AES – operations officially handed over to PDRM

AES_Camera

Some news about the Automated Enforcement System (AES) – it will now be run by the police, Bernama reports. Home Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi announced that all operational aspects of the system have been handed over to Polis Diraja Malaysia (PDRM).

“I confirm that the AES has been officially handed over to the police. It’s now in force at all locations where the cameras are installed,” he told reporters at an event during the weekend. Thus far, 14 AES cameras are operational in the country – the pilot project units are placed in seven locations in northern Zon A and seven places in central Zon B.

Last month, it was reported that the federal government was looking into taking over the operation and enforcement of the system from the two concessionaires which were appointed to run it. A steering committee was appointed to discuss the matter and determine the direction and expansion of the the AES.

jenoptik-stc1

Initially, two private companies, Beta Tegap and ATES, were appointed to run the RM700 million project. Beta Tegap, utilising equipment from Australian-based Redflex Traffic Systems, was supposed to run AES for the southern region, while ATES, which opted for equipment from German company Jenoptik Robot, would be responsible for the rest of the country, including Sabah and Sarawak.

Earlier in July, a news report indicated that as many as 1,079 AES cameras are to be installed nationwide – their locations have yet to be identified, but would be determined by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety and Research (MIROS) in the near future.

Last year, at the advent of the system’s introduction, it was announced that the cameras were set to be deployed in 831 “black spot” areas on highways as well as stretches of state and federal roads.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Alifz on Sep 16, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Good move. No more ‘komisen’ operator.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 40
    • How much the govt has forked out for the takeover?
      The govt knew very well this is a huge gold mine in collecting traffic fines from the public. A classic example on how the govt groom its crony & used them as forefront to face the public but later twist & turn & get back total control via a takeover.  But they forgot what they said their famous slogan “Will not burden the rakyat” but instead grab more money from rakyat’s pocket.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 7
      • Let me reiterate the most important question in your comment.

HOW MUCH the govt has forked out FOR THE TAKEOVER?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 11
        • DongkeyGovt on Sep 16, 2013 at 11:20 pm

Trust me, u dont want to know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
          • Nope, you’re wrong. everyone should know how fuck up this is. Where did the transparency janji gone? Roti Capatied?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • DongkeyGovt on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:00 am

thats why…theres no transparency, they know rakyat will blow up if they reveal the amount…

• rally_fan on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:52 am

they always ensure the contractor, etc. will never lose money over what they invested.

• Pee End on Sep 16, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Franchiselah to ordinary rakyat so everyone can do investment with a great returns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • jolly_idiot on Sep 16, 2013 at 4:51 pm

They raise our petrol price and buy over aes? Suppose aes should run by government at first place.

Malaysia always boleh. Privatize for cronies at first place then government take over if not making money.

Just look at Malaysia Airlines. Dr. M culture.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 5
    • flat_tire on Sep 16, 2013 at 8:28 pm

gomen: 1 rakyat: 0..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Secrets Busted on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:37 am

It’s proven what rakyat is suspecting all along about BN.

This is rakyat’s big victory against BN Cronism.

Rakyat 1 Kroni 0.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • senangcarikaya on Sep 16, 2013 at 2:37 pm

one more money projek, use rakyat duit to bayar pampasan to clony, varyvary good easy money idea, and the pampasan duit money takla org tauhu, satu org angkat sikit satu juta saja , more money projek coming soon

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
  • _xXx_ on Sep 16, 2013 at 2:38 pm

I started to feel the heat of taik ayam. Hope the heat lasts…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • presna on Sep 16, 2013 at 4:25 pm

yeah right, by the time the next election comes, doubt this issue and the companies themselves (tegap & ates) would even exist! (along with the taxpayer’s money might i add)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • john mat on Sep 16, 2013 at 3:02 pm

For sure this matter got some Shit behind…compensation must be paid to cover up contract that has been given to certain company. .using tax payer money as usual…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • I’ll read this announcement with a pinch of salt as I don’t believe it can be just handed over like a ball. Surely the Govt needs to compensate the 2 companies, and even if the 2 companies continue to run it, will we know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • RVP20 on Sep 16, 2013 at 4:51 pm

not getting into the political hoopla…but is AES really helping/effective in reducing the accident? or better yet educate the drivers. I mean, all AES does is to stay at one place with one angle to the road, any vehicles passed the AES line-of-sight above the ‘pre-set’ speed the pix of the driver n car will be taken. There are NUMEROUS of ways to get pass this ‘line-of-sight’. The easiest would be, u jsut slow down a bit prior reaching the line and then u can tekan ur foot pedal to the max or you can just timing your speed to ensure there’s a bus or lorry blocking that line by the time you crossed it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • akioz on Sep 16, 2013 at 6:00 pm

that’s the point. they want you to reduce your speed at the location. if they placed the camera at roads where there are high rate of accidents then ppl will slow down at the said location and reduces the chances of accidents. better than hiding in the bushes or under the flyover. imho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • rally_fan on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:55 am

remember the cops announcing that they will now post signs up to warn of a speed trap ahead? never happened.. also.. speed traps are never placed in dangerous areas from my experience.. only in areas where it is easy to catch someone speeding.. and they usually do it on a downhill stretch. worst of all, over 60% of accidents involved motorcyclists… so how will speed cameras reduce accidents??

• akioz on Sep 17, 2013 at 4:16 pm

that is why I said IF…ideally that should be the way. i’m hoping for that.

• Just to let you know, there’s mobile AES too = hide under the bridge thing again.

• since so many rempit, migrant, arab drivers it is best to use law against these people rather than education, they are too mentally retarded to learn anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Heybadigol on Sep 16, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Think the PErsonal Data Protection Act (PDPA) might have something to do with it. If run by private entity, the images taken of cars and people’s faces might run against the act. Hand it over to the govt, then PDPA is not relevant anymore as govt and its agencies are exempted from the act. Goodbye personal data.

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 17, 2013 at 12:27 am

Oh really? What about companies like myEG then? Is the govt going to take over these companies just because of PDPA? Don’t know where you have been all this while, but this more like what Syarikat Prasana Negara did to bail out govt services by private operators. This has nothing to do with PDPA.

• Enter your name...Joe on Sep 16, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Saman is The only way to educate Malaysian driver’s …Look eh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • jolly_idiot on Sep 16, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Not really. Summon only punish the poor but not the rich cronies.

Imagine if a datuk got a ticket. Do he/she need to pay? Malaysia always boleh. Thanks Dr.M culture.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 7
    • RejimKejamGanas on Sep 17, 2013 at 12:29 am

In case you have been living under a rock, Malaysians are actually slow and reckless. Accidents happen here because people are inconsiderate, not just because they drive fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Pablo on Sep 17, 2013 at 3:42 pm

The saman rates should based on how big the car engine was. eg: –
      1300cc and below – RM100.00
      1300cc to 1600cc – RM150.00
      1600cc to 2000cc – RM300.00
      2000cc and above – RM800.00

• catch the stupid motorcyclists who ignore red lights at pedestrian crossings..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 44
  • gOOsh on Sep 16, 2013 at 7:51 pm

eerrr… my last year aes summon x bayar lagi nih…. nak tunggu x bayar kg ke??

• Any idea will this be implemented in Sarawak especially along the infamously accident-prone Pan Borneo ‘Highway’?

• i got flashed by the camera ar slim river 3x while doing 90kph, no other car beside me, if i received a ticket, sure will sue them kowkow

• MycarMylife on Sep 17, 2013 at 10:32 am

Is your car a P 1 model with the rear number plate half blackened ( camo ) ?? Surprisingly I ve noticed a majority of these P1 cars only have this feature to elude the AES cam !! Must be P1 cars are super fast or it is just trying silly to out smart AES .
      Good luck

• Wow after petrol now AES….. going to install 1079 more cameras…..

i camera bought at 2000 usd mark up price RM200k so nett profit Rm194k for each camera. Imagine 1079 additional camera…instant money $$$$$. Way BN Gov make money and give to their cronies.

Now imagine one car RM300, Let say only worst case 1% of driver will get summons, wow instant money $$$$. Not to forget the recurring summons.

• Pablo on Sep 17, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Lets just franchise AES to everyone at RM200k investment for a camera.

And take a RM50 as profit for every paid saman, you only need 4000 saman to breakeven.

If 1 day 10 saman you have a monthly income of RM15k.

• u rich u speed la..

• hm.. waiting for the AES action.

• transformer on Sep 16, 2013 at 11:36 pm

with my own eyes, i saw a kancil(damn fast on Sunday Morning) beating red light, run over an old couple(going to morning market, with vege basket flung far far away)… Next day newspaper reported that old aunty passed away leaving her husband serious injury……

1) So, i 100% support AES at traffic light(only!), i strongly believe it saves life….

2) Gov funds used to pay for AES purchases should be better used for buying PLUS highway. Since petrol subsidy already reduced, why not free highway ? Need not wait Raya only balik kampung, every weekend its balik kampung!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • west end boys on Sep 17, 2013 at 1:46 am

please gomen dont put anymore aes on the plus highway ,hence the name high(speed)-way .

• AES is good but the way is used is not good

• Pablo on Sep 17, 2013 at 3:34 pm

I support AES to be put on all traffic junction in Malaysia but not on highway.

As you driving for 110km/h on highway for hours, there sure times you accidentally exceed the speed limit.

• Roy Mustang on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:52 am

I really hope the would relay all the collections from AES towards students’ scholarship.

This way I pay my saman oso not so pain lah.

Just my 2cent.

• curi kaya on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:52 am

u orang sni siapa mau free dpat ferrari atau lambo, sni ala satu lobong, cpatcpat prgi mazuk umno, nnti projek ni dpat stu ferrari atau lambo free, takla lambo pun ala satu bji porshe panamera,kna cpat mazuk. U help me, i help u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • …a good side of having a strong opposition!

• Sigh, AES… 20 sens… many more barang naik. Dunnit speed la. just drive slow and safe. safe petrol. dont giv e so many money to the government.

• okbplis on Sep 17, 2013 at 10:36 am

can’t wait to see AES installed across the nation.

• farizY on Sep 17, 2013 at 10:39 am

Please put proper signage so that I could see AES coming a mile away; with signs showing the distance to AES so that I could so down in time, and continue speeding afterwards. Aish.

• And i hope the new economy model for Bumis is also another plan to really enrich the Bumis and not just bullshit plan to just enrich the cronies. Im a Chinese and of course I dont feel any benefit from the new plan but I am happy to see fellow bumi strive in terms of business and can compete fairly and openly with business partner from other background. Its actually to strengthen the the ties between races in Malaysia. Hopefully no one wil say Chinese or indian jealous, we wont and dont need to as we have already living in Malaysia without any special rights and yet live peacefully among others and can also strive to make a living.

• sick&tired on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:33 am

i have seen at least 3 accidents at Old Klang Road which was caused by AES! People tend to get very nervous and brake very abruptly even when you can still make it. And the tolerance is very low. The sensor is located very near the line. The camera will go off even when motorcycles stray slightly to the front. And don’t get me started on the intensity of the flash!!!!

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 17, 2013 at 1:50 pm

These problems occur because the operators/contractors for this system is inexperienced and untrained. Wonder whether they actually hired civil engineers to do these installations or cheap labor that does not know any better.

• gua rasa dulu sudah ok, jalankan aja AES ni bcoz dh signed contract.. but some rakyat bising2, so krjn hv to take over n pay some more to the companies.. if stay mcm dulu, no need to pay some more..

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 17, 2013 at 1:52 pm

It is the job of the relevant govt agencies to enforce the law, not private contractors. When this scheme started, it was done with the aim of making money not saving lives, so of course rakyat will bising.

• totti on Sep 17, 2013 at 12:18 pm

Vote Bn and this are the way to increase the country revenue instead of getting more investor:

1) Petrol hike by 12%
    2) All goods/food/barang also naik by 10%.
    3) Get more saman ticket.
    4) Car price not dropping.
    5) Gorvenment Service tax (GST) coming soon.
    6) Higher TNB tariff coming soon.
    7) Higher Toll tariff coming soon.

All revenue generate by sucking the Rakyat money to con the rakyat by paying small amount of BRIM 3.

This is called “Rakyat” didahulukan.

Hidup Cronies.

• Jonathan on Sep 17, 2013 at 2:23 pm

After few years will be rotten won’t be maintained.