Perodua teaser – looks like the Myvi SE 1.3 instead!

perodua-myvi-se-1.3-ozzy-orange

Here we go again – the vehicle intimated in the Perodua teaser post isn’t shaping up as an Alza facelift but rather, the Myvi SE 1.3.

Word has it that the Myvi Premium 1.3 is no longer shipping, and it’s set to be replaced by the Special Edition 1.3. The photo snapped by reader Pdud Kronos earlier today of the SE making its way to the showrooms virtually confirms that this is what’s coming about on March 14.

The second-generation Myvi has gone the SE route with the SE 1.5 version in late 2011, and now the 1.3 litre is set to follow suite with a SE dress-up job as well, nearly two years after the 2011 model made its debut.

A bit of poking about reveals ads for the car, with a new shade called Ozzy Orange added to the colour list. Additional kit for the Myvi SE 1.3 is reported to be a SE bodykit made up of front and rear bumpers, side skirt and spoiler, as well as a SE front grille and a new exhaust finisher.

No mechanical changes known, but other items reported for the Myvi SE 1.3 are a monotone interior, which also gets painted centre air-condition vents, meter cluster and lower centre cluster, all for about the same price as the outgoing Premium variant. So, it turns out that it’s the Myvi SE 1.3 instead of the Alza as initially thought (those darned indicators in the headlamps, tricky!).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Xefron on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:12 pm

*facepalm*

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:27 pm

I will say it again, Perodua Myvi buyers are all living in the glory of Toyota. Myvi buyers usually cannot afford a real Toyota, so, to get a VVTI engine, the nearest thing to get is a Myvi with a great Toyota engine. So, Myvi owners must learn to behave themselves on the road and don’t be a road samseng. Since you all pinjam the glory of Toyota, please jaga the good name and strong RV of Toyota. It is because of Toyota that your Myvi RV is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 70
      • crank on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:40 pm

dafuq did i just read???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
        • TallPan on Mar 13, 2013 at 12:06 pm

uhh these days ppl just see ‘Sam Loo’ we just instantly Thumbs Down.

no need to read his BS.

• magpie on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:07 pm

drama queen..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
        • rajahGlobal on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:41 pm

this myvi car is the best car for Malaysian roads, weather and Malaysian driving attitudes….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 27
      • Expatriate VN on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Again this chap is seriously infected by Obsessive Compulsive Disorder with never ending of nuisance posting of RV in PT Blog!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
        • Jimmy on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:59 pm

1. Certificate of vehicle ownership. RM3k for all vehicles below 1500cc, after that RM20 per cc till 2500cc, then RM100 per cc.
          2. With No.1 in place, the car taxes are reduced to 10% import tax + 10% sales tax. No APs and no excise duty.
          Certificate of ownership is valid for maximum 20 years only, then automatically the vehicle cannot go on road.
          For 2nd hand vehicles, I suggest that since the ‘tax’ is paid by 1st owner already, so the certificate of ownership can be transferable to the buyer at a price of max 50% of the original fee(this rule is to be set by gov) and this price is determined by the seller, not by any authority, and the authority can charge the buyer a 10% transfer processing fee.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • zamer on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:10 pm

what..are you the god of toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • JackeyDeck on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Dude!!! You are one serious Pain in the @$$ !!! What is the matter with you!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:23 pm

I am only speaking the truth. The Myvi is a rebadged Toyota Passo. So, Myvi owners, should not race and be samseng on the road. the have to keep the good name of Toyota. Myvi owners, if you want to live in the glory of Toyota, behave yourself! or work harder to be able to afford a real Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 125
          • loo sam on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:43 pm

So, only the passo can race and be samseng on the road ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
          • bystander on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Dear Sam Loo,
            Toyota acquired 51% of Daihatsu in 1999, making it a company under the Toyota group.
            Perodua Myvi is a rebadged Daihatsu Boon.
            Toyota Passo is a rebadged Daihatsu Boon.
            Subaru Justy is a rebadged Daihatsu Boon.
            Daihatsu Sirion in other markets is a renamed Daihatsu Boon.
            Daihatsu Sirion in Indonesia, is a rebadged Perodua Myvi.
            The 1.3 engine is a K3-VE. It is developed by Daihatsu and used by Toyota in other Toyota cars as well, just like how Toyota also uses Subaru’s Boxer technology. Wanna say tumpang glamour, ppl tumpang Toyota’s adik ok? Don’t so perasan that ppl tumpang the abang…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 3
          • Pororo on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Ohh, MyVi is Toyota Passo rebadge?? Bukan ke MyVi kt Malaysia is Daihatsu Boon Rebadge??? Apelah Glory sangat Toyota tuhh, dah lah design buruk.. New Camry nampak kotak giler.. Honda and some other brand pon lg ok lah compare this toyota s***…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
          • Mr. MyVi on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:47 pm

myvi is not a rebadged Toyota Passo. Sorry mate, it’s a joint development between Toyota, Daihatsu and Perodua. Respect where it is due! By the way, I drives a 3 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 87
          • jay8393 on Mar 12, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Please get your facts straight man. Perodua had a hand in developing the MyVi/Daihatsu Boon/Toyota Passo. So MyVi is just a re-badged Boon/Passo? Cool story bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • behtahanSamLoo on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:35 pm

You drive your camry because you can’t afford a real tauke car, like E class and 5 series. If Toyota is so great, why develop a different brand name under Lexus.
        desperate toyota salesman when ppl now realize that Toyota suck!!! sales must be damn bad lately for Sam Loser.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
      • PT pls ban sam loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:51 pm

This sam loonatic guy need a special smaller like icon or verified yes/ no like icon because all of the like is due to touch/ press mistake by angry user n he himself press the like icon…

• OMG…seem like clearance stock for Myvi 1.3Premium after most ppl prefer the 1.5SE than this…

• maybe also try to move the SE bodykit faster so that they can come out new FL for the 1.5

• xenogearz™ on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:16 pm

yawn~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • carazy on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:16 pm

WHAT!!! ppl sttil buy this junk??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 42
    • Marty on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:54 pm

although u said this car is a junk, still many people will buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • zamer on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:15 pm

the reason is, perodua did not develop a car..this is the only way their marketing department doing their job..

i’m ok with this bcos i’m not buying but please change the sh*t rims too..eyesore to see that

• Lamper on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:17 pm

WOW!!! its PHENOMENAL!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • gtmaniac on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Why? Becoz Myvi 1.5 SE too expensive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Akira on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Hmm… How do we know if it’s a 1.3 from this angle?

• Lamper on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:34 pm

you see the wheels..while the yellow one is the 1.5SE

• Maybe the colour.

• Archangel on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Based on the picture, it looks like the SE 1.3 rim is silver colour, 6 spoke (same with the Premium variant) while the SE 1.5 rim is black colour, 7 spoke.

• squall_shinoda on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Here goes Perodua’s recycling syndrome again… Yawn

• maybe if our gov gave them promote our country recycling campaign, it will be more successful

• I’ll pass. Id rather wait for the Myvi Lagi Best Advance Edition FL the Final Final 2 SE Version instead.

• Lamper on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:31 pm

what is the price after this myvi 1.3 facelif?

• Chung on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Cant wait to visit their showroom !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Chow 1 on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:33 pm

When can we use MyVi price to buy a VW Golf?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:30 pm

You can’t here, you can’t in Germany (not new anyway). Stop dreaming. The Myvi in Germany costs around 10000 Euro, maybe 11000. While it is CBU from Japan and has ESP and more airbags the price is rather similar to the price here. Smaller engines though (there). A Golf costs quite a bit more, I’d say for one with something like the Viva engine (75 HP) you’ll pay at the very least around 15000, so around 60k. But the specs are as bare as they can be, it may not even include air con or power windows.

• berombon on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:02 pm

well, a lot of people will keep on dreaming of buying the VW at the price of a MyVi here, so even if you remind them a thousand times to stop dreaming, you will still read about those people’s dreams…haiyoo what to do..

• arefad on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:42 pm

actually not only myvi 1.3 se, viva and alza also will get the same colours.. brochure out already.. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=497768540269805&set=a.358226944223966.76821.357249717655022&type=1&theater

• taiko on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:08 pm

VW Golf price equal to myvi?huh.mat dreaming la ko ni

• ben yap on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:26 pm

As usual P2 modus operandi is always facelift here and there. that’s all they know how to do. look at the myvi, how many versions have they come out since it was release donkey years ago. next round they’ll come in a new facelift again. they keep revive an aged product that should be dead long time ago.

• perodua 20 years anniversary edition

• kadajawi on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Ozzy Orange? Will it bite off a birds head?

• vee-oh on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:27 pm

now every Myvi can look the same

• wonder about the price~~

• lanhb on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:30 pm

…and I thot it was the daihatsu ufc making a surprise appearance hmmph…

• huhohi on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:31 pm

business as usual……………. facelifting x10

• bystander on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Ozzy Orange isn’t a new colour per se, it’s from the first gen Myvi, but discontinued in the facelift Myvi. See your past article here: http://paultan.org/2005/05/19/perodua-myvi-colours-the-myvi-rainbow-p/ :)

• Roger Tan on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Perodua is currently variant king in Malaysia – simply because they can.

With volume comes the ability to come up with a thousand and one variants

• Again on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Face lifted again? Can we have some new models instead? Bored!

• confused on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Dear PT,
    Please disapprove all Sam Loo and Sam Loo-related comments. It’s not funny anymore. It’s irritating and makes your blog’s comment section like the one in a cheap high-school project blog.

Back to topic, I saw a trailer of new Myvi SX/EZ at the Seafield exit comes pre-loaded with 6-spoke sport rims like the premium version. Can’t take picture, was paying toll that time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • KillBox1Alpha on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:28 pm

What is there to take? It’s a Myvi….and there are thousands that can be seen daily….

• NickName on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Sam Loo is Paultan moderator. They wont disapprove his comment cause without him the Paultan won’t be so much happening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • rakyat on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:24 pm

and the milking of the Malaysian citizens continues with the “newest” facelift Myvi model.

• David on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:53 pm

A Good car! like Honda EX5!

Cheap and good!

Myvi = Honda EX5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • David on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Myvi Manual can smoke Honda City ok?! Trust me!

I had tried before. Seriously man..!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • Tau pau nasi lemak better

• iskandar on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:05 pm

no comment about pickup. but suspension still sampan

• Medic on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:55 am

You are trully delusional then.Reminds me of a young guy who boasted on Toyota forum that his Altis 1.8 c smoked Golf Tsi.Dude,has it occured to you that the City maybe be driven by an old aunty on her way to a denture appt,it is bastard like you that makes our road unsafe.

• Bongcs on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Tauke can drive Myvi or not ?

• Csrlover on Mar 12, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Perodua! dont waste time. Pls focus to roll out new model instead just have many minor change. Time wouldn’t wait and don’t just enjoy as Juara Kampung..

• simsim on Mar 12, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Still 4AT gear, drum brake rear, Torsion beam with coil spring rear, K3-VE engine….. boring

Why not they comeup with something more exciting like: supercharger, 2.0 engine, 7 speed triptronic, 9 air bags….My mum will buy one

• Cathy Yvone on Mar 12, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Your mom? why not you? too young to get a licence ar? What a douche bag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Simsim on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Need a car for my mom to go pasar, myvi fits the bill. I will stick with my saga. By the way I got driving license for 5 years. How about you? Want to come out and play?

• Cathy Yvone on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:04 pm

“supercharger, 2.0 engine, 7 speed triptronic, 9 air bags… ” – For his mom to go to pasar.

Truly a douche bag then.

• Theirry on Mar 13, 2013 at 12:28 am

Whats your problem Cathy? Its achievable, its just our national car maker suck

• 2 yrs driving licence with 10 yrs exp.. on Aug 22, 2013 at 1:19 pm

LATE REPLY- just like to comment

Come on, u try to be funny ar?
            PERODUA – PRODUCE MINI COMPACT CAR – SUITABLE FOR TOWN..WHY NEED SUCH A BIG HEART IN THEIR CAR? HUH ! CRAZY..SUPERCHARGE? 7 SPEED ? – THAT SUITS FOR PROTON. The thing is, if Perodua want to us such big HP engine they can just produce, cause they just need to buy the technology- like they did now.

People today born with better tech, make them life ease, that why they cant survive. anti-lock breaking system? huh,,try to drive without it,once u mastered,try with supercharge/turbocharge/whatsoever engine,mastered? the u can move to ABS.if not,think again,are u gud enough with 5 yrs exp driving licence..duh.

Regards,
            25 yrs old only

• 5 years? and you are bragging? jeezz douchebag

• start-a-figt on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:27 am

ah boy.. go play with your hot wheel back…

got license for the past 20 years.. no bising2 at all..

• Self-proclaimed Sultan of Bulu on Mar 12, 2013 at 7:12 pm

PLEASE REPLACE THE VIVA ALREADY!

• Not bad..not bad..at least much better than Proton Saga :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • mastermind on Mar 12, 2013 at 7:42 pm

replace myvi with m16 better we now…facing the war…get ready prepare ur self or die myvi cant protect uu…hahah…
    Sulu Sultanate are u ready for Myvi..myvi will be your killing machine in our road please draw. ur bloody army Now!!! or u. will die….PROUD TO BE MALAYSIAN

• turbo-ed on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:16 pm

does it have turbocharger?

• of cos it has it..

perodua FL eco tech silent turbocharge comes from spiritual instead of a physical one.. by installing SE bodykit, ur turbo boost 1 bar, Extreme edition will boost 2 bars.. so next time when u want cucuk someone from behind, remember which FL you bought

• Ajo haterzs on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:48 pm

In perodua they always use 3R concept “Recycle, Rebadge and Reuse”. Recycle old color, ozzy orange. Rebadge from 1.5 to 1.3 and Reuse what ever design or mould they can find from the store.

• albag on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:55 pm

provide affordable and sportier lifestyle way to Malaysians… too bad there are too many stupid people out there who are jealous on the popularity of Myvi… screw them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Gonna ditch my Golf Mk6 for this superb RV Perodua..

• powershot on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:14 pm

as expected from perodua. sigh….

• skiborne on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:33 am

go on perodua, rake em’ profits

• another profit ripping marketing strategy. Perodua, u better stop making cars and be an automotive marketing company, u will make more money.

• I not against new or whatever FL Advance version. Please include dual airbag, ABS as STANDARD accessories at now cost increase. Our lives is as precious as other ang mo. If it want to make us proud as national car, please treat us better!

• oregano on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:36 am

yaa..lor…this afternoon will launch at Rawang….

• haha i guess the 1.5 se owners gonna be pretty miffed that the 1.3 is coming with the same ‘exclusive’ bodykit. but the 1.5 shouldnt worry too much bcos underneath that extra layer of makeup, its the same old lady that u wouldnt give a second glance at in the past.

• hmm.. smelling new 1.5 edition coming soon in a few months by ‘transfering’ the exterior parts from current 1.5 SE to 1.3 (so that no wastage, remember 3R? Reuse)

• budlee on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:06 am

Awww.. they brought back Oozy Orange. This was one the first colors of the first edition Myvis. It was also one the colours that was phased out. We sill have the first gen Myvi at home, and its still going strong.