Ford to cease Aussie production by 2016, report says

Ford plans to end its vehicle manufacturing in Australia altogether by 2016, according to a report published by the International Business Times. The story follows reports of Australia’s third-largest automaker slashing production at its plants in Victoria by 15% due to falling sales, as well as hard-to-meet Euro 5 emissions standards.

Fords will still be sold there, but they will all be imported ‘global’ models such as the Fiesta, Focus and Mondeo. The Aussie-built Territory SUV and Falcon sedan (in production since 1960 and among the best-selling nameplates in automotive history, GT variant pictured) will be no more.

Stephen Longley, who works for PPB Advisory, the receiver of a number of failed auto companies, said the industry change was “inevitable,” although Ford hasn’t officially announced it.

“It’s going to be a slow death, or nearly a death by 1,000 cuts for some of the suppliers. There’s been no announcements. The expectation though, is that this will happen,” he told ABC local radio. “Decisions are being made on the basis that Ford Australia will definitely not be around from 2016.”

Ford Australia has been around since 1925, first assembling Model Ts in Geelong, Victoria. The company pioneered the quintessentially-Aussie coupe utility (or ‘ute’) segment and produced notable machines such as the Laser, Telstar, Falcon and this Mad Max special

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• albag on Aug 06, 2012 at 1:18 pm

as long as proton is sold there… who cares

• Darren on Aug 06, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Always loved the Falcons:(

• Alpha on Aug 06, 2012 at 7:14 pm

I agree.I was damn mesmerized the first time I saw the Falcon in the metal a few years ago.The designs are way ahead of time.And I saw a lot of the pickup-looking Falcons and it’s the first time I thought a pickup can look good too.(not a pickup fan)

• benlee on Aug 06, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Driven falcon, both BF and FG, while I was in Australia. They have very gd chassis setting which can be both comfy yet entertaining when needed. Too bad its going to be no more come 2016.

• Black Dog on Aug 06, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Ta Ford. Loser out. Other auto co will surely be smiling!

• Not the ford falcon….. It’s a good car. I wonder how is Holden doing. Those V8 utes are so ind blowing.
    Image the Toyota hilux in Malaysia came with an option 4.0L petrol and we slam in a twin scroll supercharger…. Stick shift… Many road will have their road marks

• Jurutera on Aug 06, 2012 at 3:32 pm

Once drove the ford falcon back in Melbourne. Pretty decent car. Quite a lot of them down under, rivalled only by the Holden Commodore. Shame they wanted to discontinue its production.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 06, 2012 at 3:41 pm

I want to see how Proton survive, dont tell me 2 years later DRB wanted to sell back to Gov for bail out, see how the local bus company asking for bail out give you the idea..

• Expatriate VN on Aug 06, 2012 at 3:56 pm

No matter which car manufacturer cease production in which countries, they will definitely not shift their base to this Bolehland seeing that stupid NAP ……………..

• alex chan on Aug 06, 2012 at 4:20 pm

they can always buy other prestige brands like toyota there

• motorcamper on Aug 06, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Read this response from an Australian site on Ford Australia’s impending demise. I am sure it will find resonance with Malaysians…..
    “Get rid of these ridiculous tariffs for vehicles, shut down Ford and Holden and lets just import our vehicles. We are holding 22 million people to ransom over a small number of jobs, it is ridiculous. We choose to live in a free market system, if you can’t compete you should not be in business.”

• Skypirate on Aug 06, 2012 at 9:53 pm

It’s a waste to just close down proton, they should just complete the deal with Volkswagen and let it turn proton into a skoda of Asia.

• Pramanathan on Aug 06, 2012 at 5:25 pm

look like a bit Mustang design n colour…

• Looks like Civic FD

• HSV > FPV

• BeemerFreak on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:13 am

So sad to see the falcons go. They are among the best muscle cars regardless of engines they carry and was the nemesis of the Holden commodore.

• that’s what happens when you have unions.

• It is inevitable. Driven the latest FG Falcon and it is not bad. The venerable in-line 6cyl 4.0L engine is smooth and powerful with all the variable timing and modern trickery. Ford Australia has read the market wrong a few times and it is now paying the price. The Ford Territory, a SUV based on the Falcon is a big hit and it is a nice drive and I would pick it over most Japanese full size SUV but it needs a turbo diesel engine to make it viable. In 2006 Ford Australia decided to turbocharge the 4.0L instead creating the Territory Turbo. Nice to chase the Cayenne but a fuel guzzler. Now only the turbo diesel option is available but only a single turbo version of the one used by Land Rover, Jaguar and PSA group. The Falcon heeds a turbo diesel option too but the incoming Ecoboost 2.0L is a little too late.

• EDDIE on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:05 am

What??? I planned to get a XR6T few years laterrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr ;(