Naza to assemble ASEAN Peugeot 207 Sedan in Gurun from October 2010

Peugeot 207 Sedan

Peugeot and Naza signed an MoU for the assembly of the Peugeot 207 Sedan in Paris today. Naza’s plant in Gurun will be the production hub for the 207 Sedan for the ASEAN region from October 2010 onwards. For now, the Gurun plant will be the only right hand drive 207 Sedan assembler in the world. A production of 18,000 units a year is planned.

The 207 Sedan is essentially an updated 206 Sedan based on the 206 chassis. Previous stories revealed that it will be offered with a 1.6 litre engine, which is up from the 1.4 litre found in the Naza 206 Bestari.

Peugeot 207 Sedan

The project is referred to internally by Naza as the T33 Project. Naza is the current franchise holder for Peugeot here in Malaysia under its company Nasim Sdn Bhd. They’ve made a name for offering excellent value for money pricing for locally assembled cars such as the 308 and the 407, something that is really unusual with Continental makes here in Malaysia.

Ever since taking over the Peugeot franchise, Peugeot sales in Malaysia have risen from 748 units for the whole of 2008 to the current figure of 2758 units as of August 2009.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mouse on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:11 am

alot of 206 parts!! the door is old, fender and bonnet!!

• persona on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:12 am

Pls change the door and the rear looks

• tis mean no 207 hatch in Malaysia? only avail in Sedan ……

• i doubt locally assembled peugeot will be as good as cbu unit.

• valandil on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:30 am

this is great news… the more the merrier..

eventhough i hate the design and will never buy it..

• Vezeroth on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:42 am

Hard for me to see why at this momment would anyone buy this car, especially if its priced over the persona.. build quality wise i found the 206 hatch to be really poor when i test drove it… nothing to shout a bout at all.. hopefully this sedan would be better… personally i thin it doesnt look very nice… for it to sell, its gotta be cheap or have an engine thats worth shouting about…

PS: paul, heard transformers 3 is coming out in 2011?

• Matthew on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:43 am

Most cars looks awful when they turn an original hatchback to a sedan. That includes the Suzuki SX4 sedan.

• will give the Vios and City a serious run for their $$$ but Nasim needs a better ASS (After Sales Service)

• BrakeFader on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:49 am

Looks horrible. Can't they design it without any resemblance to their hatch version? The 207 seidan is screaming out "I WAS CANNIBALIZED FROM A 206 HATCH!"

Let's wait and see what the price is like. Hopefully RM55-65K region.

• omg! it’s peugeot,not toyota,honda or even proton to put that price! gosh!

• osh_kosh on Oct 09, 2009 at 1:59 am

@Vezeroth,

i second that…

• farghmee on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:05 am

not all sedan-ized hatch looks cool..this 1 is not spared.

• Ndmervin on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:17 am

Current 207 hatch cannot support RON95 fuel.. will this be another blunder??

• tikus (Member) on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:30 am

If price is right then people will buy it. Hope it comes with VTI .If not,going to be failer.

• Kambing Laut on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:35 am

206 currently not support RON95. U need to spend more.

More kilometer, More money u need to spend.(Mimpilah save 1 liter.) haha..

Ugly lah from side. But amazing from infront. Why not they change the bad door. Pintu jamban are better than this.

• bobdbilder on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:37 am

Aw come on!!!! I was really hoping it would be the hatch 207.

They've got a Lukewarm Hatch; 308 GT

They've got a Mid Size Sedan; 407

They've got a Hatch; 308

Now a Compact Sedan; 207?

So if I want a Hatch from Peugeot its gonna be a 308 which is slower by a full 2 seconds than a stock Satria Neo CPS.

AND YES it looks horrid. And I'll bet you its with Auto tranny only.

• common sensor on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:37 am

NAZA is really smart. With this move, they are in position to press MITI to give a second thought of abolishing their national car status (NAP review rumors) ..

• tikus (Member) on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:45 am

Kambing laut, 206 is RON95compatible lar.

• wan2911 on Oct 09, 2009 at 2:56 am

lol, why not hatch huh? not smart lo this sedan.

tikus, 206 not compatible la, if u use it. u need to change the engine next time…hehe :p

• those who say RON95 not compatible with 206 better do your homework.. 207 may suitable with 95… but it just a matter of tunning it……. and NAZA know best …… they control SEA so the new 207 sedan not for msia market alone….

• Front looks absolutely HORRID.

Even if they remove the Peugeot seal (which is the main horrid thing), i still can't get over the front grille which looks like an alien's mouth and i simply do not know how to describe the eyes.

Would anyone second this.

• kuhan on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:49 am

looks ugly. they should have gone for the 207 SW

• wuttaheck on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:49 am

i was hoping for 207 SW…

• Halfclutch on Oct 09, 2009 at 4:14 am

Fugly!

• The peugeot models sold by nasim can take ron95. Ron95 is the minimum. A press release had been issued on this. No problem using ron95 in my 206.

• jolly_idiot on Oct 09, 2009 at 6:27 am

OMG. The buttock spoil. Wonder this car may create lotsa accident where make ppl feel fugly looking at it's buttock.

• aonio on Oct 09, 2009 at 6:59 am

I thought the saga BLM is the ugliest car in in the would. But now i realize i was wrong.

• kobealex on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:29 am

please use your hand to cover all but the front of the car!!!

an advice for all to prevent vomiting…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:35 am

my god this is really horrible

• Nelssssoon on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:49 am

206+ sedan? look ugly… i rather choose 206 hatch :p

• mahdi on Oct 09, 2009 at 9:47 am

looks like only the front is 207 and the rest is 206 and the Iranian 206SD … i thought after IKCO made the Runna based on 206SD that was the worst idea ever … now i see Naza is also twisted in a whole new way i really home this is some "ARTIST"s impression!!!

• l3ryan on Oct 09, 2009 at 11:00 am

That is one fugly looking car. :(

• azrai on Oct 09, 2009 at 3:48 pm

The French just taking advantage of nest year FTA in ASEAN. 0% import duty. The car is mostly for export market in other ASEAN region. NAZA is the only 'success' of AP policy. The rest, just rest. If we have a million bumiputera like NAZA. (That's mean Rafidah's family become bigger then) :-)

• lazyf on Oct 09, 2009 at 4:28 pm

Persona is much better looking than this…

• azman on Oct 09, 2009 at 5:38 pm

206B can take RON95..

• BlaBlaBla on Oct 09, 2009 at 5:46 pm

Horrible…

• that's a pretty looking car .. cant wait!

• belakang dia nampak kelakar la.

• droll on Oct 09, 2009 at 6:28 pm

r u sure the locally assembled peugeot cars are not as good? see this -> http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/topic.asp… and look at the 2nd post.

• raybrig on Oct 09, 2009 at 7:01 pm

its ugly..looks like third world country car…haih…

• mystvearn on Oct 09, 2009 at 9:09 pm

Agree la. Hatchback look way better than this one

• humanbeing on Oct 09, 2009 at 9:53 pm

so horrible looking!!!

i won't wanna get this even the price is good

• MADBOY on Oct 09, 2009 at 10:13 pm

raybrig said,

October 9, 2009 @ 11:01 am

its ugly..looks like third world country car…haih…

————————————————

it is for 3rd world countries

• Ungliest car on earth

• Farking Ugly…the engineer don't have eye lor

• steven on Oct 10, 2009 at 2:03 am

naza should in this model kia rio sedan ~ the 207 not our malaysian type ~

http://images.search.yahoo.com/images/view?back=h…

• dickhead on Oct 10, 2009 at 3:31 am

I think with a higher bootline, spoiler maybe it will look alright. Theo whip out your magic wand.

Naza is good at those clear cover dark lense upgrade, so it should have a big say on that 207's @ss.

Anyway, I would not buy one even if it is cheap.

No resale value, and I'm a dickhead.

• Ritz Ariff on Oct 10, 2009 at 3:55 am

PUG206 still the best….

• will definitely be more attractive to the slightly more mature crowd due to the sedan shape… even though the younger crowd may not find it to their taste. anyway, i have seen the car and it is very nice in the flesh. it is not photogenic but seeing it live is a different experience. i can say, to my own opinion, it looks very nice when seen live.

driving it proves that it loses none of the 206's sharp handling and superior comfort compared to its eastern rivals. with the added power from the 1.6, it clearly outclasses the performance of the 1.4 in the 206. with the added boot space, it is now also more practical for small families who need the space for the home town trips. this will allow it to appeal to a wider target audience. perhaps it really is time to move on.

• one will need to look past the visage in order to enjoy the car's inner strengths. this will be tough in 'buy-with-eyesight' malaysians though.

• Now that BMW has brought in the diesel 'd' for sale here, wonder if Naza is going to assemble one with the oil burner so that Malaysians can save some money on fuel.

• milanRed (Member) on Oct 10, 2009 at 7:53 pm

fr an insider… peugeot cars need certain percentage of parts to be assembled in malaysia to be considered CKD i.e. for instance, 308 turbo have their tyres and rims installed here whilst the rest is imported.. and 407 have their tyres, rims and bumpers installed/assembled here and the BEStari had the tyres, rims, bumpers, trimmings, batteries, doors here.

the 207 sedan should have the same arrangement to achieve the CKD status but which part is assembled in Gurun is anyone guess.

• mingyuyu on Oct 10, 2009 at 10:34 pm

Looks like the back of the car is oversized seriously, too bad to see cant get the hatch version.

• nice effort to bring in something new but not this model please… the rear look really bad!

• pinchboyz on Oct 11, 2009 at 8:42 am

milanRed,

mind to explain more detail on your statement?

CKD mean? Complete Knock Down…

thanks

• morpheuzneo on Oct 11, 2009 at 11:03 am

ommon sensor : on national ommar status for NAZA

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In the 1st place, they're not even supposed to have a national car status at all.

What are they? basically a rebadged car assembler.. in the same league like DRB-Hm, UMW & Tan Chong, Kah Motor and Oriental. All are just assembler.

This is the company that have done biggest damage to our local car industry by bringing in all sorts of recon and new model.. with their endless supplies of AP.

This is kak Pidah last legacy lah. Better for govt. to remove the national car status, and let the status held on by Proton and Perodua.

• nighttrain on Oct 11, 2009 at 7:16 pm

It's a hatch with an ass tacked to it. Really fugly looking car. Nobody in Europe will buy it. Asian just buy sedan only. Any sedan, including fugly ones.

• blabla on Oct 12, 2009 at 5:41 am

one word. FUGLY!!!

• budlee on Oct 12, 2009 at 9:13 am

wow, the car chassis is pretty old eh..

going for the wira, iswara, bettle, mini longevity perhaps?

207 sedan based on the 206 chassis? kinda like the 206 plus that they sell in some parts of europe.. 207 looks with 206 underpinnings

looks like it will have a huge bonnet..

europeans dont like sedans that much, since they prefer hatchback and stationwagons..

hmm not my cup of tea, but then if priced well, it could be..

its nice to drive something a bit different

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:07 pm

And guess what, to bring the cost down, NAZA's going to import the CKD packs from IRAN the car is being assembled there! He he, just my guess laa . . .

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:08 pm

oops, what I meant to say that "… coz the car is being MANUFACTURED there"

• Found some additional pictures taken from other angles. They seem to look a little better.

http://www.autonet.com.tw/cgi-bin/view.cgi?/news/…

http://other-roads.blogspot.com/2009/10/other-roa…

The latter is particularly interesting, because the 207 sedan shown even has a "NAZA T33" number plate, and it even says the price range is expected to be 52k to 55k MYR. The dashboard looks strange though.

• A positive point of 207 is its handbrake seems to be at the right position (the same distance from both left and right front seats), compared to most existing Peugeot models, including Bestari, in Malaysia.

• other roads on Oct 13, 2009 at 5:56 am

Dear HWT, in truth that image was emailed to me by a friend – chances are he did the T33 marque himself too :) but seriously I am not too concern about the shapes of things there coming or the price range come pending, I am looking out more on the looming NAP and how it would impact upon all pricing really. protectionism must give way to better consumer protections and pricing. jd powers & associates have ranked us as having poor balance of active safety devices on our range of automobiles presently available on the market. our highway safety board (I believe its that) must begin pushing for our own rated NCAP requirements like the ones they have in Australia – the ANCAP. till they could effectively do this, they are tying our mentality some steps backwards with this Ops and that Ops. The Ops are VERY important – yes truth. but they too must be a pro-active organization. Those are just my humble views, please do excuse me and BIG Thanks to sifu Paul Tan for letting the comments through. God bless all, bright blessings and a happy Diwali. – other roads.

• Thanks for the clarification. I can only hope your price estimate is reliable…….. If 52-55k MYR is a wild guess, perhaps I should proceed to place my 100 MYR booking for a 45k MYR Bestari, which Nasim told me a few days ago "memang ada" stock.

• intermilan on Oct 13, 2009 at 6:52 pm

First thing first, this is not for Peugeot enthusiasist. Even Peugeot and Nasim people knew this.

This car is for People how buy it not because of it Peugeot characteristic, but bcoz its a car that they find suit their needs, be it large enuff boot, cheap to buy, cheap to maintain, got chrome parts lah, cheaper than Vios J lah, rear passenger space is big and selesa lah, look not that bad lah, boot besar lah (again!) etc.

From the heavily negative response by this blog readers, Nasim people should be happy about their decision to bring this car into M'sia.

Don't worry too fast… hehehe..

Why?, because opinion expressed here sometime are truly opposite to the real market sentiment out there. Of course, this only apply to certain models. Example, when people here say Exora is underpowered, almost every else outside also say the same. But when many people over here hantam Myvi kaw-kaw, saying all bad things about it (which largely are quite true), Myvi sale continue to break sale records after another, even after being in the market for more than 3-4 years. Hotter models in Malaysia since it intriduction back then.

So how about this 207 sedan? .. Without heavy A&P and some price cutting, not so bright, I guess. Jangan end up like the suzuki SX4 sedan sudah…

The yearly 16,000 units is a big big target. but that is for the whole ASEAN. Maybe malaysia sale target is 6,000 units per year. Maybe they have better chance with a sedan this time. which got a bigger engine for a start.

Surely there will be portion of the 99% M'sia general public that don't frequent this site and aren't so passionate about car that will find this 207 sedan somewhat 'OK'. Sama saja macam vios, city, latio and the rest of those B-segment sedan, which is a very important and large market segment.

So, this car is just for this market buyer. Lots of Peugeot owners dont quite like it (good indication), quite a number of 206 hatch owner find the design ungainly..

But just 6,000 nod from the public will do for Nasim.

6,000 from nearly 5 millions M'sian that capable of buying it?

Its a horrible thing if Nasim can't get 6,000 M'sian to buy this on yearly basis.

• If we assume the annual car sales is about twice of half-year sales, and further assume the 2010 and 2011 figures are similar to those of 2008, it may not be easy for a European or American car to reach 6000 per year. Mercedes and BMW are about 4000 to 5000 each, but their potential buyers are probably not going to be interested in Peugeot. Ford and Volkswagen are far behind, at about 25 to 33 percent of the Naza target of 6000. In my opinion, if the T33/207 prices are higher than or even equivalent to that of a Persona, Exora or Perodua MPV, the chance of reaching even half of the target may be very slim. Of course, Naza can resort to the tactic applied to 206, reducing the price by 25 to 40 percent about two to three years later to clear stock and to produce a reasonable average sales figure.

• HWT,

The handbrake looks like that because the photo is flipped from left to right. and most of the photos from "other road" is photoshopped, including the pic with the Naza T33 number plate. The pics are mostly from the 207 compact launch somewhere is south america.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:11 am

i must say this makes the toyota vios look like a ferrari

• Some additional pictures of Peugeot 207 sedan (they show mainly the interior of the car), for those who can stand its shape…….

http://www.chinacarforums.com/forum/showthread.ph… http://www.chinacarforums.com/forum/showthread.ph…

• lowprofile on Oct 15, 2009 at 11:24 pm

the china cars all look tall because of their taller suspension. even their 206 look taller than ours!

• Naqib Ibrahim on Oct 25, 2009 at 1:07 am

the interior is damn nice

the rear is a massive turn-off

dont think naza's going to change that

but for 55k vios will be history

• EL PADROTE DE SUS MA on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:47 pm

IT IS A BEATIFUL CAR, IS A DREAM.

• sleep.talker on Mar 21, 2010 at 9:59 am

It's a total disappointment…. why not the 207 hatch…..? i've been waiting….

• A 3923 kilometer Chinese New Year trip on a 207 sedan:

http://club.autohome.com.cn/bbs/thread-c-688-5829169-1.html

• bobdbilder on Jun 21, 2010 at 12:11 pm

Saw it in Putrajaya on 20 June 2010. Two cars; silver and dark coloured. Guess they were there for Photo shoot. That means its very close to market release.

• Actually, the car is ‘OK’ but the only thing that makes the car looked weird is the missing ‘triangular’ window at C-pillar.

Already thinking of ‘facelift’ before NAZA sells them here in M’sia… Will they?

However, the PRICE could be a strong factor to compete against national cars…