Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4 may come to Malaysia this year – 408 sedan set for market launch in April 2012

Here’s some welcome news for diesel hybrid fans – Nasim is exploring the possibility of bringing in the Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4 to Malaysia this year. The car was launched at the Paris Motor Show last October.

Automobiles Peugeot is currently conducting extensive tests in France on the 3008 HYbrid4 with Euro 2M specification diesel that’s available in Malaysia, according to Nasim’s CEO SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin.

“So far the tests have yielded positive results, but there are still more tests to be done. Once we can conclude that the 3008 HYbrid4 will have no problems running on Euro 2M specification diesel, we will look into launching it in Malaysia,” he said.

The 3008 HYbrid4 features a 2.0 litre diesel engine producing 163 hp and an electric motor that offers 37 hp for a combined total output of 200 hp, with a maximum torque of 500 Nm (300 Nm from the diesel block and 200 Nm from the rear electric motor).

Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Mustapa Mohamed tested the 3008 HYbrid4 during his visit to PSA Peugeot-Citroen’s headquarters in Paris last week. Mustapa, who was leading a Malaysian trade and investment mission in Paris, also met Philippe Varin, chairman of the managing board of PSA Peugeot Citroen, who briefed the former on the carmaker’s plans for the Asean region by using Malaysia as a production hub.

In related news, the Peugeot 408 C-segment sedan is set to be launched in Malaysia in April next year; codenenamed T73, the car is based on the 308 hatchback and the “408″ name isn’t confirmed for our market.

Production is slated to begin at the end of 2011 in Gurun at Naza’s manufacturing plant, with a target of 60,000 units to be built over the next five years, for both domestic and Asean markets.

Sell your car, get paid in 24 hours

Renew your car insurance with us, 10% discount!

Use the promo code 'PAULTAN' when you checkout for 10% discount!

Renew Car Insurance

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express excitement and optimism about the Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4 potentially arriving in Malaysia, highlighting its hybrid technology, impressive torque, and fuel efficiency. Some skeptics doubt its coming, while others discuss pricing, tax exemptions, and import duties, generally believing it could be affordably priced compared to current models. Enthusiasts praise Peugeot's diesel expertise and wish for the car to be launched quickly, with hopes it will enjoy tax benefits. Several comments also emphasize the vehicle’s hybrid performance, design, and potential appeal to the Malaysian market. Overall, there’s strong anticipation for the hybrid’s market debut, with moderate concerns about pricing and regulations.

• rulered on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Any indication of the price tag?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • Wisdom on Apr 05, 2011 at 5:21 pm

For sure wont beat Insight price tag.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • Wednesday on Apr 06, 2011 at 6:44 pm

of courselah won’t beat insight… you must know which segment of the market this car is targetted at and which segment the insight is targetted at. if you could think a bit deeper, it will add loads to your wisdom.

but if you don’t know… then you really are not fit to comment in here.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • wolfsburg on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Hope the 3008 hybrid will get to enjoy the low hybrid tax…
    I thought the 408 will be coming this year… Still got such a long way to go…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • intermilan on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Hey Nasim!

Bring it over ASAP..as I want one!
    Better still, just consider this as the first confirmed booking for the the 3008 HYbrid4 in Malaysia.
    Want it in Red or White.
    Just priced it reasonably, will ya?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • mamakman on Apr 05, 2011 at 10:26 am

you must to mad to ask NASIM to bring it in!!! The only can bring in problem!!! HAHAH!!!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • intermilan on Apr 05, 2011 at 4:37 pm

If you want to comment in English, make sure your English is proper.

This should be the correct phrase:
        You must be mad to ask NASIM to bring it in!!! They can only bring in problem!!! HAHAHA!!!

Kalau tidak, gunakan bahasa saja.

Better still, don’t try to ruin my original comment with such unworthy follow up as I am serious about the booking that I’ve made.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
        • TallPan on Apr 07, 2011 at 1:44 am

Actually YOUR english isn’t that great either, intermilan ;-) not that i agree with mamakman one bit

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
          • intermilan on Apr 16, 2011 at 12:44 pm

sure my english not great.
            we can’t never stop learning.

but then, you just don’t get IT, do you?
            Emmm…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • gallerdo on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:50 pm

does this mean the brand new 508 will not introduced in malaysia this year?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 04, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Yes it will be. I believe it’s set for launch sometime around mid year in CBU form.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • sonyman on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:36 pm

wow, mid of this year, confirm? Ok if so, any indicative price?

So many to choose, so many to choose, i just want one.. haha, so difficult to decide.

308 hybrid 4 or 508 sedan…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • jalan54 on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:55 pm

Wow, this is really a good news. If this Hybrid 4 can really launch in Malaysia, I’ll set my target to get one. This Hybrid 4 makes more sense than those T & H hybrid.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • MCdog on Apr 04, 2011 at 9:24 pm

haha, this is what we want, green and fast!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • jalan54 on Apr 05, 2011 at 9:08 am

Yes, totally agree. FYI, T and H Hybrid don’t really green when it is running in highway unless you maintain the speed in 80 to 90 km/h, so it is not really a highway vehicle, it is only suitable in city.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • civicEK on Apr 04, 2011 at 8:26 pm

OMG! :D

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • tarmiziali on Apr 04, 2011 at 8:26 pm

If can get this car rebadge under Naza and with hybrid incentive, sure can sell at an attractive price. I calculate full distance can go 1578km on RM114 diesel fuel.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • vw_fan on Apr 04, 2011 at 9:52 pm

No need to rebadge if already tax exempt. Can just bring in CBU!

Interesting engine.

I don’t like the current 3008 design but this one looks nicer.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • Rebadge is better. Make it cheaper than cheap. Heheheh

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
        • gogo2 on Apr 05, 2011 at 8:55 am

Don’t get what you mean bro. Rebadge is to get tax exemption. Since Hybrid already tax exemption, how to get cheaper than cheap? :P

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
          • Aiyak. Forgot that. Sorry bro.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
          • tarmiziali on Apr 05, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Well its just wishfull thinking on my part. What I meant to say was it is true that hybrid is tax exempted but I think there is still other charges which should explain why Langkawi’s Prius is RM127k vs Peninsular Prius is 139k. Im no genius in these types of matters. Maybe Paul can shed some light on this.

Having the 3008 HYbrid4 as a national car status would MAYBE reduce the price further more. Maybe. Who knows, with MITI on board it may become a Government official transport.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
          • Paul Tan on Apr 05, 2011 at 8:42 pm

the price difference is 10% sales tax. only import and excise exempted.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
        • jtiongwl78 on Apr 05, 2011 at 9:05 am

Whether JPJ will approve it or not, or trying to make it difficult. We still have to see. But if it threaten stupid and mouse, they will be force to delay it, make it difficult and find a chance to reject it.

Hopefully it will be more transparent and it wont happen.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • this the true hybrid….maximising efficiency……and i’m sure it will enjoy the hybrid tax break…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • the best bit is that it does not look like a “hybrid” with those wierdo designs….it looks like a conventional vehicle….perfect….Peugeot’s participation in the Le Mans series is paying off…..

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • 500nm torque & 200hp. . .wt prius like fc & co2 emmission! Take that t&h wt yr idiot petrol hybrid, ths is hybrid wt full power bt frugal. Diesel hybrid make more sense

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • wow…. hope the price also reasonable…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • inline 6 on Apr 04, 2011 at 9:01 pm

200HP 500NM !!! that is very exciting!!

given the tax discount on Hybrid~~ price it around 130-140K !!!!

where else u can get??

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • alex cho on Apr 04, 2011 at 9:01 pm

I want it…………since later will introduce the euro 4 diesel.sure save fuel.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • wow…a diesel hybrid!! that will surely save a significant amount of money on fuel.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Vincent on Apr 04, 2011 at 9:41 pm

what is the estimated selling prie?

RM120K?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Carl Wong on Apr 04, 2011 at 9:45 pm

First Diesel Hybrid in our market baby……….!!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Paul Tan on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Best of both worlds. Fantastic. This will one fuel sipping torque monster.

I hope Peugeot gives the car a green light for our Euro 2 fuel. There’s already a 2.0 liter Peugeot turbodiesel engine running in Malaysia, installed in the Ford Focus TDCI. Ford Duratorq and Pug HDi is a JV engine project.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • jtiongwl78 on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Well Done Nasim! Really a very brave move and a very good move for bringing in such product into Malaysia market.

Nasim, please make it fast! A lot of people is waiting! I believe the diesel engine is a very impressive products..

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • sonyman on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:40 pm

if this one is at 140k to 150k i will sure get this one and forget about the prius,

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • prius….???? the 3008 hybrid 4 is the real techno tour de force and 500nm…monster….

delicious…….

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • The 3008 HYbrid4 was recently awarded “All Wheel-Drive Innovation of the Year” by German motoring publication, Autobild Allrad.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Unforgiven on Apr 04, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Somehow I feel that they have the same mentality with Tun which is to produce those older models for the Asian market…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • What do u mean by older model. 3008 just 2 years in the market

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • Unforgiven on Apr 05, 2011 at 10:22 am

Face the fact, we are still selling 407…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • i thought this post and all it’s comment is about 3008?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • turbocharged on Apr 05, 2011 at 3:33 pm

this is becos 508 just launched world wide, come on.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • stallion on Apr 08, 2011 at 9:49 am

it will take some time before rhd markets get their cars. it is usually the case with european cars where they will release to lhd markets first. in some cases, rhd cars development starts halfway into the the lhd cars development. so, just be patient. besides, the 407 still looks good.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Isaac on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:33 pm

What about news of the RCZ?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Isaac on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:33 pm

What abour news of the RCZ?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • SoMeOnE on Apr 05, 2011 at 12:05 am

i be a lil embarassed to lead a convoy to initiate trade talks and stuff if my oil producing country which has the best quality of crude oil anywhere on this earth still runs on euro 2M… ..well its just a thought….thinking out loudly here…lol…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • butter on Apr 05, 2011 at 10:45 am

it’s because the refinery here dun really have the tech to produce it yet bro…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • najibest on Apr 05, 2011 at 2:36 pm

no such thing as the refinery don’t have tech to produce high grade diesel here…it’s just a matter of regulation, our country’s regulation allow low quality diesel…so there’s no incentive for them to refine high quality diesel here….

it’s just like when the government mandated Euro 2 standard past few years…the refineries complied and there was no disruption whatsoever in the fuel supply since they don’t require massive upgrade or anything….of course the price would be up a bit to cater for extra refinement to remove impurities from the fuel but it won’t be too much…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • tarmiziali on Apr 05, 2011 at 8:41 pm

For your information, I am working in a refinery in Malaysia that produce the Euro 4M diesel that is use in Europe.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
        • intermilan on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:36 am

good one.. good one.. bro.
          we need more actual facts in this website.

a lot of people are not aware of what really happening in the industry.

then again, maybe our refinery capacity for producing euro4 diesel is minimal and just in there for export customer.

having said that oil companies shouldn’t take too long to convert the refinery to be able to produce euro4 or even euro5 diesel, right? 6 months enough time?

government just need to be clear about it policy and inform oil companies timely. janganlah semua late minute.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
          • tarmiziali on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:45 pm

Nope…its not capacity. its demand.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
          • intermilan on Apr 07, 2011 at 2:32 pm

To me, its kind of checken n egg situation.

Obviously oil companies won’t sell euro4 diesel when there is no demand or regulatory requirement (Goverment direction) for it as i am informed that it cost more than euro2M to produce.
            If there is more money to be made by intrducing euro4, oil companies will offer it even without G intervention.

Looking at the regulatory side, its a pitiful situation, as originally (around year 2007 or a bit earlier), the G has committed to upgrade Msia diesel to Euro4 standard after 2010. Then around 2009, the G pushed this timeline further back to after 2012.

Note: These figures were reported in Australian Institure of Petrolem (AIP) reports.

Its almost mid-2011 now, if the G want to implement it by 2013, they have 18+ months to start the ball rolling. If I read you right, oil companies does have the capacity to refine and supply Euro4 diesel for Msia market. Don’t see that happening thou. But what do i know.. Nasim might knew something, hence HYbrid4.

What is clear is this is one example where demand won’t exist in critical mass without G regulatory policy implementation.

Personally, I do hope the G mandate the introduction of Euro4 diesel ASAP. Later on, existence of critical mass (of diesel-powered vehicles) on the road should help them to save on fuel subsidy as diesel give more mileage per liter compared to petrol.
            There are many other positive knock-on effect when you could go further without additional cost.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Apr 05, 2011 at 1:18 am

SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin is the MAN!!! HOORAYY!!!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • droll on Apr 05, 2011 at 6:49 am

hybrid is best for start-stop traffic. diesel is horrible under such conditions.

but!!!

on a highway, diesel reigns king. hybrid’s consumption drops drastically here.

so with diesel + hybrid = you get the best of both worlds!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • Wisdom on Apr 05, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Diesel with auto-stop technology. Thats interesting.

Wonder how long can a hi-compression diesel engine can last doing on off all the time….

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • Carl Wong on Apr 05, 2011 at 6:08 pm

Petrol electric hybrids are very efficient for highway cruising too, they can beat their conventional counterparts anytime for the same speeds, by having a smaller engine but same overall performance (thanks to electric motor). The weight of the car is the same at least or lighter compared to normal cars by using alloy wheels, advanced lightweight battery technology and so on.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • seedafuture on Apr 05, 2011 at 8:16 am

Am a bit worried about reliability. peugeot have doubtful reliabilty for one engine. Howabout 2 engine? maybe double headache. I will take any japanese hybrid, maybe.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • Dun worry…Pug petrol engine might have problem, but its their DIESel HDi are their forte….Pug are well known for their diesel tech (only here is least known due to our diesel), most/bulk of their car sold are diesel.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • tikus on Apr 05, 2011 at 9:51 am

Nazim marketing team BRING IT ON !!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • cryspower on Apr 05, 2011 at 10:30 am

the current 3008 is sold for RM140k+ . I guess it couldn’t be much lower than this.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • odi862 on Apr 05, 2011 at 11:13 am

after tax exemption perhaps the price can get lower……then again maybe not…..

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • but this one is hybrid. got tax exemption. maybe we can guestimate the price using the 3008 price in langkawi

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • redboy on Apr 05, 2011 at 12:18 pm

mmh….Euro2M diesel…when can we get a better grade of diesel?
    I read lots of hitting when BMW diesel launched about the diesel quality, and how the car will suffered, but nothing been mentioned here, so people wont afraid of the diesel in PUG car?…or are we living in a double standard human character when we speak?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • vw_fan on Apr 05, 2011 at 1:29 pm

That was last time before the euro2M diesel was available here.

Seems like the new BMW diesels have no problem.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • redboy on Apr 05, 2011 at 3:33 pm

but in the latest F10-520d…still lots of criticism of the diesel quality etc from comments…so PUG has not problem with the same diesel, but BMW got? mmh…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
        • All common rail diesel engines have a diesel particulate filter – u need to change this every 20000km if running on Euro2M. If Euro4, every 40000km. Coupled with regular service, it will run without a single problem for many years to come.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
          • jtiongwl78 on Apr 05, 2011 at 11:40 pm

It must work together with Diesel fuel filter, in series, as well as Water Separator, to ensure clean and without water content, entering the burning chamber of the engine..

I am using EU4 Mercedes truck in Malaysia, this is the thing the importer did to modify the truck in order to suite the local EU2M Diesel. There are three fuel filter ( in series ) to filter up the fuel, before the engine and after the fuel pump.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • wah Hybrid Diesel car… seem a good 1?!!?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • redwings on Apr 05, 2011 at 3:31 pm

What could be idle price for battery replacement? 5 years warranty as well?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • maybe 5008 HYbrid4 would be more popular..ha3

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Can’t wait… French cars are reliable these days… even my Renault Kangoo 1.5 DCi blew the competition away.

RM 70 = 720km!

Best of all, it runs fine on Euro2M diesel and cheap Castrol CRB Turbo engine oil. I only need to spend RM 300 for 3000km per month! Beat that u stinking petrol hybrids!

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • Yeap, guess as long as its a diesel’s engine…pug will be as reliable as those petrol Japs (diesels are their forte/expertise). You won’t go wrong wt their diesel,..

However, its their petrol which are not their volume sellers/priority which has doubt.(hence msian thot all pug are not good, since most pug in msia are petrols)

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Speed Racer on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:39 am

hope cheap

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • jflee169 on Apr 06, 2011 at 10:16 am

i wonder whether EU2M diesel still can be found in Europe (France) in order to test this car.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Hi Paul, paultan team,
    do you know if Naza is going to bring in the facelifted 308? looks damn awesome from yr earlier post. hope the vti will get the facelift too with 6speed, looking forward to getting one real soon =P

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • Roger on Apr 08, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Dear all,

I am currently driving a Peugeot 408 (or refer as T73) . For those of you who can read chinese, you can try this website about the review of this car;

http://www.autohome.com.cn/987/
      http://www.autohome.com.cn/987/articles.html
      http://www.autohome.com.cn/drive/201006/119150.html

tons of pics, prices, comparison with other cars, specs are all there.

My 2 cents of this car;
      – – a very spacious car, width of 1815 mm , length of 4680 mmand a wheel base of 2610 mm. Try compare that with Vios/City, you will know the difference. If NAZA priced this car at the level of Vios, it will give Toyota/Honda a good run for their money.
      – interior quality rather good. soft plastic. Similar to 308.
      – Handling is good

Cons;
      – 4 gear auto.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
      • stephen on Oct 15, 2011 at 8:15 pm

errr 408 is a sedan version to 308.
        it is suppose to compare to Altis/ Civic….not Vios/ City.

even if Nasim going to charge more for 408. It will be a good deal compare to Altis/ Civic.

I got a 308 VTI….before I got it, my target was City high spec but after I read about the spec and tested it…..I know for sure that is the car since I have to pay a bit more only and I can get a car with the spec/ space like Civic/ Altis minus a smaller boot…… hehe don’t patronize 408 by comparing it to entry level compact. It deserve better :)

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • intermilan on Apr 06, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Hi,

Would like to tabulate the tax structure of 3008 which might give us some indication of HYbrid4 ‘possible price’ in Malaysia. Time for some revealing surprise!

Alas, feel free to correct any error.

The GOOD news:

Assuming that in Malaysia motor vehicle import duties structure, both 3008 (current version and diesel HYbrid) are classified as MPV or Van. Current 3008 is non-ASEAN CKD and 308 HYbrid4 is non-ASEAN CBU.

Current 3008 tax structure is:
    cost price + import duty 10% + excise duty 65% + sales tax 10% = RM143K.

3008 HYbrid4 tax structure is:
    cost price + import duty 0% + excise duty 0% + sales tax 0% = RM1??K

(Note: In tabling Budget 2011, Government has exempted import tax & excise duty for hybrid, electric cars & motorcycles until 31 December 2011).

Now we need to establish a ‘base’ for 3008 HYbrid4 price.

3008 HYbrid4 price in the UK has just been announced. It is around 5,000 pound (RM25,000) more expensive than Msia current 3008 price in the UK (it’s called 3008 Exclusive 156 Auto 5drs in the UK).

This different is the UK sale price with VAT. Cost price from Peugeot to Nasim (or any principal dealer for that matters) for these 2 models shouldn’t be more than 3,500 pound (with translated to RM17,500).

Therefore, clearly, in Malaysia, 3008 HYbrid4, even with higher cost price, will actually cost much less than the CKD 3008 (to Nasim) as there will be no 10% import duty and exhorbitant 65% excise duty to ballon it final cost price. Total cost to Nasim is only the cost price (from Peugeot) + 10% sales tax.

With this information in hands, we can deduce than if Nasim want the same profit margin for the 3008 HYbrid4 (as current 3008 profit margin), or even mark it up 10% higher, they should still be able to sell it cheaper than the current 3008.

Marvellous, isn’t it?

The BAD news:

Question is, will they?

Oui?
    Non…. ?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • intermilan on Apr 06, 2011 at 6:08 pm

Hi,

Would like to tabulate the tax structure of 3008 which might give us some indication of HYbrid4 ‘possible price’ in Malaysia. Time for some revealing surprise!

Alas, feel free to correct any error.
    And Nasim people reading this shouldn’t feel offended or bashed, al rite?
    Anyone who know the tax structure should be able to come up with this conclusion.
    By the way, my ‘booking’ for 1 unit of 3008 HYbrid4 still stand.

The GOOD news:

Assuming that in Malaysia motor vehicle import duties structure, both 3008 (current version and diesel HYbrid) are classified as MPV or Van. Current 3008 is non-ASEAN CKD and 308 HYbrid4 is non-ASEAN CBU.

Current 3008 tax structure is:
    cost price + import duty 10% + excise duty 65% + sales tax 10% = RM143K.

3008 HYbrid4 tax structure is:
    cost price + import duty 0% + excise duty 0% + sales tax 0% = RM1??K

(Note: In tabling Budget 2011, Government has exempted import tax & excise duty for hybrid, electric cars & motorcycles until 31 December 2011).

Now we need to establish a ‘base’ for 3008 HYbrid4 price.

3008 HYbrid4 price in the UK has just been announced. It is around 5,000 pound (RM25,000) more expensive than Msia current 3008 price in the UK (it’s called 3008 Exclusive 156 Auto 5drs in the UK).

This different is the UK sale price with VAT. Cost price from Peugeot to Nasim (or any principal dealer for that matters) for these 2 models shouldn’t be more than 3,500 pound (with translated to RM17,500).

Therefore, clearly, in Malaysia, 3008 HYbrid4, even with higher cost price, will actually cost much less than the CKD 3008 (to Nasim) as there will be no 10% import duty and exhorbitant 65% excise duty to ballon it final cost price. Total cost to Nasim is only the cost price (from Peugeot) + 10% sales tax.

With this information in hands, we can deduce than if Nasim want the same profit margin for the 3008 HYbrid4 (as current 3008 profit margin), or even mark it up 10% higher, they should be able to sell it even cheaper than the current 3008.

Marvellous, isn’t it?

The BAD news:

Question is, will they?

Oui?
    Non…. ?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • HDi FAP on Apr 07, 2011 at 11:44 am

can this car really take the diesel sold in malaysia?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • jeffreyee on Apr 08, 2011 at 11:19 am

Kind of interested in this 3008 Hybrid. Hybrid without duties must be cheaper than the normal model. Just take Honda Civic hybrid which is selling at 132K but come down to 109K aftter no duties. So, I’m expecting it to be price around 139K with Sunroof/Navi. However, one nugging question is what is the cost of replacing the Battery.
    As for Honda/Prius, it is clearly mentioned at RM7/11 K for the replacement. If not a high mileage user, then might as well get the 1.6 THP 3008.
    Anyone knows the 0-100 kph timing for the Hybrid model?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Unforgiven on May 16, 2012 at 10:12 pm

Q2 2012 and we are still waiting…

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Kenny on Jul 16, 2012 at 1:20 pm

My Peugeot 3008 just bought Sept 2010, and got a problem on engine, my car send to Glenmarie Shah Alam, take about 1 month still not yet solve the issue, refer to them have Piston problem, need to refer to France, a bit up sad about their after sales service. every time call & leave the message, and never call back or update you the status of the car.
    date: 16 July 2012.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0