AES to be operated by AES Solutions Sdn Bhd

AES_Camera

It’s confirmed – the Automated Enforcement System (AES) will be taken over from private operators ATES and Beta Tegap and will be operated by a government-owned company, AES Solutions Sdn Bhd. This was revealed at a Pemandu press conference in Putrajaya today.

A quick check with the SSM database reveals that AES Solutions was incorporated on September 2, 2013 and has two directors (not shareholders) listed – Maamor Che Alias and Datuk Kamal Mohd Ali. These two directors are listed as part of the senior management of Prokhas, a company wholly owned by the Ministry of Finance.

We reported earlier this week that AES operations have been handed over to PDRM. The controversial AES system was initially outsourced to two private companies, ATES and Beta Tegap. Beta Tegap was supposed to run AES for the southern region, while ATES would be responsible for the rest of the country, including Sabah and Sarawak.

The question that everyone has on their mind right now, but has yet to be answered is this – how much were ATES and Beta Tegap compensated for this transition? It was reported earlier that the AES system would cost an estimated RM300 to RM400 million to build up.

The AES is a network of automatic speed cameras which are supposed to ‘monitor’ traffic in 831 “black spot” areas on highways in addition to stretches of state and federal roads. These locations have been identified by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) as having the highest number of fatal accidents. Read more about the AES system here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hondaman on Sep 18, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Ok…nothing new here but what we want to know, does the two companies get back their investment money from the gomen? if yes, how much are they being paid?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
    • Sandiwara Wayang Kulit on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:15 pm

It will still go into crony pockets. Nothing changes. Like the recent RM30 bil Bumi agenda, the majority won’t see it. It will go into few UMNO pockets as usual.

How these 2 companies compensated? All this sandiwara lah. From the beginning all this was planned. From day one the companies, I am sure, was told they would have their contracts withdrawn and compensated after few months in operation.

Malaysians still don’t know how to identify sandiwara. This is like Wayang Kulit show for the people. It is to entertain them.

But now, the most important, where is the money going to go to? Its about clean revenue of nearly 10 billion per year. Where do you think it is going into? We can only hope its schools and hospitals. But that is mere hope. We all know better. Good news is that, there will be more Porsches and Ferraris on the road!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 12
      • CoverUp on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Brilliant move by the government! If they take over directly, the compensation will surface in the Auditor General’s report. Now that they use a private limited company, the figure can remain as a secret…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 6
        • What are u talking about …Its an MOF wholly owned co, it WILL be subjected to not just being audited by an independent external auditors as per co acts but also the Auditor General’s audit.

• Roy Mustang on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:48 am

I really hope the AES collection will become scholarship for IPT students so they no need take the PTPT-PU enimor.

• Low Budget on Sep 19, 2013 at 12:50 pm

I think you should go and pray more often so that GOD (for all religions) may answer your prayer, meanwhile majority of the summons issued by the AES Systems have not been paid yet.

• MACC WHERE ARE YOU? on Sep 19, 2013 at 9:42 am

There is no way a camera can cost RM1 million each. In London, the Big Brother system, which is most advanced in the world, per camera, cost only a couple of thousand pounds.

Somemore, the cameras in London is so advanced, it can do face recognition. Yes, this is the most advanced camera in the world in one of the most advanced capital city of the world and yet its only a couple of thousand pounds price per camera. Some even have radiation sensors to scan for bombs and yet, these radition sensor cameras cost less than 10,000 pounds each.

Quote “cameras that have loudspeakers attached to them so that they can have somebody sitting in the control room and if they see a crime taking place they can literally talk to the person that’s committing the crime and inform them that their image has been captured and tell them to stop.”

Quote “Its software can identify objects by shape, size and color. It can read license plates and recognize cars. When it comes to people, it can detect their gender, approximate age, mood and other demographic information. Using multiple cameras, it can track their patterns and some behaviors. It automatically zooms in on any person’s face and identifies them based on things like the distance between their eyes or the shape of their nose”

The above two quotes show how advanced the cameras used in London. The are more advanced than the AES cameras but cost a fraction of the RM1 million per camera price.

MACC what are you guys doing? So blatant and yet nothing is done again? And we tax payers must pay for these RM1 million cameras?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • RM5 billion Untung Bersih? on Sep 19, 2013 at 5:30 pm

MACC is scared stiff because it smells that there is some big crony involved here. The company supposed to get RM5 billion per year. Even Bursa company don’t make that much of untung bersih. Even Telekom or TNB don’t make that kind of money per year. Even Sime Darby don’t make that kind of money per year

• AntiBN on Sep 20, 2013 at 8:54 am

Our AES cameras are just an upgraded version of the handheld radar speed gun. Can’t even catch lorries or buses speeding at 110km/h.

That is a fine piece of camera equipment.

• in regards with the bumi agenda, gua rasa if u work hard then u get it, if u just keyboard warrior, sure u wont see it. talk about crony, dap also hv cronnies, pkr also hv cronnies, pas also hv cronnies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • I want to know how much the directors of AES Solutions are paid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
      • Painter on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:41 pm

PROKHAS Directors don’t receive salary. They represent government in a special purpose vehicle. It is a short form for Project Khas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
    • Sandiwara Wayang Kulit on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Will the company be compensated for the RM962,000 per camera spent?

What kind of camera is this? Is sounds like Hubble Telescope to see Stars and Planets?

I think with this camera, we can even point to the sky and spot asteroids and aliens.

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2012/10/14/aes-being-used-to-milk-profit/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 6
      • hadi75 on Sep 18, 2013 at 10:27 pm

The cost of 1 camera is close to rm 1million????what is the camera made of???gold???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
        • Hiroshi on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:25 pm

made by taiwan
          pay by rakyat
          contribute to cronies
          operate by BN

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
      • Kampung Brain on Sep 19, 2013 at 4:59 pm

I think each camera is made of 916 Gold. But even if the whole camera and the casing is pure 916 Gold, it still cannot come up to RM$960,000 for each camera. Say the whole unit is about 2 Kilogramess (casing, camera and motherboard)), at today’s gold rate (19/9/2013), a 1KG bar is RM$126,912.62. So 2KG is about RM250,000.

That still does not come close to the RM$960,000 eventhough if it made of pure 916 22k gold.

• PEMANDU and idris jala can go to hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 10
  • Aerro on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:00 pm

But the biggest mystery still: what about the AES periodical maintenance in long-term? Subject to open tender too? Who qualify allowed to tender?

Ha Ha Ha! Looks like the cronism still haven’t solved or just evolved in different ways??? Endless possibilities lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • flat_tire on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:27 pm

it just goes from one crony to another.. all in a circle of cronies..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Thats our money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • Polo Saga on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Good! Good! More corruption and cronies!! Sapu Malaysia!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 6
  • abuya123 on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:25 pm

The best part is….. Letak kat kawasan 60kmh, 80kmh dan 90kmh. What the…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • fuyoh on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:43 pm

left pocket go to right pocket. in the end, a crony is enriched.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
  • carlover00 on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:58 pm

“These two directors are listed as part of the senior management of Prokhas, a company wholly owned by the Ministry of Finance.”
    so wait, Najib is the finance minister, so it all goes back to the root now?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 2
  • A government owned company? meaning from not-so-crony to super-crony? so that this government owned company can sponsor BN for their dirty work and election campaign later on? y dont just let JPJ of PDRM handle this thing? just add another department of AES enforcement and opens more job opportunities?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
    • kambinganas on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Very good point. They should have a govt dept under traffic police to operate it, like what was done for speed traps prior to this AES nonsense. Unfortunately, harapkan pagar, pagar makan padi. Buat bising banyak pun tak guna, akhirnya sama juga.

They might as well let the highway concessionaires run it to suck our blood as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Hellhole on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:52 pm

I honestly think the Pro Khas people are far less corrupted than the PDRM and JPJ folks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
  • Checked at SPR website.
    Both directors voted for PAS last PRU at Shah Alam, still ok orang Pakatan Rakyat for sure not crony no rasuah one. for sure..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 42
  • smooth criminal on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:51 pm

For all you know, beta tegap and ates would be engaged as sub contractors under aes solutions. It’s not that this guys have the expertise to maintain the overall aes system. Just to “showoff” a so called government takeover.

• Amius on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Satu lagi projek untuk kroni…
    Keuntungan sendiri diutamakan..
    Rakyat tanggung derita!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • isuzuki on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:52 pm

Just change company name? Same people?

• Acquisition of both companies are yet to be performed, even valuation for both companies are still under progress.

Yet at the same time, the Minister is acting as the AES CEO by forcing people to pay even before the ownership transfer of AES has yet to be done at this moment.

• gavin on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:57 pm

either way we can safely assume everyone has made a fortune

• old dog on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:28 pm

different variant of NFC style repeated business…

that is->all $$ out by G (any type of business), and $ transfer to cronies pocket with failure of the business next..

• jolly_idiot on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:23 pm

So… do we have to pay the summons as its not owned by pdrm now?

Malaysia boleh… these monkeys are growing bigger and becoming baboon.

• Lajib: folks, any Solution to make more money to cover up our sky-rocketting debts?
    The reply : Sir, we set up AES SOLUTION, the initial investment is huge, but the return will be like endless sea waves.
    Lajib: oh yes, this is a good SOLUTION, indeed.

Thus, comes the AES Solution Sdn Bhd

• Ahmadfaris93 on Sep 19, 2013 at 10:41 am

AES handled by 3rd party,inappropriate. AES handled by government, still being condemned. These are the people of Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Kampung Brain on Sep 19, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Usually kampong people are blind and unaware when they get hoodwinked.

• akula on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:04 am

TALK LIKE RUBBISH, IF SO CALL CRONY OWN FERRARI, MAKE BILLION EASY MONEY,WHY VERY -VERY LESS BUMI BILLIONAIRE LISTED BY FORBES. AES IS JUST A GOVERNMENT’S PROACTIVE MEASURE TO EDUCATE ERRANT AND STUPID DRIVER.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • YOUR CAPSLOCK ARE LOCKED. UNLOCK IT!

Please mind that Bumi not necessary mean that they are crony. The intention of AES is good, just that the way that it’s executed looks very fishy.

• Peter on Sep 19, 2013 at 2:18 pm

If AES project is tender in public select base on merit, owners are not called CRONIES.
      Depending on government affirmative action, quota to start a business make you poor in facing competition, explains why ‘not many’ billionaires exist in your group. BUT there’re still many billionaire among the selected few who capitalize on poor government i.e Syed Moktar, Mohd Taib’s relatives etc. you name it.

• Abg 92 on Sep 19, 2013 at 4:07 pm

i know ts syed mokhtar. he is a very very very kind, humble, generous person. always helping people in need. he work so hard to become what he is today. unlike ts chan ah chye who cheat people, housing terbengkalai n all.

• Kampung Brain on Sep 19, 2013 at 4:51 pm

There are a lot of Bumi billionaires. Just not in Forbes. Forbes list out legitimate billionaires. For example, do you see Sarawak Taib’s name in Forbes? Trust me, there are at least 100 over bumi billionaires.

• akula on Sep 20, 2013 at 4:22 pm

SMART DRIVER LIKE ME VALUES ALL RESEARCHES DONE BY MIROS, ALWAYS PLAN MY JOURNEY, GOGGLE AND TAKE NOTE THE LOCATION OF AES, SLOW DOWN WHEN APPROACHING THE AREA BECAUSE THAT SPOT ALREADY PROVEN HAS HIGH ACCIDENT RATE
      STUPID DRIVER NEVER PLANS HIS JOURNEY, DRIVE LIKE MAD, THEN WHEN GOT CHOUGH BY AES …BLAME EVERYBODY… KRONI… UMNO .. POLICE … JPJ..BLA,BLA…

• Build CCD all over Malaysia to fight crimes, build AES course in school for the kids.

• It’s funny that you would want to complaint for something like this. Do you guys break the rules all the time? It will only snap pics if you break the rules guys, if you don’t then why need to worry??

• Lol, I think you’ve missed the point of the complaint. It’s not about bayar saman, is about where the money will end up and how much money was wasted when they took over the company.

I worry not for myself when I break the rules, I worry for someone powerful that breaks a bigger rule.

• It’s just funny why you need to worry yourself about those. There’s a lot of other things to be worried. I know u’re a tax payer same goes to me. Business is business regardless of anything. I hope u’re a business to understand this. There are bright and ugly sides though it’s how good u’re on controlling it. Everything which got to do with government immediately you will have wrong assumptions. Relax and chill la guys. It doesnt affect your salary even if the AES is built for free.

• For sure it doesn’t affect my salary but I do not want to see hard earn money from me and everyone being abused. There are 2 things you can do about it, 1) do nothing, 2) make others aware that you know such things have happened in the pass and will happen again. And I am choosing 2, by telling you that it matters.

Don’t listen, don’t care, don’t mind, don’t bother, those attitude will tank Malaysia. I hope you see this bro.

• People, it’s only a fraction of the whole embezzlement scheme well planned and executed.
    First, you have fuel price hike, which I personally think there will be more fuel price hike to come.
    Then, you have AES, summon at RM150 bucks, huh. By thw way, speeding is not the main reason Malaysian died in car accident, reckless driving attitude is, like road bully, tail-gating etc. Remembered how recent Genting bus accident killed 37 passengers? Because the bus driver was agitated and chased the car that overtook him.
    What else? You wait and see Budget 2014 is coming.
    Just wait …… and see ……

• Joe Radzif on Sep 19, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Terima kasih pengundi BN…
    undi anda sangat bermakna buat kami…

• Head Hunter on Sep 21, 2013 at 1:54 pm

RM300-400mil can upgrade and build better roads over in Sarawak and Sabah and they spent it on useless cameras. Improve the roads, then you put your AES cameras to improve safety. Dahlah jalan buruk, keselamatan tergadai. Tambah AES, increasing the stress levels on the road. Stupid decision.

• TheVolvoGuy on Sep 26, 2013 at 12:31 am

aiiii. First the fuel price now this crap . What on earth is the goverment thinking . Aiiya . now i have to left my volvo at home and go buy horse to go on trips .