Proton and Mitsubishi strategic collaboration – Proton to build cars/engines for MMC, parts sharing for small car!

Proton and Mitsubishi Motors Corporation (MMC) have jointly announced today that they are in serious discussion for strategic collaboration to further strengthen the competitiveness of both companies. The items being considered for collaboration include the following:

– Joint production of engines in Malaysia
– Consignment production of MMC-brand vehicles at Proton facilities
– Sharing of major parts and components between MMC’s “Global Small” and Proton’s upcoming “Global Small Car”
– Provision of MMC’s future tech such as electric, plug-in hybrid and hybrid vehicle technology

So it looks like Proton’s plant, which has spare capacity, will churn out CKD Mitsubishi models. MMC’s Global Small Car (to be launched in March 2012) is out of the question, since Proton has its own upcoming small car (EMAS), and the Lancer is already made here with a Proton badge. Could it be the Mitsubishi ASX compact crossover then?

According to the statement, Proton and MMC had “jointly proceeded with feasibility studies since late 2010” to identify these areas of collaboration that improves global competitiveness for both parties. We previously heard that Proton was talking with Nissan on a collaboration, but it’s clear now that it didn’t work out.

For Proton, this deal will help it expand its line up of cars and make good use of its under utilised production capacity, mainly at Tanjung Malim. For MMC, this is part of a plan to expand its footprint in ASEAN. They already have a presence in Thailand, building trucks, truck based SUVs and the eco car. So perhaps Malaysia can contribute to the cause with a sedan and crossover.

More updates soon.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:21 pm

so, Proton and Mitsu will jointly develop engines? something like GEMA alliance? coooooooool!
    we can see many international companies interested in Proton. but blind bashers will never able to see that.

• Kau sronok la ckp sbb ko ni Towkey vendor Proton kan….xpun ko ada beli bnyak saham proton? Dey sampai bila nk rebadged?????

klau ya pun dh xreti nk buat keta sendiri…open up la the maket why nk susahkan hidup org dgn stupid taxes + shitty cars….

Anyway ko drive proton ke x?

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:02 pm

sesuka hati ko fitnah aku? aku bukan kroni, bukan supplier proton, dan takde sesen pun saham dalam proton. tapi aku memang drive proton, keluarga aku semua drive proton.. 5 bijik proton kat rumah.
        ko yang tak paham isi kandungan post ni. Proton buatkan kereta MMC, keluar kilang guna badge Mitsu, bukan badge Proton.. so macam mana otak ko boleh terpesong cakap rebadge pulak?? wey budak skolah, pegi study english lagi, tak lama lagi SPM wajib lulus english.

• turbo go go go on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:21 pm

macam perodua rebadge myvi, export ke indon using daihatsu badge la.

rebadge la tu

tolong orang buat kereta la tu, macam hicom, inokom, naza…..sama la…..

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:35 pm

laa.. ni lagi sorang.
            rebadge tu kalau ko ambik kereta orang lain, tukar jenama jadi brand lain. macam proton ambik lancer jadi inspira.
            kalau dah memang original kereta tu milik daihatsu, myvi jadi boon tu macam perodua buatkan kereta untuk daihatsu la.. design myvi tu dikawal selia oleh daihatsu jugak. anggap macam daihatsu boon yang berlainan design je. ko tengok accord, camry versi US tak sama dengan versi Jepun.
            aku tak paham macam mana orang Malaysia ni berfikir… i’m speechless!

• turbo go go go on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:19 pm

woi, mofaz, lu tak payah kerja? tiap tiap hari defend proton buat per?

i’m going to buy inspira. i hate proton but i’ll buy inspira.

i think u should grow up and spend your time else where, like make some money or grow a plant or something, find a hobby.

• hicom, inokom, naza..tu sume rebadge….

• Ayo jgn marah la…slalu tngok ko ni kuat betul support Proton….tp sejauh mana bleh percaya statement MMC nk guna proton facility utk keta MMC…..bagus la klau brand favorited ko ni dh diiktiraf…srkang open la the market…jgn nk jd jaguh kampung ja

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:40 pm

aku tak marah, ayat aku je bunyi macam serious sangat.. :)
            kalau kita tak percaya pada kebolehan kita sendiri, macam mana nak maju? ko tahu tak bahawa mercedes s-class yang harganya melebihi 1 juta tu pun dipasang di malaysia. BMW pun ada yang dipasang di malaysia. Peugeot, VW pun pasang di malaysia. so, kenapa terlalu ramai yang ‘melatah’ bila MMC nak guna kilang proton?

• banker on Sep 16, 2011 at 4:56 pm

myb rakyat melatah kot bila mmc dikaitkan dgn proton…lagipun krjsama proton-mmc dulu dianggap titik hitam pada sesetngah org..

• LatukBandar on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Dear MoFaz, If u seriously believe in proton then u should put your money where your mouth is – Invest in proton share.

Don’t be like Dr.M, he ask us to drive that milo-tin and he himself drives a porsche. I bet his son drives a BMW or Mercedez… or something foreign.

AND BE CIVILIZE, STOP CALLING PEOPLE ‘STUPID’ or ‘DUMB’ or any name calling, u are giving proton supporters a bad name. Don’t be rude, watch your language and mouth.

• drMpower on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:39 pm

he drove the first tin milo
            he did carry the can by himself
            u know if the tin milo is very very bad as u said urself
            then u should be thankful that he proved the tin milo was very safe and u know he might had been killed or something
            which at the same time demotes u to utter childish and unreasonable hatred towards proton

so yes he did drive the first in milo
            are u driving one?

i am not really a fan of him but since u brought the matter up..u know..

he did have one prestine example of a proton.
            how about u?

• kuncisudu on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:12 pm

aku yang fail upsr bahasa inggeris tapi ada akses internet kat opis.

• autojohndoe on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:29 pm

so.. kalau honda jual kereta 60k after open market… hidup you senang ke?

xpayah buat loan lpas open market?

• banker on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:50 pm

sekurang-kurangnya xla membebankan mcm skrang…loan ttp kena buat…lain la mak bapak ko tokey bank

• MoFaz on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:33 am

kat sini dapat jugak 3% je interest, yang 1% pon ada. kat tempat lain, contohnya russia.. kereta murah, tapi loan interest sampai 15%.. kali dengan 4 tahun dah 60%.. harga minyak kat sana plak RM3 seliter.
            ko nak tax tinggi atau interest tinggi? nasib baik la sini minyak murah.

• autojohndoe on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:50 am

xmembebankan?

even dengan kereta 60k skarang pun orang struggle utk hidup… buat loan sampai 5,7,9 tahun…

what makes you think kalau ada proton orang hidup lagi senang?

the case will be the same… ppl will still complaint of car breakdown… ppl will complain of the road tax…

plus… dgn malaysia lost 1 sumber tax… govt akan impose tax to other things…

the chain of event will develop and makes your life no better than current, or at least the same…

• TypicalMalaysian on Sep 16, 2011 at 7:25 pm

chillax lah brother.. we will never stop complaining! that’s human! :D never had enough! :))

• sub_zero on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:33 pm

you fail english bro? or memang sama zombie lain, bash first, tanya soalan kemudian?

• artworkz on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:47 pm

stupid fella like u will believe. Proton will just use all technology from Mitsubishi

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:05 pm

and stupid fella like you will never believe in anything. nothing positive will ever come out from negative mindset.

• Chilavert on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:49 pm

blind supporters will never be able to see that many international companies interested in Proton solely because Proton is heavily backed by Msian government so its nearly impossible for them to go bankrupt.

• LatukBandar on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:53 pm

maybe international companies are interested in proton because of lotus. what has proton got that all these giant company don’t have? Ride and handling from sportscar maker Lotus.

If foreign companies ever control proton, i bet the first thing they will do is un-bundle lotus from proton, then let proton die a natural death because proton has nothing to offer, no international market (they have access to all markets except to a few), no technology (they have better tech), no brand name (most people don’t know proton)…

just incase MoFaz don’t understand, it is like a young kid going after a rich old lady, not because of the looks, but for the money.

• do you really think companies like Toyota/Lexus that build LFA or VW that own Porsche or Nissan do not have the expertise on ride and handling?

• LatukBandar on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:28 pm

sure they have better tech, but what lotus offers is brand recognition. accquiring a company is not about tech, sometimes it is brand, sometimes tech, sometimes quick access to the market.

BMW bought mini for the brand, Volkswagen and BMW for Rolls Royce brand, or like some chinese company Geely for Volvo’s tech.

The question is, what has proton to offer? almost nothing except for the under utilize factory.

• penting ambil alih Proton sbb ASEAN tawar market yg besar utk companay gergasi yg lapar.

• autojohndoe on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:31 pm

i think i read somewhere… nissan engage with lotus experts for GTR ride and handling…

• VoidDance on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Well, even Nissan worked secretly with Lotus to develop the R&H for their GT-R.

What stop other car makers from using Lotus service to tune their car’s R&H? Lotus makes most of their money from it.

• Making money? The last I heard was Proton borrow some money from us to pump it in to that socalled money making Lotus.

• yes, they have expertise
          but how expert they are?
          even Godzilla tuned by Lotus

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:08 pm

you just can’t accept the fact that Proton could produce better ride & handling than Toyota?

• More like you cannot accept the fact that Toyota is selling well while Proton still struggle to break even.

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:14 pm

struggle to break-even?.. proton has been getting millions in profit for the past few years.

• mizzuddin on Sep 16, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Vi*s handling pure sucks

• tikus on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:07 pm

Bro…my friend 1 year old Persona got Mickey Moues inside the car lar….Bunyi tikus everywhere.Fix this problem first lar then talk about sport car ride & handling. I know Proton own Lotus but simple issue also cant fix, how to grow big??

• penentang otak jumud on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:28 am

fix that problem? ask your friend fix himself. clean up the car. that mickey mouse won’t be there if he knows where to throw his stuff lah bro~ kalo rumah ada tikus, ko nak salahkan pemaju ke? or nak salahkan diri sendiri x jaga umah? LOL~!

• mizzuddin on Sep 16, 2011 at 3:32 pm

unlucky owner may get kreok kreok Persona…

but don’t say the RnH for Persona is rubbish…

• another “my friend car” story… sigh!!!!!

• Chris on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:20 pm

best handling and ride or what so ever, fact is fact…on one hand you have top 2 best selling car manufacturer in THE WORLD…on the other hand you have CHAMPION KAMPUNG who survive only because majority of rakyat forced to buy from them… when most of us visit P1’s show room, we are not looking for “best handling” or “best technology”, we are there simply to look for “a car that we can afford”…stop cheating urself that P1 is better than Toyota or VW or even Hyundai simply because you have “Lotus engineered handling” sticker on your car boot lid…they cant even sell in China!

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:33 pm

good ride and handling is a must if you’re targetting european market. journalist and car reviewers in Australia also mentioned that Saga R&H is better than any other car in its segment. R&H is not something that you should take lightly. if it’s so simple, why should Nissan ask Lotus to tune their GTR? Honda is also using their “new ride & handling” as selling point for euro spec Civic.
            selling in china is different issue, read up more to know the story before simply blame it on proton. youngman as distributor has very few showrooms, and mostly located in suburb, not in the big cities.
            take note that Lotus could sell 114 of Evora in a matter of days in China.

• oh ya .. then european and japanese car makers must be peeing in their pants. Wonder why they are not selling it there yet.

• SagaFiore on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:03 am

Good in handling but fail in other dept. How about Saga FLX got swimming pool inside. Proton so good meh? I rest my case.

http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/PROTONSagaFLXbarubeli14haribertakungair/Article

• Chris on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:07 pm

see…that’s the fact. Lotus engineered “best handling” means nothing if the car is so unreliable. Average ppl doesnt buy car for “taking corner at 100km/h”, we just want a reliable, safe car with decent engine and gear box, at affordable price ofcoz. That’s is why ppl still go for P2 even we all know they are overpriced. I can see P1 is starting to realize this, and hence we have saga and exora, but there is still long way to go before you can claim they are better than Toyota or VW. And finger cross Dany Bahar’s 5 years plan work out, if not we all rakyat have to forge out hard earned tax money to pay for that mess! Again! just like MV Agusta and recently MAS!

• critic_A on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:14 pm

well said MoFaz

• I hate MMC and P1 ! just ewwww…

• mizzuddin on Sep 16, 2011 at 3:23 pm

people just don’t know simple basic business sense…

only know borak kedai kopi…

• Bad news to free market car lovers….back to 26 years ago~ re badged mitsu cars….expect to be conned with more protection policies and taxes…sampai kiamat…

• gabla on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Yeah, we prefer rebadged Daihatsu/Toyota cars instead…

• autojohndoe on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:41 pm

so… you can tell ppl you bought a 140k car…

it’ll make you popular you know?

haha

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:52 pm

do you understand the post or not? Proton will manufacture cars for MMC, which means they will do CKD for MMC, and the output is Mitsu badge, not Proton badge. so, there is no re-badge.

• critic_A on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:16 pm

no use tell ppl who dont even read properly and bashing here and there~ fc3s must b a kindergarten graduate~

• sukasuki on Sep 16, 2011 at 1:03 am

xpela MoFaz, kite same2 doa biar diorg ni dapat hidayah utk baca lebih baik dan teliti daripada wat fitnah. aku meluat dan menyampah gak tgk org suke2 mak bapak tiri diorg kutuk2 bnda yg xde kne mgena dgn artikel di atas. tp nak wat cmne, mak bapak diorg ajar xcukup baik, mase skolah dlu slalu escape g dating atau main game CS kat cybercafe.

• mizzuddin on Sep 16, 2011 at 3:52 pm

we used to bash the gov policy heavily when other maker choose Thailand to assemble their cars…

then why all the sudden bash Proton when they assemble Mitsu cars…?

people sometimes see things on a false losing perspective…

• gabla on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Please read clearly, consignment production of MMC-brand vehicles at Proton facilities. MMC-brand, not rebadge.

• R.I.P. Mitsubishi

• gabla on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Proton to build car for MMC? Looks like Proton build quality has improved now since MMC can trust Proton to build their cars.

• Unforgiven on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Don’t really think so unless it’s a Mitsu badge or CKD.

Not forgetting P2 got 4 stars crash test, Lancer got 5 stars, but Inspira unknown.

The badge is still very important for the Japanese. The Jap will protect their own brand/badge. The Jap won’t care much about P1 badge, die die la…

• gabla on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Consignment production of MMC-brand vehicles at Proton facilities. MMC-brand, not rebadge.

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:14 pm

and you forgot that Exora also recieved 4 stars? production of Inspira is audited by MMC, so quality and safety should be similar to Lancer. you must remember, not all Forte and Lancer get 5 stars, only the high-end with 6 airbags get it.

• tikus on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Mofaz.,U really Pro Mitsu lar… Rebadge Inspira the steel plate is to thin which I can band with my hand when I in Proton show room. And the plastic is soooo thin compare with ori Lancer.

• critic_A on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:20 pm

looks like u really r tikus~ brainless~ i can band my father’s Benz steel plate too bodoh!

• autojohndoe on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:22 pm

you can band steel? you must be a musician…

wow…

i am not smart like you… i can only bend steel… haha

• Kiddo on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:50 pm

fuyoh! you can bend (oh it’s “bend”, not “band”, cuz you’ll be singing with the steel if it’s “band”) with your hands? Iron Man in real eh? And you can see through the plastic? What an eye!

And the body panel on any car can be bent! They’re built to bend to absorb the force should there be any collision. Check it! Even the panels on the 7Series can be bent!

Buta buta comment and don’t know anything.

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:12 pm

bending steel and seeing through plastic.. i think his real name could be ‘Suparman’

• mizzuddin on Sep 16, 2011 at 4:15 pm

wowww

God only gave Nabi Daud a.s and few others the ability to bend and cast hot metal with their bare hand… =)

• “p2 got 4 star crash test” – joke of the year

• Kiddo on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:18 pm

P2 MUNGKIN got 4-star crash TEST but their cars never score 4-stars, so what’s the use? XD

• owh.. please help me.. everybody like to bash, but it show just how bad they are.. i now my english suck, but at least i still can understand that car will be build by proton for mitsu… ckd.. not rebadge.. now i know y gov want to make english as “syarat wajib lulus” because of all people like this..

• Rocko on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:25 pm

What crap you tok?? P2 4 stars?? Which car? Show proof! All P2 cars got NO STARS. Only certain car in their original Daihatsu or Toyota form got a few stars…BUT IT’S NOT A PERODUA.

• Whatever P2 or P1 get 4 or 10 stars test crash rated!when accident people are still RIP in the car so what’s the point of the local cars 5 stars rated?!

• DarkAvenger on Jan 03, 2012 at 12:52 pm

P2 got 4 stars?? Don’t simply tok crap. Show me the source. And please don’t link it to a Toyota/Daihatsu Passo/Boon whatever because that is not a P2!

• sam witwicky on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:36 pm

rebadge ke ape lagi nie?

wei..owner mitsu asx….u better get ready..mana la tau proton nak rebadge asx…
    nanti mcm isu owner lancer gt tak puas ati sbb inspira rebadge?hahaaa

woof!

• PakAbu on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Sounds more like small engine sharing. Tough to make engines nowadays: super low emission, super fuel efficient, small footprint etc. Small companies like Proton simply don’t have the expertise (to develop & test) and volume (to recoup investment).

Probably we’ll see similar (if not the same) engine in different “shells”.

• Unforgiven on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:36 pm

If they are able to sell the car with Mitsu badge then will be good, CKD Mitsu is fine too.

In fact, I don’t think Mitsu badge is anywhere near VW.

Just don’t badge it as Proton, any car with Proton badge is useless.

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:18 pm

if proton cars are usless, my father wouldn’t be able to travel more than 300,000km in his Saga before he change his car to BLM.

• turbo go go go on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:23 pm

simply becos he cannot afford to change.

i dont see ferrari owner drive 100000 km also.

• fattyman on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Because SAGA if a rebadge of MITSU brand !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Unforgiven on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Are you supporting Proton because you love Proton?
        Or is it because that’s the only car you can afford?
        I still cannot understand your mindset.
        If the price of Proton is similar with VW, which car will you buy?

• MoFaz on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:05 am

i could even afford 407 or camry or accord with my salary, but i only drive waja. i won’t spend too much money on something depreciate so fast. maybe just not yet :)
          let me make it clear to you.. VW price will never be in the same range as proton even though proton doesn’t exist. BMW, Jaguar, Mercedes, Hyundai are all more expensive in Thai compare to Malaysia. is that because of Proton in Thai?
          many here are misguided. they think that price in US is the world price. our market size is 600k but US has around 13mil cars sold every year. that’s 21 times more than malaysia! due to smaller market size in Malaysia, car makers (and also distributors) put higher profit rate per car here compared to the US. open market value for Vios with abs and airbags is $11k or around RM30k, but toyota is selling it at around RM60k in Langkawi and Thai. how come, even without tax, the selling price for vios jump for another RM30k?

• Unforgiven on Sep 16, 2011 at 9:21 pm

Maybe I should not talk to you until you can afford a Mercedes Benz.

• MoFaz on Sep 17, 2011 at 1:25 am

i think you’re the one who should not talk until you could afford Merc.

• Unforgiven on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Do you get a chance to travel oversea?

I think in M’sia we really need someone like you who’s so proud of driving a Waja.

BMW is nothing to you because your eyes are on Proton.

• that is quite low my friend, my saga travel 888,888km before the odeometer spoil n the saga is still up n running

• SagaFiore on Sep 17, 2011 at 2:17 am

because your daddy Saga used Mitsubishi engine

• boring strategy… always b the same… cooperate more = more Clone in the market…
    wondering what proton R&D doin… why keep no new model?? create concept car but not into production… then for what? for fun? for guiness world record? for malaysia to be Malaysian car? haiz…

• More coorperation, more proton can do..more RnD get an idea.. Do RnD not as easy as doing uni assignment..

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:57 pm

Peugeot, Citreon, Nissan, Samsung, Hyundai, and many other car makers in the whole world also cooperate la. and who said Proton no production? Persona R, Exora REEV, Saga EV all currently under testing phase, will come into production around next year.

• wat a joke, malaysia also hv R wei…

• spinning on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:25 pm

u must be new here…

• drMpower on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:03 pm

I bet my last underware that u are referring the ‘R’ to racing or whatever associate with speed or anything that matter (just like CTR or R32 -thats vdub i mean- or anything like that)

the said persona R could be the replacement for persona. R-replacement. Get it?

Come on. Collaboration does exist. It just when mention words ‘proton’ and ‘collaboration’, everybody going numb,dumb, all at the same time

we got REEV.LOTUS.got EMAS. Now lets hope the managements arent so shortsighted and be conned.

• autojohndoe on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:03 pm

you know what the R stand or not? go read rather then make muka you malu…

• you are the joke, R belong to who?

• autojohndoe on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:25 pm

this shows that you are lazy-to-read malaysian,,,

who, statistically read 2 pages of book per year…

• tan ah kow on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Out of date engines at a high price.

• gemini on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:18 pm

really??? let me tell you sumtin kiddo… if you really want somethin old try the Americans, they still have pushrod engines in both cars and bikes, and we still worship them….

• Unforgiven on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Lancer got 5 stars crash test but the new Protons/Inspira all unknown.
    Even the Perodua also got 4 stars.

From the previous article, P2 already considered themselves better than P1.
    These figures are slightly down from the 1.3L, but are still better than competing national cars, says P2. ”

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:29 pm

first u talk about safety rating, then suddenly about P2 better than P1? u think i didn’t read that post?
      P2 were saying their FUEL CONSUMPTION is better than P1, not about SAFETY la dey!!

• P2 Engineer on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:19 pm

P2 4 star???? super thin with 4 star???? Typical P2 salesman……I have been working with P2 R&D for more than 5 years and I know that lots of cost reduction have done on Myvi compared to Passo/Boon model. Lots of important reinforce metal parts and spot points being reduce in order to reduce cost for better profit…Not just that, the outer metal surface also are so thin and easy to bump and dent with just a small knock…..It is impossible for Myvi to get 4-stars unless P2 bribe the crash tester…

-peace-

• P1 Engineer on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:27 pm

i also work for P1 R&D and i concur that the same has been done to P1 car too.

its impossible for any P1 car to get any stars.

• autojohndoe on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:27 pm

what myvi 4 stars? MyVap? boon and passo, yes, they got 4stars

well, myvap is done in malaysia…

since you are typically think whatever mad eby malaysian hand is useless… myvi rating falls in the same category…

• kitkat on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:51 pm

any chances to see jackie chan provided with proton cars in his next movies?
    global car, global icon..

• by the time its ready, jackie chan don’t do movie anymore.

• littlefire on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:02 pm

If not mistaken the last jackie chan movie i saw ( The spy next door?) He is driving a Hyundai…

• kitkat on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:59 pm

because it was a hollywood based movie
        not produced by him like new police story

• xavier lert on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:58 pm

back to the future!

• U.R.AN.S.O.B on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:04 pm

25years of waste and now back to the start! This should remain at the very beginning. Proton decided to leave Mitsubishi Cooperation and declare Buatan Malaysia and Proton should stay that way without turning back. Continue to improve. It is obvious why Mitsubishi taken the offer or find interest in proton due to the crisis and disaster stroked Japan. Outsourcing their Plant will benefits them! Proton should stand alone not relying on other parties which eventually gives benefits to them.

• sub_zero on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:30 pm

you blind? READ the bloody post, then digest it every SINGLE word

shoot first ask later, stupid zombie

• U.R.AN.S.O.B on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:23 pm

LOL, I am sorry for you cuz u r dumb, god give you a brain and you can at least try to use it. Try to look things from the Japanese point of view and thinking. Ask yourself or try to open your eyes and look outside or probably you didnt even own a proton before. 25years pass, and whr Proton stand? Still finding source. Losing so much ground to Perodua which partially own by Japanese. Even CKD made, collaboration made, new model rolling out. Still, we are paying back to the Japanese. You idiot.

• if you do CKD for Mitsu, they are paying you for the service…
          Mitsu deliver CKD parts.
          Proton assemble.
          Proton deliver the complted car to Mitsu.
          Mitsu pay Proton for the servcie
          Mitsu sells the completed car

• it is inevitable that collaboration and cooperation shall intensify between global car-makers. we read about it everyday, no need to argue.

i think for proton/mitsubishi it is ‘natural’ that they come to bed again, given the historical ties. just try and get more from the relationship

let’s be honest : our engineering and technology prowess are still lacking in some areas. we just need to acknowledge that and learn from the guys with the knowledge & experience. of course there’s a price to pay, but that’s what development is all about. the truth is that there are no short-cuts!

yeah…you can bash proton if you feel aggrieved because you bought their cars. well, let them know about it. let their customer support know. write, document it, take pictures etc. i am sure syed zainal will appreciate it!

• Then proton will continue not to “growth up” anymore, and it repeat the history again, is not a good news, is totally is bad and disaster news, continue be a largest assembly plant in Tanjung Malim, Malaysia.
    REBUILD THE SAGA LOOK LIKE ROJAK, Interior not match with exterior, lousy door panel, some more put R3 logo…….hai.

• cardreamer on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:18 pm

At least someone get it for free..not like you and me..just watch and envy…heh?

• joepng on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:11 pm

dear proton, can you guys rebadge chevy camaro..i really wanna have that car..but plis put a price under RM60K..well, typical malaysian eh..

• Jeremy on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Collaboration is just to make it sound better, in fact Proton is seeking Mitsubishi’s old technology (of coz cheaper) to build and supply to local market…

• cardreamer on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:16 pm

When lancer is rebadge into Proton, the boss of mitsu had stated that it would be the last mitsu to be badged as Proton, remember? So there’ll be no more rebadged mitsu by Proton…when there is foreign partner willing to partner wt Proton, it means Proton has value..so let us appreciate that and move forward….

• turbo go go go on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:26 pm

the boss of mitsu can eat his own shoes la.

• sub_zero on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:36 pm

dei, you read properly? you think all mitsu vehicle is CKD? all CBU bro, what they need is already performing automotive plant so they can produce CKD locally

since proton have spare plant, why not use it? so proton give according to the collaboration that danny tan mention.

now you brain put at your skull back or still stuck at your knee?

• kuncisudu on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:17 pm

proton lambat. tengok perodua, dah lama collaborate ngan toyota/daihatsu. sekarang perodua dah mampu buat kereta sendiri dan totoya pinjam jadi sirion.

sarcasm alert.

• autojohndoe on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:37 pm

p2 bukan collaborate… tapi, dikuasai.. 51% share own by daihatsu…

p1 and mitsu… no stakes involved… just technical agreement…

• Johndeep on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:06 pm

…perodua dah mampu buat kereta sendiri?? Model apa?

• Prismo on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:11 pm

kah.. kah.. kah… lepas tu jual sirion kat indon… mati2 org indon pikir model itu design dari jepun.. macam mira masuk malaysia jadi kancil, masuk indon jadi ceria…

p/s: cuma sambung cerita kuncisudu

• noNickNAme on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Dey tambi, perodua bukan collaboration dengan toyota/daihatsu la, perodua owned by them.. stupid!!!

• Pendapat saya Perodua adalah kepunyaan pihak Jepun (Toyota dan Daihatsu). Mana ada perodua buat kereta sendiri. Semua ambil dari Daihatsu atau Toyota, tidak apa hendak dibanggakan. Toyota memang buat passo atau daihatsu sirion di Jepun dan lain-lain negara. Di Malaysia di pasang dan di panggil MYVI.

• do any of you guys here actually noticed the SARCASM ALERT which he posted at the bottom of the comment? duh!

• duck_killer on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:21 pm

“u like u buy, u don’t like u don’t buy” it’s simple as that!!!

• they like but no money to buy myvi, so they keep on bashing, their loan rejected for myvi high spec, can only afford viva 660.

so they bengang la

• sukasuki on Sep 16, 2011 at 1:12 am

oh, BLR naik 1%. they only afford to buy 2nd hand kancil 660. hahaha

• teamsleepnine on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:24 pm

…funny many can comment but can’t read…

• Expatriate VN on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:24 pm

“…….. in serious discussion for strategic collaboration ……”

Another crap from P1, it is practically as good as contract assmebler for Mits or rebadge exercise for likely ASX. WTF, after 26 good year, back to starting point again by rebadge and contract assemble to utililize its under utilize factory at TM.

Shame on you P1! jaguh kampong dead wood stump that never become green forest mountain @ world class player.

The like of MooFart may claim there are many blind bashers out there, but the fact is we Bodohland, the only car manufacturing country that breed cronies vendors and AP King, and suck dry the rakyat to the core!

• kecohlebih on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:33 pm

why always compete in making small car…. small car looks stupid… a wheels base like waja or inspira is much accepted..

• Areoulz on Sep 15, 2011 at 5:38 pm

perodua dah mampu buat kereta sendiri dan totoya pinjam jadi sirion? hahahaha

• izzat on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:34 pm

Areoulz?

ko pk tak b4 ko ckp?…meh den terangkn kat ekao..Toyota Passo kenal??..haa..Toyota bagi kat Perodua..Perodua Myvi kesayangan Ko tu..bagi kat Daihatsu jual sebagai Sirion kat Indonesia..paham?…Perodua belum ckup experience nk cipta kereta sendiri.. =)

• rosdi on Sep 16, 2011 at 1:27 pm

I dont know wheter to pity you or pity the guy that thumb ups you..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:07 pm

Proton and Mitsu can’t collaborate, why?
    Because most of you will think they are repeating the same old thing like 26 years ago?
    Come on, Mitsu’s sales are declining, they need to cut cost and collaboration with other automaker is a quite good effort to improve,read the title carefully, I didn’t see any of the word REBADGE.
    Sharing is the way to go, many automakers today share their parts,Renault and Nissan share parts, Peugeot and Citroen and many more which I can’t recall.
    Then you want Proton to collaborate with who? Toyota?
    Those Japs also want to protect their own market in Malaysia, that’s why they didn’t give Vios for rebadge, they only give small compact cars like Passo and Mira of Daihatsu(considering that they own Daihatsu) to rebadge because they don’t want P2 to interrupt the sales of Vios,Altis and Camry and even Hilux.

• xiper on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:07 pm

good luck to current mitsu owners!

• Johndeep on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Any new move from proton is bad, so what is good strategy for Proton? Don’t forget P2, Toyota, Honda in Malaysia are also benefit in our automotive policy. So why don’t you guys condemn them for sucking our money too?

• sub_zero on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:28 pm

as usual all the haters jump to conclusion and start machine gun all nonsense to public

kesian danny tan, his post has being ignored by blind zombies bend spreading the hate diseases

haters gonna hate

• For some people, whatever proton do is always bad move.. nkauorg buat sendiri la kereta..

• nlmtan on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:50 pm

wah so many proton managing director wanabe who know everything better than current.the world would be better place if u guys become leader.no more proton and no more hunger in the world…congrat…

mofaz…let em be….

• policeman on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Proton wants to make engines for Mitsubishi?

Don’t you know Proton only has Politeknik “graduates” at R&D?
    What are they good for? Smoking ganja in the toilets!

There is no hope for Proton and for people who think Proton can improve. Uncivilised pieces of trash!

• gemini on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:21 pm

and you dont have any family or relatives that never even once smoked weed? what a deprived lot you are…free the weed! viva marjuana.

• P2 Engineer on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Sukenye kutuk orang….bertamadun sangat lah tu kutuk2 org….

• autojohndoe on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:34 pm

policeman?

do you know that police force only has spm candidate in their forces?

what are they good for? taking bribery in road blocks?

there is no hope for police and for people who think police can improve. dishonest trash on earth…

haha… how does it feel when your fellowmen are condemn like that eh? hurt?
      haha…

• skyjuice on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:28 pm

polis cap ayam.ni mesti masuk keje dulu pakai sijil darjah 6…huhu…
      org bg komen dia nk komen jugak…
      tp isi kosong…

• Do you know, some of Lotus engineer is Malaysian.

• great partnership…one of thw worlds worst cars brand partnering one of Japan worst car maker in ranking

• It is actually cheaper to developed car engines and platforms here, we have the expertise. I remember Proton did make motorcycle engines for Proton KR, motor GP.

• SparC on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:48 pm

Why we argue?

When first proton established in this country, they already in partnership with Mitsubishi.

Building a car or engine is not easy in the first place to compete with global market and big player.

All this while, Proton in partnership with Mitsubishi to rebadge car from Saga, wira, satria, perdana, juara, putra

It also tried with citroen for proton tiara and savvy

Waja is also a sharing platform with mitsubishi

The first Proton developed car Gen-2 is too rush and everyone of us complaining.

I trust, every car from Proton, we also criticize……in general

Now,
    Proton owned Lotus for 15 years — only come out with Campro engine and lotus handling in all proton car. But I do believe, it teach Proton’s engineer a lot on how to build chasis and engine.

that is where Gen2, persona,exora, new saga come in. based on the experience gain.

Because of the global market is so challenging, We small “fish” can’t really swim out to the big ocean without a ” friend”

The content of the deal between Proton and Mitsubishi only themselves know better….In terms of business.

• HirumaKecil on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:05 am

Well said bro….

• SparC on Sep 16, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Correction.

Proton Savvy is actually sharing some DNA with Renault…….

• kwang kwang kwang on Sep 16, 2011 at 3:37 pm

i blame proton for not paying their engineers enough. Many experienced proton engineers ciao from the company because they dont pay enough. So when these experienced engineers blah, they have to train the new engineers all over again. This costs money, and of course time, and then the cycle keeps on repeating. Imagine those executive that do IT, finance, procurement in Proton gets the same pay while sitting in a room with aircond while the engineers who do most of their work in the workshop trying to troubleshoot all the problems with the cars, standing all the time gets paid the same

• Ash Menon on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Paul, Danny, I think next time you guys have a Proton / Perodua related post, you need to put a pop-quiz at the bottom for the reader, so that he/she has to confirm that he actually understood the article before talking out of his ass.

• aminlife on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:12 pm

BTW, Dr.M still own (mybe) his Proton Saga plat number W–2020 and i have seen one of his son drove that saga :D in 2008 -09

• Honda Power on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Myvi got 4 stars for crash test? Come on, please wake up. Myvi got 4 stars for
    Malaysia’s useless MYVAP which doesn’t even conduct crash test. They just crash a Myvi at 30 km/h to the rear of a truck and that’s all. What kind of stupid crash test is that? No standard at all! Of course at 30 km/h Milo tin on wheels can also passed the test. Crash Myvi at 60 km/h into the rear of a 10 wheels lorry and see what happens. Sure berkecai! And Inspira is useless. The metal is thin and I can even bent the door panel compartment plastic with my hand. Tried oredi, luckily didn’t break otherwise sure kena ganti. Ha ha! So you think Inspira quality is the same as Lancer quality? Come on, get a life, man.

• karimsopian on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Hadoyai…after reading most of the comments in this thread and previous threads *related to Proton & Perodua*, no wonder la most Malaysians have split personality and become aggressive when we are on the road. *Kesian kat Proton, buat gitu salah, buat gini salah, Buat salah, tak buat pun salah.

• anti peyno on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:34 pm

itu ler penting nyer engelis edukesyen….keh3…

• awannano on Sep 16, 2011 at 2:45 am

Besok kereta Mitsubishi pun pakai OEM parts dari Mitsuboshi

• Honda Power on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:30 am

Janganlah kesian jaguh kampung. They deserve all the bashings for producing low quality cars.

• Mohammad Suhaimi on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:48 am

korang kat atas ni salah paham kot, ini news tentang share platform, bukan rebadge.

adoiyai

• Lone Ranger on Sep 16, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Mohammad Suhaimi : biasa la tu. bila citersal Proton jer sure bash like hell. npk je nama Proton kuar trus bash. xder la diaorg nk baca atau nk faham artikel tu citer sal apa.

biaq p la depa nak kata per pun….cuma cheq nk tau gak d#epa dok kutuk2 ni depa pkai keter per eh? sumer pkai imported REKON car ke imported 2nd hand car ke or jenis Japs car wannabes?

tepuk dada tny selera…..

• Drebar on Sep 16, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Balik ke Bini Tua?

Fair enough even Perodua sticks to Daihatsu wife.

But be realistic, both Proton, Perodua will need foreign partners. It’s a matter of who can do a better bumper engineering to suit local taste.

Looks like Perodua always done it right even better than native Daihatsu or Toyota in final design. Except Proton seems to be half-baked in bumper engineering like Inspira.

So forget about original Jagoh Kampong Global Car. Just take advantage from these Japanese firms, learn from them, make it better for our market. Both Proton, Perodua must get it right – (price, product, design) not only for local carbuyers but export market as well.

Soon Chevy Colorado will rival the new Ranger, Hilux, Triton, Navarra with upgraded full-size pickup market.

Would Proton rebadge Triton and make it better as new Proton Arena and steal the pickup market with RM20K cheaper price? With correct design, price yes Proton can put a dent to Toyota Hilux with their unrivalled monthly 10K sales.

So don’t despise Perodua with their success, they deserved it with better and smarter strategy riding on Toyota-Daihatsu prowess.

Now Proton should get it done the same (or better) with Mitsu again. Remember how Mitsu folks wished their Lancer dashboard same as Wira designed by local Proton designer.

Proton cannot perform worse than Perodua since both are riding on Japanese firms so Proton must revise, rethink how to get it right with Mitsu.

Don’t make it hard lah Proton, local Malaysians only look for who design a better bumper and which CD player have USB–that’s how easy Perodua tackle the market all these while. Now Perodua trying hypnotise that Myvi Extreme better buy than Pesona with their pricing trick.

Sun Tzu said:
    – Know your enemy
    – Draw the enemy into your turf

• GTR 2.0 on Sep 16, 2011 at 8:12 pm

I like :)

• stephen on Sep 16, 2011 at 9:32 pm

if check with wikipedia, Hyundai spend like the first 20yrs with all the foreign partner. then they start going global and start cutting partnership

proton seem to be flirting around with everyone and it ends up with no result….remember all those plan for JV car with VW etc…. in the end its like they finally want to settle down. Go back to work with their old partner. All this time…..seem to be wasted.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 16, 2011 at 9:28 pm

does the windows work?

• pengu on Sep 17, 2011 at 12:20 am

drebar :
    berape kali si mofaz explain..ini bukan reBadge…pjg btl ayt engkau wahai jebat! ceh..
    im sure exora terbo & persona r mesti laku pnya…kualiti jg tbaik…no worries!

andre agassi quote
    -everytime before the match..i pray to god not to win the match but to gain my hair…

• RedBeanBun on Sep 17, 2011 at 11:36 am

doom for the Mitubishi cars starts now…anyhow its already very bad in Japan..so Protong will have all OEM Mitsu car, and Japan selling lower-grade mitsu car for sure before totally bought by Protong..

• Lone Ranger on Sep 17, 2011 at 10:49 pm

RedBeanBun : its really great for u to know the future…..can i learn from u? what did u use? tarot card? parrot or an octopus?

• Carl Wong on Sep 18, 2011 at 12:25 am

So we’ll work with them and possibly get their future hybrids and EVs with a lower price??

• oleoresin on Sep 19, 2011 at 9:17 am

P2 dan toyota fanboys sudah goyang…. Abis semua kutukan dan fitnah kuar. Dah lupa yg diorang ni lahir kat Malaysia. Where is your proud to our country? Support both P1&P2. Not P2 and bash P1.

So klu countryman tak nak proud Malaysian product, nak suruh sapa support dan puji? Jeremy Clarkson? Richard Hammond? Barack Obama?

• Joint venture = REBADGE! wakakaka…

• Most of basher will say…Proton MMC JV – Stupid…..Perodua Chery JV – Superb….. Thanks for your 3rd world mindset….then we can forget Vision 2020 instead should think 0202 Vision….sighhhhhh……