Peugeot 408 launched in China: 308-based sedan!

The Peugeot 408 notchback sedan made its world debut in China this week. No, it’s not a replacement for 407. The replacement for the 407 will move up a notch in the market since it intends to replace both the 407 and the 607. It will be called the Peugeot 508.

The new Peugeot 408 is actually a C-segment notchback sedan based on the C-segment Peugeot 308 platform, but with its wheelbase lengthened to give better interior room since it is a 4-door. Suspension settings have also been revised for the car’s new sedan weight and for a more comfort-biased setup. In China, its positioned against other C-segment sedans like the Civic and the Focus. And this time Peugeot seems to have gotten the ‘hatch to sedan’ conversion right – it looks a lot less awkward than the 206 Sedan.

The 408 measures 4,680mm long, 1,800mm long and 1,500mm wide. It has a wheelbase of 2,710mm which trumps the Civic’s throne as the longest wheelbase C-segment vehicle available right now (well not exactly – the Fluence wheelbase is said to be 2,702mm). It approaches CD-segment territory with that wheelbase length (the Pug 407’s wheelbase is 2,725mm)! This should mean pretty good interior room in theory.

The Chinese launch of the car introduces a two engine line-up – a 110hp 1.6 litre engine and a 147hp 2.0 litre engine. Different markets may get different engines. The 1.6 litre engine’s 110 horses is reached at 5,750rpm while peak torque of 147Nm is reached at 4,000rpm with 85% reached from just 2,000rpm. and 95% (140Nm) between 3,000rpm and 5,500rpm. That’s a good and wide torque spread. The 2.0 litre unit is equipped with continuously variable valve timing. It produces its peak power at 6,000rpm with peak torque of 200Nm reached at 4,000rpm.

The transmission options are either a 5-speed manual or a 4-speed automatic, which is the new AT8 Porsche Tiptronic system model. Not the same one as found in the 206 or the 308, which is the AL4. The AT8 uses a torque converter by ZF which improves gearbox output and reduces consumption by about 5%. The gearbox management can also lock the three higher gears to reduce torque converter slip during gentle driving. From my sources, these are not the only engine options available for the 408 so if it comes to Malaysia at all, there is still a question mark there. It would be nice if the same Prince engines in the 308 are offered.

Speaking of Malaysia – guess what, it’s under consideration to be launched in Malaysia as part of Peugeot’s plans for the ASEAN region that were revealed in a press conference this afternoon. It won’t necessarily carry the 408 nameplate though – that’s a marketing decision yet to be made. For now we can refer to it as the T73 sedan. Watch out for an update on that later this night.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=795]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wow! This is great! Any idea if it's coming our way?

• nice. always loves this car.. tapi mampu beli persona se aje.. hehe

• look like a degrade 407 …..

• pug_406 on Jan 27, 2010 at 3:39 am

i think 406 is more spacious than 408… i own 406

• kshk82 on Jan 27, 2010 at 3:47 am

Wow!!! Wonder how's the pricing???

• trav_da_man on Jan 27, 2010 at 4:58 am

Naza, pls bring this and price around the 308. I bet u will get an instant winner!

• Gajen on Jan 27, 2010 at 5:06 am

i prefer the 308 turbo…

• waja lawa on Jan 27, 2010 at 5:18 am

when will it comes to malaysia,i had notised this year

• Neutral on Jan 27, 2010 at 6:18 am

mmm boring and cheaper dash panel

• something weird & something missing… dun know what & why

• nice. hope it won't be over price & improved after sales service guaranteed.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:36 am

this looks quite good..but i wished they kept the 308 grille

• squawk on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:54 am

Tidy looking a$$. 5 aircon blowers in front?!

• Jimmy Dean on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:11 am

They better not call this car a 408 in Malaysia since the 407 is clearly a class above with better trim and higher quality finishing. If this is a Proton, it's like calling a sedan Savvy as the all new Persona. Or for KFC, it's like calling a late of 2 pieces of chicken as the new KFC dinner plate.

• zzzz 110bhp?

cps got 125hp….~~

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:56 am

Dashboard looks abit outdated or even poor quality, or maybe my eyes are deceiving me, but it looks a lot like the Mazda 6 dash

• supermotors on Jan 27, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Eeek! The grafted-on boot makes this one hideous Lion. Peugeot could never design a right-looking 3-box sedan (yet). What's wrong with driving a 2-box for China?

• azrai on Jan 27, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Nicely done not like previous 206 sedan.

• Btw, can anyone share their experience owning the recent model of Peugeot…

Like the owner has own this brand for more than 3 years…

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 27, 2010 at 5:55 pm

emm.. the interior design alike the 308, (oh.. it is come from 308!)

But name it 408, many ppl will think that it is new replacement car for 407.

• MADBOY on Jan 27, 2010 at 5:56 pm

gyu said,

January 27, 2010 @ 1:53 am

zzzz 110bhp?

cps got 125hp….~~

———-

Some time it not about max power, but how the power is delivered. Yes CPS got 125hp but the delivery is not smooth and it come with not so smooth auto gear.

• alpha999 on Jan 27, 2010 at 6:21 pm

ahh….taking a look at the 1st pic…front bonnet so vios-like sedan…….

• mynuszero on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:09 pm

Neutral said,

January 26, 2010 @ 10:18 pm

mmm boring and cheaper dash panel

well bro….atleast it'll be the same quality as our Honda's here at a cheaper price tag

• bummer on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:45 pm

why is peugeot still making engines that develop less than 150 hp for a 2.0 and a mere 110 hp for 1.6? many Jap cars can produce more than that.

• torque (Member) on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:22 pm

alpha999 said,

January 27, 2010 @ 10:21 am

ahh….taking a look at the 1st pic…front bonnet so vios-like sedan…….

I don't think so. Kinda remind me more of the Celica ZZT 7th generation on the front fascia, just a slight difference on the headlights though.

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 27, 2010 at 11:07 pm

bummer said,

January 27, 2010 @ 11:45 am

why is peugeot still making engines that develop less than 150 hp for a 2.0 and a mere 110 hp for 1.6? many Jap cars can produce more than that.

————————————————————

Because they don't practice over-stating bhp and torque figure.

Go figure out this statement, if you are not familiar with European marques practice and reason behind sometime stating 'lower' bhp and torque.

Beside, get the power and torque band graphs of any cars for fair comparison. Only then you'll see the whole true picture.

What good is 165bhp for a 2.0L if that is only achieved at, let say 6,800rpm? for an entry-level executive car that most people wouldn't revved to even 6,500rpm?

Be smarter. Don't be blinded by top-end bhp and torque figure quoted by manufacturers, especially the Japanese. Look at the spread of actual power and torque across the band.

if you have a normal Jap car, go dyno your car and you will know..

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 27, 2010 at 11:14 pm

they look the same

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 28, 2010 at 12:44 am

they should call it Peugeot Carla Bruni

• let's see on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:17 am

i thought the french wont trust the chinese after 207sedan calamity

but this one looks good, no disappointing to say the least

• bluespider on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:58 am

Plain ugly -outside and inside.Looks like a copy blended from the honda city and civic. Its a shame peugeot come up with such a design. Geezzz…

• osh_kosh on Jan 28, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Kyen said,

January 26, 2010 @ 6:48 pm

Wow! This is great! Any idea if it’s coming our way?

————————-

u don't read or u can't read? Paul already said that… owh btw, i still perefer the current 407..

• wow…very nice,

hope the price is same as 308 vti :D

• Type F on Jan 30, 2010 at 2:17 am

Don't like the steering wheel. Looks cheap…

• Critics have pushed Peugeot into designing this ugly crap just coz they don't have a good taste to enjoy the revolutionary Peugeot 407 look. If you doubt, check it out against the 407.

The 407 is a single complete designed with everything matching seamlessly. But this is a patch up from 308 and 406 of old.

• Internal display panel or dashboard look cheapish… low quality cheap plastic!!!, 407 much more better, look europe design and high class but, 408 seem very poor design inside and outside. What happen to Peugout company direction… where is their philosophy “french Kiss” or “Sexy lion”? NOW seem Kung Fu touching…and mee kung Fu Waachaaaa… hehehe…

• Sexy lion falling in love with slow kung Fu Panda… French garlic bread eat with noddles soup… Wa Chaaa…

• A price I thinks around RM 140k – 150k… I think not so cheap in term of selling price. You all know la malaysia… Car price is never cheap one… I hope NAZA will change or up grade the quality of the materials inside 408… and the design of the back bonet is very sad…. entah la… for me the design is teruk…

• mim79 on May 12, 2010 at 1:00 pm

it’s base on 308 and it’s a sedan…normally sedan is cheaper than hatchback….so i think the price will be cheaper than 308 which is around 100k or little bit higher . just guessing…

• yusof on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:37 pm

with Naza badge?

• Freeman on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:32 pm

Guys, this is not the replacement model of the current 407!

It’s the sedan version of the 308 and it’s selling pretty well in China. My supplier picked me up from Guangzhou Baiyun airport with this car last month. It looks, feels and drives like a 308, only with a proper trunk at the back.

I reckon Naza will position this car slightly above Kia Forte but definitely below Civic. So yeah, agree with mim79 that should be around 100k.

• Go to sohu website and click on the car section.

You can view many pictures of the interior and exterior. You can see the China price too.

The 408 have even a aircond vent for the rear passengers.

• Was in touch with the designer of this model for some reason few weeks ago. Now they will bring model into Malaysia using Naza. Will be assembled in Malaysia by 3rd quarter next year. Malaysia will be the hub to produce right handed car for this model. It will be sold in at a very competetive price. I

• 308 sedan =408 will no bring into malaysia market ?????

• Cosmos on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:41 pm

nice car. smooth silhouette.