Suzuki Swift EV Hybrid set for Tokyo: market entry in 2013

Yet another Tokyo debutant from Suzuki, and though the Swift EV Hybrid is also coming through in concept form, it’s downright conventional when you consider the likes of its Regina and Q-concept siblings. It’s also set to make its way into production form sometime in 2013.

On battery power alone, the car offers a 30 km operating range, though an engine-driven generator, as the company tags it, extends travel distance – by how much, Suzuki hasn’t said. No specific details are mentioned, but it shouldn’t stray too far from the Swift Plug-In Concept that was shown at the 2009 edition of the show.

That one featured a 658cc mill offering 54 hp (or 40 kW), working in tandem with a 74 hp (55 kW) electric motor, powered by lithium-ion batteries. The series hybrid system then offered around 20 km of pure electric mode driving, so this one improves on things by a bit.

Suzuki says that the car – which features a covered front grille, LED lighting and covered wheels among the external revisions – has a smaller battery that’s quicker to charge, weighs less, uses fewer resources and costs less. More undoubtedly, in Tokyo.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• RedBeanBun on Nov 11, 2011 at 9:25 pm

this car is destiny to be hybrid….infact, P1 Savvy shld be the best to convert to Hybrid/EV..

• i think thats y most jap car model nowaday not so exciting n boring…..they might be investing heavily on EV/hybrid car as compared with korean car

• P1 Savvy is discontinued.

• amustapha on Nov 11, 2011 at 10:04 pm

nothing special…why get a hibrid when you can get a fully electric car or REEV car in 2013 that uses less than 1 liter/100km?

• fully electric car? where are you going to charge it when power runs low in and you’re far away from home?

• arcana on Nov 13, 2011 at 12:11 pm

agreed, current EV cars have too little range for decent travel.
        lets see the price tag of these full EV and REEV 1st, a bomb most likely.

• Sambal Belacan on Nov 11, 2011 at 11:07 pm

The gear stick look like a manual one.

• Calvynn on Nov 12, 2011 at 12:44 am

Nice, clean and awesome interior and exterior designs. If Swift launch in Japan 2013 could be in Malaysia around 2014-2015. Hope this car will excluded from taxation.

• Yes, exactly like the one you can buy now. :) Why wait?

• and this Swift is the 3rd gen which is bigger than the 1 availble in Malaysia.

• not exactly. I like the white dashboard with LCD built in. :-)

• All these Green stuff is really making me sick.

• Carl Wong on Nov 12, 2011 at 1:46 am

No one is forcing you to read or look.

• marco_polo on Nov 14, 2011 at 10:17 am

Why dun u buy an H1 or Bentley so u wont b sick….if u can even the road tax in the first place…

• seriously… will compete with proton emas which slated in 2013….

• Forget about the potong and the potong who call it as the Emas…less people interesting! btw this one looks clean and nice !

• Yes.. Support U.. EMAS won’t be come out if Nissan not let them the Leaf platform. Due to P1 no technology of fast charging battery. EMAS interior also damn ugly.. The Italian “G” give them a outdated design which also used by GM..

• Old model with new tech..

• fasten on Nov 14, 2011 at 1:51 pm

We knows it’s a hybrid vehicle but does it have to sport that kind of rim?

• lagi2 form yang sama… aiya, tukar design barulaa swift.. samaje mcm myvi..edition je banyak macam2 n tukar sikit2 je.. boring gila aku tgk..

• Andrian on Nov 15, 2011 at 2:16 am

Evergreen design with green technology.

• ARUN SHARMA on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:44 pm

I LIKE SWIFT Hy bread