Honda Malaysia to bring in Insight hybrid next month!

It has been only less than a month since full tax exemption for hybrid cars was announced in Budget 2011, but we’ve already seen the sweet fruits of the Government’s decision. First was the Toyota Prius’ RM35K drop in price, then came the Honda Civic Hybrid’s revised price of RM109K, making it cheaper than the CKD Civic 1.8. Now, Honda Malaysia is taking further advantage of the situation and has announced that it will bring in the Honda Insight hybrid next month. The car’s launch should be at KLIMS 2010.

The current Insight is the second-generation car bearing the name, the first being the oddball design with no rear wheel arches. The Insight is a dedicated five-door hybrid model and its hybrid powertrain combines a 88 PS/121 Nm 1.3-litre SOHC i-VTEC engine with a new generation Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) system that’s 19% smaller and 28% lighter. It consists of a 14 PS/78 Nm DC brushless electric motor with a Nickel Metal Hydride (Ni-MH) battery pack. A CVT gearbox does transmission duties.

The Insight features a new interactive fuel economy assistant called the Ecological Drive Assist System (Eco Assist). It combines a driver-activated ECON mode (Effective Control), a feedback function that uses a speedo display with changing background colours (green is good, deep blue means you’re naughty) to encourage efficient driving and a fuel-economy scoring function using a plant-leaf graphic. The latter provides current and lifetime score charts so you can keep track of how much fuel you’ve saved.

Here’s hoping that the CR-Z, which has just been crowned 2010 Japan Car of the Year, will be next up!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• cant wait to arrive at our shore. hope the car will price below rm110k.atleast there will be choices of hybrid car for malaysians to choose from

• jimmyc on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:24 pm

should be price cheaper than civic hybrid as it is cheaper than the civic in other markets

• 308Turbo on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:26 am

should below 100k.

the civic hybrid at 108k.

i dont think they can price it side by side with 108k civic, must be cheaper at least 10k or more( for class separation)

• alldisc on Nov 11, 2010 at 4:45 pm

honda insider told me, the price is cheaper than civic hybrid but not less than 100K. meaning, anything between 101-108K. your guess is as good as mine.

honda personnels are undergoing training for this model at Honda plant, Melaka.

p/s i am not honda salesman…. thee hee he..

• What’s the different between civic hybrid and insight? Same 1.3 IMA right?
        Perhaps different segment?
        Sry for the lame question.

• Looks promising, hopes it will quickly reach the day of the lauching. And also hope the price will be reasonable too.

• crazyboutcrv on Nov 10, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Bring those hybrids into Malaysia
    The more the merrier.
    .Honda Insight you have a good foresight.
    Car and Driver magazine performed a comparison between the 2010 Honda Insight and the 2010 Toyota Prius.[31] In this test, the Insight achieved 0-60 mph in 10.3 seconds (Prius, 10.0 seconds), the quarter mile in 17.9 seconds @ 78 mph (Prius, 17.6 @ 79 mph), and 70-0 mph braking in 181 feet (Prius, 182 feet). The Insight’s average fuel economy during a 600-mile controlled evaluation was 38 mpg (Prius, 42 mpg). Overall, Car and Driver selected the Insight as their preferred vehicle due to its “fun-to-drive” qualities including superior handling, steering, braking, and paddle-shifted transmission.
    2 Thumbs Uppp!!

• If whatever number u put there is true… then the verdict should be towards Prius since almost all the number u show there is in favor of Prius..

• budleee on Nov 10, 2010 at 5:56 pm

the insight is cheaper than the civic hybrid but not as fuel thrity as the civic hybrid…

i wonder how much the price would be?

80k?
    90k?

• tikus on Nov 10, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Show sales say 98K wor…unbelievable. But I still cant believe it. Can somebody pls double confirm!!

• Nissan on Nov 10, 2010 at 5:59 pm

good news

• gonggok on Nov 10, 2010 at 6:02 pm

The insight is a cheaper product than the Civic Hybrid in other markets. Since the Civic Hybrid is 109k, the Insight could dip to below 100k…that is unless Honda decides to rip us off…

• Isaac Cheah on Nov 10, 2010 at 6:02 pm

WAIT A MINUTE!!

Honda Insight is supposed to be cheaper than Honda Civic Hybrid… Ths Insight has and was designed to provide people a cheaper entry point to the hybrid cars and was specifically meant to be cheaper than the Civic Hybrid. Honda Malaysia wanna make mucho money from pricing it more than the Civic Hybrid here in Malaysia?

In the states the Civic Hybrid starts from 23,990 USD while the Inisght starts from 19,880 USD.

• rossi46 on Nov 10, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Agreed….Insight is suppose to be cheaper than Civic hybrid!….Don’t try to fool us Honda Msia, we can check the pricing in other market

• Kambing Gurun on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:26 pm

Than it’d be below 90K…

• TallPan on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:14 am

Entry level? hehe with H, that term doesn’t exist! Check out Fit aka Jazz… cheap student/auntie/fresh grad car in other countries… e.g. AUD15k in australia… and how much is it here? a premium price of RM110k… for a glorified p2 viva.

Honda entry level… yeah right :-)

• tikus on Nov 10, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Showroom sales say 98K wor and can book now….unbelievable. Me still cant believe it..can somebody double confirm it!! Paul?

• 98k still a bit expensive… i have seen the car’s interior and i believe its not any better than our current City… if its not remarkably more powerful then the City, then i would have said keep ur 13k in the pocket for fuel, and go step on the pedal as hard as possible in the City…

• Tanaka Insight on Nov 10, 2010 at 6:18 pm

I thought the spec is lower than Civic?
    If lower, the price should be cheaper…

• if not mistaken this bcoz insight(100.8 V) battery less powerful than civic (158.4 V) also insight electric motor is rated at up to 13 hp..Civic’s electric motor is rated at 20 HP (~hp=HP)

• Apollo on Nov 10, 2010 at 6:19 pm

It will be very interesting to see the price on this.

• As i know, Honda Civic Hybrid in US is more expensive than the Honda Insight Hybrid.

http://autos.yahoo.com/search/;_ylt=Au2ZTqGGiJoe8EJJcSOXjIjMG8gF;_ylv=3?p=Honda+Civic+Hybrid&x=0&y=0

http://autos.yahoo.com/search/;_ylt=Au2ZTqGGiJoe8EJJcSOXjIgEc78F;_ylv=3?p=honda+insight&x=0&y=0

So…
    Hopefully the Honda Insight will follow the trend.. And we got a Honda Insight Hybrid cheaper than a Civic Hybrid…A wonderful below RM100k~!

• nelson on Nov 10, 2010 at 6:31 pm

I heard below rm100k.
    If more than that, no to my power of dream to go green.

• Paul Sotong II on Nov 10, 2010 at 6:44 pm

The Insight should be priced between the Civic Hybrid and the Prius.

How can this be? Insight is sold cheaper than Civic Hybrid overseas!
    1. Interior noise levels are higher. This difference is particularly dramatic at highway speeds and is attributable to lower levels of passive insulation as well as aerodynamics.
    2. Overall front and rear passenger space is more abundant in the HCH.
    3. Fuel economy in low speed suburban driving is significantly worse. While the new Honda Insight makes it easier for the average driver to achieve 3.5 L/100km (70-75 MPG US) runs, it still does not match the potential offered by the HCH in the exact same driving routine. In this environment, an HCH can easily tap into FE potential that extends all the way to 2.6 L/100km (90 MPG US).
    4. Higher speed highway driving is yet another area where the HCH will remain supreme. The HCH can often lock itself in a sub 1800 RPM routine while traveling at speeds up to 100km/h (62 MPH) with FE potential that ranges from 3.3 to 2.6 L/100km (70-90 mpgUS). The 2010 Insight in the other hand can only achieve up to 75 MPG while traveling at 75km/h (45 MPH) or less. At speeds higher than 75 km/h the fuel efficiency drops dramatically with a maximum potential of 4.3 L/100km at 100km/h (55 mpgUS at 62 MPH). At these speeds the Honda Insight’s engine revs close to and even above 2000 RPM. This not only makes for a noisier highway driving experience but also significantly lower fuel economy potential when compared to the HCH-II.
    5. Honda Insight actually has a higher drag coefficient than the HCH-II. This added drag is not very significant at lower speeds but does have a noticeable effect at higher speeds with higher wind noises and lower fuel economy.
    6. The Auto-stop duration is something that is markedly different in the new Insight as well. In the Insight, the duration of the Auto-stop sequence is frustratingly short when compared to that of the Civic Hybrid. Try as I might, the gas engine starts after a mere 20-40 seconds of waiting time at a stop light – even with the ECON button on and the climate control turned completely off. In a similar situation the Civic hybrid stays in Auto-stop for even the longest stop lights and will only start the ICE if SoC dips to its lowest levels. There’s no doubt that the smaller 100V battery pack in the new Insight is a limiting factor in allowing longer auto-stop sessions.
    7. No electrically driven air conditioning is available in the 2010 Honda Insight. Without going into the technical details of how Honda tried to cope with its absence this is a significant omission for those who live in warmer areas of the continent. Whereas the Civic Hybrid is able to provide active AC cooling via its electric half of the scroll compressor (when stopped at a red light, for example), the new Insight has to ignite the ICE to provide a similar level of passenger comfort. This omission has a measurable impact in the fuel economy potential of the new Insight when compared to HCH-II.
    8. The HCH-II has a better defined glide zone. Of course, even when there are no assist or regen bars, the HCH-II could potentially be doing a small bit of either anyway, but with time the dead zone for inducing a good glide will be noticeable and repeatable. In the 2010 Insight it is almost impossible to lock a perfect glide and you are literally forced to choose between a micro-assist or micro-regen.
    9. Overall quality of materials and fit in finish is noticeably superior in the HCH-II. This extends to the amount of sound proofing material, the relative thickness of carpeting, and even the smoothness of weld-points and seams.

• well analysed… well said…
      i have personally driven the Civic hybrid overseas and have saw the Insight running around in Europe… believe me that Insight’s shape is more futuristic but its interior quality, insulation, fabric quality, equipment wise is designed to be a low-cost car like City… no way it can sell if priced above Civic Hybrid…

the category from cheapest to priciest in all markets is:
      Insight –> Civic Hybrid –> new Prius

• Well googled … well shared. :-)
      http://www.cleanmpg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22588

• stiggy on Nov 10, 2010 at 6:46 pm

noooo…!
    i want cr-z……..
    :(

• amirzaheenminhaj on Nov 10, 2010 at 6:56 pm

please oh please honda malaysia, bring in the CRZ…

• yetiasrc on Nov 21, 2010 at 8:40 pm

please oh please honda malaysia, bring in also the FIT Hybrid…

• mulgara on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:08 pm

If you are a great fan of manual gearbox, Honda CR-Z could be something interesting next up when hybrid receives mass response from the public. It isn’t really a fast car but there is at least fun with its MT and good mileage at the same time.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Wow,Honda really desperate to bring in this car.Their sales also not as good as Toyota.
    Nice move by Honda but the car is ugly.

• The Insight should be priced between the Civic Hybrid and the Prius. Here’s hoping that the CR-Z, which has just been crowned 2010 Japan Car of the Year, will be next up!

PAUL:

Anywhere in the world Insight is less expensive sibling of Civic Hybrid. Wonder why you suggested the price would be between Prius and Civic IMA.

Pity Honda Malaysia, if they follow your words since harder to move the smaller hybrid car.

As a comparo in Japan the cheapest variant Insight G retailed at Y1.8m, L=Y1.97m and most expensive LS at Y2.12. To benchmark clearly, the cheapest Civic Hybrid MXB retailed at Y2.18m up to highest spec’ed Civic MXST Y2.72m.

If Honda really serious to take advantage from Government effort to give hybrid a tax holiday, Jazz Hybrid merely Y1.5m but in normal Otto engine Jazz less popular but why not to bring Jazz in CBU form?

By the way, CR-Z hybrid also good to be introduced by Honda since the cheapest price similar to our Civic Hybrid MXB at Y2.16m!

If you folks wonder how much our ‘beloved’ Toyota Prius pricing in Japan, just take a look here: Prius between Y1.95m-3.1m. Our Prius is the cheapest L variant at Y1.95m or S at Y2.09m. Y2.33m Prius S sport come with sport rim and better trim than our version.

EVER WONDER HOW MUCH UMW TOYOTA MALAYSIA MAKE?

• agreed… Prius overseas are marketed generally higher than Civic Hybrid but mainly becoz its 1.8L engine underneath vs Civic’s 1.3L and the Prius is generally well equipped with LCD color screens, side parking assist, reverse cameras etc…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:17 pm

Guys, it was a mistake on my part about the Insight’s price.
      Please accept my apologies!
      The Insight was indeed meant to be a cheaper entry into Honda hybrid ownership compared to the Civic Hybrid.

• The Loner on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:37 pm

Few 10Ks of profit margin. Really know how to potong people.

• karl@ the prius price u mention in ur comment before tax rite?

• Before Japan’s Ministry of Transport Consumption Tax in their JD market. So, there are chance the export model have a bit lower price than the price meant for local as it involved many parts; i.e dealer profits, showroom cost, SA commission etc.

I’m try to imply that Prius is too much here.

• MoFaz on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Prius in Japan = RM73k.. in USA is also around the same price, about RM70k. so, price here after 10% tax shouldn’t be more than RM80k.. how come the price jump to almost RM140k? RM60k profit for UMW Toyota? wahh… what a rip off.
      and u guys always think that Toyota cars are expensive because of tax?
      I believe price for Civic Hybrid is also should be much lower than the revised price of RM110k. Honda and Toyota are definitely laughing on their way to bank now.

• parasolx on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:33 pm

you can’t directly calculate and convert price like that if you know how to run a business. need to consider the transpotation, registration, kastam and such more procedure to bring it into malaysia.

and the most thing is demanding. if high demanding, that the price will low. you can see how demand US towards prius compare to Malaysia. if the number of selling in US same as Malaysia, i think the price will go much more higher than malaysia.

and if it more cheaper than US, people start to talk, why is more cheaper than US? odes all specs original? thing will never stop.

• if the price is around 70k-80k then it would more demand for the model..the problem is the price is too expensive..to compare with u.s they also have custom..so it won’t be an excuse

• Hiroshi on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Finally…how much leh…if below 100k i straight away buy

• bryan.jones on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:41 pm

good choice.. it’s a 2010 model.. definitely replacement wouldn’t be anytime around..

• drMpower on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:27 pm

this is refreshing indeed. insight is a great looking car and i suppose in malaysia, HM should price it like it is priced all around the market. which is lower than the civic hybrid.

so if the hybrid is at 109k, i believe 95 is a great number. i wish it is.

however, despite the brouhaha about hybrids and EVs, i dont think malaysia is well prepared for the acclimatising them and their end products. what i mean is, do we have the necessary knowledge on how to get the best off these kind of cars? and the batteries, do we have all the necessities in taking care of it, preserve it, and when the life is over, what should we do about it.

i am not speaking on customer terms only, but the whole community i.e the government, people etc etc.

KLIMS will go, i

• insperut on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:35 pm

interesting news!

hope to see lexus 400h and estima/alphard hybrid will be coming officially later

• rain rain on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:37 pm

if <100K…I will sell off all my cars and convert into hybrid…hehe!

• IVANHO GS. on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:37 pm

Just GREAT! Time HONDA Malaysia beat the competition with INSIGHT. Hope for good deals/promos for Honda owners.

• wolfsburg on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:40 pm

Consumer Reports Spanks 2010 Honda Insight for “Disappointing” Flaws
    http://www.insideline.com/honda/insight/2010/consumer-reports-spanks-2010-honda-insight-for-disappointing-flaws.html
    The comment of Insight is pretty poor in both US and UK… People in Malaysia are overwhelming purely because it is a Honda? Or they never read overseas article?

• honda fan on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:09 pm

wont la..
      it wont affected in sea region one.. u know la..
      eg.global recall also din affect sea region.. haha

• beocz we are used to driving rubbish alrdy…
      try putting our top 20 best selling models this year in Msia and compare against the charts in US… probably they wll all occupy the last 20 spots in their reviews… and worse still, probably u wont find these models selling there, coz its just too low class/cheapo for them…

so cant compare with US standards… just have to compare with our own sub-100k category for best value… if u think its worth it, then go ahead…

• Black Dog on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:41 pm

Wow, moves me to consider this as my target purchase!

I thought this vehicle is bigger than Civic, at least by the looks of it? Why is it priced lower than Civic elsewhere?

• Inspiron1525 on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Yeah, bring in the CR-Z!

p/s : At Honda USA, the CR-Z is $4,000 cheaper than the Civic Hybrid.

• sdkguy on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:58 pm

TAX FREE!!! Bring MORE in!!! yes!!

• honda fan on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:00 pm

y insight.. so uncle style..
    bring in cr-z la.. lol.
    don ever thinks teenage don have money!!!

• Paul Tan on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:02 pm

The Insight is somewhat like a large B segment car and I agree that it should be cheaper than the Civic Hybrid. The story is a mistake on our part and we will correct it.

• Paul,

Do you smell that UMW T make so much money out of their wheel-caps Prius? Some Prius variant similar to Insight price/Civic price?

I hate this BUT l love the Toyota hybrid more than Honda IMA. Please Toyota…. bring equivalent Insight price Prius.

• It is cheaper than Civic Hybrid.
    Get ur facts right.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Guys, it was a mistake on my part about the Insight’s price.
    Please accept my apologies!
    The Insight was indeed meant to be a cheaper entry into Honda hybrid ownership compared to the Civic Hybrid.

• kennytan on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:38 pm

everybody dont guess already…….the honda insight price is RM 99,890-RM 109,900.

• sdkguy on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:39 pm

So? lower than 100K.. we will soon find out…

• The Loner on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Hopefully Honda can provide several variants for the Insight. At least people can have choices to choose from.

• kennytan on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:43 pm

everybody dont guess already….the honda insight actual price Rm 107,900-109,900

• this can not so uncle lah compared to prius…..try google for insight mugen

• sdkguy on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:52 pm

the impact of this tax-free hybrid thing will take effect 1-2 years(people will slowly to accept hybrids n assuming they will extend the tax-free til 2012), by then P1 n P2’s hybrids already in the market.. so sure they will discontinue the tax exemption.. so.. wanna buy? Act fast!!

• bobdbilder on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:54 am

Yup. Speculative reasons for buying a Hybrid car. Only in Malaysia. If the foreign car makers ever get smart and start to use this as marketing plan, we’ll be suckers for sure

• sdkguy on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:45 pm

You guys ever think of how would the used value your tax exempted hybrid u buy now would cost when the tax exemption has discontinued in the future?!

• ct5505 on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Faster!! Honda Malaysia… Bring in the Insight and the CR-Z.. ^^

• how honda would manage the price eh?
    if this is cheaper than civic hybrid, will people buys civic hybrid after being older model?
    it’s pointless to hve civic or honda might just discontinue them..
    hopefully hybrid cars go cheaper n cheaper..otherwise only rich people would save the earth..

or another typical question, would u buy inspira if insight is below 100k?
    who’s smarter then..

• Whynot on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:10 am

Sometimes I wonder if it is the rich or the poor that really save the world. Ya, as we all know it big cars like Merc, BMW, Volvo, Audi,VW and etc r not only causing Malaysia to loose money toward overseas but most big shots in our Gov n private also uses lots of this models. In other words, they r a deficit, fuel drinking monsters and a huge pipe of junk (after 15yrs becos repair + maintenance wise is expensive n no longer sound feasible).
      Technology can save or destroy the planet as one old saying “Man make, Man Destroy”.
      We know it, we felted it, we tasted the bitterness of it. And why our authority is not allowing full advantage of this technology to green back our planet and still have restriction here and there! Shanghai had been selling and using green technology like electric scooter many years back then. Malaysia just started approving this technology but so sorry that the Electric bike is costing about RM10,000 which is not feasible and damn expensive! Shanghai selling from as low at RM2,000 onwards.
      The recent viva selling RM42,000 is a big blow to the 1Malaysian(overpriced) too!
      R we trying to torch our own currency values! Or maybe down in another 10 years, our currency should revalued to Malaysia Yen instead. I doubt it, I really do. And unless more hardwork is to be done by all 1Malaysian. The only obstacle at the end or our day is the Gov. We can only say this and that as commoner amongst millions. Let’s hope the authority get the message or we r in a big ship sinking like titanic.

• Foong on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:09 pm

I want CRZ! HM please bring in…hehe!

• untouchable on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:35 pm

if it’s cheaper… The Insight will be my next Green upgrade…. now I’m using Honda C70 as my Green vehicle…. Insight has show me the sight.

• Synapse on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Yeap.. according to sales people, the Honda Insight price will be definitely cheaper than Civic Hybrid.

• localcar on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:53 pm

still price is the deciding factor here… i vote Insight as so far have not heard of recall yet!

• Anti Proton on Nov 10, 2010 at 10:00 pm

price?

• vpam5221 on Nov 10, 2010 at 10:07 pm

just test drive the prius this afternoon and looking for a civic hybrid to test… if insight comming at below 100k,,, will definitely get it…… hybrid is all about gentle driving anyways…. so i guess.. slightly more or less power would make no difference.

• If u do plan to drive out of town, then better get higher Cc lor… if not naik bukit also no ump le.. but for town cruising then it shud b suff’

• Whynot on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:22 pm

All car whether hybird or non-hybird can climb up hills and slopes. The future of all car to come are hybird, plug-in hybird, EV , Hydrogen or Future to come – Magnetic Motor EV plug-in and etc…………..

Soon you will see plenty of young automobile engineers( maybe U might be one) at the aftermarket performing tune-up services that limit is no longer a question and U may one day even in the future produces your own fueless vehicle. Bucker-up my man, the future is here and whether the authority is trying to restrict this technology or not!

• mirror mirror on Nov 10, 2010 at 10:41 pm

I don’t know about the Insight or Civic hybrid, but I managed to do a short test drive in a Prius (from the PJ section 14 showroom). I must say it will take some getting used to to appreciate the car, just don’t expect an Accord or Camry type of overall comfort and feel.

• Can’t Wait to see the new car!!!
    Hoping it may bring a great sales volume to Honda Malaysia.
    I like this car so much, hopefully the Honda Malaysia bring the CR-Z either!!

• ronn99 on Nov 10, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Hope later can have lexus GS, RX hybrid selling <RM200K
    Should bring S400 H in as well.. can sell at <RM300K!!!

• Franco Baresi on Nov 10, 2010 at 10:52 pm

95k – Juz a wild guess

• “In the states the Civic Hybrid starts from 23,990 USD while the Inisght starts from 19,880 USD.”

USD4K = RM12K cheaper.

107 – 12 = RM95K yes, but friend in honda say they might be crazy to price in at RM90K !!! on par with CITY

we will see then ;)

irregardless on how fuel saving, human being behavior still afraid of hybrids – underpower la, no 2nd value la, change battery too expensive la…

risk takers are minimal…

• wk loh on Nov 10, 2010 at 11:01 pm

hey paul… we hope to see toyota prius hybrid vs honda civic hybrid challenge

• Ash Menon on Nov 10, 2010 at 11:09 pm

And let the hybrid car wars in Malaysia commence. Historic moment, rakyats. Historic moment.

• curious mind on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:11 am

is it true the servicing charge of hybrid is more expensive?

• Abah Mu'izz on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:49 am

About the service charges for hybrid cars, I guess you can look at the Honda website for the Maintenance charges for Civic Hybrid, more or less like Civic 1.8.

• dondon on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:16 am

Honda M’sia will bring CRZ hybrid on April next year!!! so be prepared..

• Honda Fan on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:17 am

Are they bringing in the CR-Z too? *hoping so much*

• Commoner on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:51 am

HONDA CRZ PLEASE!

• nabill on Nov 11, 2010 at 1:55 am

actually if u read the reviews online mainly from UK and US reporters , its not really great at neither fuel consumption nor driving…..

but its good varient to offer , i hope the government gives more insentives for diesels as well….

i believe the givernment intiative to give hybrids more tax reliefs is an indication that proton will offer a hybrid soon….usually these are related….

wait and see..

• hope to see Hybrids Racing in Sepang :P

• rossi46 on Nov 11, 2010 at 11:25 am

yeap agreed…in UK, according to most review…a diesel is much more frugal and fun to drive….but here, since there’s no modern diesel available and if its cheaper…its an alternative

• tunomura on Nov 11, 2010 at 5:51 am

less fuel but high maintenance….you must have enough money to bear maintenance cost

• Calvin Foo on Nov 11, 2010 at 3:21 pm

You already saved the tax you are supposed to pay for buying the car, use it for the maintenance instead

• parasolx on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:40 pm

the maintenance same as normal civic 1.8 or even less cause you only need to maintain the engine part only. hybrid engine size only 1.3L with consume 4L of engine oil while 1.8L need 5L at least.

• hang solo on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:10 am

i would like to correct you that civic 1.8 is consume 4 liter engine oil, not 5 liter.

• izhar on Nov 11, 2010 at 7:42 am

it’s good…another option for hybrid…hope other manufacture offer more models….

• azrai on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:10 am

Look what the effect of duty abolishing. I hope they bring in Honda jazz hybrid. Sure under 100k.

• ok guys….dont go and guess or even argue anymore….yes,the insight is coming to msia shore but not sure when (was confirm by the ppl) and price will be below 100k (wat if the price is around RM8+K to below RM100K,as wat have been told)….crz have no news yet but hopefully tat will join into honda lineup….but the most important thing is tat hybird car is NOT for those who want to drive fast,dont ingat it is a sport car

• i already booked for honda civic hybrid…shoild i cancel it and wait for insight..
    if the price much cheaper than honda civic hybrid…rugi loo….

pren what to do ah…?

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Nov 12, 2010 at 10:04 am

no need to cancel laa..there’s a reason why insight is cheaper than civic hybrid

• Zack,

U dont ned to cancel ur booking, the HM will call u and tell u that they not going to bring in Civic Hybrid and replace with Insight, and the price maybe almost the same! Civic hybrid better than Honda Insight!

• Zorro on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:31 am

full of Toyota make smell……….. pity honda….. still mazda car the best

• limta on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:33 am

Why Toyota Prius and Honda Hybrid price so much different? both of them 2.0 right?
    both of them 2.0cc right?

• quottro on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:43 am

man~ where’s the CR-Z?…come on~ Honda MY

• rapidshifter on Nov 11, 2010 at 10:16 am

hmm… same rear lamp with CR-Z … good moves to cut cost…

• vincent on Nov 11, 2010 at 10:25 am

In the USA, Honda Hybrid cost more than Toyota Prius, guess Toyota is fully making use of Malaysian’s blind loyalty to Toyota because it cost Rm30k more in Malaysia. Kekekeke

• hell to the radio just make the solar panel recharge the batteries in prius then i will order one hehe IMA not my thing just yet

• Honda ALMOST Crazy Mania on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:00 pm

Yes… Honda bring more car but still SUCK in after sales service…

• rory# on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:57 pm

dude..agree. already switch to europe brand (the rings) but the are sucks too… how la

• estacado on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:05 pm

limta,

Prius is 1.8cc
    Civic Hybrid is 1.4cc

• Calvin Foo on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:18 pm

If the price falls in RM90k range, Proton can kiss their Inspira goodbye

• rory# on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:54 pm

if you are talking for a month ownership…comeonlah this hybrid thing will cost more when you visit the workshop. dumb.

• meteoraniac on Nov 11, 2010 at 1:08 pm

realistically it would closer to 100k-105k ..

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Nov 11, 2010 at 3:06 pm

not only proton..even honda own model also can kiss goodbye…remember city??…huhu

• gen y on Nov 11, 2010 at 1:50 pm

but this car is ugly

• mohdazizee on Nov 11, 2010 at 2:03 pm

honda should bring freed hybrid too. very interactive car. the price should be lower than honda city. ;D

• vincent on Nov 11, 2010 at 2:13 pm

CRZ is the cheapest among the hybrid fleet, if Honda can bring CRZ into Malaysia for less than 90k, I think it will be a value buy for all Malaysian folks. Say goodbye to vios n City.

• Whynot on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:18 am

I had the same thought like you.
      CRZ is more preferred than insight.
      I wonder why Insight first and not CRZ to come?
      We all know Civic is slowly outdating………………..

• Loh Wah Soon on Nov 11, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Can civic hybrid go up to genting or cameron smoothly?

• if this car rm75k then only i consider,if not better go for myvi

• Vincent on Nov 11, 2010 at 6:24 pm

Friends from Honda said priced less then RM100k…It mean cheaper then Civic Hybrid!
    Now…compare Insight & Civic, which is better choice?
    From the outlook, I personally prefer Insight’s futuristic look.

• Many people wud have unknowingly thought that Insight costs more than Civic Hybrid. Even Danny thought so, apologies accepted. In Malaysia too, starting prices for Insight shud be lower than Civic Hybrid. What i’m afraid is HM getting “jealous” of the exemptions we are getting and start playing around with the prices to ensure highest margins for the Insight. By the way, here’s something Paul may want to get an answer from HM: how come Civic Hybrid price reduction of 21k is only 16% off original price of 130k whilst Prius price reduction of 35k is 20% off old price of 175k. One wud have thought the percentage reductions wud be similar.

• If you read my earlier posts, some Prius has similar price line with Honda Civic hybrid/Insight/Cr-Z.

UMWT responsible for higher price tag, dude. If you boycott Toyota God willing they’ll reduced the price.

Even Lexus give us lowest spec ever.

• simple…UMW toyota’s profit margin was ludicrously high before and still very high today.

previously they could make u blame the gov for making the prices high. but now they have to discount more since no more chance to blame taxes anymore.

Take for Example in USA( approx only ):

Honda civic hybrid- $24000 x 3.05 = RM 73,200
      Shipping cost etc = RM 5,000
      Excise Duty = RM 0 ( 20,000)
      Profit Margin = RM 21,000
      Sales Tax = RM 10,000
      Total = RM 109,200

Toyota Prius – $23,000 x 3.05= RM 70,150
      Shipping cost etc = RM 5,000
      Excise Duty = RM 0 (20,000)
      Profit Margin = RM 53,000 ( earlier was 68,000)
      Sales Tax = RM 12,000
      Total = RM 140,150

Remember that excise duty is charged before adding the profit margin. So it doesn’t mean that the prius cost more in excise duty. In fact it should have been less since everywhere in the world the civic hybrid is either more expensive or the same price as the prius.

Honda malaysia is greedy for making so much profit but they are peanuts next to the ultra fat profit made by UMW toyota.

• Kancil_Redbull on Nov 12, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Thanks for showing those figures. Now I know how greedy these companies are!

• sdkguy on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:38 pm

i personally don’t really know how they work out the selling price here. Is King’s calculation correct, Paul?

• no wonder Japan car every 5 year change new model, becos of export market make a huge profit to let them growth faster until this year so many car are calling back and pulling back. SIGH

• Carl Wong on Nov 11, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Another GREAT move indeed, thanks Honda :)…!!!

• Insight was a sales flop in US.
    Honda is dumping it here to unsuspecting Bolehmen.

• Whynot on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:07 am

Nickel Metal Hydride (Ni-MH) ?
    Why not Lithium-Ion instead ?
    Does everyone noticed this?
    Paul, pls let me know the real different.
    Thk!

• just_ice on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:09 pm

HM had stop accepting order for Civic Hybrid starting 12/11/10…. anybody know why?

• liokmin on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Yes. I think they might want to use Insight to direct compare to Prius ( i saw brochure – sales talk), and of course, they might want to up the Insight price to almost same with Civic Hybrid…

Today can start booking Insight already, 4 colors available:-
      premium white, crystal black, dyno blue, and alabaster silver.

Please note that the rear tail horizontal window is abit dark color, it will be nicer to match with lighter color, perhaps silver or the white.
      You can go here to have a nice look (some color are not same, but black is same).
      http://automobiles.honda.com/insight-hybrid/exterior-colors.aspx

I’ve checked the brochure yesterday, this model is half LX half EX:-

>> 16″ alloy sport rim
      >> with cruise control
      >> without gear shifting button
      >> seat is cloth, not leather
      >> with VSA (vehicle stability assist)
      >> with USB
      >> 2 air bags instead of original 6.
      >> IR and sound proof special front screen (not sure this is new or same with 2010 version).

Price… only will know once they officially launch.
      Still hope it will be cheaper than Civic Hybrid (actually planned to buy this) as Honda brochure said their marketing strategy is to make Insight as entry level hybrid cars with affordable price.

• Cyber on Nov 15, 2010 at 4:04 pm

That’s a good info from your side. If the price is same with Civic means Honda Malaysia trying to make more profit out of this model. We hope the price is lower than Civic Hybrid….

• evoskylancer on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:27 am

wow, with cruise control and VSA…even honda civic hybrid don’t have those two features…i loike!

• Civic Hybrid on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:00 am

One thing I dont understand…. If tax is exempted for hybrid cars, why Civic Hybrid is selling in Peninsular at price higher than Langkawi?? Thought both place also tax exempted??
    ~101k compared with ~109k OTR?? Anyone mind to explain??

• evoskylancer on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:29 am

because here in peninsular, the civic hybrid is still subjected to 10% sales tax, but not for the ones in langkawi…totally tax-free

• Import & excise duties are fully waived. However, the 10% sales tax still remains. Hence the nearly 10k difference between Langkawi & Peninsular Malaysia. Read this post in detail: http://paultan.org/2010/10/15/hybrid-car-tax-exemption-to-be-extended-to-end-of-2011/

• Cyber on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:59 pm

So who else booked Insight? Got any info when can get the car if booked now? March 2010?

• just_ice on Nov 17, 2010 at 3:08 pm

i’ve already booked insight, they said the price will be lower than civic hybrid…and most probably HM will launched insight in february next year…

• ddpestro on Nov 17, 2010 at 6:03 pm

I’ve also booked new insight last weekend and learnt from my Honda Sales it’s available for test drive in Jan 2011…cool

• Cyber on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:33 pm

Hi guys

i read from forum Insight price is 103K…….don’t know is true or not…

• apmbryan on Nov 17, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Wow,,,,,,,, so many comment………. Very interesting…….
    you may refer below web for comparison
    http://blogs.edmunds.com/strategies/2009/01/comparison-test-2010-honda-insight-vs-2009-toyota-prius.html

• does anyone know? how much does it cost for replacement of the nickel-metal hydride (Ni-MH) battery ?? what is the warranty period ?

• Cyber on Nov 20, 2010 at 1:12 am

The cost estimated around 10K to 12K. The battery warranty is 3years or 100,000km. But don’t worry, when the demand for this car is a lot, the battery price will come down. Is 3 or 4 years down the road. More and more manufacturer is coming out with hybrid car.

• cl_qwertyuiop on Feb 24, 2011 at 2:43 pm

The IMA battery warranty is switch to 5 years or 140000KM or whichever comes first.

• i spotted a HONDA INSIGHT yesterday but it was too fast no pics

• John Doe on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:14 am

What’s the point of bringing in another 4 doors hybrid car for Honda? Especially where the price difference between the 2 is only expected to be RM10,000-RM20,000? Honda Malaysia should have brought in the CRZ instead for product differentiation.

• according to internal sources, they’ll be replacing the Civic Hybrid with the Insight. Means no more Civic Hybrid now.

• Question: The IMA battery is charged by the petrol engine during regenerative braking, correct?

What happens if the driver doesn’t do enough of regenerative braking to fully charge the battery pack? Will the battery pack start “stealing” power from the petrol engine? I could see that under stop-and-go traffic conditions, the battery pack might start to get discharged pretty fast.

Also, any indications on the booking fees?

• cl_qwertyuiop on Feb 24, 2011 at 2:40 pm

The IMA battery is recharge via petrol engine when the battery is low. Regenerative braking is also aiding the charging when you hit the brake paddle. So in the end, the car recharge itself by this 2 mechanism.

Not to worry about the car having low on juice.

The booking fee is RM1K but waiting list is long. Please register ASAP.

• Kenny on Nov 26, 2010 at 5:23 pm

it will launch by next month December, car delivery will be between February and March, and its confirm under 100k, a friend of my just went through the Honda Insight Training at Melaka, cheers….

• This was also confirmed by the Honda Sales person I am liaising with.

According to Honda Malaysia, they are no longer bringing in Civic Hybrids.

• kenny, could you ask your friend if theres any news on the CRZ? my sources said it will be 2H 2011. Pls verify.

• Imran on Dec 02, 2010 at 12:20 am

Insight
    I think the price is around Rm103k or 104k.
    But the rear leg room is way TOO SMALL…
    MyVi has a lot bigger leg room…

Out of My List

• Cyber on Dec 02, 2010 at 11:09 am

We will know the final pricing tomolo after it was officially launch in KLIMS 2010

• Afieq on Mar 28, 2011 at 2:56 am

Just seen this car two days ago, this car looks a bit dull in picture but in person, mannn I can’t believe how beautiful it is. Feels like a four door coupe haha. Reasonably cheap and madly beautiful, perfect. Oh, it’s a hybrid too :)