Naza to assemble the Peugeot 408 next year!

Automobiles Peugeot and the Naza Group have today signed a letter of intention (LOI) to assemble a “three-box vehicle situated within the upper levels of the C segment”. This is most likely the Peugeot 408 sedan that was launched in China earlier this year.

The car, codenamed T73 sedan, is based on the 308 hatchback and the “408” name is not confirmed for our market. SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin, president of Naza and Jean-Philippe Imparato, Director of International Operations for Automobiles Peugeot signed the agreement at the opening of the new Peugeot Blue Box in Ipoh.

This development is in line with Peugeot’s plan to make Malaysia its ASEAN hub, with potential exports to neighbouring countries such as Thailand and Indonesia as well as right-hand drive markets in the Pacific and Africa. Peugeot wants to take advantage of AFTA rules to break into our region, which is a key part of the brand’s international expansion plans. Sales outside of Europe accounted for 42% of Peugeot’s total sales in the first semester of 2010.

Both parties are looking at a series total of 70,000 vehicles. Assembly will begin in the second quarter of 2011 at Naza’s plant in Gurun, which will also assemble the 207 sedan due for launch in the final quarter of this year.

Click here for a gallery and information on the Peugeot 408. Live images and a video of the launch in Beijing can be viewed here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• khairuddin on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:29 pm

NAZA Peugeot..haha

• any ideas how much will it cost?

• guanerrr on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:42 pm

This is 308 sedan…

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:52 pm

great move by naza.. all the best !!

• Vincent on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:04 pm

wor,,, wor ,, wor… Naza, hampulan sapu

• scanzew on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:09 pm

gud move!!

• pauline on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Naza as long as the cars are cheaper
    we will support you but the warranty should be extended
    to 5 years unlimited mileage.

• not only that, maintance should be the same as japs or malaysian cars.

• kaminski on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:37 pm

Its all good for Peugeot to be introducing new models into the Malaysian market but they also need to offer assistance to Nasim in regards to the overall aftercare. I just wish that Nasim and Peugeot have plans to expand the existing servicing outlets, and have plans afoot to improve the overall Peugeot Ownership experience.
    By the way, Peugeot in Europe launched some teaser pics of the upcoming 508, thats the replacement for the 407. Its due on sale in Europe by spring next year.

• I hope Naza will also concentrate on building more 3S Centres…no point having tonnes of Peugeot on the roads but limited or bad after sales service centres…..eventually it will still be a formula for failure….my 2 cents

• Is the 408 the next generation 407?

• Freeman on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:46 pm

Guys, this is not the replacement model of the current 407!

It’s the sedan version of the 308 and it’s selling pretty well in China. My supplier picked me up from Guangzhou Baiyun airport with this car last month. It looks, feels and drives like a 308, only with a proper trunk at the back.

I reckon Naza will position this car slightly above Kia Forte but definitely below Civic. So yeah, it should be selling for +/- RM100k when it is finally being assembled here and put into the showrooms.

• nadzri m yusof on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Too risk to own naza peugeot, once they start ckd the price will drop so much. Please consider the current peugeot owner before you start ckd . Anyway good move to make malaysian an auto hub for french car.

All the best nasim………..

• Dump trucks on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:56 pm

I known the Peugeot manufactures was many models & the best performance of this company.best idea of Naza & Peugeot.i known last year was huge selling the model in china.I hope this model will best performance on the road. & Best of luck

• think on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:17 pm

when will the peugeot 5008 will arive…make it faster to launch it…pls price it less than the 3008 crossover…

• gudys on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:32 pm

pls remember to put the 1.6 turbo in.

• subhero on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:42 pm

1st .
    peugeot dont let naza control ur QC/QA

2nd.
    any breakdown price?

• impossible on Jul 12, 2010 at 9:15 pm

open your eye, don’t tell me you expect a 7 seater to be cheaper than a 5 seater….

• sonyman on Jul 12, 2010 at 9:33 pm

Why bring in 408, Naza should look into 508, 408 is like half way between 407 and 508, not here not there…..

• HirumaKecil on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:35 am

coming soon…

• Cosmos on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:57 am

The 408 is somewhat like a 308 sedan but i was told with a slightly longer wheelbase (408 – 2710mm vs 308 – 2608mm) so legroom could be better then the 407 too depending on how they arrange the interior. Yes, I know the 407 has a slightly longer wheelbase at 2725mm. The 508 will be positioned way above the 408.

I guess it is to give people more choice.

• bobdbilder on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Already saw photo op session of T33 at Palace of Justice, Putrajaya a few weeks back. It had blacked out logo of the prancing lion. But you’d know it’s a Pug. One silver and one black. The black is rather handsome. The previous posting pix is not flattering for the T33. Its sleek in the flesh. So, you’d think they would share some parts here and there with the T73.

• I welcome you Peugeot, any import label even the CKDs are way better than our local cars!

• creator mind on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:59 am

yeah, agreed. the feel and comfort from locals still unable to come close to europe makes, price aside. however, with so much protection from the gomen, local makes should put in better effort to make driving a pleasure and safe one, afterall if local built cars continue to improve in all aspects, the general public will support. dun just think of ur pocket… provide a real car, then praises will come from the hearts within. of course, when u improve ur cars, we dun expect u to sell at current price level. make the price adjustment within reasonable gap, but we want a real car….

• anti-first on Jul 13, 2010 at 9:03 am

agree with you wholeheartedly!

• azrai on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:05 am

Good for our economy. NAZA will create more jobs for malaysian. Thank god Peugeot still believe in Malaysia despite the NAP.

• Jaybond on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:55 am

This car is definitely in the same C-segment as Honda Civic, Chevrolet Cruze, Toyota Corolla Altis, Mazda 3, Kia Forte, Ford Focus Sedan, Nissan Sylphy, Mitsubishi Lancer GT. More choices for the masses!

• hey all continental loved!! oil prices will be hike next year?? need to consider that also…..

• nighttrain on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:58 am

that’s true. these modern conti engines are wonderful. they save so much fuel!

• its very nice…wonder if the 1.6 turbo will be available….

• niuhje on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:06 am

we all want cheap conti cars… but when they’re assembled locally, we tend to cast a queer eye on it as if they’re not “western” enough. sigh…
    Deep down i think we want these cars to come from the conti itself but minus the sky high taxes!
    But if that’s the case, then they’ll lose their exclusivity and prestige, right? hmmmm… we want it cheap but we don’t want everyone to have it… just saying what almost everyone is thinking, zat’all…

• not_ah_beng on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:20 pm

Peugeot 408 or 308S is NOT exclusive!

Its just an everyday car in Europe. That’s the whole point – due to the tax structure a low-end or mid-range car in Europe can be considered “exclusive” here.

But I supposed when you compare with the deathtrap clunker that is from Potong, it can be considered quite “prestige” lahhh

• trav_da_man on Jul 13, 2010 at 11:03 am

The 408 is sounded like a replacement for the 407 where else the 407 is actually not yet been replaced. Using the 1.6 Prince engine series with 120-140bhp and if priced less than 110K i bet we can see another winner here.

Having more Pugs with 1.6 Prince engines (308, 5008, and this) and we should be an abundance of parts, should this should be less a worry in the future.

With Peugeot is making Malaysia their ASEAN hub, is it signs finally we have a successful venture by the NAP?Its more like Thailand 10 – Malaysia 1…….

• nighttrain on Jul 13, 2010 at 11:04 am

Asian only sedan… just like toyota and honda selling asian only vios and city.. is it a degradation or discrimination, or a compliment?

• trav_da_man on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:06 pm

This is because hatches usually dont sell well in tradition in ASEAN countries and US, well apart of our vivas and myvi which are for 1st time owners in Mysia. Sedan are more favourable as asians and the yanks love spacious and huge boot space for families and so on.

European in general loves hatches for small family cars but of cause they do adore premium sedans frm BMW, Merc and Audi.

• wan_knox on Jul 13, 2010 at 11:15 am

perhap the price for this car will be around 100k below :p

• squawk on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Ah… a China version Pug. Looks like chances of a China Citroen DS3 isn’t impossible. Is the Citroen franchise here still active or sudah bungkus?

• Peter on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:12 pm

If the plans go well….

I guess Naza would be distributing these models out to other ASEAN countries like Thailand and also Singapore….

By then, with more exports models going out…..

I guess it will also benefit us as we might get “technology transfer” faster but at a cheaper rate….

• muuse on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:12 pm

well for me it may be the new model number but the parts and pieces is still taken from the old one. front are from 207 or 308 and the back are just a face lifted 407.

• Jaybond on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:18 pm

Since it is built on mostly around 308 mechanicals, maybe just name it as 308 Sedan? 308 SS (Super Saloon) :)

• motorist on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Looks like Naza is going for a full profile in the Peugeot sedan segment. The T33 (207 Sedan), the soon to be locally assembled 308 sedan (as above) & the current 407 sedan.

French cars are well accepted in northern Africa & middle east countries, which have harsher climate variations than our tropical climate.

(Announcement on T33 207 sedan by Paul)
    http://paultan.org/2009/12/31/naza-to-launch-eight-models-next-year/
    Naza T33 is the 207 Sedan, which despite the name is a booted 206 with the 207?s “big mouth” face. Naza will be counting on this small saloon to provide the bulk of Peugeot sales.

• motorist on Jul 14, 2010 at 10:56 am

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/fmt-english/business/7883-malaysia-to-become-hub-for-peugeots-right-hand-drive-cars

Asked about the model coming out, Nasaruddin said the details would only be announced next year, adding that the model would use either the two-litre or 1.6 turbo engine.

——————————————————————————————————————

Looks like it’s going to be priced in the 2litre segment. Would be nice if they opt to use the 1.6Turbo Prince engine.

• dexter on Jul 13, 2010 at 3:23 pm

this is what you get when a 407 fucks a 308 without wearing any condom!

• Alan Wong on Jul 14, 2010 at 8:23 am

Many die hard Peugeot fans are excited with new models coming but is truly worried about Nasim’s poor after sales service which has been a big issue since they started. They are really struggling to cope with warranty issues and delivery poor excuses to Peugeot owners like myself and many many more new owners.

I do not see their expansion in sales would build their name in the long term. They got to pull up their socks and work on serving their current clients before trying to increase their product range.

• Motorist on Jul 14, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Slightly off topic but concerning the same group holding company.

Maybe Alan cant answer but for those with Naza/Kia, what are your experience of the Kia after sales service?

• Anonymouse on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:33 am

I own a CBU Kia Rio 2005. The car itself is generally fine with non-major issues like central locking not working for one particular door, seat belt does not extend, drive shaft bearing unusual wear and tear (changed after only 25kkm).

The thing is, the official service centers fixed only the central locking (had to wait 3 months for a Korean bolt or risk losing warranty). Their response on the other issues is: “Is like that one”. The seat belt can’t be used and they said it is normal. The bearing they said is not an issue and it makes noises like that, is normal one.

After my warranty expired, I went to a small cheap workshop and they fixed the seatbelt in 5 mins. It was just a nut loose. Then I went to a workshop that specialized in fixing Korean cars and got them to fix my drive shaft. The bloke at the Korean workshop showed me the drive shaft bearing and it was all mashed up into small bits and pieces. He said if I had driven for another 200km or so I would have lost control of the vehicle…

So basically, their service sucks. Personally, I’m never trusting them again.

My sister has a Kia Optima 2003 but she has no issues with the car until warranty expired. Then the normal small things pop out (leaking gasket, absorber clanking), but she serviced with 3rd party workshops too.

So I’ve gotten unlucky with the Rio, but I really wished they could have tried harder to fix it, dissapointing.

• squawk on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:10 pm

Sorry to hear that. I know Naza’s SC quality and attitude. All same same. And the management close one eye cuz they donno what to do. Same with some conti brands too. Best thing is hope nothing major happens during warranty period except normal servicing then once it’s over, move out to a 3rd party workshop. They do much better work. And sourcing the parts yourself is a lot cheaper.

• Anonymouse on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Actually, I feel that cars these days have VERY few major problems. I’ve driven a Mitsubishi Magna (similar to Perdana) in Australia for 7 years and only had a leaking gasket problem once. The other times were simply regular service.

Anyway, forgot to mention the Rio’s aircon seemed to get less and less cold. Until one day I had an engine wash FOC by 3rd party workshop (official service centres never gave me one in 3 years). Suddenly my aircon become very cold, even my gf noticed it.

I’m not sure what relation engine wash and aircon has, but it seems to have worked lol.

So now for me, I’m quite concerned with service even though the problems are not major, it really annoys me sometimes.

• m4xspeed on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:45 am

Yes, we do need more models on m’sia soil to spice up the competition. With the right price and aftersale services, this model could be the next Big Thing

• 408 definitly is not a replacement of 407. 408 look cheap one… But 508, is look more greatest than 407…Hemm…508 looking lost peugeot identity… where is ROAR images of peugeot? Really sad images… Rear extenal look ugly… poor design!!!

407 is a trully images of Lion King… Whereas Peugeot 408 looking cool lion… “Simpan kuku”…

• One more thing… 508 seem “lion gemuk” and look macam ego but nothing surprise… poor 508… :(

• The 408 is one of the top selling car in China.

You can get a top end model with 2.0 litre engine for RM 85k.

• I am waiting for 207 sedan

• anti wrong on Dec 27, 2010 at 10:26 am

i don’t like peugeot 408, because it is a ugly car. i prefer renault fluence, the megane sedan.

• Eddie on Mar 06, 2011 at 2:29 am

408 sedan won’t carry into Malaysia??
    It is true??