk mengambil mereka yang berpengalaman amat ketara disebabkan orang yang berpengalaman telah terbiasa/conditioned dengan sepak-terajang dalam perusahaan. Pakar-pakar akademik ini jarang sekali mencabar mereka ini secara berdepan tentang kaedah dan cara kerja mereka setiap kali melakukan lawatan industrial training.

Bila lagi kita mahu Proton menghasilkan drive train system yg tidak perlu bagi Proton membayar royalti atau paten kepada mana-mana jenama lain? Nama pun Professorship,bukannya calang-calang dan hal keadaannya, siapa yang ajar siapa di Proton?. Pakar akademik ini pun sudah pasti meminta supaya mereka hanya menjadi 3rd Party kepada organisasi selari meskipun mereka perlu menyemak efficiency dan paksi lengan robot. Apakah kita mahu Proton menjadi contoh tidak elok kepada penerimaan golongan akademik? Kita mahu gradien pertemuan yang sejajar melalui faktor penarikan dan penolakan yang positif.

Saya bukanlah professor atau pelajar pascaijazah yang mahu memandai-mandai, tetapi saya pernah juga bekerja di perusahaan yang mempunyai organisasi selari. Matlamat kerusi profesor bukan sahaja supaya banyak kepakaran di mnc, konglomerat dan tempatan sama-sama menjadi penyedar kepada kedua-dua pihak industri dan universiti tetapi kedua-duanya beramanah menjaga sempadan proprietorship of patents dan konsep.

• Mercs Bad Canstatt,Germany on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:00 am

Saya tidak tahu bagaimana struktur pembelajaran di Msia…sebagai salah seorang student post-graduate di Germany pengalaman yg boleh dikongsikan bersama ialah:

Di Germany sebenarnya collaboration antara Universiti dgn Industri sangat baik…menjadi satu budaya setiap student apabila nak buat thesis atau project mereka akan approach company2 seperti Audi, VW, Mercs, BOSCH, HERTZ,INPHO, DLR (Germany Space Agency) etc utk mencari tajuk2 atau mengemukakan tajuk2 yg bersesuai utk pertimbangan. Company juga biasanya akan mengiklankan di website mereka bwh sub-menu R&D tajuk2 R&D yg mereka ingin jalankan dan sekiranya mana2 student dr mana2 universiti berminat..mereka boleh approach company tsb melalui address yg diberikan (email atau phone no.) Sekiranya company bersertuju atau mempunyai tajuk2 utk tujuan Thesis atau R&D mereka akan mengambil student2 ni utk collaboration dan mengikat kontrak berasakan selama mana research akan dijalankan (Master- 6 bulan, PhD- 3-5 tahun) , selama kontrak antara student dan company berjalan…company akan membayar student elaun sebanyak euro 400-1000 bergantung kepada kemampuan company.

Kebaikannya ialah:
    1) Apabila selesai research, Thesis atau R&D tersebut…….student, Universiti dan company akan dpt nama (masuk conference, journal, profesioanl magazine etc)
    2) Research tersebut jd secret atau hakmilik company….investment murah ..tak perlu mengaji profesional byr gaji mahal2..memadai hanya membayar student tersebut elaun shj
    3) setiap tahun ..banyak product2 atau invention baru akan terhasil dr company tersebut
    4) Universiti akan mendapat nama dan ranking menjadi semakin baik dan menjadi tumpuan student2 baru utk belajar di Universiti tsb..
    5) lain2 kebaikan..

Rasanya di Msia, budaya tersebut tiada atau tidak diamalkan….saya tidak pernah mendengar rakan2 saya yg study di Msia ada approach TM, TNB, Proton, Perodua, etc utk mengemukakan idea utk tujuan tesis atau R&D dan company2 ini jugak so far yg saya tau tak pernah mengiklankan apa2 tajuk thesis atau R&D utk tujuan collaboration. Di Germany budaya outsource nisudah menjadi amalan sekian lama dengan outputnya ialah apa2 hasil yg didapati akan menjadi hakmilik company tsb..

So far sebab itulah kita sering membaca atau mendengar company2 dr Germany ni setiap tahun ada sahaja pembaharuan atau penemuan teknologi terkini yg mereka war-warkan..sebenarnya teknologi2 ini bukanlah 100% in-house development dan boleh dikatakan kebanyakkan ialah hasil dr projek, thesis atau R&D student2 yg membuat post-graduate di sini..

Komen saya mengenai collaboration Proton dan UTM ialah….kat sini (Germany) takde collaboration sedemikian…pendapat saya ia lebih kepada marketing sahaja (no offense pd UTM) sebab bila di buat sedemikian ..Proton telah menghadkan R&D nya hanya utk UTM shj padahal Universiti2 lain pun ada kelebihan2 dlm bidang teknologi automatif yg berbeza….so Proton tak dpt 100% benefit dr those teknologi dr Universiti2 ini (USM, UKM, UM, UiTM ,UIA, UTEM, etc)….adalah lebih baik Proton mewngambil approach mcm sykt2 di Germany iaitu OPEN OUTSOURCE…mana2 student2atau Uni boleh approach and kemukan idea utk R&D…not solely hanya dr UTM shj…sekian.

• dickybird on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:44 pm

i think this is the start, well better late than never. Let us be patient and see what comes from it, relevant industry exposure can only benefit our local uni grads who still have to fight the perception that they are just mediocre. hopefully, more will find work in their chosen field of study and not add to our already bloated civil service or a disinterested educator blighting our education system.

• Joseph on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:32 am

hahahaha Proton, only after 25 years in business, and now with dwindling business and lost its most prominent partner…want to do R&D with a local U which hasn’t come out with anything great? RM1 million? RM1 million…or USD200k is what Uni in the US spend for stationary la.

Proton wants to do R&D with MIT? hahahahhahaa.

Even with Lotus, nothing great is coming out from Proton?
    Die la like that, close shop better.

• Accord on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:06 pm

So, what your problem?? If you have more money give to IPT such as UTM. So, more research can be done or else give your money for Saham Akhirat….

• utm graduate????

better hire rempit.

• Accord on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:03 pm

What your problem with UTM graduate???

• Annoying on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Contoh2 PHD kebanyakan org malaysia ada.. Perasaan Hasad Dengki…
      this is the first step. since tak byk peluang or relation between Uni & Industries, then, this only for beginning. next maybe for other Uni. be patient la…

• sranua on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:50 am

Good point Mercs. Sometime its not the professor, but the student who did the research and everything. Thats why sometime in the academic conference some professor could not deliver his research fluently since its being done by other people.
    Anyway, hopefully soembody up there in P1 can read your comment and apply it in Proton.
    There are bright students outhere not only in UTM but if their knowledge are not being recognised, they will just end up in some sort of administration works.

• Mercs Bad Canstatt,Germany on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Di Germany, jrg profesor2 claim itu kerja diaorg…diaorg hormat value yg student2 jlnkan…xtau la kalau2 kt Msia ‘budaya kerja student tapi mengaku kerja sendiri ‘ galak diamalkan..dan biasanya jugak di Universiti di Germany jarang jugak student buat projek, thesis @ R&D ‘syok sendiri’..apa-apahal pun diaorg akan tgk trend, approach company @ company approach universiti utk berikan tajuk2 yg sedang dibangunkan utk pertimbangan student2 Universiti sekiranya ada yg berminat…….sebab tu la output dr universiti biasanya terus ke market (takde projek syok sendiri @ tidak boleh dikomersialkan)..

secara logiknya..mmg tak akan sempat company nak keluarkan produk2 @teknologi baru kecuali diaorg buat cara mcm ni (di Germany)…staff diaorg dah mmg sibuk dgn tugasan harian dan dgn bantuan2 student2 inilah diaorg dpt ‘external help’ to develop more of their techologies…. dlm masa sama get new ideas from fresh young student who actually their customers indirectly..

Mercs Bad Canstatt,Germany

• APEKSAYUR on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:25 pm

I have been worked with one of the GLC in Malaysia. We also do a collaboration with UTM. The main reason of collaborating with UTM is UTM has filed a lot of IPs(Intelligent Property). Maybe this is the main reason for Proton as well..

• Joseph on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Filing an IP is not a milestone in research. What is the point of filing an IP or patent only to validate someone’s else research. This is the problem with the local U, like UTM. The Prof’s and grad students gets a ‘hard on’ when filing an IP, but that is as far as it goes, IP filed, product none, commercialization zero.

Sometime back, about 5-7 years ago, USM got into the media because some student created a software for network monitoring, and USM wanted to commercialize it. How silly is this, the same software have existed for many years before, and provided FREE.

Imagine how much $$$ have our universities wasted tax payers money to conduct basic research, applied research and only 5-8% going into commercialization, and even after commercialization…yield zero profit or merely break even for the technology recipient.

Collaboration with UTM is nothing new, it’s just a media stunt with no profitable result. Proton can later claim that they have collaborated with UTM and so can UTM say they have close industry relationship i.e. Proton. It’s just for ‘association’, nothing more.

• mini fan on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:31 pm

100% setuju dgn merc. semua kecoh ttg 1juta. utk makluman R&D local u ni hanya 4-5% dikomersilkan. bayangkan kalu gomen bg semua U kat M’sia ni RM100j, hanya RM5j BALIK MODAL. so utm/proton ni baguslah at least RM1 j 100% utilise w/pun biasa utk cover living expense/travel. ni develop modal insan
    Patut gov bg syarat at least 30% grant utk commercialisation. sebab dasar skrg ni byk duit hangus. Bagi formula 30% fundamental research grant, 30% development grant 30% commercialization grant. pastu 10% utk open access. mana2 kompeni IKS yg ada tajuk blh amik grant ni buat R&D kat local u. Camner?

• Uncommon Sense on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:06 pm

Wind tunnel to test Savvy but still fugly lah any professor kangkung will tell you that. Potong kangkung lah savvy!

Wearing pelepah pinang tie to tell whole world that survival under protection is Proton’s great achivement? Sorry lah please change that pelepah pinang tie lah.

• autojohndoe on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:18 pm

i never suprise why our country never being a developed country…

it is because its own ppl look down at RnD… and the efforts towards it…

no hints of support at all…

• Joseph on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:04 pm

people don’t look down on R&D, people look down on astroturfing, wayang kulit, show boating and a waste of money R&D without commercialization or commercial value.

In developed country Proton Fanboys, company like Proton would have been sold lock, stock and barrel, stopping it from bleeding tax payers monies like Sweden allowed Volvo sales to Ford US to now Chinese,

no support? where do you think Proton’s capex,opex and zero competition came from? From the sky? silly Proton fanboy.

• autojohndoe on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:45 pm

it is from their profit…

if you never read their financial report…

then, dont talk cock…

• seat-belt on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:20 pm

people, dun worry, just wait and see. u can count on utm! trust me.

• accel on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:24 pm

its a good effort.
    kodus to you prof. dato’ Dr Ir Zaini Ujang :D

• Eyesore on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:31 pm

the more i read the comments… the more I pity my fellow countrymen… too shallow minded and always looking down on ppl trying to improve…. I wonder how are we going to be a developed country with these kind of mentality….

in reply to Mercs Bad Canstatt,Germany, none in the program mentioned that only UTM researches will be considered…. Collaboration with UTM is just for starting the trend… for your information Proton have been collaborating with unis in Malaysia for a long time…seacrh for it i believe you can find it… if you are talking about student doing their final year research with proton… it also have been going on a long long time ago…. you worships what the germans has done but when your on fellow malaysians trying to do almost the same thing you look down on them…. way to go…

• Joseph on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:40 pm

not the same Eyesore, if you can’t tell the difference between how objective are the Germans are with research and how playful Malaysians (university) are with research, compare apple to apple, you have an eye problem.

This is 2010, not 1920, not 1986 etc. The Germans started light years before.
      Only now Protons wants to collaborate, and with UTM and for a mere RM1 million? lol.

Proton and UTM collaboration, the blind leading the blind.

• Annoying on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:32 pm

This is because malaysian doesn’t believe in themself. if someone tried to set up some good step, you condemn like hell…

• Mercs Bad Canstatt,Germany on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Eyesore,

Di Germany takde collaboration sign agreement panggil media kecoh sekampung….get my point?..so the bright student from other university in Msia nak pegi mana?( I know some good and brilliant ex-student from UTHM and UiTM in Germany yg mmg hebat in engineering)…pegi Perodua? or coming VW in Pekan? so sad & no good news la mcm tu for Proton….

Mercs Bad Canstatt,Germany

• dickybird on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:57 pm

i think after this, those students savvy enough to be reading this car blog will want to go and find you in Germany lah, Herr Mercs! Sounds like Germany is the place to be if you want to do technological innovation. Let us hope that this JV will be more show than talk like most things in malaysia.

• autojohndoe on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:36 pm

some stupids here talking like it is easy to graduate from UTM engineering faculty…

please… register yourself and measure your knowledge…

• Agree!!!! UTM known as Uni Tendand menendang.. try yourself. and lets see how you can survive…

• i’ve managed to survived bro.. hehehehe.. if u can grad with 3.0 and above CGPA, all of the student can “Tabik Spring” to u la.. hahahah.. especially in Mechanical Engineering Faculty!! damn… 100 came in, more than half will be rejected in as early as 1st sem!! hahahaha.. nice!!!

• grad_utm_too on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:17 am

yep2, agreed with the comment above… UTM is only known as “Universiti Teknologi Malaysia” for all, but for the student themselves, its “Universiti Tendang Menendang”… i am graduate from FKE, and I’ve seen almost half of my batch gone in 1st and 2nd sem too… you guys need to test yourselves first before commenting.. lucky I’ve survived ;)

people, just don’t blindly comment without thinking… don’t compare Germany, US, or whatever else thats already way ahead of Proton… Proton have taken another step ahead, collabration with research university to make their product more advanced… I would say, RM1 million is a huge amount for initial research stage, do you guys wanted UTM & Proton to spent RM1billion or RM100billion for initial research stage? They need to know how the process going on and then further investment amount can be properly injected for further needed R&D..

just pls support them, you can “criticize” them instead of “bashing” them…

Wish you best luck Proton!

p/s:
        I am not pro-P1, but I’ve seen huge improvement in their product recently. Have you guys watched the Exora handling, its BCM and its safety features… personally, I would like to see Proton improve more, thats all :)

Regards,
        Good citizen of Malaysia :)

• meriam on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:27 am

Poor Proton supporter trying to promote his sluggish
          Exora. Demand drop as Msian prefers the Alza instead.
          They can do a thousand facelifts but its still using the same crap-pro engine.

• grad_utm_too on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Hi meriam,

Thanks for the comment, however I’m not using Exora. If you prefer Alza instead, please google for accident pictures of Alza & Exora… hope you able to see which one is better ;)

p/s:
            Personally, I am not using Exora, however I respect the vast improvement from Proton on their latest model. Again, pls google about Exora worldwide, its even being purchased by Singaporean despite its price S$78,000 over there. Maybe you are using Ferrari or Lambo, so no wonder if Exora looks like a rubbish technology for you, no offence intended ;)

• jaguh kampung lar.

As long as the fanboy still praise proton till kingdom come, let them be.

We just concentrate on working hard and drive better marque.

Those jaguh kampung will still have to open their beloved proton car door to pay toll. power window still konk…hahahaha

• Eyesore on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:59 pm

well i’ve seen quite a lot of toyota n honda owners opening their doors to pay tolls… what’s up with that??

• junaidi on Aug 20, 2010 at 3:04 pm

maybe it does it yours?

Coz it certainly doesnt in mine.

• Yoong Tofu on Aug 19, 2010 at 2:00 am

What will they think of next?

a prof from Idonotgoto Universiti Msia

• gila2x on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:40 pm

UTM is meant for all SPM dropouts so what kinda R&D you expect from them.
    Kalo cakap pasal perempuan No.1 lah !!
    R&D “Fun” more likely. Proton use youe money wisely
    its doomed to fail cos you pay peanuts you get monkeys only !!!

• If you want professionals, you don’t pay them peanuts!

Couldn’t agree more. Protong are paying peanuts to buy monkeys after all.

Hehe.

• nazri on Aug 21, 2010 at 6:57 am

cubaan utk membuat sesuatu??

• as much as i hate proton coz of u kno wat, i really wish proton the best to produce good quality car in the future. like do we have much choice anyway, given tight budget ?