Peugeot RCZ Test Drive Report from Spain

Local brand handlers Nasim has done a brilliant job at providing us with very well specced and very well priced Peugeots that don’t require car buyers to fork out extra for a European alternative, something Malaysians have been forced to accept for so long.

The 206 Bestari started the ball rolling by providing something classy in the budget segment, but it was the introduction of the 308 that propelled Peugeot into the minds and shortlists of carbuyers, and into Japanese territory.

But I am going to be honest and say that the 308 doesn’t at all move me, someone who leans more on the Continental side of the argument when it comes down to Europe vs Japan. While the 308’s sheer value can’t be ignored, it doesn’t offer much to the keen driver – while the engines are good – strong, smooth, and quite fast in the Turbo’s case – every other driving aspect isn’t. Even the 175 bhp 3-door GT doesn’t really cut it as a hot hatch.

Shoulder to shoulder in the real world (against fellow European C-segment hatchbacks, not Civics and Corollas) the Pug is no where near a Golf Mk6 in overall ability and is unenjoyable to drive next to the Focus. The deal breaker for me is that awful “Porsche” auto ‘box, not so much for its lack of ratios (only four) but for the slack and being so clueless.

Casting a wider net, there’s still nothing in Peugeot’s current range that’s desirable to this writer – could the RCZ change this skeptic?

We were privileged to sample Peugeot’s latest pride and joy at the RCZ’s international launch in northern Spain last month, and here’s the report.

Continue reading after the jump.

Styling – Concept made good

To say that it’s like driving a concept car is no exaggeration. Three years ago, Peugeot showed off the RCZ concept at the Frankfurt Motor Show, and we’re pleased to report that it had survived the transition from concept to production intact. The show star was very well received, and Peugeot made a conscious effort to retain what was special about it when they could have so easily bottled out, citing reasons like high cost (or impractical, or too niche) – stale excuses given when production cars don’t turn out like they were supposed to.

Now, what so special about the RCZ, some may ask. Isn’t it just a TT rip off? At first glance, from pictures, we don’t blame you for making that assumption, but as you slowly take in the details of this car, you’ll realize that the only thing in common with the Audi is that both are compact coupes.

Even the proportions differ – the RCZ has a longer rear deck compared to the stubby tail of the second-gen TT, which could lead some unsuspecting observers to think that it’s mid engined.

Just like the concept car, the road going RCZ’s stylistic highlight is the race inspired double bubble roof. It’s already relatively complicated and a hassle to produce compared to a standard tin top, but the roof curves extend into the rear glass, which is quite a feat for a mass produced car. The RCZ is contract manufactured by Magna Steyr in Austria, which is used to making complicated things work – they’re the people responsible for the Mercedes SLS AMG’s gullwing doors and also build the Aston Martin Rapide, so the RCZ is in good hands.

Another sure thing to draw your eye are those (nicely brushed) aluminum rails that outline the roof. That, and the prominent, muscular rear haunches, gives the RCZ a tougher look than the TT. I’m not a fan of the big mouthed Peugeot corporate face, but can accept it when stuck on a body like this. By the way, the RCZ, which is the only current Peugeot passenger car without numbers in its name, is the first model to wear the updated lion badge.

The rear end, which has hints of Porsche from certain angles, gets an active rear spoiler that raises according to speed. The first position (19 degrees) is raised at 85 km/h and folds back when you dip below 55 km/h, while the second position (34 degrees) is activated when you pass 155 km/h, returning to Position 1 at 145 km/h. To impress others, RCZ drivers can manually erect the spoiler via a button in the cabin.

Cabin – No surprises

If you’re expecting a similarly arresting cabin design after the flamboyant exterior, be in for a disappointment, perhaps the same feeling that struck yours truly when he first sat in the VW Scirocco two years ago. But unlike the VW, the standard 308 dashboard design is actually very classy and pleasant, and while the changes compared to the 308 hatch are small, they’re effective in making the environment that bit more special. Our test car’s dash was covered with optional leather while the centre console had piano black finish and a stereo layout that looks much more cohesive and modern than the stacked arrangement in the 308.

The instrument faces have a sportier design and the middle unit of the three central air vents has been removed and is now filled by a clock. Peugeot could have used this opportunity to collaborate with a watchmaker – a nice brand here would have been a real treat.

The seats provide enough support, but are supple enough for long distance comfort. I don’t particularly like black headlining, as it tends to bring an overly aggressive and sometimes oppressive feel, but the RCZ’s cabin escapes this thanks to a relatively large glass area for this type of car. It’s certainly more easy going and airy than the TT.

Speaking of the TT, while the Audi’s rear quarters are basically pointless, my 175 cm frame just about fit in the RCZ’s thinly padded and upright rear seat, albeit with head touching the glass. Kids or petite adults should be OK for short distances back here, and the “occasional” tag is fitting. Remember that it’s a 2+2, not a full four seater. The 384-litre boot meanwhile is surprisingly large and well shaped for such a car, even before folding down the rear seats. Do so and you’ll get 760 litres of space, which is quite amazing.

The one major complain both me and my driving partner had was with the RCZ’s super thick A pillars, which made seeing around bends harder than it should be. Visibility is otherwise excellent; the big wing mirrors gives a great view of the wide rear haunches, which adds to the sense of occasion, and as mentioned, the windscreen is quite large for a small coupe.

On the move – Breaking speed limits without breaking sweat

The fact that the RCZ is a different sort of animal from the TT surfaces again when you start to drive it. It immediately doesn’t feel as manic and super sharp as the Audi, and all the better for it I reckon. Don’t misread that as slow though, because the range topping 200 THP engine with 200 bhp and 275 Nm makes the RCZ a brisk car to drive, even if the pace isn’t as noticeably explosive as the VW Group’s 2.0 turbo. The raw figures confirm this: 0-100 km/h is 7.5 seconds on to a top speed of 240 km/h.

The 200 THP from the BMW-PSA Prince engine joint venture is one of the brightest examples of downsizing in existence, producing that sort of figures from 1.6 litres. It’s as modern a petrol engine can get, with twin-scroll turbocharging, direct injection and variable valve timing/lift. Twin-scroll turbos groups the exhaust ports into pairs, directing more constant and stronger flow towards the turbine for maximum boost. Peugeot also makes loud noises (pardon the pun) about Sound System technology, where a diaphragm works as a resonator to create sound amplified by an acoustic duct during intake and acceleration.

Yes, there’s a deeper and more audible sound when you step on it, and while we appreciate the vocal encouragement, the sound isn’t the most melodic an engine can make (it’s a small four-cylinder after all). It quietens down when you’re cruising, of course. However, the 200 THP engine loses the turbo wooshing sounds 308 Turbo owners are familiar with.

Like lower powered siblings in the Prince engine family, the 200 THP is smooth revving and turbo lag isn’t an issue. But what I loved most about the range topping RCZ is the engine’s fantastic flexibility. Even if you’re doing 50 km/h in fifth, it’ll still trundle along without coughing and pull away cleanly when you jab the gas pedal. Fast highway cruising done is extremely relaxed fashion, no downshifting is needed at all if you anticipate traffic well. Fits my regular driving style like a glove.

Driving department – Non hardcore satisfaction

But when we moved off the highway to narrow, winding Basque country roads (didn’t encounter any renegade separatist, thankfully), the engine stepped out of its easy going mode into race mode with ease, aided by the standard six-speed manual gearbox. While the shift action isn’t the slickest we’ve tried, it’s still fun to snick through the gears manually in a car like this. Some complained of slight notchiness; I say it’s not the most conducive for fast work. Want to try for yourself? Go test drive the 308 GT – the RCZ’s feels just like it.

I personally won’t consider a small sports coupe like the RCZ with a torque converter auto, but I know not many are with me on this. Peugeot knows this for a fact too, and when this engine makes its sales debut in the RCZ later this year, it’s likely to be also fitted with a six-speed automatic, and that combo is the one Nasim is eyeing for Malaysia. The auto ‘box is claimed to be highly efficient and quick.

Will it be anything like the poor autos we’re used to from Peugeot? Not likely, because this AT6 slushbox is made by Aisin of Japan. Manual loyalists, pray hard.

Peugeot RCZ Test Drive Report from Spain So far so good, but how does the RCZ drive? It’ll be a wasted opportunity if it drives anything like the 308, which is a real fear since this coupe sits on the same “Platform 2” as the 308 and Citroen C4 and share the basic suspension setup – front MacPherson struts and rear torsion beam. Some among us treat “torsion beam” like a bad word, but if you’ve driven a well set up torsion beam suspended car – the Renaultsport Megane R26 comes to mind, the 308 range is not – the bias fades away.

Anyway, unique spring and damper rates, wider tracks and the RCZ’s naturally low centre of gravity all combine to ensure that the RCZ flows down a B-road (or any road for that matter) with much more finesse than a 308 can ever dream of, which means that the RCZ doesn’t thump and hop its way around. It has a softer gait than either TT or Scirocco without being mushy, and rode very comfortably throughout our test route – only once or twice over bigger ridges or bumps did we feel the whack. 18 and 19-inch wheels are available, our test car had the former, and so will Malaysia bound cars. Grip is great.

The steering is improved over the 308; there’s slightly more feel (could still do with more) and the weighting/sensation is more natural. I also find the helm to be friendlier than the quick and sharp but artificial feeling steering of the TT.

All in all, the RCZ is a fast and satisfying car to drive, and not just when you’re in the mood – though it doesn’t look it, the RCZ is a sports car that will do daily duties without you, or it, complaining.

HDi diesel engine – Won’t be coming

Peugeot RCZ Test Drive Report from SpainWe also got to sample the RCZ with a 2.0-litre HDi FAP diesel engine. As expected, it’s very torquey with 340 Nm available from 2,000-3,000 rpm (power is 163 bhp), but I was pleasantly surprised with its eagerness to rev.

This variable geometry turbo engine was happy to indulge my right foot, revving cleanly to 4,500 rpm, although there’s not much point taking it that far – 4,000 revs is a better point to shift up. And while the clatter can be heard outside, it’s sounds pretty decent from inside the cabin, certainly less diesel-like than the Focus TDCi, a car that uses an engine from the same joint venture diesel engine family as this Peugeot HDi FAP.

The HDi makes the RCZ an even more effortless car to drive quick, and claimed combined consumption of 18.9 km/l (claimed figure for 200 THP is 14.5 km/l) wraps up the great package. However, if you’re really pushing on in serious attack mode, the petrol is more satisfying and effective. Here, we had a smaller rev range to play around with, and constant gear changing was required. The car’s front end felt a touch more heavy too, although the difference isn’t night and day.

Both the HDi and the entry level petrol powered RCZ which we didn’t try (similiar tune to the Peugeot 3008 spec – 156 bhp, 240 Nm, 14.9 km/l) doesn’t come with the 200 THP’s Sport pack, which includes larger front suspension pivots (from the 407), additional lower bracing bar and larger front brake discs (340 mm vs 302 mm).

RCZ – More than just a cheaper TT

Conceptually, the RCZ is closest to the Audi TT (which is why we referred to the Audi so much in this report) but must also take on the VW Scirocco, which is priced at RM244K in Malaysia. The Peugeot will undercut the expensive TT by a big margin when it arrives at the end of this year or early 2011, but Nasim is also working hard to price the Austrian made RCZ lower than the VW. Expect the spec sheet to contain more than you need, which is standard practice for Nasim with the Peugeot models it’s been selling so far.

The eventual price may lead some to think of the RCZ as a cut priced TT that’s not as good, but that would be wrong. Both are quite different in character and I actually prefer the fast and friendly approach of the RCZ over the fast and (slightly more) furious style of the TT. And looks? It’s subjective, but in my books Peugeot has made a better TT than the current TT.

You might have guessed already, but yes, I’ve finally found a Peugeot to be desirable.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Eric G on May 24, 2010 at 5:50 pm

aw man..i was expecting lower than rm244k…RCZ cannot open roof?

• Vincent on May 24, 2010 at 5:55 pm

How much it going to cost in Bolehland?

It should be higher than the 207CC RM 150K right?

Don;t think Naza will CKD it as the demand no attractive enough…500 unit a year might also a challege..

So, dream car still in dream and will never materialise in an average earning person in Bolehland..

• ProTip on May 25, 2010 at 9:03 am

Looking at the quality of Malaysian CKD cars, I’m not sure a CKD RCZ would be a good idea.

• Vincent on May 25, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Agreed…The CKD quality ready spoilt the brand name. Like 407, such a great car, after CKD, try to close the door and you will know what is quality in assemby…

Even Thailand assemby Madza 2 is better than CKD bolehland..

• The Loner on May 24, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Nasim, please bring it here.

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 24, 2010 at 6:25 pm

It’s coming here either late 2010 or early 2011

• klguy on May 24, 2010 at 6:11 pm

wow 308 kena kutuk kaukau. i guess its kutuk-able when comparing to other contis but not when comparing against japs. am i rite?

• well, different people will have different views and sometimes a writer can make those views stronger than necessary but still, it is the writer’s views. thankfully those views are not shared by the general public.

• rayzel on May 24, 2010 at 7:37 pm

yeah man.. Mr Writer really hate 308 meh? but for the price of RM113k.. you cannot get the same performance and driving pleasure as compared to the rest of conti..

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 24, 2010 at 9:08 pm

I did say that the 308’s sheer value for money in Malaysia cannot be ignored. For the price, it’s a great alternative to the usual suspects, and the equipment levels shame some cars from a class above. But it’s not a great driver’s car

• Puggy on May 24, 2010 at 9:37 pm

what do u think about 207cc ?…issit a good car ?….

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 24, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Very cute car and the most affordable way to go topless.
          Would buy it for my girlfriend if I were rich! :)

• Puggy on May 25, 2010 at 7:04 am

+_+ ???……u mean 207cc only good for chicks ah ?….207cc design not macho meh ?…LoL

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 10:13 am

Not a driver’s car? But what’s YOUR daily driver, Danny, as a benchmark?

• klguy on May 25, 2010 at 9:53 am

danny, u sound like the jeremy clarkson of malaysia :P .

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 25, 2010 at 3:21 pm

I don’t watch Top Gear and he’s certainly not my idol :)

Mad Cat, as mentioned, my Euro C-segment hatch benchmark is the Golf and Focus. Both excel in different areas.
          Looking through all your comments, you sound very agitated. We all have our opinions, you have a right to disagree, but it’s nothing personal – on our part at least.

• beamer28 (Member) on May 24, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Acceptable design, good engine ….. but why can’t they come out with an appealling autobox? (like DSG?) instead of just a normal manual box, I guess them frenchies just don’t use them ….

• kimi_ on May 24, 2010 at 6:37 pm

NAZA AGAIN???? so they will slap the STUPID naza badge on it….

I hate the ass-shaped rear window….

Give me the AUDI TT anytime which is stunning looking as i saw on road yesterday compared to this UGLY……

• has naza slapped any naza logo on their peugeot cars and rebranded them recently? i only know of the 206 that was affected. not the 407, not the 308, not the 3008… i must have missed it then.

• rayzel on May 24, 2010 at 7:39 pm

You can always remove the badge if you dont like it.. yeah go and buy the AUDI TT..

• Choon on May 24, 2010 at 7:45 pm

People talk with money… :P

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 10:17 am

Assume = Ass-u-me. Assumptions make an ass of u and me.

• one of the best looking coupe around!

just imagine if it is rmr…

• i like most PUGs but sorry to this.. is pure ugliness…
    like a bubble car in against wind
    looks like peugeot front, tt body and some weird ass

• Very desireable indeed! Can’t wait to see it in person..

• jab strong fierce! on May 24, 2010 at 7:14 pm

the styling is kinda weird to me. if I have the moolah, definitely will drop it on a Scirocco. all in all, beauty is in the eye of the beholder

• don^don on May 24, 2010 at 7:30 pm

this coupe might look good alright, but its booooring. but wad makes me not givin it a chance is the stupid Naza emblem, why pay so much for that 4 words? i’d get it if its a real lion.

• rayzel on May 24, 2010 at 7:40 pm

Of course they are not going to remove the big lion emblem..duh!!!
      They will just stick Naza at the right hand side..

• where got naza logo on the car?

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 24, 2010 at 9:12 pm

There won’t be any Naza logo on the car. RCZ will be a CBU import from Austria

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 10:34 am

Other than the 206 Bestari which was sold by Naza Corporation prior to Nasim being appointed as the official distributor of Peugeot, which Peugeot has been badged “the stupid Naza emblem”?

• Henry Tang on May 24, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Small volume cars like this one is more expensive to build. I would expect the price to be about that of the Scirocco. 230k, maybe.

Like the Mazda MX5, this one won’t find many buyers.

• another overprice rubbish!

• drMpower on May 24, 2010 at 8:16 pm

i am sorry mate, no pug fan here, but that 308 is not supposely contesting with Golf or that Ford. infact the GT 3 door version is much much lower specced than the golf n ford.

thus making it irrelevant at all when u said about comparing the three.

theres much powered 308 on the way. the 308 GTi if in case u missed it.

that should be lining up with those germans and the american, if u ask me.

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 24, 2010 at 9:24 pm

drMpower, are you thinking Golf GTI and Focus RS?
      There are actually many variants of these cars below the performance flagship.
      I have driven non-GTI Mk5 and Mk6 Golfs before, and the latter is my Euro C-segment benchmark.

Did you read about the 308 GTI from here?
      http://paultan.org/2010/05/20/peugeot-introduces-308-gti-with-200-thp-engine/
      I wouldn’t have “missed it” because I wrote it

• Alpha on May 24, 2010 at 9:56 pm

hahaha!!eat that,drMpower!!XD

Danny,how much do u think RCZ would be priced??somehow i think it’ll be around 190k to 210k.

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 24, 2010 at 10:58 pm

They’re still working on bringing it in at the best (read lowest) price. Good guess though!

• Puggy on May 25, 2010 at 7:12 am

there are “rumours” spreading around that the 200hp version wont come into our market in malaysia,since malaysians are obsessed with automatic transmission,hence,only the 156hp version will come in i guess….

which is a sad thing….sigh,nothing like driving a manual transmission with 200hp……..

• drMpower on May 25, 2010 at 1:53 am

sorry mate. i missed it.

it was Golf MK6 instead of Golf GTi.

apology where it is due.

and of course u wouldnt miss it. u wrote it.

• Paul Tan on May 24, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Danny mentioned nothing about the golf gti and focus st, he said golf and focus. Of course the 308 competes against them, they are all c segment hatches.

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 10:31 am

But when he writes, “he Pug is no where near a Golf Mk6 in overall ability and is unenjoyable to drive next to the Focus.” isn’t he comparing the 308GT with the Golf GTi?

• Paul Tan on May 25, 2010 at 11:47 am

I think he was comparing the 308 to
          Mk6 non GTI Golfs he drove overseas.

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 25, 2010 at 3:54 pm

You must have missed my earlier comment.
          There was no “Golf GTI” mentioned in the story.
          We’re talking about the cars below the performance flagship.

• shawal on May 24, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Those twin-fork 5-spoked alloys are gorgeous!!
    Maybe after 3 years peugeot will facelift the RCZ with less gaping front inspired by the SR1 concept….

But Still…. this is a beeaaauuuttiiiifuulll car, beautifullly proportioned…, 206cc, and 307cc has been very popular here in malaysia…., the tradition continues…

• mitlanevo on May 24, 2010 at 9:37 pm

oh boy, peugeot is getting better and better…

this car looks great!!!

• think on May 24, 2010 at 9:43 pm

the price must be around RM155k..then it’s wise..the peugeot 308gt is overpriced and this rcz must sit at that price level or slightly more which can be around RM5k..

• pacifictuna on May 24, 2010 at 10:36 pm

RCZ for 155k? i’ll have another few sleepless night…… haha.

• techart touch on May 24, 2010 at 10:28 pm

if the price slightly difference from the German side,Audi TT and VW Scirocco this RCZ would find really hard to surpass the buyer volumes of both german production cars….

• odi862 on May 24, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Personally I think Naza will priced it sub RM200k. If they put the price tag above that it seems too high and many would be buyers will choose the German made since Pug brand still not well established here. Anyway, Naza do try to urge Malaysian to “try” buying this brand by throwing a lots of spec that normally don’t come with other premium brands. I hope their strategy works. It will be better if it comes with free services and longer warranty or even special low interest rates for the fresh new models. Just hoping here….

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 10:19 am

Naza doesn’t sell it. Nasim does.

• 199,999 OTR
      hehehe..

personally if the price over 200K, I would go for Golf GTI or scirocco but this is a kinda unique car which will make head turns..

• Vezeroth on May 24, 2010 at 10:50 pm

Trying hard to like the design, but i just can’t… I dont know why, but it looks real ugly and not like a man’s car at all… The double bubble looks really stupid to me, i heard its good for the aerodynamics though i can’t see how… and Danny how’s the visibility through the bubble glass, does it get distorted?
    I just cannot seem to like it….

• Paul Tan on May 24, 2010 at 10:55 pm

Whatever it is should seriously buy windscreen insurance!

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 24, 2010 at 10:55 pm

Nope, did not notice any distorted view

• mystvearn on May 26, 2010 at 12:45 am

Did you manage to drive the car at night? Was it the Citroen C6 with its weird bubble glass makes it impossible for you to see what is going on in the rear because of the refrection from the 3rd brake light. lol

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 26, 2010 at 11:19 am

I did not get the chance to drive it at night, so can’t really comment on that

• ibex7 on May 25, 2010 at 4:10 am

the design were supposed to minimise the air flowing over the glass from becoming turbulent hence lower drag thus less fuel will be consumed by the engine. all in all, it’s an amazing engineering design from peugeot.

• 4G63tDSM on May 25, 2010 at 9:07 am

Typically the double bubble is for helmet clearence. Doubt many of these would be found tearing up a racetrack though.

• ProTip on May 25, 2010 at 9:07 am

Takes time to get used to modern designs I guess. If you look at other trend leading cars you’ll notice most people said they did not like them either but changed their minds after getting used to it.

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 10:28 am

The double bubble is obviously inspired by Zagato’s coachbuilt double bubble roofs. It stems from the old days when headroom was tailored to be a tight fit and gentlemen who took their cars racing needed to wear helmets. Zagato catered to their needs with (extra cost) double bubble roofs.

• looks like yesteryears vw karmann ghia

• onekaicha on May 25, 2010 at 9:59 am

you are quite right. From the side view, and especially the rear wheel arch. They certainly have the ‘same family’ look. Same designer??

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 10:21 am

The stepped beltline and rear wheelarch definitely pays homage to Carrozzeria Ghia, which styled the Karmann Ghia.

• firefox on May 24, 2010 at 11:46 pm

agreed, if on 230K, sure go for Scirocco, because of technology, performance and tuning

• a coupe has a diff target and pricing structure not for any TDH.

• don’t think they want to sell this in large numbers. the german car fans can have their sciroccos and the tts. this is probably not suitable for them if they are looking for a cheapo rip off. it is for someone who is looking for something that is new and uncommon. for sure it won’t be cheap (in comparison to the 2 german cars).

• Mad Cat on May 26, 2010 at 9:17 am

Very true, VW customers know what they want and have the money for it. I don’t believe Peugeot’s strategy is to win over these customers.

German cars are at the top of the premium food chain (not to be confused with exotics, please).

JAN-APR 2010, Toyota 27,888, Honda 14,005, Nissan 10,115, Mitsubishi 3946, Suzuki 2184, Benz 1523, BMW 1242, Mazda 1180, Ford 711, Peugeot 712, VW 359, Audi 234,Lexus 168, Volvo 191.

Peugeot may not be ‘the best’ for a lot of people but the sales figures tells us that they’re working hard to put more lions on the road. Basically Peugeot is offering an easy entry into European motoring, at Japanese prices.

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 26, 2010 at 11:25 am

And we welcome that approach. Peugeot in Malaysia has “opened the eyes” of many who previously only had the usual few suspects on their buying lists

• ayamxxx on May 25, 2010 at 12:46 am

wow got gps!

• Isaac Cheah on May 25, 2010 at 12:49 am

I seriously hope nasim is reading the comments here. Pricing is going to be crucial if they don’t want a repeat of the 308GT.

If they are gonna price it circa 150k, it’ll likely do very well indeed. Especially if they can squeeze it just below 150k so that businesses can claim double the capital allowance as compared to if it was >150k.

In addition, if they were to price it circa 190k – 210k, many would just choose the Golf GTI, faster, more practical, better tech and it’s German.

Heck, 150k is probably swallowable for a 2+2 design trumps practicality coupe, but moving it up to 200k+ most will end up cross shopping with Golf GTI, C200 CGI as they’ll likely want more practicality for their money, not to mention the importance of brand power in that price segment.

• Choon on May 25, 2010 at 4:29 am

I think it will be hard to price at sub 200K, if that is true, this car should sell good!

• this is par with TT, not golf, so stop dreaming of it at below RM190K

• perhaps, they are not even expecting to sell many? this may just be a hero model. sell maybe 1 or 2 a year kinda thing? more for image rather than add to the bottomline. good also for those who buy. won’t be so common.

• 4G63tDSM on May 25, 2010 at 9:05 am

You’ve not factored in the price of exclusivity.

People will pay more for being different. Someone that ends up buying something like this wont probably need the +2 seats, or large boot. Else they would have gotten a sedan or Euro hatch like the Golf or Focus.

Just look at how many 206CCs are there on the road….the 206CC isn’t exactly budget priced…..

Naza isn’t really interested in selling boat loads of these either.

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 10:26 am

I believe it will be 200k plus. These are brand enhancement models so they’re not interested in volume. How can Automobiles Peugeot offer pricing lower than the 308GT? Doesn’t make sense. People in the 200k bracket usually buy whatever they like and the RCZ is like using the latest Louis Vuitton suit. The masses can go for Hugo Boss (German).

• Paul Tan on May 25, 2010 at 11:42 am

The 308 GT is already 160k. Don’t think it’s fair to expect the RCZ to go for anything less than 200k. Perhaps the 308 GTI can be priced at a 20k premium over the 308 GT and then the RCZ for around 210k? At this price it would have already significantly undercut the TT and Scirocco. This isn’t a Golf competitor, the bodytype is different.

• kimi_ on May 25, 2010 at 2:38 pm

Naza , Nasim…. is not CARE of selling cars now….low price???? TOTALLY FORGET it

They more serious of G project , land and property area now and managed by a bunch of

cronies which make money AS AP KING BEFORE

• 4G63tDSM on May 26, 2010 at 10:13 am

You are absolutely right.

Which ever the case, I don;t expect the price to dip anythere below 200k.

The 308GT/ (or next GTi) does already undercut its german rival a fair bit…and this is another vehicle class to boot. One is a “sporty” car, the rest are Hatchbacks with very economical roots.

Wonder why no one compares these to the SLK, TT and then see how that price, even at 250k sounds like a steal. (maybe one can draw the same parallel to the TT = Golf in sexy clothing)

The other problem that we here face is, importers typically only bring in the top models. We typicaly don’t see the lower end trims.

The RCZ doesn’t have an “economy” model cheapning its image. Its a bespoke model…unlike the Golf, Focus, etc. We don’t have cheap Golfs here so all we see/know is the GTI.

What we have here are posters of limited exposure …although I don’t blame them for being ill-informed. Its just how it is here.

• Isaac Cheah on May 28, 2010 at 1:25 am

Who says they can’t price it around RM150k?

Did you know that if you go to www.peugeot.co.uk and spec up the 3008 THP156 to the same trim level we get in Malaysia it comes up to GBP21,330? And even then it’s specced with a manual as compared to the 6 speed auto we’re getting. With the same specs, and additional 6 speed auto, the 3008 is selling for about RM140k here.

The RCZ THP156 GT (high trim version) is GBP 22,750. RM150k isn’t impossible unless nasim wants to shoot itself in the foot like the 308GT. Heck, when I spec up the 308GT to the same level we have in Malaysia it comes up to GBP21,000. And they managed to price it at RM160k way back when the GBP was way stronger than the RM…

• 2-Sen Opinion.com on May 25, 2010 at 2:59 am

Any man driving this car might as well put on a lipstick , pink colour would be nicer.
    You all men , including the writer , wake up meh . All these coupes / CC whatever / open tops .. only look good for single lady drivers of the sugar daddies . This is Malaysia loh ! Believe me, try drive that thing yourself around Sekinchan or Parit Sulong , the locals may think that the circus is coming to town . So, it can only be relevant along roads around Mont Kiara , KLCC, Starhill and again should be driven by ladies , with artficial light brown hair . So , plse adjust the review & opinion according to the target driver cohort & about the price tag , don’t border gambling over it , the sugar daddy will pick up the bill .

He, he he , good nite mate ..

• Motorist on May 25, 2010 at 12:16 pm

Hahahaha,,, so bloody true, mate.

Sugar daddies will be signing cheques soon for this baby. Anything to keep their baby happy ;-)

A certain ex Miss M’sia runner up drives lime green Pug 207 CC. Wonder who the sugar daddy is?

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 12:24 pm

If it gets interest from the ladies, I’m all for it. Unless of course, you want to attract men!

• BoringMOOMOO on May 25, 2010 at 3:23 am

GO LION!!!!

• Puggy on May 25, 2010 at 7:09 am

a very good test drive report…..i like it since both danny tan n paul tan ( ok,me dunno who went to spain to test this car…lol ) did a great job by giving a clear and straight foward review without being biased…. : )

keep the good work guys……

p/s thanks for the wonderful pics,now i got a clear idea on how the interior looks like….

• Tiadaid on May 25, 2010 at 10:00 am

What does the FAP in the HDi FAP diesel mean? Couldn’t they have chosen a better name instead of a word associated with a vulgar slang?

• Paul Tan on May 25, 2010 at 11:38 am

FAP stands for filteres a particules which is basically French for particulate filter.

• Wish we could have those HDI FAP engine, more practical for real world usage and economical too. Btw, aren’t Msia suppose to be euro4 compliance nxt year?…any chance for the coming 5008/3008 or even the 308 with a diesel line up nxt year?

• tokmoh on May 25, 2010 at 11:43 pm

HAHAHAHAHHAHAHA!!!!

Oh damn, this sounds so very, VEEEEEEEERY wrong!!! Those French should check urbandictionary before naming their products!!!

• Kevin Lee on May 25, 2010 at 11:40 am

Basically, the double bubble roof was conceptualised by Zagato. Most Zagato designed cars had these double bubble roofs. Such examples of these double bubbled roof classic cars can fetch the millions. They found a Double bubbled roof Maserati in Sicily and redone everything. Basically, its a design that is a tribute to the past, but it has to be properly executed

The reason for 2 bubbles is really because, if the car were to be raced, they needed clearance for their safety/race helmets. That’s cos the normal car was not designed to have helmets in it. So yeah, if anyone watched 8 PM last week on Discovery real time, that was the explanation to the double bubble roof concept. Though, this double bubble idea is about 50 years now and perhaps should be retired from practical use.

• GT27 (Member) on May 25, 2010 at 1:05 pm

This car reminds me of Mitsubishi Eclipse in US, only Mitsubishi Eclipse is much bigger on size…

• 4G63tDSM on May 26, 2010 at 10:17 am

nah…. The Eclipse is a whole different animal…..even the new softened version is more racy.

You wont feel your manhood feeling compromized driving the Eclipse. Expecially the older fire breathing turbo awd versions…..

• Harimau Kayu on May 25, 2010 at 1:22 pm

Well, I think Nasim did a good job in bringing in these type of great cars amidst of their well catered line-up. I don’t agree with Danny Tan, I suppose the writer or contributor for this column. He is either too much of a JDM freak or loves Germans so so much that he is here to step on the Pug’s tail. Funny is that he said the 308 don’t at all moves him, but all the specs and price are well within a attractive and affordable perimeter, drawback is the Porsche tiptronic, in that I agree. TO my dismay, he compares it to hot hatch like the VW Mark 6. Aww come on…look at its price, we are here in Malaysia, not in Europe or other posh country where prices of car are a total different mechanism. Compares it with a Civic FD 2.0L or even Altis 1.8ltr will make some sense to me. Do u compare an Altis or FD2 2.0 against a Mk6? Think again what sort of bracket are u referring to. To be completely honest, you neither shows professionalism or know nuts about cars with such biased report. For your info, I’m not a Pug fan, but a Paultan reader who catches up everyday. But yr write-up is honestly, a lousy piece of work.

• Paul Tan on May 25, 2010 at 2:42 pm

You wouldn’t compare a mk6 golf against a civic sedan or altis but you certainly would compare it to an auris or a civic fn. He was not talking about the mk6 golf gti but the mk6 golf, which he has had the opportunity to sample overseas. Yes, the non-gti golf is not sold here but what I think Danny is trying to say is that despite the 308 offering so much value at it’s price here, it does not excite him as a drivers car and he is not willing to “settle” for a 308 jus because it’s better competitors are not sold in Malaysia. Rather wait than buy second best. But I’ll let him answer himself later.

• kimi_ on May 25, 2010 at 2:43 pm

WHAT A NASIM DEALER AND EMPLOYEE COMMENTS, GO IMPROVE YOUR SERVICE FIRST, DUDE

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Hate to condemn people outright but I have to say Danny’s article is a little too biased. I’ve driven the Golf GTi and the 308 Turbo, both for extended periods.

The 308 handles very nicely. It goes where I point it. Step on the throttle and it really pulls. It’s an ego booster. People look. With the glasstop open. MORE people look.

If you’re really comparing with the Golf 1.6 (not for sale on VW Malaysia’s site) vs 308 Turbo (RM113,888 glasstop, fully loaded) … it ain’t too realistic guys.

What’s the definition of a ‘Driver’s Car’ anyway? Respectfully, your yardstick for a car to “cut it as a hot hatch” may not be the same as Mr. Joe Q. Public who actually goes out and buys new cars.

• Paul Tan on May 25, 2010 at 3:32 pm

If I’m not mistaken, 308 vti competitor would be golf 1.4 single turbo 122hp. the 1.4 liter twincharged engine comes with various other tunes – 140hp, 160hp, etc. that normally aspirated 1.6 fsi has been phased out.

• Mad Cat on May 26, 2010 at 9:27 am

I’m not sure if those are sold here though. I couldn’t find those tunes on the VW Malaysia site.

• Paul Tan on May 26, 2010 at 9:35 am

They’re not unfortunately. Heard that some media got to try Jetta and Touran 1.4 twincharged but they’re not on sale either.

• Harimau Kayu on May 25, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Anyway, the above was just a comment of an avid Paultan reader. U may have compared the 308Gt to Mk6, but to me, u should literally study the price of the vehicle 1st…if more than a fragment away from yr Mk6….I think your comment is still biased.

• KL fella on May 25, 2010 at 3:06 pm

i think you’re looking at the pricing rather than the segment of the cars being reviewed. usually cars are reviewed based on segments rather than prices. it’s only in m’sia you get this mentality of looking at prices and compare it to totally different segment.

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 25, 2010 at 4:27 pm

Sometimes I wonder if people really read what we write before letting their emotions/brand loyalties take over. For the record once again:

I did not mention Golf GTI anywhere in the report. Mk6 refers to this current generation of the Golf, not just the GTI. I have driven few variants of the non-GTI Mk5 and Mk6 Golf which compete directly with the 308 in Europe.

How can I be a “JDM freak” when I described myself as “someone who leans more on the Continental side of the argument when it comes down to Europe vs Japan” in the article?

To be able to claim to be the best, you’ve got to go against the best of your kind – applies in the workplace, in sports and also with cars. The 308 is, we repeat, IS, a direct rival to the Golf, Focus, Megane and Astra. All are C-segment hatchbacks designed in Europe for their core market, which is Europe.

If Malaysia was an open market, like in Singapore, you’d be able to buy an equivalent Golf or Focus for 308 money. Malaysia is not, which is why the 308 is in a very special position, competing in price against Japanese C-segment saloons, which are generally not as well equipped. I did mention that the “308’s sheer value can’t be ignored” if you noticed.

As for me disliking the 308 in the driving department, I’m entitled to my own opinion, and so do you. As journalists, we have probably driven more cars in the same segment than the average enthusiast have, and we make comparisons based on this experience.

• kimi_ on May 25, 2010 at 4:55 pm

CHILL bro, they thought golf mk6 is golf GTI, this may confuse them

• tokmoh on May 25, 2010 at 11:58 pm

lol, kesian Danny :)

There’s a reason why the word BLIND comes before basher/fanboyism. Now we see the reason why, kan Danny? :)

• Sabar Danny… Biasalah people misunderstood your writing .. coz sometimes they read it with a fixed idea and they see (read) what they thought instead of what was actually written.

It happened to me quite a few times… then I wonder why people don’t understand it like I did.. Actually I was the one that read (understand) it wrongly.. LOL

• Harimau Kayu on May 26, 2010 at 2:39 pm

Oops…you are right though. Thanks for the reply. I totally agree with you entitling yourself to you own opinion. Honestly, I was typing the reply to try out only…I was playing around and suddenly…I pressed the submit comment button. Thought of withdrawing it…but no choice..its already being moderated. Ha ha.. no offense… I’m just trying out. The whole body of my reply are submitted accidentally, that is why I posted the follow-up comment. Read and understood. Apology to you. The whole thing just didn’t meant to be.

• thebugbud on May 25, 2010 at 1:53 pm

The looks is subjective and beauty is on the eye of the beholder. BUT, it’s French! For all the past models and miseries suffered by the owners.. (especially the gearbox).

I don’t especially have much faith with Pug.. like it or not the German make better quality car.

Exclusive cars also come with exclusive parts, getting parts in later years will be a great challenge. Not knowingly, how long Naza decide to stock up parts in their inventory.

Exclusive cars also need exclusive services. Pug specialists are limited and these cars are built with advance stuffs. Not many will able to service the cars.

• kimi_ on May 25, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Please dont let NAZA GROUP to dominate our automotive industry please, They are in

control of too many brands, THis will results in the NAZA manipulate the cars price…

Their services SUCKS….maintenance SUCKS than Proton

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 3:36 pm

The result is good products at competitive pricing. What’s wrong with that?

• kimi_ on May 25, 2010 at 4:56 pm

NOPE, the result is they will set the price they like and reduce the competitiveness coz they are too dominan

• Vezeroth on May 25, 2010 at 7:01 pm

Agree with you kimi, its dangerous to let 1 guy control everything… Hope it doesn’t happen…

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 7:04 pm

Maybe the others are overpriced despite CEPT and ASEAN content exemptions, and anyway the non-Proton/Perodua market is dominated by Toyota and Honda, actually, aren’t they?

Isn’t their price positioning to cater to what the market wants?

• Paul Tan on May 26, 2010 at 3:13 pm

You can be worried all you want about the future but looking at the CURRENT prices and specs of the bread and butter (lets not look at the exotic supercars) cars offered by Naza for both their Korean and French marques represent very good value so let’s start pointing fingers only if they deserve to be pointed at and not based on speculation.

• Hey loser on May 25, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Harimau Kayu,

Firstly, calling someones work a lousy piece of work just because you disagree with them is childish and uncalled for. Why don’t you come up with a good retort instead? (BTW your comment was lousy, your grammar sucks, and you Sir knows nuts about cars-how does that feel?)

Secondly, where in the entire article did Danny compare the 308GT to the Golf GTI?? He simply said Golf Mk6, which FYI to you ignorent ppl, there are other variants of the Golf besides the GTI. Even the 160PS Golf Twincharger could whoop the Pug GT anytime of the week till Sunday.

Then when your beloved Pug comes out with a car and calls it “GTI”, it better bring it! But at a pathetic 0-100 at 7.7sc vs. Golf “the real” GTI’s 6.9sc. It simply pales in comparrison. To put it in perspective the Passat CC (with the same 200PS as Pug GTI)can get to a century in 7.7 sc and this car weighs 1.5 tonnes!!

Regards,
    Someone who has tested every single one of the cars mentioned in his response

• Mad Cat on May 25, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Yeah the Golf GTI’s a real drag racin’ machine. Whoo-hoo!

• 4G63tDSM on May 26, 2010 at 10:20 am

Golf GTI a real drag racin’ machine?

Please….

Fast hatchback yes, drag machine at almost 7 seconds to the century marker?

• Harimau Kayu on May 26, 2010 at 2:53 pm

Dear Loser,

Didn’t mean to irk you. Thanks for pointing out. Anyway, its just done accidentally. I do understand that every writer are entitled to their own opinion…that is why they can come biased like I said..I respect Danny’s comment though. And also apologized for the criticism. You can call me stupid, childish or whatever as you wish. But all I did was just to try out submitting a comment not realizing that I accidentally submitted the content. That is just purely not intended to.

Especially to you, I’m just not a Pug lover or whatever. Just purely my first unfiltered view. Sorry for the lousy grammar, English or whatever that doesn’t meet your eyes in my comment.

• Paul Tan on May 26, 2010 at 3:11 pm

I don’t think a real driver’s car is measured by its 0 to 100km/h acceleration time… unless you’re American maybe.

• Vincent on May 25, 2010 at 4:00 pm

Bro.. bro…

It is just a forum to exchange opinion and what for we have to prove that our view is right?

Every one has own preference…

Some look for realiability, some hunt for look, performance and some just take car as a mean of transport from point A to point B…

So…we shall respect individual preference… that is us, the special of people in bolehland …don’t make war.. make love…heheh

• kimi_ on May 25, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Hey Danny, is that you in the picture sit in the back seat?????

btw, Danny is you brother of Paul Tan SINCE both of you are Tan …./

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 26, 2010 at 12:21 am

There are many Tans around bro!

• tokmoh on May 26, 2010 at 10:04 am

lol, at this rate, people might start thinking both of u n Paul are Tan Sri Vincent Tan’s sons :D

And kimi, yes, that’s Danny sitting at the back seat.

• BSLee on May 25, 2010 at 11:03 pm

I owned one Renault(espace2004) and one 308vti(2009).I drove BMW 5 E39) before. To tell you the truth French car is for comfort and bit of enjoyment in performance but not as refined as the german. Its part are not lasting too..

• used non national car user on May 26, 2010 at 11:58 am

I agree with you.

If the price is less than 150k, I will surely grab one!

• BSLee on May 26, 2010 at 7:24 pm

I think CBU price will be about 175K and 150K for CKD later. It will definitely doing well if sell lower than 150k.

• Rizal on May 27, 2010 at 8:57 am

RM 200 k to buy a dugong like car.. ? not worth it to me.

Rear mirror look weird and ugly. Any explanation on that mirror? is it the new design for car?

• intermilan on May 27, 2010 at 8:24 pm

finally, the focus is back to the RCZ…

• Seann on May 28, 2010 at 8:18 pm

I’m wondering how will this RCZ stand up to the Hyundai Genesis Coupe…??

I saw two, yes 2, Hyundai Genesis Coupe on the roads in Hanoi in May 2009 last year when I was there on a holiday. Wondering if this is coming to Malaysia soon? And I want the manual option, PLEASE..!!

• Ah Bear on May 29, 2010 at 12:06 am

The front can do some neater trick to differentiate it from the standard 308.

Nice car overall, auto or manual,

• frenchie on Jun 01, 2010 at 9:19 am

Perhaps like pop up lights? Or maybe a Zonda style front? ;)

• ah beng on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:17 pm

you can take it from me that they will bring in the rcz by early next year if peugeot cannot confirm tne auto gearbox for the 200 hp model. so we got to get the the 156hp instead. if peugeot confirm the availability of the 200 hp auto by year end , thats the model we are going to get. price Rm 265,000.00. as for the gt model, expect to pay Rm 235,000.00!!!

• Dhazza on Sep 16, 2010 at 3:23 pm

This month (sept ’10) issue of FHM has a 2-page spread on the RCZ…and it lists the 1.6 model price as RM125,330 (!) and to contact peugeot.com.my for more info. Called em up, but the person I spoke to had no info at all on the car and was clueless.

Surely a mistake? The car retails for approx 21,000 pounds in the UK, convert that to RM and its about 110K. Don’t know where FHM got their price from, though the do say “…way more exotic than its RM100K starting price suggests”.

Paul/Danny?

• Kenny Woon on Oct 07, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Yes, I saw that review as well on the FHM Sept 2010 issue and I must say I am taken aback on the pricing part. Appreciate if anybody here can provide confirmation on the pricing..thank you.

• simon on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:23 am

Let’s forget about the price , what about the performance ? Can RCZ perform as good as TT ? 0-100km @ 6.2second and top speed of 240-250kmh ? Besides that TT can be easily upgrade from 200hp to 250hp @ 0 – 100km only 5 second plus and top speed of 260 – 270 kmh .To drive a sport car performance is the key factor !

• torchedvirus on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:49 am

There are no RCZs left in Malaysia. I really want one but there is no way I could get a dealer who could show me the car before I can book it please help me out.

• Anonymous on Sep 25, 2011 at 6:28 pm

there’s only 60 rcz in malaysia and all of them are sold out. Have one at home and it’s a superb car.

• Anonymous on Sep 25, 2011 at 6:30 pm

There’s only 60 units in Malaysia, all of them are sold out within the first week. Have one at home, superb car.

• Cosmos on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:30 pm

style wise, it is unbeatable!