Honda recalls 962,000 cars worldwide – Fit, CR-V, City, as well as CR-Z models affected globally

Looks like the local “product update campaign” involving more than 40,000 vehicles announced yesterday by Honda Malaysia is part of a larger picture, involving nearly a million vehicles worldwide – Honda has issued a global recall for 962,000 vehicles, involving Fit (or the Jazz), CR-V, City and CR-Z models to repair problems with power windows and computer equipment.

The entire exercise involves 936,000 Fit, CR-V and the City models in Japan, China, the US, Europe and countries in Asia and Africa. Among the numbers are 72,115 second-generation City sedans manufactured between 2005 and 2007 in the Indian market, with a preventive replacement of power window switches to be carried out, though the third-generation City sedan currently sold in India, as well as the Jazz and the CR-V there, aren’t affected by the recall.

Closer to home, 42,892 vehicles in Indonesia are similarly affected, these being largely the Jazz, with 35,006 units needing rectification work to repair problems related to the power window. In Singapore, more than 7,700 vehicles (6,119 units of the 2005-2008 Jazz and 1,657 units of the 2006-2008 City) are also being recalled over the same issue.

Meanwhile, over in the US, the recall for the CR-V covers 80,111 examples made in 2006, with a defective power window master switch needing to be replaced. The design can allow residue from interior cleaners to accumulate over time, and this buildup can damage the electrical contacts in the switch and possibly lead to a fire.

Separately, 26,000 CR-Z hybrid models in Japan, the US and Canada are also being recalled to address defective programming of electronic control units for motors used in the model, with 5,626 of these being 2011 model year units in the US, all equipped with manual transmissions.

Honda says if the engine stalls, with the hybrid battery in a very low state of charge and with the transmission in gear, there’s a possibility of the electric motor rotating in the direction opposite to that selected by the transmission – if the brakes aren’t applied, the car might roll backwards when in forward gear, and forward in reverse gear. The company says a software update effectively corrects the problem.

The company says no fatal accidents or injuries have been reported with issues in this particular recall bout, which follows on last month’s recall on more than 2.3 million vehicles due to problems related with automatic transmissions.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taboogen on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:36 pm

walla

• Oh dear…not again

• this year auto awars 2011 category of ‘the best year of recall’ won by honda!!!!

• mizzuddin on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:48 pm

the power window problem may lead to fire…? sound far worse than Proton!!!
    power window for Proton just fail….

40,000 for Malaysia and 962,000 globally…? demm huge sum…

and “there’s a possibility of the electric motor rotating in the direction opposite to that selected by the transmission” ???

i can’t believe these problems are associated with Honda

• artworkz on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:02 pm

coz short circuit when ignition in ON .

• Kumar san on Sep 06, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Believe it mizzuddin coz you read it and were informed here on Paul’s page..

Then again,the possibilty of a fire when the defected power window master switch accumalates water or moisture due to cleaning agents over time is not exactly amusing to say the least.

This is not good at all for Honda,i own the last batch Civic Type R and so far it has been problem free apart from the driver’s side door runchannel getting pinched twice resulting in the glass window to come back down midway after upwards operation.Then the clutch pump was leaking a bit of clutch fluid.All the parts were covered under warranty and so far it has been a peach to pelt hard on weekends,not to mention to own.Mine has been modded extensively so the warranty is gone.The last of a dying breed of a well built Japan CBU Honda vehicle.

But i pity quite a number of my friends who own the CKD Honda’s of various models,just recently 3 of my buddies who own the current City had to undergo a “product update campaign” for the “lost motion spring”.They were less than amused.

Hope this turns out for the better though.

Cheers

• icecold on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:47 am

hahaha…who says only proton have such problem. Proton bashers are keeping mum about this, look like the table are turning…

• Proton Basher on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:41 pm

We bash Proton so that it makes better cars. Since Proton has no tax, it is cheaper. We want cheap good car!!!

Hopefully Proton is aware on any of its faults and not hiding it until mishap happens…

• “there’s a possibility of the electric motor rotating in the direction opposite”

So when you want to go from Ipoh to KL, it’s possible that you end up in Penang?

• now that’s stupidly funny hahahahahaha

• Airbob on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:51 pm

lol nice one… even worst, when ure on a ferry to penang, u’ll end up at the bottom of the ocean

• aznil on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:58 pm

wait until Proton recall 962 cars (962 only)… we will have hundreds of comments condemning proton quality :-)….

• Malcolm on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Good to see Honda recalling vehicles that are deemed unsafe instead of pushing them under the rug. I applaud Honda as this takes some serious guts to do. I guess they don’t want future lawsuits to take place like what happened to Toyota in US where there were countless of lawsuits on the stucked pedal and such.

• mizzuddin on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:16 pm

so how about their resale value after this?

what’s the depreciation margin?

• I think you miss yesterday article….. over here is called product update and not recall. According to the fans, it shud has no impact to resale value or depreciation margin.

• Jack Leong on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:30 pm

come on. malaysian corporates are full of spins, don’t you know that? subsidy rationalization == price hike, sama lah.

• donadoni on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:22 pm

SHAME

• just because other carmakers arent recalling doesnt mean their cars are in good shape

the navara d40 (pre-2010 models) were faulty – the dual mass flywheel problems in the manual navaras were never addressed and customers had to fork out their own money depending on their skills in negotiating with the nissan centres across the globe

nissan serena 2nd gen had problems with its brakes system and others and never recalled

the mitsubishi storm had faulty turbo management (based on my retired senior friends in 4×4 offroading last time) system

these cars and others were never recalled

i believe recalling is better than leaving the problem under the rug and let the customers bear the brunt

• Hazamiey on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Hahaha power window problem??

• azrai on Sep 06, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Another “product update campaign” will come nearer to our shore soon enough.

• The CR-Z motor ECUs are not defective. It’s a feature called “Downhill Stop Assist “. It helps the car to slow down if the engine stalls while going downhill. :P

• fique d on Sep 06, 2011 at 3:03 pm

as far i remembered… if proton power windows failed…. some ppl bashed as if all hell broke loose… n proton gives lifetime warranty ppl also bash… but when japs did it… they just silence as good as dead.. thats why car shoulde built by engineers not salespersons.Great cars sell!

• fique d on Sep 06, 2011 at 3:09 pm

here recalled not requires coz.. m’sian can tolerate sour limes n stale bread as long it is imported .. heheheheh

• later will Accord turn, theses type of manufacturer is wasting our consumer time & money, all of us need to cari makan, how many mistake honda need to repeat & repeat again?

• tiadaid on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Even with the recalls (or “product upgrade” in Malaysia), there will still be many deniers that’ll continue to proclaim Honda as brilliant, just like Toyota.

As an exasperated owner of a City, all I can say is NEVER AGAIN!

• Jack Leong on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:31 pm

the japanese should apply their kaizen again in their business model.

• What the **** aren’t they suppose to have tested and ensured that cars rolls out from their production factory are safe, reliable and free from any defects. Are they using us as a bait for their experiment purpose to test durability of the cars they made. Really pissed of with Japanese cars. Ever since this year the only news I hear from Japanese automakers are RECALL RECALL RECALL and RECALL , please end this once and for all. Please don’t save and conserve parts for the betterment of affordable and cheap in making cars. In the end this is what will happen. RECALL.

• fique d on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:55 pm

beyond 2000.. customers are the guinea pigs… QC are sooo 20th cenyuries..

• BBear on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:49 pm

If the company says there have been no fatalities connected with this round of recalls, the company is lying. A two-year-old died in a Honda Jazz fire in 2009 in South Africa caused by the power window switches:

http://www.wheels24.co.za/News/Industry_News/Honda-recalls-Jazz-after-fire-20100129

and

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8487475.stm

• LMFAO on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Much much better than those companies who had so many defaulted parts in their cars and never admit their mistakes.

• calvin_ng on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:27 pm

RECALL or Product Update (where Honda Put it hahaha)

is not a common practice in Automotive world. when HONDA (in this case) design a car and appoint a manufacturer (OEM) to make the parts which is deem good at that point wont know the wear and tear on the specific parts after years of driving… parts will fail and some fail pre-maturely and thats why Warranty come into place.. if all Ala Honda, Toyota, MERC (basically all the car makers) make perfect cars then there is no warranty, your car is PERFECT why do you need warranty??

Warranty is to assure that buyers are well protected in their investment in case parts failed pre-maturely. OK back to RECALL… is it the quality really degrade in HONDA that the car fall off pieces by pieces!!! haha NO!!!

When Car manufacturer found a parts which did not live up to their quality and expectation usually they will bear the responsibility and recall the parts and replace it by implementing series of campaign.

HONDA is not perfect no human is perfect (are you perfect?) so when HONDA detected problem in their car they as a good car manufacturer recalled them back and replace it although it is over the warranty… this is to me called RESPONSIBLE… like other car manufacturer some conveniently called it wear and tear and tell you to PAY to replace it because WARRANTY is over… (Since the parts did serve it’s purpose and did not failed inside the warranty ZONE). so you decide Poor quality or RESPONSIBLE COMPANY…

to me I happen to own a 2006 Honda City and I am glad HONDA replace the faulty power window switch in my car for FOC although until today it work flawlessly with not even a single power window breakdown!!! and it has been 5 YEARS!!!

and will I buy HONDA again of course because to me, HONDA take the initiative to take care of my car even it is over the warranty period and thinking that my Honda city will always be reliable and safe to drive…

• fique d on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:46 pm

hehehe agree with u its not fallen to pieces.. but burn to ashes…
      yup its well covered by warranty… but whats the point of millions of dollars RnD?

• calvin_ng on Sep 06, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Millions of dollars in R&D I agree but this is OEM… it is not the parts thats is the main primary cause of failure but the manufacturing process like the material used etc etc the mixture of chemicals etc etc… there is alot of parts and I am lucky to owned a HONDA and happy they recalled the parts… if they choose to keep quiet I dont think any human will find out… and I am glad they choose to recall rather than keeping it quiet…

• sam witwicky on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:26 pm

calvin ng…indeed….honda city 2006 kereta talam 2 muka…

bring on the brio

• Stangely news for Hyundai & Kia recall always seem to missed off on paultan radar.

Here some gentle reminder

188,697 units of Hyundai Elantra (2006-2008) was recalled due to front passenger Air Bags problem.
    95,783 units of Hyundai Elantra (2006-2007) was recalled due to Driver side Air bags problem.
    5,876 units of Hyundai Santa Fe (2009) waas recalled due to drive shaft problem.
    532,633 units of Hyundai Sata Fe (2007) was recalled due to brake problem.
    138,354 units of Hyundai Sonata (2010) was recalled due to steering problem.
    12,690 units of Kia Sorento (2011) was recalled due to Gear Box problem.
    58,322 units of Kia Spectra (2005-2007) was recalled due to Fuel system problem.
    70,115 units of Kia Optima (2008) was recalled due to Gear box problem.

• Time to open your eye and look at this, i had been telling you all japs car is not “as Exaggerate as it is”, many of us still don’t have the courage and guts to admit how lousy their idolatry japs vehicle is. OPEN YOUR EYE, IF YOU ARE THE ONE WHO WILLING TO SPEND MONEY AND FIND PROBLEM FOR YOURSELF, if not, you know what to do

• Time to open your eye and look at this, i had been telling you all japs car is not “as Exaggerate as it is”, many of us still don’t have the courage and guts to admit how lousy their idolatry japs vehicle is. OPEN YOUR EYE, IF YOU STILL WILLING TO SPEND MONEY AND FIND PROBLEM FOR YOURSELF, or else, you know what to do

• waja2007 on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:38 pm

My 2007 Waja Campro, clocked 125000km, all 4 power windows working fine.

Oh ya, this morning, going to work, touch n go at the toll, there’s a Toyota Camry (2004), open its door to pay the toll.

Pity.

• calvin_ng on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:43 am

they do improve… and yes we glad cars manufacturer have guts to admit their fault and recalled the product….

• squall_shinoda on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:53 am

Kesian that fella. I’m sure Toyota’s kipas-susah-mati will definitely kill you for this. Even if Toyota produces tinned Milos with their badge also people will definitely buy without a second thought, because it’s Toyota maa… and best of all, there’s no recalls from UMW Toyota at all.

• Bias People on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:33 am

When Proton’s power window failed, people bash like hell, Proton QC suck. Then when Honda’s power window failed and coz fire, people just admit nobody perfect. WTF?!

• RedBeanBun on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:37 pm

hahahahha!! my WAJA power windows!!!! when it will be recall!! :P hahahaha

• HONDA = THE POWER OF TOTAL RECALL ALWAYS !!

This teribble brand is still trying to be a grown up without much success .

a Boring and filmsy brand nowdays

YAWN !!!!

• squall_shinoda on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:36 am

Which is better, too many recalls just for some stupid issues or having too many hidden major fatal flaws and yet there’s not even a single recall? This is what carmakers must learn from what happened to Ford Pinto back in 1970s.

• milo_ais on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:10 am

Man, what happened to Japanese reliability nowadays?