Honda CR-Z is Japan Car of the Year, Polo is best import

Honda’s CR-Z is the 2010-2011 Japan Car of the Year! The hybrid coupe was announced the best of the year by the 60 strong Executive Committee comprising Japanese motoring journalists at the Waseda University Memorial Hall. It looks as if to get near the prize, the car has to be a hybrid – the Toyota Prius edged out Honda’s Insight in last year’s contest.

The jury appreciated the CR-Z’s hybrid tech and its fun to drive character. The Import Car of the Year award goes to the Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI, which the judges described as having a “high quality interior and exterior” plus “good fuel economy and powertrain” (translation by Google). The supermini was also praised for having “no compromise on safety equipment”. This win completes a hat-trick for the Mk V Polo, which has already scooped up European and World COTY awards this year.

A special award goes out to the Peugeot RCZ, which is the “future balance of innovative design and driving pleasure” according to the jury.

“We are very proud that the CR-Z has been selected from the strong contenders of new models as the Car of the Year Japan 2010–2011. This award shows that the public has accepted Honda’s aspiration to supply exceptional environmental performance in a fun-to-drive hybrid car at an affordable price, as well as Honda’s desire to spread the joy of owning and driving a car.

“We also believe that this award for the CR-Z reflects the true value of the combined efforts of our business partners and the many others who supported CR-Z development and production. Going forward, Honda intends to bring more joy to an even larger number of customers,” said Honda’s President and CEO, Takanobu Ito.

We’re looking forward to welcome the Honda CR-Z with Malaysian Hospitality, especially with the current favourable tax exemption for hybrids!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• campro on Nov 10, 2010 at 2:54 am

Don’t talk so much…Jz import honda CRZ to malaysia market…Don’t make M’sian ppl wait too long….pls also import Honda Jazz hybrid & Insight together with CRZ…

• mr_3m on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:58 am

come come baby, come to Malaysia…. RM95k for CR-Z manual base spec… should be selling cheaper than a Civic Hybrid… just like elsewhere

• cool…………….drooolllll

• crz rubbish on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:06 am

Made by Japanese, awarded by Japanese. Rubbish

• mujahid on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:22 am

agree

• JohnDeep on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:26 am

This award is given to Japanese made car since 1980. The “import car of the year” meant for global imported car into Japan. You talk rubbish..

• Chris Lye on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:36 am

What’s the wish, made by Malaysian, awarded by Japanese?

• nippy on Nov 10, 2010 at 1:33 pm

Haha, some guys just have to criticize no matter what the issue is…

• xavier lert on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:10 am

bring it here………!!

• littlefire on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:19 am

VW Polo win another award again!

• Unforgiven on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:09 am

Unfortunately, the VW Polo is an entry level car else where, which most M’sian still cannot afford to own one in M’sia…

• in japan VW Polo TSI Highline is price at ?2,420,000(RM92k) n similarly spec/feat in malaysia is RM109,593

• Singapore Volkswagen Polo Sport 1.2 TSI (A) SGD90,300 (RM217,049)

• Mawai on Nov 10, 2010 at 5:51 pm

KZM, U should consider standard of living. The $$ might be the same but the value not.

• Idaho5307 on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:15 am

Forget about the CR-Z, bring in the RCZ!

• Adrian on Nov 10, 2010 at 11:44 am

I heard that the Polo was runner up JCOTY to the CR-Z, 9 points apart. Highest ever achieved by a non Jap make. True?

• klaka seram on Nov 10, 2010 at 12:39 pm

yes, bring it here..

• apooo samy on Nov 10, 2010 at 1:53 pm

who said malaysia car is xpensive??? kekekeke….

• Whynot on Nov 10, 2010 at 2:42 pm

The design speaks for itself. Honesty! Only aerodynamics with low CG and full body profiles design r the most admired and wanted car in the future to come. Regardless of what one speaks of any particular contents within the car which I think the younger generation does not think too much about that. After all, the after market furnishing is flourishing year by year to upgrade or modify it at your flavor till your heart contends.
    Proton should emulate this and learn to change or be bashed by own 1Malaysian!

• ct5505 on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Just Bring it in..Honda Malaysia!! CR-Z, Insight, Jazz Hybrid!! We are waiting!!!

• Anti Proton on Nov 10, 2010 at 10:02 pm

omg pleaseeeee bring crz

• ban honda.. bring in more cherys. support china economy.

• hi…..i hope that the CR-Z model will be ready to sell in Malaysia in 2011…..i think there is a very high demand in the case. I m looking forward to listen for a good news. I m ready to get a new one too as it is very favourable to me thx :)… Can anyone inform that will CR-Z model bring in to Malaysia in 2011?? As the our proton inspira has beat the market…