Suzuki to debut Swift-based plug-in hybrid in 2013

Looks like the Suzuki Swift will be going electric – the Nikkei reports that the automaker is set to introduce a home-rechargeable plug-in hybrid version of the hatchback sometime in 2013.

The vehicle, which will be a remodeled version of the Swift, will have a lithium-ion battery – offering it a 30 km range on a full charge – as well as a petrol engine, the displacement of which wasn’t mentioned in the report.

The hybrid is likely to cost 500,000 yen higher than the gas-powered Swift, but its pricing will not exceed 2 million yen. While initial deployment will be for the domestic market, the company is looking at exporting the model as it goes along.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• KL Stray Cat on Jun 13, 2011 at 3:14 pm

Paul, what happened to the P1 project/MOU with Detroit Electric to produce a local electric vehicles. Did you not have a test drive (in a Lotus)?

Just wondering…

• UTM_AUTOMOTIVE on Jun 14, 2011 at 10:58 am

I had the chance to ask a Proton senior engineer regarding this matter. He said the proton encountered a “problem” with DE and the project had to be terminated. But you can still see the prototype car still running in Shah Alam for some research..

I was attending one of Proton’s design program…

• apexg2 on Jun 13, 2011 at 3:40 pm

this new version of swift is not much different from the 2010 model. And heard of more underpower then the previous one(2010), they go greener….and now, they go more greener and soon there will be less power! Swift (2010) is a beast hidden in sweet shape…maybe you can search swift vs mini in Fifth Gear…just youtube it! But greener is more eco rite!

• laserx5 on Jun 13, 2011 at 5:33 pm

what the hell r u talking? proper english education please………

• apexg2 on Jun 14, 2011 at 8:05 am

which line did u not understand?tell me?use simple english also kena bash ke?haiyo!please tell me which line,which word?ok, next time i will try oxford style like you!thanks mate!

• for god sake, this is not perfect-grammer-awesome-english blog, this is automotive blog..if you want to bash people to write proper english go other where else lah

• I think Malaysian cant speak english!

• kingjoke on Jun 13, 2011 at 10:07 pm

haha… like it… i hav no pblm wit ur english… as long as i can undrstnd!

• EB16.4 on Jun 13, 2011 at 5:04 pm

haha… and yet SMA still haven’t launched the updated swift here. apa hal? CKD problem mehh??

• nebula87 on Jun 13, 2011 at 6:00 pm

for god sake, plz make it spacious…if its eco car, hw can we do car pool using swift??
    heavy (full load passenger) = more fuel + energy…

• good point. never thought of that before.

• same wif alto
      rear legroom is worse than kancil or kelisa or any other smaller cars
      suzuki’s cars are cute n stylish but interior space is just too bad to worth a consideration

• the ckd model over production, need 2 wait till the stock finish only can reach here…..

• 30KM on full charge?? u must be kidding me…i can’t even go to pasar on that range

• Agree. With 30km on full charge, it will cost more for tow truck!

But..but.. this is not full EV but rather a hybrid. I suppose, if 100% on battery, it will travel 30km max but we have the petrol engine to get going while charging the battery pack and then switch back to battery and then to petrol …

• Lexis on Jun 14, 2011 at 10:12 am

Sweet!!! More Sweet on Swift. Great little Car

• Michael on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Current Swift still great, I think I will wait to buy New Swift to let go my Vios.

• so this shift will be 100% battery power?