New 1.6L entry-level Peugeot for M’sia in 2010?

Peugeot 207

The Malaysian Reserve reports on its front page today that Naza and PSA Peugeot-Citroen are looking at introducing a 1.6 litre entry level car that will be sold in Malaysia and also assembled and exported from here to other ASEAN regions. This solidifies plans for Naza to turn Malaysia into Peugeot’s assembly hub for the region.

Naza currently already exports the 206 to various countries including Nepal. It is in line with Peugeot’s international entry level car strategy for this to be some variation of the 206 and since we already have the 206 in 1.4 litre variety, perhaps the new compact car will be the 207 Sedan which is essentially a 206 sedan with 207 aesthetics. A 1.6 litre engine will be good news. Ideally it should be priced around the new Hyundai Accent’s level, but who knows. There is also a 307 Sedan that exists.

Look after the jump for more shots of the 207 Sedan.

Peugeot 207

Peugeot 207

Peugeot 207

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• micheal on Mar 10, 2009 at 6:19 pm

First!

ugly rear!

• Arise on Mar 10, 2009 at 6:21 pm

Peugeot is moving at the right direction if this is true. Better still bring in their famous diesel engine varieties. We all need better cars with good technologies. Voila !

• Cutester on Mar 10, 2009 at 6:22 pm

Not bad!….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 10, 2009 at 6:45 pm

[quote comment="219084"]Peugeot is moving at the right direction if this is true. Better still bring in their famous diesel engine varieties. We all need better cars with good technologies. Voila ![/quote]

with our lousy diesel quality?

• Littlefire on Mar 10, 2009 at 7:14 pm

I think is time to go to the environment minister there to complain about our louzy diesel quality which are polluting the environment. After that go to Shabery office there to push for faster implement of EURO2..

• zafid (Member) on Mar 10, 2009 at 7:20 pm

the name of "207 compact" should be on hatchback not sedan…

btw, this is good news for Peugeot owner, more car on the road meaning easier to find spare part, however Naza should improve their after sales service first. current condition is not very satisfying.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 10, 2009 at 7:52 pm

[quote comment="219122"]I think is time to go to the environment minister there to complain about our louzy diesel quality which are polluting the environment. After that go to Shabery office there to push for faster implement of EURO2..[/quote]

dont kacau them la.. they have other more important things to worry about. ;) problem is, i also dunno what.

• coolipstick, color i on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:03 pm

maybe becuase ugly butt can contribute to lesser butt slamming… hehehe

• coolipstick, color i on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:05 pm

if honda city can have it.. why not this…

• john mclane on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:10 pm

I wonder how will Protong feel now…hahaha…hey, i thought we are promoting national product? how come introduce another competitor to the market?…then..those GM, Mitsubishi, Ford whatever collaboration talk sure fall apart la…….Potong is totally been con…haha…

• if naza/pug is serious, please bring 207 sedan instead 206 disguise in 207. Or make sure pug is reliable like japs.

• MyviKiller on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:21 pm

[quote comment=”219342″]When I car it designed in Europe, it is trial and tested in European weather. Malaysias hot and humid climate will substantially affect the cars overall reliability.[/quote]

Yeah I agree with you too, but Naza is going to assemble them so I think they must have been tuned for our local taste, including for our hoit and humid climate.

• Bodow on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:28 pm

Best selling cars in Western Europe are European- made models , not Japs . This is important to understand as in a mature automative market , read Europe, despite Japs selling relatively cheaper model for model .

The issue about reliability is grossly misplaced . Stop the cliche Toyota ma , Honda ma . We need more sales of Europe models in Malaysia as their cars are more superior in terms of comfort , ride , handling , interior quality etc .

i laud Nazan for bringing more Europe models .

• lowprofile on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:37 pm

[quote comment="219166"]if naza/pug is serious, please bring 207 sedan instead 206 disguise in 207. Or make sure pug is reliable like japs.[/quote]

at the moment, there is no real 207 sedan based on the 207. what you see above is the only 207 sedan that is available.

• MyBoy on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:43 pm

[quote comment=”219360″][quote comment=”219342″]When I car it designed in Europe, it is trial and tested in European weather. Malaysias hot and humid climate will substantially affect the cars overall reliability.[/quote]

Yeah I agree with you too, but Naza is going to assemble them so I think they must have been tuned for our local taste, including for our hoit and humid climate.[/quote]
    Agree with you but still its not good looking and less spacious.

• osh_kosh on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:51 pm

this's good news… :)

• blabla on Mar 10, 2009 at 9:36 pm

fugly!@!!

• rambo on Mar 10, 2009 at 9:37 pm

nice face,ugly base…hatch would hv been better

• MyBoy on Mar 10, 2009 at 9:39 pm

BAD design. I bet even Proton Saga BLM interior is more spacious than this 206 sedan (with 207 styling). Proton Saga BLM with 1.6 CPS will definitely kill this car in term of overall user appeal.

• MyBoy on Mar 10, 2009 at 9:47 pm

[quote comment="219183"]this's good news… :)[/quote]

Good news al right. But definitely not a good car.

• barca on Mar 10, 2009 at 10:05 pm

[quote comment="219166"]if naza/pug is serious, please bring 207 sedan instead 206 disguise in 207. [/quote]

sadly, there is no real 207 sedan. the only full-fledged sedan was the 206 sedan. we might be the 3rd country in the world after china and brazil to have a 'fake 207 sedan'. find out more in the links below:

http://www.chinacartimes.com/2008/07/23/206-to-ge… http://www.207compact.com/

[quote comment="219166"]make sure pug is reliable like japs.[/quote]

seriously karl, make Peugeot reliable like T, H or even N? M, D and S are all different matter entirely.

heck, none of these come close to a comfortable ride as a Peugeot or any conti for that matter. even my tiara/citroen ax is a comfortable ride, beating any offerings by T, H and N any day.

there is something about japanese cars which have that sterilized driving feel called "i-did-not-feel-any-bumps" as opposed to real driving feel "i-feel-the-bumps-and-i-like-it", as i like to call them.

no, i'm not being fair to N somewhat because it has Renault's touch.

i'd like to think that N is actually Renault in disguise, similar to Perodua which is actually D in disguise.

• MyBoy on Mar 10, 2009 at 10:15 pm

barca,

Renault-Nissan relation (technical aspect) is not the same as D-P relation. Its like comparing symbiotic with parasitic relation.

• lowprofile on Mar 10, 2009 at 10:23 pm

it's a good thing then that proton will never come out with a blm with the 1.6 cps engine ;)

• MyBoy on Mar 10, 2009 at 10:27 pm

[quote comment="219234"]it's a good thing then that proton will never come out with a blm with the 1.6 cps engine ;)[/quote]

Exactly. In a way it is a good news though indirectly. But the car is a BAD one, no doubt. Proton Saga BLM with 1.6 CPS will eat this car alive.

• lowprofile on Mar 10, 2009 at 10:28 pm

MyBoy,

i agree with you that the saga is more spacious but, in terms of driver appeal, it will be hard to say and even judge till the car finally arrives.

imho, my bet's on the 207 sedan for better ride and handling. i don't think they will be targetting large families in the outskirts with this car. it won't sell like the blm (what does anyway) but will appeal more to urbanite looking for an easy entry into an european marque.

• MyBoy on Mar 10, 2009 at 10:35 pm

[quote comment="219237"]MyBoy,

i agree with you that the saga is more spacious but, in terms of driver appeal, it will be hard to say and even judge till the car finally arrives.

imho, my bet's on the 207 sedan for better ride and handling. i don't think they will be targetting large families in the outskirts with this car. it won't sell like the blm (what does anyway) but will appeal more to urbanite looking for an easy entry into an european marque.[/quote]

Agree with you bro. But I think if Proton manage to put the specs and the price right. It will annihilate this car as its I believe will share roughly the same segment thought might not be a direct competitor.

But you know Malaysian, the same guy can magically swing from Viva to Saga and vice versa without any real reason. Malaysian is different from others in many ways.

• sick and tired on Mar 10, 2009 at 11:35 pm

Are you for real? Saga BLM better then the 206 sedan? What a sick and fucked up joke!

[quote comment="219210"]BAD design. I bet even Proton Saga BLM interior is more spacious than this 206 sedan (with 207 styling). Proton Saga BLM with 1.6 CPS will definitely kill this car in term of overall user appeal.[/quote]

• MyBoy on Mar 10, 2009 at 11:42 pm

[quote comment="219275"]Are you for real? Saga BLM better then the 206 sedan? What a sick and fucked up joke!

[quote comment="219210"]BAD design. I bet even Proton Saga BLM interior is more spacious than this 206 sedan (with 207 styling). Proton Saga BLM with 1.6 CPS will definitely kill this car in term of overall user appeal.[/quote][/quote]

What I meant is Saga BLM with Higher specs and 1.6 CPS engine you FUCK.

• carboy on Mar 11, 2009 at 12:09 am

That's is the joke of the century which people can claim Proton Saga is better then this Peoguet 206. The only reason that people choose Proton is because of Pricing nothing more than that.

• intermilan on Mar 11, 2009 at 12:10 am

This 207 sedan (aka 206 sedan) if price right (within RM75-78K range for a starter? Better if lower.. Just a blind guess, okay?) will be Peugeot's own Vios and City (similar in concept as in T & H strategy of entry level sedan car a.k.a. bread-and-butter car).

A 1.6L engine is almost a must IMHO, as anything below 1.5L is 'enough already lah' (i.e. Bestari). People just want 1.5L or more (for the money they pay).

To quickly compare it with Saga or what ever in the RM40-50K bracket is childish / immature / 'poisonous' attitude. Sorry dude. Its too crystal clear that all these cars' target market is different, which therefore make such comparison uncalled for. To compare, put it against the Vios, City, SX4 sedan, Latio sedan etc, to name a few. That's fair comments.

Back to the 207 sedan, as long as it have decent similarity with the 'concept' of basic urban transportation as what been defined (and make it their own) by Vios and City and most crucially, asking price that shout CHEAP SALE / GREAT VALUE european car in-front-of-your-face with all the goodies that you expect, I'm sure it will garner a lot of sale… it's a European Vios/City!

but of course it depends on:

the impression / in-road made by 407 and now the even bigger impression made by 308. This two CKD models should mould and smoother the market acceptance towards a cheap Peugeot. But first Nasim need to sell as much Peugeot as possible to give the marque a worthy road presence / free of charge mobile marketing force / advert.

MAA report stated that Nasim sold 'only' 208 units of 407 CKD in 2008. well.. that is too small a number to 'feel' the new Peugeot road presence. Even for Klang Valley. If Nasim can meet even 70% of their publicised sale target of Peugeot in 2009 i.e. 4,600 units, then they'll have the all-important 'multiplier effect' (that are so so important) to suppport the intrdouction of the 207 sedan.

Having said that, the 'fire sale' of the Bestari a.k.a. Peugeot 206 hatchback (It's sales were classified under Naza in MAA report) which seem to be intensify since they introduce the 12-year tenure interest-FREE purchasing scheme might be the dark horse for Nasim in terms of the 'multiplier effect'.

We should remember and learn from Suzuki experience; Suzuki rake good sale from the Swift CKD thus larger road presence but still the SX4 sedan somewhat struggle to break the market.

At any rate, this 'breakthrough' by Peugeot at least bring 'freshness' into the Malaysia car market. Nasim have and are doing their part to take slice of the market , boringly dominated by H & T and the 2 P, while bringing in new options to consumer here. Hopefully whatever they do and offer is good enough for the market to at least consider seriously.

Lastly.. As the popular saying, "If you can't beat them.. join them.."

• doraemon on Mar 11, 2009 at 12:45 am

first impression ok, but not sure d price. if arnd rm75k it would be attractive, and competetive to our up cming 'NEW WAJA' that would be priced arnd rm 70k. :)

• gattaca on Mar 11, 2009 at 12:51 am

why almost every thread in PT will relate to Proton?

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 2:30 am

it really looks like a nissan slphy crash into a 207 ..

• MyBoy on Mar 11, 2009 at 2:34 am

[quote comment="219317"]it really looks like a nissan slphy crash into a 207 ..[/quote]

equal to: Ugly

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 11, 2009 at 2:47 am

[quote comment="219275"]Are you for real? Saga BLM better then the 206 sedan? What a sick and fucked up joke!

[quote comment="219210"]BAD design. I bet even Proton Saga BLM interior is more spacious than this 206 sedan (with 207 styling). Proton Saga BLM with 1.6 CPS will definitely kill this car in term of overall user appeal.[/quote][/quote]

you should think properly before you post.. because no car in the world is perfect. i'm very sure that there will definitely be points where a saga can actually be better than a 206. unless you can prove otherwise?

some points i can think of straight away..

1. price to buy

2. spare parts price

3 availability of spare parts

4. number of service centres higher for proton

and i'm sure there are more.

• MyBoy on Mar 11, 2009 at 2:47 am

[quote comment="219084"]Peugeot is moving at the right direction if this is true. Better still bring in their famous diesel engine varieties. We all need better cars with good technologies. Voila ![/quote]

Quality of our diesel is CRAP, remember?

• tansri on Mar 11, 2009 at 2:57 am

i think this car is ok..

event the latio sedan is more ugly..

if they change the tail lamp bigger maybe the back looks better..

• Thanks to Naza that give us a cheap Peugeot 1.6 sedan on Bolehland.

• MyBoy on Mar 11, 2009 at 3:08 am

[quote comment="219327"]i think this car is ok..

event the latio sedan is more ugly..

if they change the tail lamp bigger maybe the back looks better..[/quote]

Quite agree. Latio sedan looks like an afterthought.

• MyBoy on Mar 11, 2009 at 3:09 am

[quote comment="219328"]Thanks to Naza that give us a cheap Peugeot 1.6 sedan on Bolehland.[/quote]

Agree. I guess this will really stimulate P1 to work harder or face a painful death.

• Akazamabamaboo on Mar 11, 2009 at 3:31 am

Yuck…keep that thing away from our shores…

• quak58 of AUssie on Mar 11, 2009 at 3:57 am

I must say, it really does look like an entry model. Comparing with with the previous models the frechies and really stuffed the styling up. There are only a few reasons to buy french cars:

– Looks

-Character

-Luxury feel

Do not be so naieve as to think that all Euro cars are good. When I car it designed in Europe, it is trial and tested in European weather. Malaysias hot and humid climate will substantially affect the cars overall reliability. Bundled in with the lack of spare parts and skilled labour to take of of your car, you will be looking at a hefty bill even with en 'entry' level car. In conclusion if you have the cash and you wish to roll around in a Euro car, get a VW Polo. I wouldn't trust someone having a bottle of wine during thier lunch break to put a car together.

• MyBoy on Mar 11, 2009 at 3:58 am

[quote comment="219288"]This 207 sedan (aka 206 sedan) if price right (within RM75-78K range for a starter? Better if lower.. Just a blind guess, okay?) will be Peugeot's own Vios and City (similar in concept as in T & H strategy of entry level sedan car a.k.a. bread-and-butter car).[/quote]

This car is dead meat if they priced it at 70K++. I think 60K++ is more likely. But still, Proper specs Proton Saga BLM with 1.6 CPS can easily match this car and still it will be a lot cheaper to buy and to maintain.

• MyBoy on Mar 11, 2009 at 4:00 am

[quote comment="219342"]I must say, it really does look like an entry model. Comparing with with the previous models the frechies and really stuffed the styling up. There are only a few reasons to buy french cars:

– Looks

-Character

-Luxury feel

Do not be so naieve as to think that all Euro cars are good. When I car it designed in Europe, it is trial and tested in European weather. Malaysias hot and humid climate will substantially affect the cars overall reliability. Bundled in with the lack of spare parts and skilled labour to take of of your car, you will be looking at a hefty bill even with en 'entry' level car. In conclusion if you have the cash and you wish to roll around in a Euro car, get a VW Polo. I wouldn't trust someone having a bottle of wine during thier lunch break to put a car together.[/quote]

Luxury feel? 206 is by no mean luxury.

• michaelooi on Mar 11, 2009 at 4:01 am

what a piece of ugly shit…

• Rulered on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:45 am

Entry level conti cars have a long way in matching the likes of entry level jap cars especially in the sedan segment. Firstly they have to proof that their cars are reliable and fairly cheap to buy and maintain. Next would be nationwide aftersales service must be accessible just as good as T or even H. Maybe the reliability part is not a big issue to deal with. Getting the price down is by simply getting it assembled here or to cooperate with a local car co, which is not that simple looking at the scenario of our local car industry. The maintainance and wide coverage of service centre is also another main brickwall, if they can somehow solve these problems, I would say that entry level conti cars would give the 'big 2' japs car a good run for their money (and it's about time too). No matter how ugly this conti car looks, at least they have the decency of putting a proper rear red light at the bumper unlike the Japs which just put a motorcycle reflector (and we just settle for it). As I said it's not an overnight solution of having nationwide and reliable service and parts centre, it's a long long way to get the confidence from mass buyer, but its not impossible….or is it? Probably it was clever marketing idea if the europeans started concentrating in bringing in entry level cars 30-40 years ago which opens more possibilities and put a strong foothold here than bringing in the more luxurios cars that we are more accustomed to now.

• [quote comment="219224"][quote comment="219166"]if naza/pug is serious, please bring 207 sedan instead 206 disguise in 207. [/quote]

sadly, there is no real 207 sedan. the only full-fledged sedan was the 206 sedan. we might be the 3rd country in the world after china and brazil to have a 'fake 207 sedan'. find out more in the links below:

http://www.chinacartimes.com/2008/07/23/206-to-ge… http://www.207compact.com/

[quote comment="219166"]make sure pug is reliable like japs.[/quote]

seriously karl, make Peugeot reliable like T, H or even N? M, D and S are all different matter entirely.

heck, none of these come close to a comfortable ride as a Peugeot or any conti for that matter. even my tiara/citroen ax is a comfortable ride, beating any offerings by T, H and N any day.

there is something about japanese cars which have that sterilized driving feel called "i-did-not-feel-any-bumps" as opposed to real driving feel "i-feel-the-bumps-and-i-like-it", as i like to call them.

no, i'm not being fair to N somewhat because it has Renault's touch.

i'd like to think that N is actually Renault in disguise, similar to Perodua which is actually D in disguise.[/quote]

Dude I'm more than understand you guys have confuse why majority of us reluctant to appreciate the Pug's handling never close to those Honda (let alone Toyota) BUT really the reliability is upmost important to everyone.

This is fact. Even Proton greater than Pug, Citroen. Renault not really have "problem".

Remember dude, your hard-earned money is so precious to spend to something perceived less reliable than the Japs. By the way, l'm rather pleased to have Pug 308 (subRm100k) as the car driving character up to my liking and under RM100k is worthy than some Japs (if Civic not offered).

hehehe

• Nasim effort to price basic 206 is good move BUT make sure other elements also fulfilled i.e strong sale of Pug; more 3S in many regions (Kemaman Terengganu Pug is good example as the region has affordability to buy-maintain-have no problem with residual value).

Nasim must have presence in Northern-South-East Cost [at least Kuantan] beside Klang Valley.

They can't use relatively cheaper price tag and offset with the too expensive to maintain than Japs counterparts. Otherwise, people were not interested to buy even though price-technology (share same engine 308-Mini) very much reasonable.

I can't understand why some people take RELIABILITY for granted. That's BASIC; after that PERFORMANCE and lastly EXCITEMENT.

Japan's Vios got BASIC (when the quality aspects lies), considerable performance and no excitement easily can beat Pug 308.

Quality dimensions-performance; features; reliability; conformance; durability; serviceability; aesthetics; perceived quality.

Unless we live in utopia world of Europe (not in humid and hot country like Malaysia) then maybe conti easily outsell Japs. Quality also determined by users not provider. Most people perceived buying conti will cost an arm and leg.

True? How can you denied these fact when Pug owners itself strongly against your intention to buy the brand unless we really go after their characters and of course need not to break our piggybank?

I believe Nasim understand these fact and try to promote conti ownership. Matter of time…

• khimfoh on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:32 am

Personally, the 206 sedan looks like an after taught. But guess the 206 design team never envisioned the 206 to be a sedan since it was and still is originally designed as a hatchback.

I wouldn't mind buying one since I reckon the boot space should be more voluminous

• MyBoy on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:53 am

[quote comment="219397"]Personally, the 206 sedan looks like an after taught. But guess the 206 design team never envisioned the 206 to be a sedan since it was and still is originally designed as a hatchback.

I wouldn't mind buying one since I reckon the boot space should be more voluminous[/quote]

Afterthought. Yeah, the same goes to Latio Sedan and Sedan version of Swift.

• errr…persona is just fine for me. I dont need french wierdous

• pretty smart move. considering the cheaper cost here than shipping direct from france.

use the cheaper cars to build brand first then move up market.

although between a proton and a peugeot, which would you choose.

i take peugeot despite how ugly it looks cause of heritage. LOL.

• milton86 on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:14 am

very french…

• Farhat Haniff on Mar 11, 2009 at 9:22 am

I already find the 206 ugly, and having a sedan version of this just looks disfigured. Seen a few on the road in Berlin actually, and they are, very fugly. But i dont know, since here all i see is Mercs, BMWs, Porsches, this car is un-appealing. I think the normal 206 is better than this, eventhough i dislike both variants.

But as for entry-level sedan, id rather get a Persona, in terms of looks. But I have no idea about maintenance cost of Peugeot in Malaysia.

• normal_user on Mar 11, 2009 at 4:32 pm

I wondered why some people want to compare the 206 with the BLM. Frankly it is so immature, and the similar comments are given by the same person in other posts as well.

The 206 has its own appeal to a market segment who prefer conti ride & handling, safety, fuel-efficiency and refinement. If Im not mistaken, this European COTY winner got 4-star euroNCAP safety rating, and its engineering for fun and comfort driving pleasure. The technological superiority is far advanced from BLM or any japanese B-segment model during its heyday (even the current ones), and the target market is also different. Some people are willing to put in their hard earned money to buy this car, and they dont mind because they appreciate the niceties that Conti cars can offer. So please don't blindly bash that the 206 or its variants are bad. Drive it first, and comment later on.

• agree with you
      japanese car using third generation gear box while lastest technology already rach 7th but at least this peugeot using 5th generation
      for safety reason it worth more than japanese car because of it design and material
      please find out more about the car before u guys give ur comment

• lowprofile on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:11 pm

[quote comment="219343"][quote comment="219288"]This 207 sedan (aka 206 sedan) if price right (within RM75-78K range for a starter? Better if lower.. Just a blind guess, okay?) will be Peugeot's own Vios and City (similar in concept as in T & H strategy of entry level sedan car a.k.a. bread-and-butter car).[/quote]

This car is dead meat if they priced it at 70K++. I think 60K++ is more likely. But still, Proper specs Proton Saga BLM with 1.6 CPS can easily match this car and still it will be a lot cheaper to buy and to maintain.[/quote]

what if it is between maybe 63k and 68k then? remember, this car could be priced near to the protons but nasim is probably not looking so much for the proton buyers to cross over as proton buyers will place cost of ownership above everything else. of course if there are any, it will be good news for nasim.

they would probably be looking at 206 owners or even those who owned the 306 before who had always wanted a small peugeot sedan instead. yeah the number will not be great but i guess as more buy into the brand, the opportunity to expand is stronger. another demographic is probably those who had experienced european cars before in other countries and would appreciate the difference that the 207 sedan offers compared to other local offerings.

the vios j auto at slightly above 70k seems to be selling. not a fantastic specced car without even in-cabin air flow direction but still selling nonetheless due to toyota's reputation in aftersales. nasim will probably spec the 207 sedan (if it comes in lah) like a christmas tree to ensure that it is competitive.

• sick and tired on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:41 pm

Seriously, you are the most idiotic guy I have ever have come across.Pls use your tiny brains when making comments la. Comparing a piece of shit like Saga BLM with this car.

The reason why the 206 sedan is more expensive then the BLM is bcos the government tax it to the max. If the BLM is priced the same as the 206 sedan, will you buy the same car ah?

What a cock sucka!

[quote comment="219343"][quote comment="219288"]This 207 sedan (aka 206 sedan) if price right (within RM75-78K range for a starter? Better if lower.. Just a blind guess, okay?) will be Peugeot's own Vios and City (similar in concept as in T & H strategy of entry level sedan car a.k.a. bread-and-butter car).[/quote]

This car is dead meat if they priced it at 70K++. I think 60K++ is more likely. But still, Proper specs Proton Saga BLM with 1.6 CPS can easily match this car and still it will be a lot cheaper to buy and to maintain.[/quote]

• intermilan on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:50 pm

emmm… i can see that the naysayers keep hammering that Proton offerings (BLM, Persona) are more cost-wise and as usual, the 207 sedan look ugly. well, that are points to ponder. Whether it is truly true and fair is up to your own judgement.

Cost-wise, the target market of the 207 sedan is very much not the BLM buyer. it might clash with the Persona as the price gap is not so big, although rm8-10K is a lot of money for people that realisticly could only afford a Persona. it might be similarly priced against the Waja but its a different segment car so its not a Waja competition. It will fight in the ultra competitive B segment but not looking to create any new Malaysian records, i supposed. That 'race' is a straight fight between T & H (for non-national car), eventhough i suspect that the 207 sedan will have asking price advantage over the T & H equivalent offerings.

Looks. most sedan that were derived from hatchback look like an afterthought. even if it is not. this is easy meat for basher alike. the 207 sedan rear portion couldn't properly hide it as well. so does all others. we were so use to the proportion of it hatchback cousin. but if people could buy the old city, latio sedan and the new dugong/vios, what it tell us is that look itself is not the all overiding factor for car in this category / price bracket.

there are many other factors to be considered that i shall not go into all of them for the time being for fear of runnig out of space :)

as lowprofile mentioned, safe money prediction is that the sale number will not be great, its not a threat to City, Vios, P1 and P2 products at all. Any one expect it to create a slug fest with the above is gonna be dissappointed (unless of course if Nasim price it too attractive, it might just create a stir in the pond).

All Peugeot offerings currently are alternative to the obvious, take the 308 for an example, it just made more affordable and viable, as an option than ever before. Agree?

and i suspect Nasim are not looking for those buyers who 'calculate' every single thing in car ownership and maintenance, as this rather 'problematic' owners are best left in the realm of P1, P2, T & H world.

Nasim might want to position this car to be attractive to 'rationale' and 'realistic' type of customer, who understand and accept the concept and reality that there is a price for everything. The kiasu that want all thing cheapest and of ultimate quality will surely not go for this car and thank God for that.

To own a continental car in Bolehland need a paradigm shift in mentality. We all know continental offerings have long suffered under bias Govt. automotive car policy isince 20+ years ago. But recently it seems to have its own mini revolution or come back, no less thanks to Nasim business acumen.

It is somewhat a 'new trend' and hopefully Nasim might be able to sustain the trend and convince as much people as possible that this 'new trend' or 'project' is a sound and safe proposition (and shall not be abandon mid-way).

In our market situation, Peugeot is an 'emotional' product. And they should market it that way (with some bread-and-butter strengh to back it up too).

Right now it couldn't match the easiness of service provided by the big players, long established and entrenched in the market and people mind. But what the distributors looks committed to do is to improve, by leap and bound, in the aspect (of easiness and lower cost of service and maintenance). Quick check at their website reveals that they have presence (service centres) in Klang Valley, Gurun – Kedah, Penang, Butterworth (soon!), Ipoh, Seremban, Melaka, JB, Kuantan, KT, Kemaman (?), Kota Baru, KK and Kuching (to name a few). Seem like a nationwide network to me.. Of course this must be further improved as things get along / over time.

The inter-related areas (sales and aftersales) need to raise simultaneously to order for the 'new trend' to survive and grow. The 207 sedan is another efforts in this path.

If they succeed, we all would have another viable alternative to current limited choice.

Therefore, from consumer point of view, why do we want a 'project' to create an alternative / more competition 'to the obvious' to not succeed?

Isn't it the more the merrier? The more choices, the better?

• Arise on Mar 11, 2009 at 9:45 pm

How do you guys perceive reliability as ? European marques also sold in other continents. Some are hot and humid like our country too. My French car's original MF battery lasted me 7 years so is the suspension. Reliable ? 306 ? Hmm, its nickname is mountain cornering king albeit using simpler set up. The French is able tune its suspension both for comfort and handling. Until today, I am still amazed they are able to achieve like no one else.

• lowprofile on Mar 11, 2009 at 10:20 pm

psa group manufacturers their own shock absorbers and are probably the only one that does not use an oem supplier. i guess it is to safeguard their shock absorber technology… ala kentucky fried chicken and their 11 herbs and spices!! ;)[quote comment="219607"]How do you guys perceive reliability as ? European marques also sold in other continents. Some are hot and humid like our country too. My French car's original MF battery lasted me 7 years so is the suspension. Reliable ? 306 ? Hmm, its nickname is mountain cornering king albeit using simpler set up. The French is able tune its suspension both for comfort and handling. Until today, I am still amazed they are able to achieve like no one else.[/quote]

psa group manufacturers their own shock absorbers and are probably the only one that does not use an oem supplier. i guess it is to safeguard their shock absorber technology… ala kentucky fried chicken and their 11 herbs and spices!! ;)

• lowprofile on Mar 12, 2009 at 5:54 pm

hmmm, the general comments in here are that the car looks so-so but what about the price? what would be an acceptable price for this peugeot? what if it is badged as a naza!!?? how much then would it be worth?

since i'm asking so many questions, i think i'll just add one more. what if they plonk the 206gti (2.0) engine into this car?

• lord_jagganath on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:44 pm

Malaysians are blind and f*cked up. H, T and N fucked up the perception of conti cars in the '80s by buying up euro workshops and shit ( yeah, conspiracy theories blah blah).. how can you say that the euro maker has no experience in a harsh climate like ours?… remember that the 405 is still being made in Africa because it is bloody reliable and cheap enough to run in their climate…. all fucked up perception….. fuckers…. also…. 407 hdi SW is fucking awesome…

sheesh… bila pembeli T, atau H jadi minitowkay huh? bodoh!

• lord_jagganath on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:47 pm

OMG.. some one hijacked my account?!?!!?!?

• Arise on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:19 pm

[quote comment="219865"]hmmm, the general comments in here are that the car looks so-so but what about the price? what would be an acceptable price for this peugeot? what if it is badged as a naza!!?? how much then would it be worth?

since i'm asking so many questions, i think i'll just add one more. what if they plonk the 206gti (2.0) engine into this car?[/quote]

Mostly people will say it is high maintenance because it is a 2.0liter. High fc. The usual stuff merry around again.

• lowprofile on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:33 pm

then the 1.6 better? if so, how much would malaysians pay for it?

1) if badged as peugeot?

2) if badged as naza?

• intermilan on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:55 pm

Hi,

Price if rm73-78K – high probabilty of puny sale. if Nasim want some impact, best to lower it further.

if rm63-68K (as you asked/mentioned before), it will have a fighting chance to obtain respectable sale figure, especially if the 1.6L +automatic gearbox is price in the middle of the range.

if badged as naza, will be poorly accepted, i would say. customer will want the Peugeot badge. why waste buyer money to 'transform' it back to Peugeot when it is totally opposite to 'market demand' (i assume). beside it will be view as kinda expensive @ rm63-68K as a naza. but it will be view as an acceptable / attractive / fantastic priced car if its a Peugeot.

2.0gti engine? that will be great if price variance is kept to a minimum. but doesn't it seem to be an overkill for a 207 sedan to have 138bhp? ntl, it might proved to be a marketing stroke of genius, served to 'dampen' the critic over the rear portion and the rear passenger space thou.. (who care much about the butt when it is very possible for the 207 sedan to be able to seriously challenge or tapau the civic and/or lancer in a straight line!). Personally, i found the 207 sedan rear portion style to be gracefully inspired by the ultra expensive 607 rear portion line & design but many non-Peugeot customer might not aware thus appreciate this similarity in style.

Alas, a 2.0L 207 sedan will have its own market thou, but as limited quantity offering (halo model for 207 sedan model) beside the 1.6L. or it could copycat what happened to the 308 CKD.

Pricing strategy is king here. but it is not 'absolute monarch', more like our Agong, got power but hand a bit tied.

The specification should be a little overwhelming (as usual) i supposed. at least it should match B-segment competitors in many aspects and crush the 'opposition' in a few 'to-be-highlighted' areas. beside the obvious specifications, the listed spec below might be well worth to be considered:

in no particular fashion:

digital air-cond, auto headlights (or wipers), enhanced MFD with fuel average, distance covered etc, 'upgradeable' audio system with 6-speakers (inc 2 twetters), rear headrests, leather-wrapped steering and gearknob (or even leather seats!), sprinkle some chrome/aluminium parts here and there (fuel filler cap?), short radio antenna at the back of the roof, body-coloured body/door trim, auto cruise control, 'sporty' rear exhaust (unlike 'impotent ' bestari one's), driver armrest cum storage box… the list could goes on, but enuff lah.

1.6L or 2.0L with manual gearbox, again in limited quantity, might push the sale figure a bit more.

p/s: 15" rim is ideal rather than little 14".

What say you?

• lowprofile on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:17 pm

if 2.0 then the 17inch rims from the gti180 will look fabulous. a real mini sport sedan!! but yeah, for the 1.6, 15 inch wheels as shown above will surely look much better than the current 14 inch ones on the 206.

• Andy214 on Mar 13, 2009 at 6:31 am

If it can be price at RM63K – RM68K, that'll be wonderful!

The current 206 (Bestari) is already selling at RM68K,

But what spec might it be getting?

Firstly, I'd say:

1. No rebagde; It should remain Peugeot badge; how will it impact the pricing? BUT STILL, never rebadge it, it'll just cause more problems and damages to both parties, the dealer and the owners.

2. No more 1.4L engine, they should bring in the 1.6L; 1.4L in Malaysian market is doing pretty badly. If possible, bring in the EP6 engine instead of the older version; People always look on technologies of the engine, the EP6 will be more demanding, competitive and also "feels" more realiable.

I'm just wondering how much can the price be? RM63K-RM68K is really a surprise if it's a 1.6L, as usually a newer models rarely goes cheaper moreover with higher specs and so on.

But pricing is one thing, what will the specs be; No point having cars like the Vios J, it'll just destroy the brand and make it look cheap. At least the specs should be good. If possible add some luxury to the models by having digital air-cond and such. The digital air-cond can really bring out class and makes the car dash stands out and feels more luxury/class.

Another important thing is, also mentioned by others, no matter how cheap the car gets, it's pointless without good after-sales services, parts availability and pricing. How much does the parts cost? It should be justifiable to the price of the car, no point having the parts total up can buy you additional 2-3 units or even more! Take a look at current 206, I still don't find the parts is reasonable and justifiable to the car price. If people buy and they need to replace something and it cost them a bomb, in the end, it spoils the reputation, the brand, etc. and all the hardwork and sales is all wasted.

You can sell, but with poor after-sales services, support and justifiable/reasonable parts pricing, it's useless at the end; Ended up working harder to sell, and more effort, more money spend on advertising, etc.

Lastly, if possible, I'd strongly suggest bring in the "actual" 207 rather than this. This has too much mixed reviews and will just have more people giving bad reviews/critics instead. Harder to sell, harder to convince, etc.

In the end, if it shares the same fate as the current Bestari, it'll just be worst and we might be seeing same thing happening to 206 now?

But I wonder how much will the actual 207 cost instead.

• Andy214 on Mar 13, 2009 at 6:41 am

For the 2.0L, I'd suggest taking the 1.6L THP175 instead. Again, more Fuel Efficient & powerful, 6 Speed Manual, superb torque,… so much more…

The 2.0L needs higher road tax, need to replace timing belt, and this and that. Anyhow I see it, the THP still sound so much better.

But but,… but then… this will need to be a hatch only fun. The sedan just doesn't have the look at all. The sedan version looks more like a family car and for people who want boot space and such.

It should be in hatch form and will stand a chance against it's rivals.

• lowprofile on Mar 13, 2009 at 5:14 pm

don't think the ep6 will fit into the engine bay though. from the specs that i can find overseas (china and brazil) it looks like the 1.6 is the tu5jp4. its still a 16 valver with twin cams though.

there's even a tu5jp4s which i saw in wikipedia (fitted to the citroen c2 vts). the 's' engine comes with 120hp but i think peugeot won't be so kind as to give malaysians that engine at the same price as the jp4.

• intermilan on Mar 14, 2009 at 2:35 am

talking about the jp4s engine, i am wondering as to why this engine was not fitted into / offered by PSA in more of their products. 120hp seems to be a healthy dose of power to attract customer.

the 110bhp jp4 is alright but obviously an extra 10bhp is much welcome in any NA engine car. but noted that the jp4s torque of 143Nm @ 3750rpm is slightly lower (less by 4 Nm) than what the jp4 engine can produced (at slightly higher rpm thou).

• izaman on May 03, 2009 at 2:08 am

i don't mind to buy this IF it can beat my persona's service bill. my persona service bill is rm200 per 5000km. my 206 service bill is rm200 for 20000km.

• lowprofile on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:02 pm

[quote comment="235452"]i don't mind to buy this IF it can beat my persona's service bill. my persona service bill is rm200 per 5000km. my 206 service bill is rm200 for 20000km.[/quote]

will probably be close to the 206 service bill but my sources seem to be not keen on this model for malaysia due to the malaysian love affair with japanese models.

• belkacem on Jul 17, 2009 at 11:22 am

on diré pas une peugeot 207 c plutot une 2006+en sedan tt court faudra revoir la coupe de la voiture a changé pour la 207 elle lui va pas mais vous pouvais la garde an 206 passion

• I-HATE-GG889933000-G on Jan 03, 2010 at 10:21 am

seriously. this 207 sedan looks not that nice especially the back..

but if you think City or pretty is adorable, then why not this? 207

i hate the stupid milo thin city,

• greeny on Mar 09, 2010 at 12:05 am

Owh man, I guess 207 R-Cup not the 207 sedan, rear look ugly.. cancel lah change my 206 to 207 hishh

• Juice on Mar 09, 2010 at 12:11 am

206 still the killer peugeot product..

• WTF!!! this is not real 207 that i know, but just like 206+ sedan, interial almost like 206!!!!